Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Terminal Disclaimer
3. The terminal disclaimer filed on 6/21/2024 is claiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 11641575 has been reviewed and is approved. The double patenting rejection over 11641575 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 3-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9794755 B1 South; John A. et al. in view of NPL RAPIDSOS NG911 Clearinghouse Android ELS Pilot Project (Jan. 2018), and alternatively in further view of US 20170325056 A1 MEHTA; Anil et al.
Consider Claims 1 and 11
South teaches A method for processing emergency data and A system for processing emergency data (South Fig. 1A 1B system 100 or 102), the system comprising a network server comprising one or more processors (South Fig. 1A 1B visualization system 200, Fig. 2 processor 210 database 220) and an emergency management system (EMS) implemented on the network server (South Fig. 1A 1B visualization system 200, Fig. 2 processor 210 database 220) to perform the method (South Fig. 1A 1B Network 110 System 200), the method comprising:
providing, from an emergency management system (EMS) implemented on a cloud computing system (South Fig. 1A 1Bemergency visualization system 200, network 110), via a website (South C8L30-50 The responder 170 may communicate with the interactive emergency visualization system 200 via the work station 180 or otherwise.. the user interface may be web-based and viewable through a standard web browser.), to an emergency service provider (ESP) console at an ESP (South Fig. 1A 1B console 180), an enhanced data display to be displayed within a user interface of the ESP console (South Figs. 4A-4E, Fig. 8 shown various enhanced data display within user interface at console 180; Col17L60-Col18L10 “FIG. 4A shows an exemplary visualization 300 that may be generated by the interactive emergency visualization system 200. In some embodiments, the visualization 300 may be configured to track the progression of an incident or emergency. The visualization 300 may be displayed on an administrator user interface utilized by a first responder, emergency management coordinator, 9-1-1 operator, or the like. The visualization 300 may also be displayed on a display device such as computer screen, tablet, smartphone for use by any such administrator, first responder, emergency management coordinator, 9-1-1 operator..”);
determining, by the EMS, that the ESP has received data related to an emergency call received at a call-taking module executed on the ESP console (South Fig. 5 Step 502, C28L30-60 For example, an incident report may be received by the system 200 from a user device 130 or first responder device 162 in communication with the system 200 via an app or otherwise…..the incident report button may include a phone call to an emergency response line (such as 9-1-1 or a police department) and/or a phone call directly to the interactive emergency visualization system 200…”), the data comprising an(South C12L30-45 identifying information (pictures, descriptions, contact information, etc.) and third-party emergency contact information may be associated with each individual in the database 220) received by the ESP from an (South C12L30-45 database 220) in response to the emergency call being received by the ESP (Col17L60-Col18L10 “…track the progression of an incident or emergency. The visualization 300 may be displayed on an administrator user interface utilized by a first responder, emergency management coordinator, 9-1-1 operator, or the like…” Col. 28L50-60 emergency call)
receiving, at the EMS, emergency data related to the emergency call received at the call-taking module executed on the ESP console, the emergency data comprising a device-based hybrid (DBH) location, the DBH location comprising global positioning system (GPS) data, and wireless technology positioning data determined by device-based calculations (South Fig. 5, C30L50-L65 (118) At step 510, the method 500 may include receiving current location information from devices including geographical information (such as GPS location data) and beacon information in response to the request sent by the system 200. In some embodiments, the location information is received via a wireless communication system forming part of the system 200. At this point, the system 200 may determine both a specific current geographical location and beacon-based location for each device.”; Col.28L50-60 “..The location of the incident may be described with GPS coordinates, a street address, a street intersection, a landmark, or other information identifying a physical location. The size and nature of the incident may also be determined at this step….”) ;
transmitting, from the EMS, via the enhanced data display, the emergency data comprising the DBH location to the ESP console (South C8L30-50 The first responder user device 162 may also include a user interface to facilitate communication with the interactive emergency visualization system 200, but this user interface may display additional information pertinent to responding to an incident, as will be discussed below..);
and displaying, via the enhanced data display, within the user interface of the ESP console, the DBH location (South Fig. 4A, Fig. 8, Fig, 10, C40L50-L60 The expanded view may include symbols representing individuals within the geo-fences, such as the individual markers 306 shown in FIG. 4A. ) alongside the South Fig. 10, C41L5-L13 At step 1014, the method 1000 may include displaying biographical information about individuals. This information may be accessed by the operator clicking the individual marker which may automatically display a window (such as window 810 in FIG. 8) with detailed information about the individual; C37L60-C38L10 In the example of FIG. 8, geo-fence status windows 730 are visible for each geo-fence 702, 704, 706, 708. In some embodiments, the individual markers 306 are also expandable. For example, the operator may click on the individual marker 306 in the “CEO Office” geo-fence to open an individual window 810 which may include biographical data of the individual, including: location update information; permissions; organizations that he or she belongs to; date of birth; contact information such as phone numbers, email addresses, and addresses; emergency contact information; medical information; and membership information. Other biographical details may be included in the individual window 810. ).
