DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
For reasons internal to the USPTO, this application has been reassigned. The present examiner regrets if this is inconvenient to applicant(s).
Receipt of applicant’s remarks and claim amendments filed on 07/14/2026 are acknowledged.
However, applicants’ arguments for the previous 103 rejection and nonstatutory double patenting rejections are found not persuasive. Accordingly, the previous rejections are maintained, and modified to address claim amendments. For convenience purpose, just the format of the rejections are modified.
Please see the examiners response to applicants arguments below.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ main argument is that the present application discloses a clinical trial for the compound of formula (I). As shown in FIG. 3 below, the trial determined that patients having trough drug concentrations in plasma of about 0.1 ng/mL to about 0.85 ng/mL had significantly higher clinical remission relative to placebo as compared to patients having higher trough drug concentrations in plasma. This range of concentrations was critical to obtaining the substantial improvement in efficacy shown in FIG. 3. Cited art discloses plasma concentrations of the compound between 1-25 ng/mL, which does not overlap with the range recited in claims 1 and 10.
Shown data in Fig. 3 is expected based on the teachings of ‘373, see the following reasoning in (i) and (ii) below:
(i) As explained in the rejection, the cited 373’ teaches that the plasma concentration is 1-25 ng/mL, but they do not explicitly teach that the concentration is about 0.1-0.85 ng/mL (see [0178]).
The above was addressed with the cited case law, which states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985), wherein the court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties." See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997), wherein under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0. Here, the ranges do not overlap but are close such that one skilled in the art would expect them to have the same properties.
(ii) Alternatively, the difference can also be cured by the teachings of cited ‘373, which teaches administration of 200 mg to 1000 mg and observed compound in the plasma concentration is in the range of 1-25 ng/mL, wherein probably 1 ng/mL corresponds to 200 mg and 25 ng/mL corresponds to 1000 mg.
Applicants claimed administration range is 50 mg to 1000 mg per day, wherein the lowest amount 0.1 ng/mL probably corresponds to 50 mg.
It appears that ‘373 did not test with below 200 mg. However, a skilled person can expect applicants claimed range 0.1 ng/mL to 0.85 ng/mL, if the administration range is extrapolated to below 200 mg, absent evidence to the contrary.
With regard to nonstatutory double patenting rejection, applicants argue that neither the claims of the '179 Application nor Sandborn recite administering the claimed composition in a manner to maintain plasma concentrations at between about 0.1 ng/mL and 0.85 ng/mL. They also do not disclose that this concentration range provides substantially improved rates of clinical remission. As such, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the provisional double patenting rejection.
As explained above, applicants claimed range is expected, absent evidence to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(i) Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2021142373-A1 (hereinafter ‘373).
With regard to claims 1-2:
‘373 teaches a method of treating inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) in a subject comprising administering the compound of formula (I), referred to as Compound A (see [0178], [0198]). Further, they teach that the subject has a plasma concentration of the compound between 1-25 ng/mL (see [0178]).
Difference is that ‘373 is silent on trough concentration of the compound of formula (I) in the subject’s plasma in between 0.1 ng/mL to 0.85 ng/mL.
373’ teaches that the plasma concentration is 1-25 ng/mL, but they do not explicitly teach that the concentration is about 0.1-0.85 ng/mL (see [0178]). Here, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985), wherein the court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties." See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997), wherein under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0. Here, the ranges do not overlap but are close such that one skilled in the art would expect them to have the same properties.
Alternatively, ‘373 teaches administration of 200 mg to 1000 mg and observed compound in the plasma concentration is in the range of 1-25 ng/mL, wherein probably 1 ng/mL corresponds to 200 mg and 25 ng/mL corresponds to 1000 mg.
Applicants claimed administration range is 50 mg to 1000 mg per day, wherein the lowest amount 0.1 ng/mL probably corresponds to 50 mg.
It appears that ‘373 did not test with below 200 mg. However, a skilled person can expect applicants claimed range 0.1 ng/mL to 0.85 ng/mL, if the administration range is extrapolated to below 200 mg, absent evidence to the contrary.
