Election/Restrictions
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species
Species a. a home port for a semiconductor manufacturing nozzle head, claims 1-13; or
Species b. a substrate treatment apparatus, comprising a substrate, support, a nozzle head, a home port configured to receive the nozzle head, claims 14-19; or
Species c. a home port for nozzles comprising…
…valves surrounding the first ends of the first flow passages together with inlets of the discharge flow passages and configured to form adjustment spaces between the valves and the first part of the body, the adjustment spaces allowing the supply flow passages and the first flow passages to communicate with each other outside the first part,
housing having an operating space formed to be partitioned from the adjustments spaces while surrounding the valves on opposites to the adjustment spaces….
The species are independent or distinct because they are directed to different structures having a different elements in different fields of search. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable.
There is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(d) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention;
(e) the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species or a grouping of patentably indistinct species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
During a telephone conversation with Bradley Edelman on September 5, 2025 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute species a, claims 1-13. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 3 includes reference numeral “210” on a top and bottom portion. It is clear if this is the correct reference numeral. Clarification is requested.
Figs. 4-8 lack the reference numeral “240”. Including this reference numeral may improve clarity of the drawings.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Paragraphs 4 and 26 of the printed publication include the phrase “and the like”. Paragraph 44 includes the phrase “like or similar”. Paragraph 83 uses the term “some”. The specification should be reviewed for proper idiomatic English and in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52(a) and (b) is required. Any amendments to the specification must be accompanied by a statement that the amendmentment contains no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 8 (2 occurences) are objected to because of the following informalities:
A suggested revision is: “each of the valves”.
Claim 12 is rejected for the term “some”. Examiner is interpreting this term to mean “more than one”. Clarification is requested.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “pressure adjusting members” in claim 6 and “gap adjusting members” in claim 8.
The “pressure adjusting member” is described in the specification paragraphs 10, 61-62, 64-67, 78-81, and 95. The “pressure adjusting member” is identified with reference numeral 243 in the drawings Figs. 3-4 and 6-8. The “pressure adjusting member” are configured to form a vacuum environment in the operating space or make a pressure of the operating space equal to or higher than that of the discharge space and including a vacuum line configured to form the vacuum environment in the operating space according to paragraph 10. The “pressure adjusting member” may include a vacuum line 243V and air supply line 243A or a plurality of vacuum lines or supply lines and may be referred to as pressure adjusting system or pressure controller according to paragraph 66. Fig. 3 depicts “the pressure adjusting member” located directed below the housing “241” of the controller “240” and above the lead-in passage 233.
The “gap adjusting member” is described in the specification paragraphs 49, 61-63, 69-75, 82-83, 85, and 95. The “gap adjusting member” is identified with reference numeral 245 in the drawings Figs. 3-4 and 6-8. The “gap adjusting member” is installed in the controller housing 241.The “gap adjusting member” may have a rod shape having screw threads formed on a circumferential surface thereof and have a handle at a first end exposed to the outside and a second opposite end thereof positioned in the operating space 241S has an extended cross-section ( to have a flat surface having a surface of the valve 235) according to paragraph 70.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Num. 6,418,946 B1 to Marinaro et al (hereinafter Marinaro) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170128962 A1 to Kashiyama et al (hereinafter Kashiyama).
Regarding claim 1, Marinaro teaches a home port for a semiconductor manufacturing nozzle head (111-114), the home port comprising:
a body (space formed by walls on side of 120, 130, and 140 in Fig. 4) having a discharge space (140) configured to receive treatment liquid discharged from a plurality of nozzles; discharge flow passages (161-164) connected to be in communication with the discharge space (140) and penetrating through the body (space formed by walls on side of 140) so as to face the plurality of nozzles; and a cleaning liquid distribution system (170). (See Marinaro, Abstract, Fig. 4.)
Marinaro does not explicitly teach the cleaning liquid distribution system is formed to penetrate through the body, and is connected to transfer a cleaning liquid to the discharge flow passages, wherein the cleaning liquid distribution system includes: supply flow passages connected to supply the cleaning liquid to the discharge flow passages; and a lead-in passage connected to and which joins the supply flow passages, and connected to receive the cleaning liquid injected from the outside.
Kashiyama is directed to a nozzle standby device.
