“DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 04/26/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment filed 12/15/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending
in the application. Claims 1-11, and 15-20 were amended. No new claims were added and no claims were cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or no obviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Abuan et al. (US-20230023775-A1), hereinafter “Abuan” in view of Jerrold et al. (US-20240049165-A1) hereinafter “Jerrold”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Abuan discloses, ‘An information handling system comprising: a hardware processor; a memory device; a power management unit (PMU) to provide power to the hardware processor and memory device’ (Electronic controllable device includes communication procedures to accessory pairable devices pair information process; define security measures to prevent unauthorized controllers from operating an accessory [0005-0006]; provide security measures such as authenticated pairing [0228]; Controller and accessory device hardware includes processor and memory [0509], Fig. 36 controller hardware, Fig. 37 accessory hardware and Fig. 38 to 39. And, power management circuit [0504]);
Abuan discloses, ‘Wireless interface adapter to wireless receive Bluetooth (BT) pairing advertisement from a wireless peripheral device (In Fig. 4 includes pair setup process between the controller (any computing device [0397]) and the accessories and uses pair-advertisement [0151-0153, 0550]. And securely establish pairing [0407]. Disclosure communication interface module to communicate between the pairing-devices includes RF, NFC/short-range and BL-stack [0496, 0505, 0524, 0540] and Fig. 36-39);
And didn’t disclose, ‘including a seed value’,
Jerrold in the relevant art discloses, pre-authentication includes seed value in Fig. 5 and [0053] and pre-established/re-sued the pairing between the paired devices for further connections [0028, 0032].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Abuan and to modify with that of Jerrold to come up with the claim invention;
Abuan discloses the Pre-authorization is part of the authorization steps. Includes process to generate random number, PKI, hash/HMAC and setup-code. Updates the paired-information for the future connection between the paired devices [0245-0247, 0255]. An extensible framework that is extensible authentication protocol (EAP) includes UAP and Bluetooth procedures for the pre-authorization and authorization. Therefore, Abuan provide motive to setup-code generates random number/sequence. This would be obvious for someone to modify and specifically include the seed value.
And Abuan discloses, ‘the hardware processor executing computer readable program code of a user presence detection system to detect interactions of a user with the information handling system via a sensor or input/output device to determine a pairing priority for the information handling system over other information handling systems in wireless range of the wireless peripheral device’
(Accessory controller Fig. 38 illustrates user interaction module to take and detect user input from various input/output device sensors [0500], [0516]; Fig. 9 illustrates initiates connection to a controller [0205] and provide priority and weight to each connection identifier [0208-0209] that ascertain the priority determined by the controller based on domain service configuration while connection initiation process);
Fig. 2 provides accessory or peripheral device configurations/features that includes the user activity or accessory devices log/activity information 208 by controller. And uses motion, sensor or detector includes the accessory devices, Fig. 38 includes user interaction module and accessory interaction module that detect/discover.
Disclosure includes the user activity/interaction and presence detection various input/output devices/sensors [0500] and the takes the input/interact and process the response processing during the pair-setup [0517-0520], in Fig. 38 and Fig. 39. Includes accessory object and UI module.
And, user activity/presence/interaction associated with accessory devices Fig. 38 to Fig. 39 the user presence detection. Further, disclosure includes accessory and controller, a secured automation or monitoring system that provide security and monitoring to a private or any premise locations, controlled by accessory and controller devices provide security/accessory devices [0059] .
And Abuan discloses, ‘the hardware processor executing computer readable program code of a pre-authorization security exchange system to receive from the wireless peripheral device the’
input, that is the pair setup-code,
‘of a BT pairing advertisement and to generate pre-authorization passcode entry information from’ the input ‘received in the wireless BT pairing advertisement and continue a pre-authorization security exchange communication with the wireless peripheral device and the information handling system while user input to the information handling system to accept a BT pairing with the wireless peripheral device is pending to shorten the duration of the BT pairing’ (communication with a given accessory can be limited to authorized controllers. Establish a “pairing” between controller 102 and a given accessory to control accessory as shown in Fig. 1.