With regard to claims 3 and 4:
‘373 teaches that in some embodiments, the subject is provided with a dose ranging from about 200 mg to about 1000 mg, optionally taken as a once daily dose or as divided doses (e.g., half the amount) twice daily (see [0173]). Further, in some embodiments, the subject is provided with a dose ranging from about 100 mg to about 1500 mg per day, optionally taken as a once daily dose or as divided doses (e.g., half the amount) twice daily (see [0173]). They also teach embodiments wherein the dose is 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12.5, 25.0, 37.5, 50.0, 62.5, 75, 87.5, 100.0, 112.5, 125.0, 137.5, 150.0, 162.5, 175, 187.5, 200.0, 212.5, 225.0, 237.5, 250.0, 262.5, 275, 287.5, 300.0, 312.5, 325.0, 337.5, 350.0, 362.5, 375, 387.5, 400.0, 412.5, 425.0, 437.5, 450.0, 462.5, 475, 487.5, or 500.0 mg (see [0173]). Here, ‘373 does not explicitly teach the range of 50 mg to 1000 mg, not do they explicitly teach all of the dosages of 50, 62.5, 75, 87.5, 100.0, 112.5, 125.0, 137.5, 150.0, 162.5, 175, 187.5, 200.0, 212.5, 225.0, 237.5, 250.0, 262.5, 275, 287.5, 300.0, 312.5, 325.0, 337.5, 350.0, 362.5, 375, 387.5, 400.0, 412.5, 425.0, 437.5, 450.0, 462.5, 475, 487.5, 500.0, 512.5, 525, 537.5, 550, 562.5, 575, 587.5, 600, 612.5, 625, 637.5, 650, 662.5, 675, 687.5, 700, 712.5, 725, 737.5, 750, 762.5, 775, 787.5,800, 812.5, 825, 837.5, 850, 862.5, 875, 887.5, 900, 912.5, 925, 937.5, 950, 962.5, 975, 987.5 or 1000 mg, but they teach embodiments from 200 to 1000 mg and a representative sample of embodiments from 50 to 200 mg. Again, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941).
With regard to claim 5:
‘373 teaches the embodiments of the compound administered at a dosage of 150 mg and 450 mg once or twice per day (see [0173]). Specifically, they teach that the subject is provided with a dose of about any of 100, 150, 200, 250, 300, 250, 400, 450, or 500 mg once or twice daily (see [0173]).
With regard to claim 6:
‘373 teaches that the subjects can be human (see [0160]).
With regard to claim 7:
373’ teaches that the IBD can be ulcerative colitis (see [0167]).
With regard to claim 8:
‘373 teaches embodiments wherein the compound of formula (I) is used to treat moderate to severe ulcerative colitis (see [0321]).
With regard to claim 9:
‘373 teaches embodiments wherein the IBD is Crohn’s disease (see [0031]).
Based on the above established facts from the cited prior art, it appears that all the claimed elements, i.e, applicants individual components in the claimed method, were known in the prior art, and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known relationships, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The motivation to modify the art can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their common known purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
(ii) Claims 10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2021142373-A1 (hereinafter ‘373).
With regard to claim 10 and 12:
‘373 teaches a method of improving the therapeutic efficacy of treating IBD, specifically with regard to endoscopic improvement or histological improvement, wherein a compound of formula (I) is orally administered to a subject (see [0092], [0178], [0198]). In particular embodiments, the pharmacokinetic parameter, like plasma concentration in ng/mL, is maintained for at least several hours following administration (see [0180]). Here, maintaining a pharmacokinetic parameter, all of which are measures of plasma concentration or related measures in ‘373, clearly implies a chosen level of said parameter to maintain. In other words, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that maintaining a plasma concentration of the compound in a subject implies having a predetermined level at which to maintain it. As such, ‘373 teaches maintaining plasma concentration of the compound of formula (I) in a subject at a predetermined concentration.
‘373 teaches that the plasma concentration is 1-25 ng/mL, but they do not explicitly teach that the concentration is about 0.1-0.85 ng/mL or 0.2-0.7 ng/mL. Here, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985), wherein the court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties." See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997), wherein under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0. Here, the ranges do not overlap but are close such that one skilled in the art would expect them to have the same properties.
Alternatively, ‘373 teaches administration of 200 mg to 1000 mg and observed compound in the plasma concentration is in the range of 1-25 ng/mL, wherein probably 1 ng/mL corresponds to 200 mg and 25 ng/mL corresponds to 1000 mg.