South does not teach the data comprising an automatic location identification (ALI) from an ALI database; the ALI location being sent to the ESP as the emergency call is routed to the ESP by emergency call routing of a telecommunication system wherein the ALI database is part of the telecommunication system infrastructure for handling emergency calls;
formatting, at the EMS, the emergency data into a standard format; and the DBH location information in the enhanced data display obtained from the emergency data formatted into the standard format.
RapidSOS teaches the data comprising an automatic location identification (ALI) from an ALI database; the ALI location being sent to the ESP as the emergency call is routed to the ESP by emergency call routing of a telecommunication system wherein the ALI database is part of the telecommunication system infrastructure for handling emergency calls (See Page 8 and figure as reproduced below).
RapidSOS also teaches transmitting, from the EMS, via the enhanced data display, the emergency data comprising the DBH location to the ESP console (See RapidSOS Page 8 and figure reproduced below).
and displaying, via the enhanced data display, within the user interface of the ESP console, the DBH location alongside the ALI location (See RapidSOS Page 13 and figures reproduced below; DBH location equivalent to ELS location markers 1, 3, 5 and ALI location marker 2 4 6).
the DBH location information in the enhanced data display obtained from the emergency data formatted into the standard format.
RapidSOS also teaches the DBH location information in the enhanced data display obtained from the emergency data formatted into the standard format (See RapidSOS Page 13 and figures above where DBS [ELS] location and ALI locations both displayed on the same maps and windows thus in a standard format; See also RapidSOS page 14 ELS/DBH location displayed in “existing” platforms and interfaces thus in standard format). Thus for the same reasons RapiDSOS implicitly teaches formatting, at the EMS, the emergency data into a standard format.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of South to include the noted teachings of RapidSOS in order to utilizes a combination of different methods to validate and determine the most accurate location possible. (RapidSOS Page 4)
Alternatively, related art Mehta teaches formatting, at the EMS, the emergency data into a standard format; (Mehta [0023] In some aspects, disclosed herein are methods of facilitating data exchange between parties to an emergency situation, the method comprising: a) obtaining, by the emergency management system, location information for a plurality of communication devices; b) storing, by the emergency management system, the location information in a location information database; c) formatting, by the emergency management system, the location information in a standard format compatible with industry standards for location based information storage and retrieval for emergency response; ) and the DBH location information in the enhanced data display obtained from the emergency data formatted into the standard format (Mehta [0105] “…the EMS formats all data received into a data format compatible with industry standards (e.g. emergency communication standards) such as the National Emergency Number Association (NENA) Standard Data Format for ALI Data Exchanges and GIS Mapping. In some embodiments, the EMS formats data into NENA standard format regardless of the incoming data format or the device that sends the data...”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the combination of South and RapiDSOS to include the noted teachings of Mehta in order for providing responder forecast(s) to users requesting emergencies (Mehta [005]).