When a controller that has established a pairing with a particular accessory can be considered authorized for that accessory. And, pair advertisement in Fig. 4 as part of accessory protocol UAP step 412. The controller while detect pair-advertisement identify/determiner whether the accessory already configured; obtain pre-config and establish secure-encryption keys [0156, 0160].
When an accessory and controller that previously established a pairing reconnect, they can verify the previous pairing as pre-authorization [0065]; The pairing process/steps include pair-setup-code [0233-0235]. And, Fig. 13 illustrates the security and passcode setup process perform by controller (for the accessory devices). For pre-authorization lookup 1306 stored in paired controller 1302 keys/passcode [0248, 0259-0260]. Perform several steps for authorization: pair setup request, generate random/code/key, then verified [0242-0250]; And, Fig. 13.
Regarding the pre-authentication disclosure in Fig. 13 and Fig. 17 includes:
A controller and one/more accessory devices before establish pairing determine previously paired and store-paired
Includes a long-term-key between the devices to connect at future-time
Uses PKI between the devices );
And didn’t disclose, ‘‘seed value via a payload’
A device transmits/broadcasts to one/more ranging radios in Fig. 6 and create the seed with the ranging keys [0054]. Motive would be identical to disclosed above.
And Abuan discloses, ‘the hardware processor executing computer readable program code instructions of the pre-authorization security exchange system to store the generated pre-authorization passcode entry information in the memory device until the user input to the information handling system to accept the BT pairing is received;’ (paired-key information stored by the controller for authorization [0228]; Fig. 13A includes generated pre-authorization (random number/public-key) step-1316 and step-1318 and updates the pairing [0247] and controller/accessory store the keys/long-term-keys and use them later to verify [0228].
Abuan discloses, ‘the hardware processor executing computer readable program code instructions to verify matching of the pre-authorization passcode entry information from the pre-authorization security exchange communication with wireless peripheral device upon receiving the user input to accept the BT pairing;’ (Fig. 13A includes the match/verification steps for the setup-code pre-authorization [0233-0235, 0248-0253].)
And Abuan discloses, ‘and the wireless interface adapter initiating pairing with the wireless pairing session keys via a BT protocol with the wireless peripheral device after receipt of the user input to accept the BT pairing with the wireless peripheral device.’ (communication interface for both accessory/peripheral and the controller Fig. 38 and 39. And, Fig. 4 illustrates receive user input step 424 and perform pairing process for the peripheral/accessory device. In Fig. 13A includes the initiation of pair-setup, receive the setup-code from the user and generation SRP-session).
Regarding Claim 2,
‘The information handling system of claim 1’ (disclosed above), ‘further comprising: the hardware processor executing computer readable program code of the user presence detection system to detect the presence of a user’ (disclosed above),
Abuan discloses, ‘operating the information handling system to determine that the user has interacted with the information handling system within a historic threshold time limit prior to receiving the BT pairing advertisement and to commence pre- authorization security exchange communication with a wireless peripheral device without delay for other potential pairing information handling systems.’ (Determination based on established previously paired connection. When an accessory and controller that previously established a pairing reconnect, they can verify the previous pairing (e.g., by proving that each possesses the other's long-term public key) and generate session-specific encryption keys to use for communication within a pair-verified session [0065]. Disclosure includes the discovery-flag to determine already paired/not-paired/new device during the advertisement [0156] and Table-2.
Controller uses passive notification process when disconnects from the accessory and while reconnect identify the status/counter. Controller can verify the status by HTTP get request and detect status changes and update previously obtained. Therefore, using passive notification process can avoid advertise notification Fig. 7 and [0195-0199]; Passive notification, which minimizes network traffic, can be used as a default [0226]. Passive notification is part of notification generation of controller interaction subsystem, Fig. 39.)
