DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 5-7 in the reply filed on 1/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/7/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiki et al (US 11799171 B2) in view of Kelley et al (US 2015/0318539 A1).
Regarding Claim 5,
Fujiki teaches a solid state battery comprising a cathode (i.e. first layer), an anode, and solid electrolyte layer (i.e. second layer). Fujiki also teaches that the cathode active material layer 12 is pressed together with the solid electrolyte layer 30 (Column 14, Lines 57-60). In the instant specification, the method of making the electrode laminate can utilize a rolling press machine (Paragraph 0051). Similarly, Fujiki also teaches the use of a roll press as a pressing method (Column 14, Lines 63-67). The pressed assembly of cathode active layer and the solid electrolyte layer is akin to the electrode laminate. Hence, Fujiki teaches an electrode laminate comprising a first layer and a second layer, and that the second layer is laminated on the first layer.
Fujiki also teaches that the cathode material is made of porous material by defining a relative density of the cathode active material (Column 9, Lines 46-51). Fujiki states that the theoretical density is the density of the material with zero porosity, whereas relative density is the measured density/theoretical density. Fujiki states that the relative density is about 60% or more (Column 9, Lines 32-40) in which case the measured density is 60% (or more) of the theoretical density. This is possible when the cathode material is a porous type material. Fujiki teaches the cathode material as porous, but does not teach that the maximum pore diameter of the first layer is 0.215 to 0.240 µm.
However, Kelley teaches a cathode that is porous and is defined by pores having cross-sectional diameters of between 0.1 to 10 µm (Paragraph 0055). This range includes the claimed range of having a maximum pore diameter of the first layer as 0.25 to 0.24 µm. Kelley teaches an electrochemical cell comprising a cathode 212 and an anode 216, and electrolyte 214 with a separator (Paragraph 0059). Kelley also teaches an electrode that has a root mean square surface roughness of less than 0.5 micrometer (Paragraph 0042). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have maximum pore diameter as shown by Kelley in the porous cathode material of Fujiki in order to facilitate the fabrication of an electrode while maintaining smoothness and producing sufficient amount of electronic current (Paragraph 0021).
Fujiki does not specifically teach about the bubble density of the second layer being less than 6 bubbles/cm2.
However, there exist analogies between Fujiki and the instant invention that support the presence of the bubble density on the second layer. Fujiki teaches that the interface between the cathode and the solid electrolyte layer has a roughness of 0.2 or 0.1 µm or less (Column 12, Lines 20-37). This is akin to the roughness of the surface of the first layer in the instant specification.
The instant specification states that the bubble density is measured by counting the number of bubbles formed on the principal face of the second layer following pressing, and then dividing by area. The instant specification states that the formation of bubbles and the resultant bubble density on the second layer is dependent on the roughness of the first layer (Paragraph 11; instant spec), and maximum pore diameter (Paragraph 0016). Since, Fujiki teaches the roughness of the electrode layer, and the combined teachings of Fujiki and Kelley teach the maximum pore diameter of the claimed invention, hence in the electrode laminate described above, bubbles would be formed in a similar fashion as the claimed invention, and the bubble density would be observed on the second layer in the same fashion. Per MPEP 2112.01; “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent”. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to observe a bubble density of less than 6 bubbles/cm2 by combining the electrode characteristics of Fujiki and Kelley. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the maximum pore diameter as shown by Kelley in the porous cathode material of Fujiki in order to facilitate the fabrication of an electrode while maintaining smoothness and producing sufficient amount of electronic current (Paragraph 0021).
Regarding Claim 6,
Fujiki teaches a cathode active material layer 12 (i.e. first layer), and a solid electrolyte layer 30 (i.e. second layer).
Regarding Claim 7,
Fujiki teaches an all-solid state secondary battery that comprises cathode active material layer 12, solid electrolyte layer 30, and anode active material layer 22. Fujiki also teaches that the cathode active material layer 12 is pressed together with the solid electrolyte layer 30 (Column 14, Lines 57-60) to form the claimed electrode laminate.
References of Interest
Varanasi et al (US 2023/0290961 A1)
Lim et al (US 2024/0113394 A1)
Conclusion
/SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783