DETAILED ACTION
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 11/17/2025.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 12, 14-18, 20 and 22-30 are presented for examination and claims 3, 5, 11, 13, 19 and 21 are cancelled.
Note: Application will consider submitting a terminal disclaimer to overcome Double Patenting upon allowance.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
6. Applicant argues the following limitation(s):
Applicant argues, stated in the remark on page 11, “Nor does Pan disclose that any transport block is transmitted from UE1 to UE2 that is based on the SLB configuration. Thus, Pan also fails to anticipate "transmitting, by the first wireless device to the second wireless device and based on the configuration parameters, at least one transport block," as claimed.” On the contrary, examiner disagreed with applicant argument that Pan does not teach any transport block is transmitted from UE1 to UE2 that is based on the SLRB configuration. First, Pan teaches UE1 may perform sidelink transmission to the UE2 on a unicast link. For maximum TB (Transport Block) size, UE1 can support up to 2,000 bits per TB, and UE2 can support up to 1,000 bits per TB. For MCS, UE1 can support it up to 64-QAM, and UE2 can support up to 16-QAM. It is feasible for UE1 to derive a set of sidelink capability parameters according to sidelink capabilities of both UEs (see Pan: ¶[0220]). Pan further teaches UE1 received SLRB configuration that included parameter based on UEs’ sidelink capability (see Fig.13; ¶[0195]) corresponding to configuration parameters for transmission . Second Pan further teaches UE1 receiving The SLRB configuration includes mapping of PC5 QoS flow ID to SLRB ID , mapping of SLRBID to LCG etc. in a transport block that sent to UE 1 (corresponding to a message include AS configuration see Pan: Fig.13; ¶0195]). Similar reason applies to claims 7 (a complete message response to a message send from UE1 to UE2 see Pan: Fig.13), 15 and 23. Based reasons above, Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Since the claims 25-30 are entered after last office action, claims 25-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9 and 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11, 678,327 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the U.S. Patent are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Instant Application US Application #: 18/139548 (‘548)
US Patent #: 11,678,327 (327’)
Claim 1. A method comprising:
transmitting, by a first wireless device to a base station, at least one uplink radio resource control message comprising sidelink capability information associated with at least one of transmission or reception at a second wireless device, wherein the first wireless device is different from the second wireless device;
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a first wireless device from a second wireless device, at least one sidelink message comprising sidelink capability information associated with at least one of transmission or reception at the second wireless device;
transmitting, by the first wireless device to a base station, at least one uplink radio resource control message comprising the sidelink capability information associated with at least one of transmission or reception at the second wireless device, wherein the sidelink capability information is different from capability information associated with the first wireless device;
receiving, by the first wireless device from the base station, configuration parameters for a transmission from the first wireless device to the second wireless device, wherein the configuration parameters for the transmission are based on the sidelink capability information; and
receiving, by the first wireless device from the base station, configuration parameters for a transmission from the first wireless device to the second wireless device, wherein the configuration parameters for the transmission are based on the sidelink capability information associated with at least one of transmission or reception at the second wireless device; and
transmitting, by the first wireless device to the second wireless device and based on the configuration parameters, at least one transport block.
transmitting, by the first wireless device to the second wireless device and based on the configuration parameters, at least one transport block.
Although the conflict claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 548’ discloses the method, comprising:
· transmitting, by a first wireless device to a base station,
· receiving, by the first wireless device from the base station, configuration parameters for a transmission from the first wireless device to the second wireless device
· transmitting, by the first wireless device to the second wireless device and based on the configuration parameters, at least one transport block.
548’ does not discloses the limitation of “receiving, by a first wireless device from a second wireless device, at least one sidelink message comprising sidelink capability information associated with at least one of transmission or reception at the second wireless device” and “wherein the sidelink capability information is different from capability information associated with the first wireless device” in the instant application. However, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to determined “wherein the configuration parameters for the transmission are based on the sidelink capability information associated with at least one of transmission or reception at the second wireless device” corresponding to the sidelink capability information association with the second device and “receiving, by the first wireless device from the second wireless device, at least one sidelink message comprising the sidelink capability information of the second wireless device” corresponding to different sidelink capability information as the instant application in claims 1, 3 and 8. Therefore, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 9 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 described above corresponding to patented claims 7 and 13.