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The information handling system of claim 2’ (disclosed above),
Abuan discloses, ‘wherein upon detection that the user has interacted with the information handling system within the historic threshold time limit and input from the user has not been received yet indicating that the BT pairing is accepted by the user at the information handling system with the wireless peripheral device generated pre-authorization passcode entry information in the memory device for later use upon a retry to BT pair with the wireless peripheral device.’ (user interaction and detection by the controller while communicate peripheral device disclosed above in claim 2. Previously paired and established connection uses passive notification or communication as default and avoid advertisement to reduce delay or connection time while reconnect or re-pair. Disclosure further include procedure; an accessory can be configured to accept requests only from a controller that has previously established a pairing with the accessory and is therefore recognized by the accessory. Uses long-term public key stored in a secure manner. when an accessory and controller that previously established a pairing reconnect, they can verify the previous pairing, authenticate long-term key and generate session key [0009]. Disclosure includes pairing process: provide security measures authenticate pairing and end-to-end encryption, security framework long-term public key, out of band setup code. Also can use pairing profile by UAP protocol [0228, 0230]. In Fig. 13 includes throttle and time limit [0243-0245].).
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The information handling system of claim 2’ (disclosed above),
Abuan discloses, ‘wherein upon detection that the user has interacted with the information handling system within the historic threshold time limit and input from the user has indicated that pairing the information handling system with the wireless peripheral device is accepted, the pre-authorization security exchange system determines whether the stored pre-authorization passcode entry information at the information handling system matches with a counterpart pre-authorization passcode entry information at the wireless peripheral device to authorize the BT pairing before establishing the wireless paring session keys with the wireless peripheral device and pairing via the BT protocol.’ (Claim 2 and further flow diagram of Fig. 4 to perform pair setup process take user input and then validate for pairing. As disclosed above, pair setup process includes various form of inputs during the pairing process setup-code that require to enter PIN, PKI or public key [0233-0235]. During the setup process user require to provide the setup-code. And, after the setup process authenticate-pair is established/completed between the controller-accessory then generates session-keys [0009]. In Fig. 17 includes the steps to identify the stored pair-key that is long-term-key already exists/matches as part of paring between the controller and paired-device [0332]).
Regarding Claim 5,
‘The information handling system of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Abuan discloses, ‘further comprising: the hardware processor executing the pre-authorization security exchange system to access the detected interactions of a user with a keyboard, camera, or other I/O device at the information handling system and if no interaction of the user at the information handling system is detected within the historic threshold time limit, instituting a delay period at the information handling system before initiation of pre-authorization security exchange communication with the wireless peripheral device to determine pre-authorization for authorization of BT pairing to yield to other higher priority information handling systems in wireless range of the peripheral device’ (In Fig. 37 and 39 includes input/output devices and interfaces [0493, 0503]. And, short-range/NFC communication [0505]. In Fig. 4 illustrates receive user input prior pairing. A controller can request status message HTTP call and wait for the response [0180]. Fig. 13 illustrates a process flow for pair setup includes exponential throttle, wait time per session or connection. If throttle in effect and didn’t receive response in previous attempt and throttle has not elapsed. The throttling message can indicate how long the controller needs to wait before retrying. At block 1314, if a throttling message is received, controller 1302 can determine whether to retry (after waiting the appropriate time). If controller 1302 determines to retry, process 1300 can return to block 1308 to send a new pair setup start request after the appropriate wait time, Fig. 13 and [0244]). Regarding the priority, disclosure includes flag-bit during the advertisement and can determine from the status-flag whether the device is paired/non-paired that identifies the priority between the paired/non-paired devices [0151-0153, 0156] and Table-2. And, Fig. 13 includes throttle pair-setup attempt.
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The information handling system of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Abuan discloses, ‘further comprising: the pre-authorization security exchange system conducting the security exchange communication to determine a match of the pre-authorization passcode entry information at the information handling system with a counterpart pre-authorization security exchange communication at the wireless peripheral device in parallel with an automatic peripheral device pairing agent displaying, on a video display device of the information handling system, a graphical user interface (GUI) presenting options for the user to input the indication of accepting the BT pairing of the wireless peripheral device with the information handling system or aborting the BT pairing of the wireless peripheral device.’ (Fig. 15A-15F illustrates the pair setup process includes security and code [0284] between the controller and an accessory or peripheral device. Perform verification request and match the passcode or key for authorization step 1534-1536 and further authentication [0294-0297]. Steps: send verification, receive verification, compute input key, verify, generate and authentication. During the setup process interactive input and display for the user [0246]. As part of accessory setup process, controller present a user interface screen that prompts the user to enter the accessory's setup code [0248].)
