DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on September 26,2025.
Claim 2 has been amended.
No Claims have been cancelled.
No Claims have been added.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed September 26 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhou et al. (WO 2023/200635, hereinafter Zhou submitted by the applicant as an IDS) which discloses transmitting downlink control information (DCI) indicating a reduced bandwidth of the BWP([0471]); transmitting, based on the DCI, a second periodic RS via at least one PRB that is comprised in the plurality of first PRBs and within the reduced bandwidth of the BWP([0484]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karjalainen et al. (US Application 2024/0121053, hereinafter Karjalainen) in view of Zhou et al. (WO 2023/200635, hereinafter Zhou submitted by the applicant as an IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Karjalainen discloses a method (Figs. 1-4),comprising:
Transmitting, receiving, by a base station, and wireless device, at least one parameter indicating a starting physical resource block (PRB) of a plurality of first physical resource blocks (PRBs), for transmission of periodic reference signals (RSs), within a bandwidth part (BWP), wherein the BWP comprises a plurality of second PRBs([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0056]-[0058], as shown on fig. 2, Karjalainen discloses a plurality physical resource blocks PRBs within a bandwidth part BWP as claimed by the instant application);
transmitting a first periodic reference signal (RS) via the plurality of first PRBs of the BWP([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0056]-[0058], which recites an SRS resource is transmitted with a configured periodicity).
Karjalainen does not explicitly discloses transmitting downlink control information (DCI) indicating a reduced bandwidth of the BWP; and
transmitting, based on the DCI, a second periodic RS via at least one PRB that is comprised in the plurality of first PRBs and within the reduced bandwidth of the BWP.
However , Zhou teaches transmitting downlink control information (DCI) indicating a reduced bandwidth of the BWP([0471]); transmitting, based on the DCI, a second periodic RS via at least one PRB that is comprised in the plurality of first PRBs and within the reduced bandwidth of the BWP([0484]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhou with the teaching of Karjalainen by using the above features such as transmitting downlink control information (DCI) indicating a reduced bandwidth of the BWP; and transmitting, based on the DCI, a second periodic RS via at least one PRB that is comprised in the plurality of first PRBs and within the reduced bandwidth of the BWP as taught by Zhou for the purpose of saving energy(Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Karjalainen discloses a method (Figs. 1-4), comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, at least one message indicating a starting physical resource block (PRB) of a plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs), for transmission of periodic reference signals (RSs), within a bandwidth part (BWP) ([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0056]-[0058], as shown on fig. 2, Karjalainen discloses a plurality physical resource blocks PRBs within a bandwidth part BWP as claimed by the instant application);
receiving a first periodic reference signal (RS) via the plurality of PRBs of the BWP([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0056]-[0058], which recites an SRS resource is transmitted with a configured periodicity);
skipping reception of a second periodic RS([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0056]-[0058], reduce the SRS bandwidth from 4 to 1 PRB)).
Karjalainen does not explicitly discloses receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a reduced bandwidth of the BWP; and
Receiving , based on the DCI, a second periodic RS via at least one PRB that is comprised in the plurality of first PRBs and within the reduced bandwidth of the BWP.
However , Zhou teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a reduced bandwidth of the BWP([0471]); receiving, based on the DCI, a second periodic RS via at least one PRB that is comprised in the plurality of first PRBs and within the reduced bandwidth of the BWP([0484]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhou with the teaching of Karjalainen by using the above features such as receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating a reduced bandwidth of the BWP; and receiving, based on the DCI, a second periodic RS via at least one PRB that is comprised in the plurality of first PRBs and within the reduced bandwidth of the BWP as taught by Zhou for the purpose of saving energy(Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Karjalainen discloses a method (Figs. 1-4), comprising:
transmitting, by a base station, at least one parameter indicating a starting physical resource block (PRB) of a plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs), for transmission of periodic reference signals (RSs), within a bandwidth part (BWP) ([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0056]-[0058], as shown on fig. 2, Karjalainen discloses a plurality physical resource blocks PRBs within a bandwidth part BWP as claimed by the instant application);
transmitting a first periodic reference signal (RS) via the plurality of PRBs of the BWP([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0056]-[0058], which recites an SRS resource is transmitted with a configured periodicity);
dropping transmission of a second periodic RS([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0056]-[0058], reduce the SRS bandwidth from 4 to 1 PRB)).
