DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 4/26/23 has been considered and placed of record. The initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by document JP2019075955A. See translation.
Re claim 1, the document discloses a battery pack 2 having, inter alia, a rechargeable battery 10 including (i) a positive electrode, (ii) a negative electrode, and (iii) at least one battery cell; a first power supply terminal 11 configured to be detachably coupled to a positive electrode terminal of an external device 40; a second power supply terminal 12 configured to be detachably coupled to a negative electrode terminal of the external device 40; a first signal terminal 18 configured to be detachably coupled to a first corresponding terminal of the external device 40; a second signal terminal 14 configured to be detachably coupled to a second corresponding terminal of the external device 40; a positive-side current path (i) electrically coupling the first power supply terminal to the positive electrode of the rechargeable battery or (ii) configured to electrically couple the first power supply terminal to the positive electrode of the rechargeable battery (positive-side current path is same path as first supply terminal 11 to the positive side of battery 10); a negative-side current path (i) electrically coupling the second power supply terminal to the negative electrode of the rechargeable battery or (ii) configured to electrically couple the second power supply terminal to the negative electrode of the rechargeable battery (negative-side current path is same path as second supply terminal 12 to the negative side of battery 10) ; a temperature signal generation circuit 22 (i) including a temperature detection device and (ii) configured to generate a temperature signal across the first signal terminal and the second signal terminal (signal terminals 14,18 communicate with charge signal and battery control for voltage/current/temperature), the temperature detection device having a variable resistance that is dependent on a battery temperature (pars 24), the temperature signal having a voltage associated with the variable resistance (para 24), and the battery temperature corresponding to a temperature of (i) the rechargeable battery or (ii) the at least one battery cell (dotted line to the battery 10); a biasing circuit 30 configured to bias the voltage of the temperature signal, wherein the voltage biased makes the external device reduce or stop (i) charging from the external device to the rechargeable battery (control unit 30 stopping operation according to temperature) and/or (ii) discharging from the rechargeable battery to the external device; and a control circuit configured to operate the biasing circuit based on a battery status (control unit 30 sets charge completion based on temperature of battery), the battery status corresponding to (i) a status of the rechargeable battery and/or (ii) a status of the at least one battery cell. See figures 1-2.
Re claim 15, the document further discloses the negative electrode terminal of the external device is common with the second corresponding terminal of the external device (shared through charge control circuit 60); and the second power supply terminal of the battery pack is common with the second signal terminal of the battery pack (shared through monitoring circuit).
Re claim 16, the document further discloses a temperature detection circuit 22 configured to detect the battery temperature; and/or a voltage detection circuit configured to detect a battery voltage, the battery voltage corresponding to a voltage of (i) the rechargeable battery or (ii) the at least one battery cell, and wherein the battery status includes (i) the battery temperature detected by the temperature detection circuit (S320), and/or (ii) the battery voltage detected by the voltage detection circuit.
Re claim 17, the document further discloses the external device is a charger or a battery-operated device. Figure 1.
Re claim 18, the document discloses a method for adjusting charging and/or discharging between a battery pack and an external device having, inter alia, outputting a temperature signal 22 from the battery pack to the external device, the temperature signal having a voltage associated with a variable resistance of a temperature detection device in the battery pack , the variable resistance being dependent on a temperature of (i) a rechargeable battery in the battery pack or (ii) at least one battery cell in the rechargeable battery (para 24), and the external device being coupled to the battery pack; and biasing the voltage of the temperature signal based on (i) a status of the rechargeable battery (control unit 30 stopping operation according to temperature) and/or (ii) a status of the at least one battery cell, wherein the voltage biased makes the external device reduce or stop (i) charging from the external device to the rechargeable battery (control unit 30 sets charge completion based on temperature of battery) and/or (ii) discharging from the rechargeable battery to the external device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over document JP2019075955A in view of document CN114112092A.
Re claim 2, the JP document further discloses the temperature signal generation circuit includes a pair of terminals (i) respectively coupled to the first signal terminal and the second signal terminal (through 14 and 18) and (ii) configured to receive an input voltage across the pair of terminals at least para 24); the temperature signal generation circuit is configured to generate the temperature signal having the voltage based on the electrical resistance in response to an electric current flowing across the pair of terminals through the temperature detection device (para 24); and it only provided description in boxes). The CN document teaches a temperature measuring circuit having voltage dividing resistors and biasing circuit to measure the varying voltage across the connectors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated the circuit components of the CN document into the temperature signal circuit of JP to ensure the proper temperature is measured at the terminals.
Re claim 4, the JP document further discloses the temperature signal generation circuit 22 includes a first current path (line between 22 and 30) electrically coupling the pair of terminals with one another (14, 18); and the temperature detection device 22 is on the first current path (line between 22 and 30). Fig 2.
Re claim 5, the JP document further discloses the biasing circuit ensure change in temperature is measured to halt charging). Official notice is taken of the fact that having a resistor in the current path would allow for measuring the resistance across the current path. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included a resistor in the current path in order to measure the resistance across the path.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over document JP2019075955A in view of document CN114112092A and further in view of document WO2019014949A1.
The JP document further discloses the external device (fig 3; 40) .
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over document JP2019075955A in view of document CN114112092A and further in view of Seong et al. (US 2020/0186093).
Re claim 6, JP and CN documents do not suggest the bias circuit having a second current path in parallel with the first resistor and the first switch is on the second path and control circuit configured to switch on/off state. Seong teaches bias circuit 210 having resistor circuit 211 sets up as claimed bias circuit (fig 2; para 57-58). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated the bias circuit 211 of Seong in the JP document in view of CN document to improve the varying of the resistance in response to the voltage for better control.
Re claims 7 and 8, the three documents do not suggest switching based on the particular of first and second temperature ranges. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected any particular range of temperatures since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 9, the three documents do not suggest having a third current path with a second resistor and second switch in parallel with the second current path. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added an additional switch and resistor combination in parallel with the first switch since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known materiale on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Re claim 10, the three documents do not suggest switching the switches in the claimed patterns and having an additional fourth and fifth temperature ranges. Official notice is taken of the fact that switching the switches in particular patterns to achieve a particular result would have been recognized as being within a level of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have switched the multiple switches to achieve a desired result would have been recognized as being within a level of ordinary skill in the art. In addition, it would also have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected any particular range of temperatures since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 11, the three documents do not suggest switching the first and second switch to on/off state when the temperature is within the fourth temperature range. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the fourth temperature range out of other claimed temperature ranges since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Re claim 12, the three documents do not suggest having a fourth current path with a third resistor and a third switch in parallel with the fourth current path. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added an additional switch and resistor combination in parallel with the other switches/resistors since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known materiale on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Re claim 13, the three documents do not suggest having the third switch and a combined first resistor, second resistor and resistance of the temperature detection device switching on/off based on a sixth temperature range. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected a sixth temperature range for switching, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over document JP2019075955A in view of Gignac (US 6,707,273).
The JP document does not disclose the temperature detection device (i) has a negative temperature coefficient and (ii) is configured such that the variable resistance decreases in accordance with an increase in the battery temperature. Gignac teaches a temperature-controlled battery charger having a negative temperature coefficient thermistor that has a variable resistance that changes in value to the inverse of the temperature being sensed for a more accurate sense. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the NTC thermistor of Gignac to the JP document to increase the accuracy of the temperature sense.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art made of record exemplified the art of batteries having a temperature thermistor.
The Examiner’s SPE is Taelor Kim and he can be reached at 571.270.7166. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571.273.8300.
/EDWARD TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 571.272.2087