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The information handling system of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Abuan discloses, ‘further comprising: the memory device including a secure data storage device associated with a BT stack executing on the wireless interface adapter of the information handling system for storing the pre-authorization passcode entry information at the information handling system.’ (A controller device Fig. 38 and a peripheral device Fig. 39 both includes secure storage 3804/3904 to store secret key pair [0510]. And, communication interface Bluetooth stack 3872/3972 in Fig. 38 and 39.)
Regarding Claim 9,
Identical to first claim element of claim 1 disclosed above, ‘An information handling system comprising: a hardware processor, a memory device and a power management unit (PMU) to provide power to the hardware processor and memory device’;
Abuan discloses, ‘the hardware processor executing computer readable program code of a pre-authorization security exchange system to communicate in a pre-authorization security exchange communication with a wireless peripheral device to receive a pre-authorization passcode entry information of a wireless Bluetooth (BT) pairing advertisement from the wireless peripheral device and to generate the pre-authorization passcode entry information from the received seed data prior to receiving user input to the information handling system to accept a BT pairing with the wireless peripheral device to shorten the duration of the BT pairing’ (hardware processor Fig. 38 and Fig. 39, controller and peripheral device. Fig. 1 and Fig. 4 communication between the controller and the peripheral device for pairing setup code authorization. Uses advertise its presence UAP protocol as part of pairing process [0150-0153]. Perform pair setup process as Fig. 4 and authorization Bluetooth pairing. And, generate pre-authorization prior receive user-input in Fig. 13. );
And didn’t disclose, ‘seed data’ ‘via a payload’ (disclosed by Jerrold and motive identical to Claim 1 disclosed above).
Identical to last claim element of claim 1 disclosed above, ‘the pre-authorization security exchange system to store the pre-authorization passcode entry information in the memory device’;
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘a wireless interface adapter to further conduct the pre-authorization security exchange communication with the wireless peripheral device to determine if the pre-authorization passcode entry information matches a counterpart pre-authorization passcode entry information stored at the wireless peripheral device while receipt of the user input to the information handling system to accept the BT pairing with the wireless peripheral device is pending to
and the wireless interface adapter initiating BT pairing with exchange of wireless pairing session keys via a BT protocol with the wireless peripheral device after receipt of the user input to accept the BT pairing with the wireless peripheral device.’
Regarding Claim 10,
‘The information handling system of claim 9’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 1 (pairing priority) and Claim 4 (match pre-authorization) disclosed above, ‘wherein the wireless interface adapter commences the pre-authorization security exchange communication with the wireless peripheral device to determine if the pre-authorization passcode entry information matches the counter-part pre-authorization passcode entry information stored at the wireless peripheral device before receiving input from the user to indicate that the BT pairing the information handling system with the wireless peripheral device is accepted when the information handling system is determined to have priority to pair upon detection of a user interaction with the information handling system within a historic threshold time limit prior to receipt of the wireless BT pairing advertisement.’(Further, pair setup process flow in Fig. 15 match the key for authorization [0301])
Regarding Claim 11,
‘The information handling system of claim 9’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 5 (delay period) disclosed above, ‘wherein the wireless interface adapter commences the pre-authorization security exchange communication with the wireless peripheral device to determine if the pre-authorization passcode entry information matches the counter-part pre-authorization passcode entry information stored at the wireless peripheral device after a delay period and if the wireless BT pairing advertisement is still present after the delay period.’
Regarding Claim 12,
‘The information handling system of claim 9’ (disclosed above),
Identical to second claim element of claim 1 above, ‘further comprising: the hardware processor executing the pre-authorization security exchange system to access the detected interactions of the user with the information handling system determined from a motion sensor, a camera, or an input output device to determine priority of the information handling system to BT pair with the wireless peripheral device.’