Therefore, this is Non-Provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims in the U.S. Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-10, 12, 14-18, 20 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pan et al. (US 2020/0359428 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pan teaches a method comprising:
transmitting, by a first wireless device to a base station, at least one uplink radio resource control message comprising sidelink capability information associated with at least one of transmission or reception at a second wireless device (UE1 transmitting request for SLRB configuration including both UE’s sidelink capability see Option 1 see Pan: Figs.13-14; ¶[0195]), wherein the first wireless device is different from the second wireless device (UE1 and UE2 see Pan: Figs.13-14);
receiving, by the first wireless device from the base station, configuration parameters for a transmission from the first wireless device to the second wireless device (UE1 receiving the SLRB configuration includes AS configuration (AS configuration indicates configuration parameters) see Pan: ¶[0192]; Figs.13-14), wherein the configuration parameters for the transmission are based on the sidelink capability information (the UE sidelink capability information may contain parameters for transmission, parameters for reception, and/or parameters for both transmission and reception and UE1 receiving THE SLRB configuration based on UEs’ sidelink capability see Pan: ¶[0209]; Fig.13; ¶[0195]); and
transmitting, by the first wireless device to the second wireless device and based on the configuration parameters, at least one transport block (UE1 transmitting a message including AS configuration to UE2 based on SLRB configuration see Pan: ¶[0195]; Figs.13-14).
Regarding claim 2, Pan taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Pan further comprising receiving, by the first wireless device from the base station, a radio resource control information request message for the sidelink capability information, wherein the transmitting the at least one uplink radio resource control message is based on the radio resource control information request message (RRC reconfiguration message between UE and UE1 see Pan: ¶[0123-0134]).
Regarding claim 4, Pan taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Pan further teaches wherein the sidelink capability information indicates whether a multiple carrier sidelink operation is supported (UE sidelink capability indication MCS support and band combinations support see Pan: ¶[0196]).
Regarding claim 6, Pan taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Pan further teaches wherein the sidelink capability information comprises a synchronization reference source of the second wireless device, and wherein the configuration parameters for the transmission from the first wireless device to the second wireless device are based on the sidelink capability information and the synchronization reference source (sidelinkUEinformationNR message include the sidelink communication (¶[0138) and synchronization reference type (¶[0150) see Pan: ¶[0137-0150]).
Regarding claim 7, Pan taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Pan further comprising receiving, by the first wireless device from the second wireless device, a response to the at least one transport block (UE1 receiving a complete message of the message including the AS configuration from UE2 see Pan: Fig.13).
Regarding claim 8, Pan taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Pan further comprising receiving, by the first wireless device from the second wireless device, at least one sidelink message comprising the sidelink capability information (UE1 receiving a message of the message including the UE2 sidelink capability from UE2 see Pan: Fig.13).
Regarding claims 9-10, 12 and 14-16, they are rejected for the same reason as the method of claims 1-2, 4, 6-8 as set forth hereinabove. Claims 9-10, 12 and 14-16 disclose a first wireless device that perform the same functionalities as method of claim 1 as described hereinabove.
Regarding claims 17-18, 20 and 22-24, they are rejected for the same reason as the method of claims 1-2, 4, 6-8 as set forth hereinabove. Claims 17-18, 20 and 22-24 disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium that perform the same functionalities as method of claim 1 as described hereinabove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (US 2020/0359428 A1) in view of Loehr et al. (US 2018/0263026 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Pan taught the method of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Pan does not explicitly teaches wherein the configuration parameters indicate: first sidelink radio resources of a first carrier; and second sidelink radio resources of a second carrier.
However, Loehr teaches the wherein the configuration parameters indicate: first sidelink radio resources of a first carrier; and second sidelink radio resources of a second carrier (carrier indicator in the control signaling for assigning uplink or downlink radio resources and carrier aggregation is configured “Carrier indicator, which is used if a control channel transmitted on a first carrier assigns resources that concern a second carrier, i.e., resources on a second carrier or resources related to a second carrier; (cross carrier scheduling)” see Loehr: ¶[0062]; ¶[0036-0039]) in order to enhance allocation to perform multiple direct sidelink transmission (see Loehr: ¶0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Pan to include (or to use, etc.) the wherein the configuration parameters indicate: first sidelink radio resources of a first carrier; and second sidelink radio resources of a second carrier as taught by Loehr in order to enhance allocation to perform multiple direct sidelink transmission (see Loehr: ¶0001]).
Regarding claim 26, the modified Pan taught the method of claim 25 as described hereinabove. Loehr further teaches wherein the transmitting the at least one transport block comprises transmitting, by the first wireless device: one or more first transport blocks via the first sidelink radio resources of the first carrier; and one or more second transport blocks via the second sidelink radio resources of the second carrier (the UE can transmit multiple transport blocks (only one per subframe (TTI), i.e., one after the other) and each of sidelink grant generates the corresponding transport blocks see Loehr: ¶[0191]; ¶[0293]; ¶[0327]) in order to enhance allocation to perform multiple direct sidelink transmission (see Loehr: ¶0001]).
Regarding claims 27-28, they are rejected for the same reason as claims 25-26 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claims 29-30, they are rejected for the same reason as claims 25-26 as set forth hereinabove.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
February 21, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478