DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waughtal, US Patent No. 10,854,049.
Waughtal discloses a hardened remote point of sale comprising: a dedicated mobile computing device (800) encased by a hardened enclosure (802), the hardened enclosure (802) is made of a plastic resin and is secured with a rubber seal contiguous to the dedicated mobile computing device (800); the hardened enclosure (802) is also configured to support display shielding (824) across the display (822) to prevent scratching and damage to the dedicated mobile computing device (800); the dedicated mobile computing device (800) is a Google® Tablet running Android® operating system; the tablet is further equipped with special purpose hardware, including a magnetic strip reader (806), a chip card reader (808), a RFID module (818), and a power module (816); the dedicated mobile computing device (800) in FIG. 8, has installed and executing a POS application (804); the POS application (804) has a GUI layer displayed wherein the vendor and the customer can interact with the dedicated mobile computing device (800); the POS application (804) is configured with the I/0 of the dedicated mobile computing device (800) and accepts additional modules and functionality; the dedicated mobile computing device (800) is equipped with several modules to accept a payment vehicle, including an RFID module (818) accepts radio frequency ID accounts, including near field communications for payment. RFID modules are utilized to receive information from cashless wristbands and other RFID equipped products that facilitate cashless transactions. RFID tags contain an antenna and a memory chip to store data on the tag itself.; the dedicated mobile computing device (800) is also configured through the I/0 to a magnetic strip card reader (806), a chip card reader (808), and a wireless access card module (810); the magnetic strip reader (806) communicates through a serial bus to the dedicated mobile computing device (800), wherein the POS application (804) processes the transaction; the chip reader (808) is equipped to receive EMV payment methods, EMV cards are smart cards or chip cards that store data on an integrated circuit in addition to also having a magnetic strip. EMV cards must be physically dipped or inserted into a reader, similar to contactless cards utilizing near field communication. EMV standards often utilize a chip and PIN methodology and sometimes a chip and signature depending upon the authentication required by the issuing financial institution; the dedicated computing device (800) includes a networking module (820; the dedicated computing device (800) is equipped with I/0 and a power input that is customized as a power module (816) and built within the hardened enclosure (802). ( See Fig. 8, col. 12 – col. 14, line 24).
Regarding claims 1, 5-7, the prior art fails to disclose a USB-C controller board for communicating through USB-C cable to the computing device for providing electrical signals to the controller board. However, the type of connection is matter of choice for meeting specific customer requirements, wherein USB-C connection would provide rapid charging and data transmission. With respect to having the computing device only connected to the USB-C controller board, such limitation is a matter of choice for meeting customer requirements. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claims 2-3, wherein the weather resistant shell is a polymeric shell, resistant water and dust to an international standard (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, the prior art teaches an enclosure (shell) having a top, a bottom, but fails to disclose a channel with a rubber seal that are held together by pressing the top and bottom side. However, using rubber seal for sealing and protecting electronic device is common in the art for prevent water damage and dust particles from entering into the device. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claims 8-9, the prior art discloses wireless communication with payment decide including having an antenna in electrical communication with the computing device. ( See Fig. 8, col. 12 – col. 14, line 24).
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 8 does not show the wiring arrangement within the shell enclosure. However, the position of the different modules, such as chip card reader, wireless access card, power module, etc., would require wiring gaps. Therefore, such limitations is obtained and , therefore, obvious.
Regarding claims 11-20, in addition to the limitations discussed above, the positions of each individual component of the device, including the controller board, the power supply, the readers, etc., the shell is manufacture to meet the device requirements. It would have been obvious for an ordinary artisan to design and manufacture the shell enclosure to meet the device specification. With respect to the position of each component is a matter of choice for meeting specific customer requirement, which therefore, obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See examiner remarks.
Remarks:
In response to the applicant regarding that the prior fails to disclose that the computing device is only electrically connected to the USB-C controller board, such limitation is a matter choice for meeting specific customer requirements. It would have been obvious for an ordinary artisan to connect one device at a time as needed or required by the applicant. It appears that the applicant’s argument is more comprehensive than the claims’ language. Connected to a single device is not the same as having a single connector. The computing device or the tablet does not claim that the device consisting of a single connector for connecting to the USB-C controller board. With to the type of connection (i.e. USB-C), such connection type is known in art for rapid charging and data transmission and very common in the art. For instance, Hamann et al (WO 2018098373) disclose a modular tablet case with environment monitoring components comprising: a USB-C connector 55 for connecting a controller board 50 (see par. 0066-0069). Furthermore, when the board is connecter to the device it would in electrical communication with wireless radio module and the module be in electrical communication with the controller board. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Refer to the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/