Regarding Claim 14,
‘The information handling system of claim 9’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 7 above, ‘ further comprising: the pre-authorization security exchange system generating the pre-authorization passcode entry information from seed data received from the wireless peripheral device in parallel with an automatic peripheral device pairing agent displaying, on a video display device of the information handling system, a graphical user interface (GUI) presenting options for the user to input the indication of accepting the BT pairing of the wireless peripheral device with the information handling system or aborting the BT pairing with the wireless peripheral device.’
Regarding Claim 15,
‘The information handling system of claim 9’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 8 above, ‘further comprising: the memory device including a secure data storage device associated with a Bluetooth stack executing at processing resources at the wireless interface adapter of the information handling system to store the pre-authorization passcode entry information generated from the received seed data.’
Regarding Claim 16,
Identical to first part of Claim 1 and claim 9 disclosed above, ‘‘An information handling system comprising: a hardware processor, a memory device and a power management unit (PMU) to provide power to the hardware processor and memory device’;
Identical to second part of Claim 1 and 9 (payload instead of seed data from the user input i.e. part of pre-authorization hash function/random number for passcode as part of pair setup process that includes HTTP call and request/response) disclosed above, ’the hardware processor executing computer readable program code of a pre-authorization security exchange system to commence a pre-authorization security exchange communication with a wireless peripheral device to receive a data payload for a pre-authorization passcode entry information via a wireless Bluetooth (BT) pairing advertisement and storing the pre-authorization passcode entry information received via the data payload of the BT pairing advertisement in the memory device;
the hardware processor executing computer readable program code of a pre-authorization security exchange system stored passcode entry information received matches a counterpart pre-authorization passcode entry information stored at the wireless peripheral device to authorize initiation of a BT pairing with the wireless peripheral device before user input to the information handling system to accept the BT pairing with the wireless peripheral device is received from the user at the information handling system to shorten the duration of the BT pairing;
and the wireless interface adapter initiating the BT pairing with exchange of wireless pairing session keys via a BT protocol with the wireless peripheral device after receipt of the user input to accept the pairing with the wireless peripheral device.’ (Fig. 27A-27D illustrates http call request/response)
Regarding Claim 17,
‘The information handling system of claim 16’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 10 above, ‘wherein the wireless interface adapter commences the pre-authorization security exchange communication with the wireless peripheral device to determine if the pre-authorization passcode entry information matches the counterpart pre-authorization passcode entry information stored at the wireless peripheral device before receiving input from the user to indicate that the BT pairing the information handling system with the wireless peripheral device is accepted when the information handling system is determined to have priority to pair based upon detection of a user interaction with the information handling system within a historic threshold time limit prior to receipt of the wireless BT pairing advertisement.’
Regarding Claim 18,
‘The information handling system of claim 16’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 12 above, ‘further comprising: the hardware processor executing the pre-authorization security exchange system to access detected interactions of the user with an input/output (I/O) device on the information handling system determined from a motion sensor, a camera, or another I/O
Regarding Claim 19,
‘The information handling system of the claim 16’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 13 above, ‘ further comprising: the pre-authorization security exchange system requesting for and detecting a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) from the wireless peripheral device to determine whether the wireless peripheral device is within a threshold distance that is a wireless range from the information handling system before commencing the pre-authorization security exchange communication between the wireless peripheral device and the information handling system.’
Regarding Claim 20,
‘The information handling system of claim 16’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 14 above, ‘further comprising: the pre-authorization security exchange system generating the pre-authorization passcode entry information from seed data received in the data payload of the wireless BT pairing advertisement from the wireless peripheral device in parallel with an automatic peripheral device pairing agent displaying, on a video display device of the information handling system, a graphical user interface (GUI) presenting options for the user to input the indication of accepting the BT pairing of the wireless peripheral device with the information handling system or aborting the BT pairing with the wireless peripheral device.’
7. Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Abuan et al. in view of Jerrold et al. and further in view of Britt et al. (US-10015766-B2) hereinafter “Britt”.
