DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Response to Restriction Requirement received 16 March 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 16 March 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 15-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, it is unclear whether the impact location is required since the claim from which it depends does not require an impact location (rather the information can be height, weight, sex, handedness, age, golf score handicap, club head swing speed, club head angle of attack, club head swing path, angle of head rotation prior to impact, or club head acceleration curve), but claim 13 further defines the alternative. For the purpose of examination, claim 13 is being treated as further defining an alternative which is not required by the claim from which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soracco et al. (US 2016/0125494 A1) in view of Konow (US 7,004,848 B2 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Soracco discloses a method [100] for producing a golf club component [10, 40], comprising: receiving [130] a selection of at least one parameter (paragraph 0064: “user choices”) from a user via a user interface (Figure 8), wherein the at least one parameter (paragraph 0064: “user choices”) is selected from a plurality of parameters [127]; generating [137] a design model of the golf club component [10, 40] based on the selected parameter (paragraph 0064: “user choices”); providing [110, 40] the design model of the golf club component [10, 40] to an additive manufacturing system [150]; and forming [145] the golf club component [10, 40] using the additive manufacturing system [150] (paragraphs 0032-0034, 0044, 0051, 0059-0072, 0076-0078, 0086-0093, and Figures 1-9). Soracco does not disclose the golf club component being provided with a plurality of markings that contain a unique identifier. Konow, however, teaches a similar golf club component [16], wherein the golf club component [16] is provided with a plurality of markings that contain a unique identifier (col. 6 lines 36-37: “a club serial number stamped, electro-etched or laser marked on the head of the club”) configured to enable authentication of the golf club component [16] (col. 4 lines 23-34, col. 6 lines 35-46, col. 7 lines 5-13, 52-62, and Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Soracco’s golf club component with a plurality of markings that contain a unique identifier because Konow teaches that this method deters theft and allows for a stolen golf club to be identified (col. 6 lines 35-46 and col. 7 lines 5-13).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Soracco discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of parameters [127] are generated based on data [125] associated with the user (paragraphs 0060-0064 and Figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Soracco discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the additive manufacturing system [150] comprises at least one of a heat treatment, a surface finish treatment (paragraph 0088: “overall finish of surface (e.g., anodized, painted, decal set)”), or an assembly step (paragraph 0050: “club heads may include tapped holes or fastener assemblies for club construction;” paragraph 0071: “the component may be provided to an assembler who will combine the fabricated component with other fabricated components;” and paragraph 0093: “the club heads may be assembled into clubs on site”) (paragraphs 0050, 0071, 0088, and 0093).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Soracco discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the golf club component [10, 40] is a portion of a golf club head (paragraphs 0044, 0051, and Figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Soracco discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the plurality of parameters [127] include: club type, club shaft type (paragraph 0064: “golf club shaft type”), club shaft length (paragraph 0064: “golf club shaft length”), club shaft stiffness, club shaft material, club shaft shape (paragraph 0064: “golf club shaft shape”), club shaft color (paragraph 0064: “golf club shaft color”), club grip type (paragraph 0064: “golf club grip type”), club grip thickness, club grip length, club grip material, club grip color (paragraph 0064: “golf club grip color”), club head type (paragraph 0064: “golf club head type”), club head color (paragraph 0064: “golf club head color”), club head loft angle (paragraph 0064: “golf club loft angle”), club head lie angle (paragraph 0064: “golf club lie angle”), club head weight (paragraph 0064: “golf club head weight”), club head size (paragraph 0064: “golf club head size”), club head volume (paragraph 0064: “golf club head volume”), club head shape (paragraph 0064: “golf club head shape”), club head material, club head surface roughness, club head reflectivity, club head alignment aid configuration, club head toe support lines, club head sole bounce, club head sole design, club head sole width, club head crown design, club head center of gravity location (paragraph 0064: “golf club head center of gravity”), club head moment of inertia values, club head product of inertia values, club head coefficient of restitution, club head face angle, club head face thickness, club head face size (paragraph 0064: “golf club head face size”), club head face design, club head face profile shape, club head offset, club head topline thickness, club head length, club head blade length, club head scoreline length, club head scoreline spacing, club