DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office Action in response to a non-final Office Action reply filed 1/22/26 in which claims 6 and 12 were amended and claims 7-8 were canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peroz et al (US 2021/0109278).
For claims 1 and 5, Peroz et al teach an apparatus, comprising: an integrated mold designed to imprint a diffractive optical structure and an anti-reflective structure into a substrate, wherein the diffractive optical structure is an optical grating, incoupler, or outcoupler ([0207]-[0209], [0221] and [0250]).
For claim 2, Peroz et al teach the anti-reflective structure includes a plurality of tapered rods (Fig. 22B – element 2230a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peroz et al (US 2021/0109278).
Peroz et al teach the invention as discussed above.
Though Peroz et al do not explicitly teach the plurality of tapered rods each have a maximum diameter of about 60 nanometers and a height of about 250 nanometers, and the plurality of tapered rods comprises a resin having a refractive index of 1.5 to 2, Peroz et al do teach the widths and heights of the light trapping structures ranges from 0.5 to 100 um ([0245]) and the material of the waveguide, which would include the plurality of tapered rods, has a refractive index of greater than 1.5 ([0199]), and since the claimed ranges overlap ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Please see MPEP 2144.05 (I) and In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) for further details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/22/26 were fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that while paragraphs [0129] and [0206] of Peroz disclose anti-reflective coatings formed of single- or multi-layer thin-film materials applied to spacer surfaces to prevent light leakage, these passages relate to deposited coating materials and do not describe an anti-reflective structure formed by imprinting, so Peroz fails to disclose or otherwise contemplate an integrated mold designed to imprint an anti-reflective structure into a substrate, nor does it associate the disclosed molds with the formation of anti-reflective features.
Examiner, however, points out that as cited in the rejection above, [0207]-[0209], [0221] and [0250] teach an integrated mold designed to imprint a diffractive optical structure and an anti-reflective structure into a substrate. Regarding anti-reflective features, [0250] teaches the mold may include relief features for defining light trapping structures.
Applicant also asserts that claim 2 recites the additional features of "the anti-reflective structure includes a plurality of tapered rods," and at page 3 of the Office Action, the Office asserts that Peroz teaches these features with reference to FIG. 22B, element 2230a of Peroz. However, contrary to the assertions of the Office, nowhere in the disclosure of Peroz are the light trapping structures 2230a described as rods, much less tapered rods.
Examiner, however, points out that though there is no written description of the light trapping structures 2230a, they are shown as tapered rods in Fig. 22B.
Applicant asserts too that claim 3, which depends from claim 2, recites the additional features of "wherein the plurality of tapered rods each have a maximum diameter of about 60 nanometers and a height of about 250 nanometers," but in contrast, Peroz teaches that the "light-trapping structures" 2230a and 2230b have widths and heights ranging from 0.5 µm to 100 µm (500 nm - 100,000 nm) (Peroz, [0245]), and the minimum dimensions in Peroz are therefore approximately 8x larger in diameter and 2x larger in height than the claimed rods. Thus, the Office has failed to explain how such a difference in dimensional scale would have rendered the dimensions recited in claim 3 obvious in view of Peroz.
Examiner, however, points out that in [0245], Peroz teaches the design of the light trapping structures 2230a and 2230b may vary depending on the indices of refraction of the waveguide and light absorbing materials, the wavelength(s) of light propagating through the waveguide, and among other factors, and in some embodiments the widths and heights of the light trapping structures 2230a and 2230b ranges from 0.5 µm to 100 µm, so the difference in dimensions that Applicant notes would have been obvious for other variations of the result-effective factors suggested by Peroz.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES SANDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743