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The information handling system of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Abuan though discloses, ‘further comprising: the pre-authorization security exchange system requesting for’ detecting proximity detection of ‘and from the wireless peripheral device to determine whether the wireless peripheral device is within a threshold distance from the information handling system to conduct the pre-authorization security exchange communication with a wireless peripheral device and BT pairing of the wireless peripheral device with the information handling system.’
Disclosure pre-authorization security exchange disclosed above in Claim 1. Further, proximity detection as part of Bluetooth or near field communication between the accessory and the controller [0248]. Proximity sensor within few inches [0283]. During a pair setup process, a key is generated or a session key. Further uses proximity threshold [0346].
And didn’t disclose, ‘detecting a received signal strength indicator (RSSI)’
Britt in the relevant art discloses, Fig. 17 key and communication session establish between IoT devices or a IoT and a hub/client. each IoT device may concurrently connect to multiple IoT hubs. The IoT device may take signal strength measurements from two or more IoT hubs and this data may be used to determine the actual position of the IoT device with greater accuracy (e.g., using a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) Col. 31 [0040-0043].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Abuan, Jerrold and to modify with that of Britt to come up with the claim invention;
Abuan provide motive, a proximity-threshold for the Bluetooth and near-field proximity communication and include time-out period [03466]. Motivation to include RSSI as part of Bluetooth and NFC communication to identify the accessory or peripheral device within the proximity threshold reduces the time-out or delay. A IoT device might connect to more than one or number of IoT hubs in an event show. A triangulation technique is performed for concurrent connections. RSSI measurement to detect locations at the event venue would enhance monitoring attendees in the event.
Regarding Claim 13,
‘The information handling system of the claim 9’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 6 above, ‘further comprising: the pre-authorization security exchange system requesting for and detecting a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) from the wireless peripheral device to determine whether the wireless peripheral device is within a threshold distance from the information handling system to conduct the pre-authorization security exchange communication between the wireless peripheral device and the information handling system.’
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Arguments:
1. The Rejection of Claims 1, 9, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 1, 9, and 16 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as containing a trademark/trade name, thus being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter of the invention. Applicant thanks Examiner for identifying the informality in claims 1, 9, and 16 and has amended those claims and elsewhere where the informality was found. Applicant, therefore, respectfully traverses rejection of claims 1, 9, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
2. The Rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Abuan, in view of Britt
Claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Abuan (US 20230023775), in view of Britt (US 10015766).
For independent claims 1, 9 and 16, Examiner states that Abuan teaches, "the hardware processor executing computer readable program code of a pre-authorization security exchange system to receive, from the wireless peripheral device, the seed value via a payload of the BT pairing advertisement and to generate pre-authorization passcode entry information from the seed value received in the wireless BT pairing advertisement and initiate a pre-authorization security exchange communication with the wireless peripheral device and the information handling system while user input to the information handling system to accept a BT pairing with the wireless peripheral device is pending to shorten the duration of the BT pairing." Office Action at pp. 6-7, 13-14, and 17-18 (citing to basic pairing with a pairing advertisement and previous pairing described a pre-authorization described in [0065], [0242]-[0250], [0259]- [0260], FIGs. 1, 4, and 13A-C). Applicant amends the claims to clarify the order of activity including generating and storing pre-authorization passcode entry information in memory of
the hardware processor executing computer readable program code instructions to verify matching of the pre-authorization passcode entry information from the pre-authorization security exchange communication with the wireless peripheral device upon receiving the user input to accept the BT pairing and before commencing pairing exchange with session keys to authorize and establish a BT paired wireless link. This clarification of the order of activity now claimed, including the pre-authorization steps claimed before a user accepts BT pairing and then BT pairing commences, is distinct and not described in the basic pairing process or re-pairing process that was cited from Abuan. Abuan does not teach the pre-authorization steps, including the pre-authorization security exchange communication with pre-authorization passcode entry information or seed value for generating pre-authorization passcode entry information from the wireless peripheral device ahead of receiving approval for the BT pairing from the user and actually initiating the actual BT pairing process with the information handling system as now claimed. The system of Abuan does not order this exchange and/or generation of the pre- authorization passcode entry information and conduct the pre-authorization security exchange communication as claimed to facilitate and expedite the initial BT pairing process between a peripheral device and an information handling system in wireless range above plural candidate information handling systems in wireless range.
