Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Galbraith 20240157836 A1.
Galbraith discloses:
A method of managing a virtual power plant (VPP, fig. 2) and power distribution between a power grid (209), a battery storage system (218 BESS=Battery Energy Storage System), an electric vehicle (EV) charging station (212), and a power plant (216, 220, 222, 224 are sources of energy and are equivalent to power plants), the method comprising:
obtaining a first data set ( [0070], “Training data may include one or more of historical data and live data”, [0149]);
training a VPP simulation model based on the first data set using a machine learning algorithm ( [0069]-[0070]);
obtaining a second data set including information from each of [0087] the power grid ( [0091], cost of energy from the power grid), the battery storage system ( [0094] ), the EV charging station [0090], and the power plant ([0092]);
determining power condition information for each of the power grid, the battery storage system, the EV charging station, and the power plant based on the second data set and VPP simulation model ( [0069], “optimal price of charging” data is generated from the forecaster prediction model , [0090] forecasted charging demand, [0091] forecasted energy cost, these predictions/forecast are used to generate the power schedule for control of the VPP);
generating a power schedule, based on the VPP simulation model and the power condition information ( [0069] “optimizer may simultaneously determine actions and/or schedules for controllable energy assets”, [0078], [0081]-[0084], [0115] “times or schedules for charging and discharging”, that controls:
power exports from each of the power grid, the battery storage system, the EV charging station, and the power plant ( [0069] “export or import of electrical power to/from an power grid”); and
power imports into each of the power grid, the battery storage system, and the EV charging station ( [0069], power imports to the grid, or exports to the grid, are controlled along with the power sharing of the grid connected battery storage system, and EV charging station); and
transmitting a command to adjust an operation of at least one of the power grid, the battery storage system, the EV charging station, and the power plant based on the power schedule (the schedule controls the controllable energy assets, EV chargers, or other vehicle supply equipment, [0069], [0078]).
Galbraith discloses power grid information including charging station draw from grid and charging station export to grid [0063]. Galbraith discloses that the battery storage system provides state of charge information [0061]. Galbraith discloses that EV charging station provides information relating to the connected vehicle (SOC and SOH [0057] ).
Galbraith further discloses training the machine learning algorithm with training data [0070], [0076] from “an ever increasing supply of data… to improve relevance and accuracy” and [0149] further discusses the training data.
Galbraith does not expressly disclose the first data set including the information from each of the power grid, the battery storage system, the EV charging station, and the power plant.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have modified Galbraith to use as training data the data identified from the grid, battery storage system, EV charging station, and power plant, to generate the machine learning module since Galbraith discloses that such information is collected and used, and since including such data would facilitate the stated goal of improving relevance and accuracy of the machine learning module.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected for similar rationale as claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 and 11-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JULIAN D. HUFFMAN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859