Applicants claimed administration range is 50 mg to 1000 mg per day, wherein the lowest amount 0.1 ng/mL probably corresponds to 50 mg.
It appears that ‘373 did not test with below 200 mg. However, a skilled person can expect applicants claimed range 0.1 ng/mL to 0.85 ng/mL, if the administration range is extrapolated to below 200 mg, absent evidence to the contrary.
With regard to claims 13 and 14:
The plasma concentration of the compound of formula (I) and regimen of dosage of said compound are known result-effective variables, variables which achieve a recognized result, in ‘373. Specifically, 373 teaches that the plasma concentration of the compound of formula (I) is a result-effective variable in treating IBD, specifically in having the compound traverse the patient’s system (see [0314]). Additionally, they teach that different doses and dosing regimens of compounds of formula (I) is a result-effective variable in treating IBD, specifically in the saturation of blood receptor occupancy (see [0026]). Here, the presence of known result-effective variables provides a motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. In other words, the presence of the known result-effective variables provides a motivation for routine experimentation and optimization recited in claims 13 and 14 by modifying these variables, namely, dosing regimens or plasma concentrations in subjects.
With regard to claim 15:
‘373 teaches that the compound of formula (I) is administered once or twice daily (see [0173]).
With regard to claim 16:
‘373 teaches that the subjects can be human (see [0160]).
With regard to claim 17:
373’ teaches that the IBD can be ulcerative colitis (see [0167]).
With regard to claim 18:
‘373 teaches embodiments wherein the compound of formula (I) is used to treat moderate to severe ulcerative colitis (see [0321]).
With regard to claim 19:
‘373 teaches embodiments wherein the IBD is Crohn’s disease (see [0031]).
Based on the above established facts from the cited prior art, it appears that all the claimed elements, i.e, applicants individual components in the claimed method, were known in the prior art, and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known relationships, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The motivation to modify the art can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their common known purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejection
Claims 1-10 and 12-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 22, 27, 28, 29, 35, 37, 38, 56, 57, and 66 of US copending Application No. 17/788179 (herein after ‘179) in view of Sandborn (Gastroenterology, 2021, vol. 161, 6, 1853-1864).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
With regard to claim 1:
‘179 claims a method of treating IBD in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject an α4β7 integrin antagonist of formula (I) of the instant application, wherein the antagonist is administered to the patient orally at a dose of about 100 mg to about 500 mg, once or twice daily, wherein the subject reaches pharmacokinetic parameters in plasma concentration of 1-25 ng/mL (see claims 1, 8, 29). Although the range claimed by ‘179 is not precisely 0.1 ng/mL to 4 ng/mL as claimed in claim 1 of the instant application, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941). The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range. Further, although ‘179 does not explicitly teach a clinical remission rate, they teach the use of the same physical product, and, as discussed above, the same range of plasma concentration. Here, products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
With regard to claim 2:
‘179 claims that the plasma concentration is 1-25 ng/mL, but they do not explicitly claim that the concentration is about 0.2-0.7 ng/mL (see claim 29). Here, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985), wherein the court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties." See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997), wherein under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0. Here, the ranges do not overlap but are close such that one skilled in the art would expect them to have the same properties.
With regard to claims 3, 4, and 5:
‘179 claims the method discussed above wherein the peptide dimer compound or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is administered to the subject at a dose of about 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12.5, 25.0, 37.5, 50.0, 62.5, 75, 87.5, 100.0, 112.5, 125.0, 137.5, 150.0, 162.5, 175, 187.5, 200.0, 212.5, 225.0, 237.5, 250.0, 262.5, 275, 287.5, 300.0, 312.5, 325.0, 337.5, 350.0, 362.5, 375, 387.5, 400.0, 412.5, 425.0, 437.5, 450.0, 462.5, 475, 487.5, or 500.0 mg once a day or twice a day (see claims 56, 57).