Consider Claim 3
South teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at the EMS, updated emergency data related to the emergency call, the updated emergency data comprising an updated DBH location; transmitting, from the EMS, via the enhanced data display, the updated emergency data comprising the updated DBH location to the ESP console; and displaying, via the enhanced data display, within the user interface of the ESP console, the updated DBH location alongside the ALI location (South Fig. 5, C30L50-L65; South Claim 10 The method of claim 1, further comprising; receiving, after receiving the current location information, further location information from the user devices determined to be within the geo-fence; and updating the graphical map based on the further location information. C47L12-L20, FIG. 19 shows an exemplary visualization showing aspects of an intelligent geo-fencing method. In some embodiments, geo-fences may be used to visualize real-time locations of assets, personnel, and vehicles on a single operating platform).
Consider Claim 4.
South teaches The method of claim 3, further comprising:
transmitting the updated emergency data comprising the updated DBH location to the ESP console without receiving an emergency data request from the ESP (South Fig. 5, C30L50-L65; South Claim 10 The method of claim 1, further comprising; receiving, after receiving the current location information, further location information from the user devices determined to be within the geo-fence; and updating the graphical map based on the further location information. C47L12-L20, FIG. 19 shows an exemplary visualization showing aspects of an intelligent geo-fencing method. In some embodiments, geo-fences may be used to visualize real-time locations of assets, personnel, and vehicles on a single operating platform).
Consider Claim 5 and 15
The combination teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the DBH location is generated by a mobile phone that initiated the emergency call received at the call-taking module executed on the ESP console (See RapidSOS Page 4 as reproduced below).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of South to include the noted teachings of RapidSOS in order to utilizes a combination of different methods to validate and determine the most accurate location possible. (RapidSOS Page 4)
Consider Claim 6 and 16.
The combination teaches The method of claim 5, wherein the EMS comprises:
a location ingestion module, wherein the DBH location is received at the EMS via the location ingestion module, and wherein the location ingestion module is integrated into an operating system of the mobile phone that initiated the emergency call received at the call-taking module executed on the ESP console (South Fig. 5, C30L50-L65 (118) At step 510, the method 500 may include receiving current location information from devices including geographical information (such as GPS location data) and beacon information in response to the request sent by the system 200; C30L20-30 this includes the system 200 sending a “silent request” to all devices whose last known location is within the radius determined in step 506. In one embodiment, a silent request means that a user of the device is not aware of the request. In response to the request, the devices may determine their geographical location based on location services such as GPS, Wi-Fi, cellular triangular, etc).
Consider Claim 7 and 17.
South teaches The method of claim 1, wherein providing the enhanced data display to be displayed within the user interface of the ESP console comprises:
providing the enhanced data display to be integrated into an emergency response application executed on the ESP console (South Figs. 4A-4E, Fig. 8 shown various enhanced data display within user interface at console 180; Col17L60-Col18L10 “FIG. 4A shows an exemplary visualization 300 that may be generated by the interactive emergency visualization system 200. In some embodiments, the visualization 300 may be configured to track the progression of an incident or emergency. The visualization 300 may be displayed on an administrator user interface utilized by a first responder, emergency management coordinator, 9-1-1 operator, or the like. The visualization 300 may also be displayed on a display device such as computer screen, tablet, smartphone for use by any such administrator, first responder, emergency management coordinator, 9-1-1 operator..”);.
Consider Claim 8 and 18.
South teaches The method of claim 7, further comprising:
providing, by the EMS, via the website, the emergency response application to the ESP console (South Figs. 4A-4E, Fig. 8 shown various enhanced data display within user interface at console 180; Col17L60-Col18L10 “FIG. 4A shows an exemplary visualization 300 that may be generated by the interactive emergency visualization system 200. In some embodiments, the visualization 300 may be configured to track the progression of an incident or emergency. The visualization 300 may be displayed on an administrator user interface utilized by a first responder, emergency management coordinator, 9-1-1 operator, or the like. The visualization 300 may also be displayed on a display device such as computer screen, tablet, smartphone for use by any such administrator, first responder, emergency management coordinator, 9-1-1 operator..”);.
