DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the modification of Williams by Wallace would be redundant because the screw already has threads on the head. The Office respectfully disagrees. The threading on the screw is interior and not an outer surface, therefore the external head threading (ref. 37, Fig. 6) as taught by Wallace would not be redundant because it not a duplication of the function. In addition, Williams discloses in a different embodiment discloses outer threading on the head of the screw (ref. 400, paragraph [100]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 15, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 2019/0133651 A1) in view of Wallace et al. (US 2007/0049938 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Williams a bone fracture fixation system (Abstract) comprising:
an intramedullary nail (ref. 300);
a bone plate (ref. 150) including a plate hole extending therethrough (Figs. 9A-E, ref. 154); and
a bone screw (ref. 200) comprising a shank (ref. 201), a head (ref. 202), and threads disposed on the shank (Figs. 9B, D), the head of the bone screw being adjacent or contacting an inner surface of the plate (Fig. 9E), but is silent that the head of the bone screw has threads disposed on an outer surface.
Wallace teaches an analogous bone fracture system (Abstract) comprising a bone screw (Fig. 1, ref. 18) comprising a shank (ref. 18) and a head (top portion as shown in Fig. 4), the shank and head both having threads (Fig. 6, ref. 37). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bone screw and plate of Williams such that the head has threads and is configured to be threadedly inserted into the receiving portion of the plate, as taught by Wallace, for the purpose of including a removal feature to aid in adjustment or removal of the bone screw (Wallace, paragraph [0091-95]) and to prevent unwanted loosening or disengagement from the plate.
Regarding claim 15, Williams in view of Wallace discloses the system of claim 14, wherein an inner surface of the bone plate at least partially covers the head of the bone screw within a plane perpendicular to a central axis of the bone screw (Williams, Figs. 8A-9E).
Regarding claim 19, Williams in view of Wallace discloses the system of claim 14, wherein a portion of the inner surface of the bone plate adjacent or contacting the head of the bone screw is devoid of any screw holes (see remarked Fig. 9E below).
Regarding claim 20, Williams in view of Wallace discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the inner surface is substantially smooth (Williams, Fig. 9E).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 13 are allowed.
Claims 16 – 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TESSA M MATTHEWS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3773