head scoreline pattern, club head scoreline location, club head hosel length, club head hosel configuration, club head hosel design, club head blade profile shape, club head leading edge type, club head par area length, club head groove type, club head groove design, club head impact point location, club head impact sound, club head impact feel, club head filler material, club head filler density, club head weight receptacles and weight members attachable thereto, club head weight members, club head finish type, club head insignia (paragraph 0064: “golf club insignia”), club head medallion design (paragraph 0064: “golf club head medallion”), club price, number of clubs of the golf club set (paragraph 0064: “number of clubs”), or manufacturing information (paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Soracco discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the golf club component [10, 40] includes an internal void [56] (paragraphs 0053-0054 and Figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Soracco discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the design model is provided to the user (paragraph 0090: “showing the user a product example”) and the user provides the design model to the additive manufacturing system [150] (paragraph 0092: “the user places an order”) (paragraphs 0069-0071, 0090, 0092, and Figures 6, 8, and 9).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Soracco discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to receiving [130] the selection: receiving [120] information from the user; comparing [125] the information to a database [123] to correlate the information to the plurality of parameters [127]; and outputting the plurality of parameters [127] to the user on the user interface (Figure 8) (paragraphs 0060-0064, 0086, 0088-0090, and Figures 6 and 8).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, the modified Soracco discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the information (see [120]) includes one or more of: height (paragraph 0060: “height”), weight (paragraph 0060: “weight”), sex (paragraph 0060: “sex”), handedness (paragraph 0060: “handedness”), age (paragraph 0060: “age”), golf score handicap (paragraph 0060: “golf score handicap”), club head swing speed (claim 34: “club head swing speed”), club head angle of attack (claim 34: “club head angle of attack”), club head swing path (claim 34: “club head swing path”), angle of head rotation prior to impact, club head acceleration curve, and impact location, wherein the impact location includes an average impact location, a maximum impact location, or a minimum impact location (paragraph 0060, claim 34, and Figure 6).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soracco in view of Konow as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Roach et al. (US 11,511,166 B1).
Regarding claims 7-9, the modified Soracco does not disclose a lattice structure at least partially disposed within the void. Roach, however, teaches a similar golf club component [901] including an internal void [917], wherein a lattice structure [927] is at least partially disposed within the internal void [917], wherein the lattice structure [927] is exposed or visible from an exterior of the golf club component [901], wherein the lattice structure [927] is formed of a first material and at least a portion of the golf club component [901] is formed of a second material that is different than the first material (col. 6 lines 7-10: “a ball-striking face plate comprises a first metal that is otherwise unable to be welded to the golf club head body (i.e., the body and ball-striking face have dissimilar materials)”) (col. 6 lines 6-14, 42-45, col. 11 line 26 – col. 12 line 3, and Figures 11-14). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the modified Soracco’s golf club component to include an exposed lattice structure at least partially disposed within the internal void because Roach teaches that this configuration reduces weight, maintains strength, and provides a very strong structure with optimized mass and a high characteristic time (col. 11 line 52 – col. 12 line 3)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soracco in view of Konow as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marc Uible (“The Ultimate Guide to Brand NFTs”).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Soracco does not disclose minting a non-fungible token prior to providing the design model to the additive manufacturing system. Uible, however, teaches a similar method of creating a design model (page 4: “highly customizable product;” wherein customizing includes a design), and minting a non-fungible token to a blockchain ledger, the non-fungible token being associated with a virtual object and metadata, wherein at least one of the virtual object or metadata includes the design model (page 4: “highly customizable product;” wherein customizing includes a design) (pages 2 and 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mint an NFT associated with the design model of the modified Soracco because Uible teaches that offering buyers the opportunity to buy an NFT for a highly customizable product, along with the physical product, allows users to uniquely own a digital expression of their style (pages 2 and 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Soracco et al. (US 2016/0151861 A1) and Blevins et al. (US 10/518,151 B2) which both disclose a similar method for producing a golf club component.
/AUDREY B. WALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711