Consider Claim 9 and 19.
South teaches The method of claim 7,
wherein the emergency response application is the call-taking module executed on the ESP console (South Figs. 4A-4E, Fig. 8 shown various enhanced data display within user interface at console 180; Col17L60-Col18L10 “FIG. 4A shows an exemplary visualization 300 that may be generated by the interactive emergency visualization system 200. In some embodiments, the visualization 300 may be configured to track the progression of an incident or emergency. The visualization 300 may be displayed on an administrator user interface utilized by a first responder, emergency management coordinator, 9-1-1 operator, or the like. The visualization 300 may also be displayed on a display device such as computer screen, tablet, smartphone for use by any such administrator, first responder, emergency management coordinator, 9-1-1 operator..”);.
Consider Claim 10 and 20
South teaches The method of claim 1,
wherein displaying the DBH location alongside the ALI location comprises:
displaying the DBH location within a map provided by the enhanced data display (South Fig. 4A, Fig. 8, Fig, 10, C40L50-L60 The expanded view may include symbols representing individuals within the geo-fences, such as the individual markers 306 shown in FIG. 4A. ).
Consider Claim 13.
South teaches The system of claim 11, wherein the EMS is further configured to: subscribe the ESP to a user identifier associated with the emergency call received at the call-taking module executed on the ESP console; receive updated emergency data associated with the user identifier, the updated emergency data comprising an updated DBH location; and automatically push the updated emergency data comprising the updated DBH location to the ESP console for display within the enhanced data display (South Fig. 5, C30L50-L65; South Claim 10 The method of claim 1, further comprising; receiving, after receiving the current location information, further location information from the user devices determined to be within the geo-fence; and updating the graphical map based on the further location information. C47L12-L20, FIG. 19 shows an exemplary visualization showing aspects of an intelligent geo-fencing method. In some embodiments, geo-fences may be used to visualize real-time locations of assets, personnel, and vehicles on a single operating platform).
Claim(s) 2, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9794755 B1 South; John A. et al. and NPL RAPIDSOS NG911 Clearinghouse Android ELS Pilot Project (Jan. 2018), and alternatively also US 20170325056 A1 MEHTA; Anil et al., in further view of US 20100262668 A1 Piett; William Todd et al.
Consider Claim 2 and 12
The combination teaches The method of claim 1, wherein determining that the ESP has received the data related to the emergency call received at the call-taking module executed on the ESP console (See claim 1).
The combination does not explicitly disclose receiving, at the EMS, from the ESP, a user identifier associated with the emergency call.
Piett teaches receiving, at the EMS, from the ESP, a user identifier associated with the emergency call (Piett [0006] In a general aspect, a method for providing user data to an emergency service provider includes enrolling a user in an emergency information system, including configuring a communication device associated with the user to deliver an access identifier to an emergency service provider when the user contacts the emergency service provider using the communication device. The method also includes maintaining, in a data storage module of the emergency information system, a database including user data associated with the user. The user data is associated with the access identifier)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of South to include the noted teachings of Piett in order to help a first responder to more efficiently locate the caller (Piett [0022]).
Consider Claim 14.
The combination teaches The system of claim 13 (see claim 13).
The combination does not explicitly disclose subscribe the ESP to the user identifier in response to receiving an emergency data request comprising the user identifier from the ESP console.
Piett teaches subscribe the ESP to the user identifier in response to receiving an emergency data request comprising the user identifier from the ESP console (Piett [0006] In a general aspect, a method for providing user data to an emergency service provider includes enrolling a user in an emergency information system, including configuring a communication device associated with the user to deliver an access identifier to an emergency service provider when the user contacts the emergency service provider using the communication device. The method also includes maintaining, in a data storage module of the emergency information system, a database including user data associated with the user. The user data is associated with the access identifier).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of South to include the noted teachings of Piett in order to help a first responder to more efficiently locate the caller (Piett [0022]).
Conclusion
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/UMAIR AHSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647