Kashiyama teaches the cleaning liquid distribution system (49) is formed to penetrate through the body, and is connected to transfer a cleaning liquid to the discharge flow passages (43, 44) , wherein the cleaning liquid distribution system includes: supply flow passages (47b-c) connected to supply the cleaning liquid to the discharge flow passages; and a lead-in passage (57) connected to and which joins the supply flow passages, and connected to receive the cleaning liquid injected from the outside. (See Kashiyama, Figs. 3, 5, and 10, Abstract, and paragraphs 52, 55, 57-75, 104-108, 111.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the cleaning liquid distribution system is formed to penetrate through the body, and is connected to transfer a cleaning liquid to the discharge flow passages, wherein the cleaning liquid distribution system includes: supply flow passages connected to supply the cleaning liquid to the discharge flow passages; and a lead-in passage connected to and which joins the supply flow passages, and connected to receive the cleaning liquid injected from the outside, because Kashiyama teaches this structure enables smooth draining and removal of the treating liquid dispensing nozzle and simpler construction for supply of cleaning liquid. (See Kashiyama, Figs. 1 -12, Abstract, and paragraphs 22-26, 52, 55, 57-75, 104-108, 111.)
the discharge flow passages penetrate through the first part of the body so that inlets thereof are formed at an outer side of the first part of the body and outlets thereof are positioned to face the discharge space, and the cleaning liquid distribution system further includes valves covering the inlets of the discharge flow passages, the valves defining adjustment spaces between the valves and the first part of the body
Regarding claim 2, Marinaro teaches the body includes: a first part (120, 130, 140) positioned to receive the nozzles; and a second part (150) coupled to the first part below the first part to form the discharge space.
Regarding claim 3, Marinaro does not explicitly teach the discharge flow passages penetrate through the first part of the body so that inlets thereof are formed at an outer side of the first part of the body and outlets thereof are positioned to face the discharge space, and the cleaning liquid distribution system further includes valves covering the inlets of the discharge flow passages, the valves defining adjustment spaces between the valves and the first part of the body.
Kashiyama teaches the discharge flow passages (43-44) penetrate through the first part (upper part of 41) of the body so that inlets (portion of 47b-c connected to area hole 55) portion thereof are formed at an outer side of the first part of the body and outlets (44-45) thereof are positioned to face the discharge space (35) , and the cleaning liquid distribution system further includes valves (51, 53)covering the inlets of the discharge flow passages, the valves defining adjustment spaces between the valves and the first part of the body. (See Kashiyama, Figs. 3, 5, and 10, Abstract, and paragraphs 52, 55, 57-75, 104-108, 111.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the discharge flow passages penetrate through the first part of the body so that inlets thereof are formed at an outer side of the first part of the body and outlets thereof are positioned to face the discharge space, and the cleaning liquid distribution system further includes valves covering the inlets of the discharge flow passages, the valves defining adjustment spaces between the valves and the first part of the body, because Kashiyama teaches this structure enables smooth draining and removal of the treating liquid dispensing nozzle and simpler construction for supply of cleaning liquid. (See Kashiyama, Figs. 1 -12, Abstract, and paragraphs 22-26, 52, 55, 57-75, 104-108, 111.)
Regarding claim 4, Marinaro does not explicitly teach the valves are provided as diaphragms.
Kashiyama teaches diaphragm valve (95) may be used as a replacement for a valve. (See Kashiyama, Figs. 3, 5, and 10, 11A-B, Abstract, and paragraphs 42, 52, 55, 57-75, 104-108, 111.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the valves are provided as diaphragms, as an art recognized equivalent valve structure(See Kashiyama, Figs. 1 -12, Abstract, and paragraphs 22-26, 42, 52, 55, 57-75, 104-108, 111.)
Regarding claim 5, Marinaro does not explicitly teach the supply flow passages each include a first flow passage penetrating through the first part of the body and having one end exposed to the outside of the first part of the body, and a second flow passage communicating with the first flow passage, penetrating through the second part of the body, and joining the lead-in passage, and wherein each valve covers the inlet of a respective discharge flow passage and one end of a respective first flow passage, such that the adjustment spaces allow the discharge flow passages and the first flow passages to communicate with each other outside the first part of the body.