Karjalainen does not explicitly discloses transmitting downlink control information (DCI) indicating a reduced bandwidth of the BWP; and
transmitting, based on the DCI, a second periodic RS via at least one PRB that is comprised in the plurality of first PRBs and within the reduced bandwidth of the BWP.
However , Zhou teaches transmitting downlink control information (DCI) indicating a reduced bandwidth of the BWP([0471]); transmitting, based on the DCI, a second periodic RS via at least one PRB that is comprised in the plurality of first PRBs and within the reduced bandwidth of the BWP([0484]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhou with the teaching of Karjalainen by using the above features such as transmitting downlink control information (DCI) indicating a reduced bandwidth of the BWP; and transmitting, based on the DCI, a second periodic RS via at least one PRB that is comprised in the plurality of first PRBs and within the reduced bandwidth of the BWP as taught by Zhou for the purpose of saving energy(Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Karjalainen disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the reduced bandwidth of the BWP: dropping transmission of a third periodic RS; or transmitting at least a portion of the third periodic RS via at least one PRB that is comprises in the plurality of PRBs of the BWP and that is within the reduced bandwidth of the BWP([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0056]-[0058], reduce the SRS bandwidth from 4 to 1 PRB)).
Regarding claims 3,14,18, Karjalainen disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, decoding a signal sequence for the second periodic RS([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0048],[0056]-[0058]), and mapping the signal sequence to a plurality of resource elements (REs) of the at least one PRB for transmission of the second periodic RS([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0048],[0056]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 4, Karjalainen disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the second periodic RS comprises at least one of: at least one periodic channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); or at least one synchronization signal block (SSB)([0040],[0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 5, Karjalainen disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the DCI comprises an indication of a transition of the base station from a non-energy-saving state to an energy saving state([0039]-[0041],[0052]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 6, Karjalainen disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting the first periodic RS via the plurality of first PRBs is based on the base station being in a non-energy-saving state([0039]-[0041],[0052]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Karjalainen disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the reduced bandwidth of the BWP comprises a plurality of third PRBs, and wherein the at least one parameter indicates that the plurality of second PRBs comprises the plurality of third PRBs and that the plurality of third PRBs are used for transmission via the BWP in an energy saving state([0039]-[0041],[0052]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 8, Karjalainen disclose the method of claim 7, further comprising transitioning, based on the transmitting the DCI, the base station from a non-energy-saving state to the energy saving state([0039]-[0041],[0052]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Karjalainen disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the reduced bandwidth of the BWP comprises a plurality of third PRBs, and wherein a starting PRB of the plurality of second PRBs and a starting PRB of the plurality of third PRBs have a same PRB index([0034]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 10, Karjalainen disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: switching, based on transmitting the DCI in a first slot, from a bandwidth of the BWP to the reduced bandwidth of the BWP in a second slot, wherein a time gap between the first slot and the second slot is greater than a time threshold for a transition from a non-energy-saving state to an energy saving state([0035]-[0036],[0038]-[0041],[0052]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 11, Karjalainen disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting the second periodic RS via the at least one PRB is based on the at least one PRB comprising the starting PRB([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0056]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 12, Karjalainen disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the reduced bandwidth of the BWP comprises a plurality of third PRBs, wherein the second periodic RS transmitted via the at least one PRB corresponds to a first sequence portion of the second periodic RS, and wherein the method further comprises dropping a second sequence portion of the second periodic RS corresponding to at least one PRB outside of the plurality of third PRBs([0035]-[0036],[0038]-[0041],[0052]-[0058]).
Regarding claims 15, 19, Karjalainen disclose the method of claim 13, wherein the skipping reception of the second periodic RS is based on a size of the reduced bandwidth of the BWP being below a threshold([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0056]-[0058]).
Regarding claims 16, 20, Karjalainen disclose the method of claim 13, wherein the receiving the at least a portion of the second periodic RS is based on a size of the reduced bandwidth of the BWP being above a threshold([0035]-[0036],[0038],[0056]-[0058]).
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on July 22, 2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461