With regard to claim 6, 7, 8, and 9:
Although ‘179 does not explicitly claim a clinical remission rate, they teach the use of the same physical product, and, as discussed above, the same range of plasma concentration. Here, products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
With regard to claim 10:
‘179 claims the method discussed above wherein the effective amount of the antagonist or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof or the pharmaceutical composition is sufficient to achieve at least one of the following: a) about 50% or greater saturation of MAdCAM1 binding sites on α4β7 integrin molecules; b) about 50% or greater inhibition of α4β7 integrin expression on the cell surface; and c) about 50% or greater saturation of MAdCAM1 binding sites on α4β7 molecules and about 50% or greater inhibition of α4β7 integrin expression on the cell surface, wherein i) the saturation is maintained for a period consistent with a dosing frequency of no more than twice daily; ii) the inhibition is maintained for a period consistent with a dosing frequency of no more than twice daily; or iii) the saturation and the inhibition are each maintained for a period consistent with a dosing frequency of no more than twice daily (see claim 66). Here, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that maintaining the saturation of MAdCAM1 binding sites is a direct function of the plasma concentration of the compound of formula (I) and thereby a function of the regimen and dosage of the compound administered to the subject. In other words, maintaining or regulating the saturation as described above is functionally equivalent to regulating or maintaining the plasma concentration of the compound in the patient by controlling the dosing regimen of the compound. Here, ‘179 has a predetermined saturation of MAdCAM1 binding sites, which, as discussed above, has a direct relationship with the plasma concentration of the compound, thereby implying a predetermined plasma concentration that is regulated or maintained in maintaining the saturation.
With regard to claim 12:
‘179 claims that the plasma concentration is 1-25 ng/mL, but they do not explicitly teach that the concentration is about 0.1-0.85 ng/mL or 0.2-0.7 ng/mL (see claim 29). Here, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985), wherein the court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties." See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997), wherein under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0. Here, the ranges do not overlap but are close such that one skilled in the art would expect them to have the same properties.
With regard to claims 13 and 14:
The plasma concentration of the compound of formula (I) and regimen of dosage of said compound are known result-effective variables, variables which achieve a recognized result, in ‘179. Specifically, ‘179 claims that different doses and dosing regimens of compounds of formula (I) is a result-effective variable in treating IBD, specifically in altering the saturation of blood receptor occupancy (see claim 22). As such, seeing as one having ordinary skill in the art knows that plasma concentration of a drug is a function of the dosing regimen, plasma concentration is a result-effective variable in treating IBD insofar as it is modulated by dosing and affects the saturation of blood receptor occupancy (see claim 22). Here, the presence of known result-effective variables provides a motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. In other words, the presence of the known result-effective variables provides a motivation for routine experimentation and optimization recited in claims 13 and 14 by modifying these variables, namely, dosing regimens or plasma concentrations in subjects.
With regard to claim 15:
‘179 claims the method discussed above wherein the dose is administered to the subject once a day or twice a day (see claim 57).
With regard to claim 16:
‘179 does not explicitly claim that the patient is human, but they do claim the method for treating human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection in the GI tract, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would know is a condition specific to humans, revealing that the scope of the claims include human patients (see claim 35). Claiming the treatment of the human-specific condition also directly supplies a teaching that the patient can be human.
With regard to claim 17:
‘179 claims the method discussed above wherein the IBD is ulcerative colitis (see claims 27, 35, 37).
With regard to claim 18:
‘179 claims the method of treating ulcerative colitis discussed above, but they do not explicitly claim that the ulcerative colitis can be moderate to severe ulcerative colitis (see claims 27, 35, 37). The prior art does, however, show that α4ß7 antagonist peptides like those discussed in the instant application and ‘179 can be effective in treating moderate to severe ulcerative colitis. Specifically, Sandborn shows that another α4ß7 antagonist peptide, PTG-100, showed proof-of-concept efficacy in patients with moderate to severe active ulcerative colitis (see page 1862, paragraph 4). Seeing as α4ß7 antagonist peptides were known to treat moderate to severe ulcerative colitis, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to try to use the α4ß7 antagonist peptide of ‘179 in treating moderate to severe ulcerative colitis.
With regard to claim 19:
‘179 claims the method discussed above wherein the IBD is Crohn’s disease (see claims 28, 35, 38).
Based on the above established facts from the cited prior art, it appears that all the claimed elements, i.e, applicants individual components in the claimed method, were known in the prior art, and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known relationships, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The motivation to modify the art can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their common known purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUDHAKAR KATAKAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658