Kashiyama teaches the supply flow passages (47b-c) each include a first flow passage penetrating through the first part of the body and having one end (portion of 47b-c facing 55) exposed to the outside of the first part of the body, and a second flow passage (49, 63) communicating with the first flow passage, penetrating through the second part (lower part of 41) of the body, and joining the lead-in passage (59), and wherein each valve (53) covers the inlet of a respective discharge flow passage and one end of a respective first flow passage, such that the adjustment spaces allow the discharge flow passages and the first flow passages to communicate with each other outside the first part of the body. (See Kashiyama, Figs. 3, 5, and 10, 11A-B, Abstract, and paragraphs 42, 52, 55, 57-64, 65-69, 70-75, 104-108, 111.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the supply flow passages each include a first flow passage penetrating through the first part of the body and having one end exposed to the outside of the first part of the body, and a second flow passage communicating with the first flow passage, penetrating through the second part of the body, and joining the lead-in passage, and wherein each valve covers the inlet of a respective discharge flow passage and one end of a respective first flow passage, such that the adjustment spaces allow the discharge flow passages and the first flow passages to communicate with each other outside the first part of the body, because Kashiyama teaches this structure enables the solvent to be distributed more evenly. (See Kashiyama, Figs. 1 -12, Abstract, and paragraphs 22-26, 42, 52, 55, 57-64, 65-69, 70-75, 104-108, 111.)
Regarding claim 6, Marinaro does not explicitly teach each first flow passage faces a respective second flow passage, such that a straight line section is formed in a vertical direction.
Kashiyama teaches each first flow passage faces a respective second flow passage, such that a straight line section is formed in a vertical direction (See Kashiyama, Figs. 3, 5, and 10, 11A-B, Abstract, and paragraphs 42, 52, 55, 57-75, 104-108, 111.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include each first flow passage faces a respective second flow passage, such that a straight line section is formed in a vertical direction, as an art recognized equivalent valve structure(See Kashiyama, Figs. 1 -12, Abstract, and paragraphs 22-26, 42, 52, 55, 57-75, 104-108, 111.)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Num. 6,418,946 B1 to Marinaro et al (hereinafter Marinaro) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170128962 A1 to Kashiyama et al (hereinafter Kashiyama) as applied to claim 6 and further in view of US Pat. Num. 5,849,084 to Hayes et al (hereinafter Hayes).
Regarding claim 7, Marinaro does not explicitly teach a first O-ring surrounding a straight line section of each first flow passage between the first part of the body and the second part of the body.
Hayes directed to a substrate processing apparatus.
Hayes teaches a first O-ring surrounding a straight line section of each first flow passage between the first part and the second part. (See Hayes, Figs. 1-6, Abstract, and col. 5, 18-28.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a first O-ring surrounding a straight line section of each first flow passage between the first part of the body and the second part of the body, because Hayes teaches this construction is a known way to provide sealing for parts in a substrate processing apparatus. (See Hayes, Figs. 1-6, Abstract, and col. 5, 18-28.)
Claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Num. 6,418,946 B1 to Marinaro et al (hereinafter Marinaro) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20170128962 A1 to Kashiyama et al (hereinafter Kashiyama) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20200035518 A1 to Miyagi et al (hereinafter Miyagi).
Regarding claim 13, Marinaro does not explicitly teaches: the first part of the body is made of a metal, and an inner circumferential surface of the first part facing the discharge space is coated with a non-conductor material, and the second part of the body is made of a resin.
Miyagi directed to a substrate processing apparatus.
Miyagi teaches the first part of a body is made with metal to reduce cost and the second part is coated with fluorine resin. (See Miyagi, Figs. 11-12, 19, 26-31, Abstract, and paragraphs 4, 5, 75, 113, 132, 145.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first part of the body is made of a metal, and an inner circumferential surface of the first part facing the discharge space is coated with a non-conductor material, because Miyagi teaches this construction reduces cost and increases durability by reducing corrosion. (See Miyagi, Figs. 11-12, 19, 26-31, Abstract, and paragraphs 4, 5, 75, 113, 132, 145.)
Regarding claim 13, Marinaro does not explicitly teaches: the second part of the body is made of a resin.
Miyagi teaches a second part is made of a resin. (See Miyagi, Figs. 11-12, 19, 26-31, Abstract, and paragraphs 4, 5, 75, 113, 132, 145.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the second part of the body is made of a resin, because Miyagi teaches this resin may material can be made with the desired dielectric constant to suppress charged potential generating in splashing of liquid. (See Miyagi, Figs. 11-12, 19, 26-31, Abstract, and paragraphs 4, 5, 75, 113, 132, 145.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KARL KURPLE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717