DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
An amendment, filed 3/27/2026, is acknowledged. Claims 1-4, 6, and 12 are amended; claims 5, 7, 9, and 16-20 are canceled. Claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 10-15 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “a maximum intergranular corrosion depth” in claims 1 and 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a maximum intergranular corrosion depth” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Further, it is unclear if the limitation is drawn to a material having a very high intergranular corrosion depth (maximum possible) or whether the claim is missing a value associated with a maximum allowable intergranular corrosion depth (e.g. allows for an intergranular corrosion depth up to a maximum value). As these interpretations are divergent in the required property, and recites no specific limit/value high or low, the limitation will be interpreted for the purposes of examination as having an alloy capable of being subjected to an intergranular corrosion depth measurement.
Finally, Claims 1 and 12 each also recite “measured according to ISO 11846 method B.” However, the instant specification clearly states that “Measuring and inspecting IG corrosion depth (which are not explicitly described in ISO 11846 method B) was performed as follows.” (para. 40 of PG. Pub.). Thus, the specification discloses that no method of measuring an intergranular corrosion depth is described in ISO 11846 method B. As a result, the scope and requirement of the limitation is indefinite. Applicant should, if seeking to recite the method of measurement in the claims, amend the claim(s) to recite the method of measurement as disclosed in the instant specification.
Claims 2-4, 6, 8, 10-11, and 13-15 are indefinite based on their dependency to claims 1 or 12, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (US 2023/0203633).
With respect to Claims 1 and 12, Zheng teaches a method of heat treating an aluminum alloy, for example, a 6xxx aluminum alloy, the method comprising subjecting an aluminum alloy to a first aging step at a temperature of 180-270° C for 0-30 minutes, followed by a second aging step at a second temperature of 150-180° C for 1-6 hours. (para. 11-19, 64). The reference teaches examples, such as a first aging step at 220° C for 5 minutes followed by a second aging step at 175° C for 4 hours. (para. 77). Zheng teaches that a solution treatment temperature for a 6xxx alloy should occur at a temperature of 500-580 C. (para. 64).
Accordingly, Zheng teaches a method comprising steps of subjecting an aluminum alloy to a first temperature for a first time duration of 0-30 minutes overlapping the claimed range, wherein the first temperature is below a solution heat treatment temperature, subjecting the alloy to a second temperature for a second time duration of 1-6 hours, and thus, wherein the first temperature is higher than the second temperature, thereby obtaining a resulting alloy and wherein the aluminum alloy may be a variety of alloys such as 2xxx, 6xxx, or 7xxx series aluminum alloys. (para. 64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claim overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Finally, with respect to the limitation reciting “wherein the resulting alloy has a maximum intergranular corrosion depth and is measured according to ISO 11846 method B,” as the limitation includes no specific measurement value and Zheng teaches a method comprising the same steps and composition aluminum alloy, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the resulting alloy of Zheng necessarily exhibit or necessarily be capable of achieving the same measurement and/or property.
"Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Thus, the burden is shifted to the applicant to prove that the product of the prior art does not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics attributed to the claimed product. See In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (“When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not."); MPEP 2112.01. Therefore, the prima facie case can only be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product.
With respect to Claim 2, Zheng teaches subjecting the 6xxx aluminum alloy to a solution heat treatment at the solution heat treatment temperature, prior to subjecting the alloy to the first aging step at the first temperature. (para. 42-52, 64).
With respect to Claim 3, Zheng teaches wherein the second temperature is a second aging temperature (i.e. an aging hardening temperature) of 150-180° C, overlapping the instantly claimed range. (see rejection of claim 1 above). Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claim overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
With respect to Claim 4, Zheng teaches wherein the 6xxx aluminum alloy may comprise a solution heat treated and quenched alloy. (para. 11-15).
With respect to Claim 6, Zheng teaches wherein the alloy may be a 6xxx alloy. (para. 64; rejection of claim 1 above). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that 6xxx series aluminum alloy is a standardized alloy composition and thus comprising a 6xxx Al-Si-Mg-Cu aluminum alloy. (as evidenced by the instant specification para. 5, teaching the compositional ranges allowed for a 6xxx aluminum alloy and including Si, Mg, and Cu).
With respect to Claims 8, 10, and 13-14, Zheng teaches a first aging step at a temperature of 180-270° C and a second aging step at a second temperature of 150-180° C. (see rejection of claims 1 and 12; para. 11-19, 64). Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claim overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
With respect to Claims 11 and 15, Zheng teaches wherein the second aging step second time duration is 1 to 6 hours, overlapping the claimed range. (see rejection of claims 1 and 12 above). Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claim overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 10-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/924675 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: the related claims are a continuation of the instant application. The related claims 1-20 are identical or nearly identical to the originally filed claims of the instant application. The claims differ in that Claims 1-4, 6, and 12 are amended to incorporate subject matter of canceled claims 5, 7, 9, and 16-20 and to include a new limitation drawn to intergranular corrosion depth. As the related claims include limitations drawn to a method comprising the same material (6xxx aluminum alloy) and the same steps, the related method would necessarily be expected to result in the same properties, including the instantly claimed intergranular corrosion depth. MPEP 2112.01.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 12-14, and 16-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Yan (US 97249487), Claims 1-4 and 7-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Yan (US 9765419), claims 5-6 and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Yan (US 97249487) in view of Despois (US 2019/0352759), claims 11 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Yan (US 97249487), claims 5-6 and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Yan (US 9765419) in view of Despois (US 2019/0352759), and claims 1-8, 10-11, and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Despois (US 2019/0352759) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims which combine multiple dependent claims and introduce a new limitation drawn to intergranular corrosion depth. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zheng, as detailed above.
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Additionally, in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the nonstatutory double patenting rejection over U.S. Patent Nos. 9249487 and 9765419 are withdrawn. However, in view of the amendments and further search and consideration, a new nonstatutory double patenting rejection is made as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN A HEVEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735