Abuan merely describes a system for replacing remote controllers in smart house
accessory devices with a standardized communication protocol from a central computing device such that "pairing" may occur according to standard "cryptographic framework using short-term keys and an out-of-band shared secret" or exchange of "long-term keys" stored for establishing re-pairing which is a standard procedure. Abuan at [0065]. For example, the Abuan embodiment of Figs 13A-13C describes a standard "set-up code based pair setup process 1300 for a controller 1302 [ i.e., a remote controller for a smart home accessory]...." This set-up code based pair setup process involves the entry of an accessory's set up code, such as an eight digit accessory identification number, that must be entered or otherwise provided to a central computing system for each accessory to be controlled by a central computing device. Abuan at [0242]-[0260]. This is opposite of what is claimed and defeats the purpose of the claimed pre- authorization security exchange communication and steps that seek to avoid just such manual entry steps or out of band steps operation during pending approval of BT pairing by a user that is cause for delay in traditional BT pairing. Further, the system in Abuan would not work in that it requires such entered identification code for remote controls of many accessory devices to avoid and distinguish those plural accessory devices at the central managing computing device. The claimed system is opposite in how it works in that a single wireless peripheral is to be initially paired with an information handling system that is selected from among plural information handling systems to be paired with and triggers more efficient pairing by deciding on a prioritized information handling system for initiation of the pre-authorization security exchange communication while approval of pairing has not yet been received from a user such that when it is, the pairing is immediately triggered when the user does provide approval. These aspect are missing from Abuan. Britt is cited for a different aspect.
For the foregoing reasons, Applicant respectfully traverses rejection of claims 1, 9, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Abuan in view of Britt. Claims 2-8 depend from claim 1. Claims 10-15 depend from claim 9. Claims 17-20 depend from claim 16. For similar reasons, Applicant traverses rejection of those claims as well.
Examiners response:
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks, examiner responses are:
Examiner reviewed the applicant’s arguments/remarks and further amended claims and
provided required disclosures in the office actions from the closest and relevant prior arts that covers the subject matters. Addressed all the claims and applicant’s
argument/remarks disclosed from the presented prior arts “Abuan”, “Jerrold” and “Britt”.
Claim subject matter: pre-authorization and the claim centered on the Bluetooth-pairing process includes pre-authorization security exchange that uses the Bluetooth protocol stack.
Regarding the pre-authorization/authentication disclosure in Fig. 4, Fig. 13 and Fig. 17 includes:
A controller and one/more accessory devices before establish pairing determine previously paired and store-paired
Includes a long-term-key between the devices to connect at future-time
Uses PKI between the devices as part of setup-code pairing process [0233, 0235-0236]
Regarding the examiner remarks, Abuan discloses basic paring or re-pairing…,
examiner respectfully disagree the applicant remarks/arguments. As the Bluetooth-devices during the pairing process are more vulnerable to security therefore require comprehensive steps for the authentication and authorization. Disclosure include BLE-stack, UAP, SRP, end-to-end encryption, secured/authenticate pairing and establish secure session between the controller and the pairing devices [0153, 0228, 0242]. Includes long-term-key, random number generation, hash-function and HMAC [0255], Fig. 13 to 18.
Examiner thanks to applicant and attorney for their time and effort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Examiner cited a few important references regarding the subject matter Pre-authentication specific to the tech field: “Cryptography and network security”; most importantly uses protocol extensible authentication protocol (EAP) and the EAP-TLS.
Fantacci, Romano, et al. "Analysis of secure handover for IEEE 802.1 x-based wireless ad hoc networks." IEEE Wireless Communications 14.5 (2007): 21-29. (Year: 2007).
Hoeper, Katrin, and Guang Gong. "Pre-authentication and authentication models in ad hoc networks." Wireless Network Security. Boston, MA: Springer US, 2007. 65-82. (Year: 2007); Disclosure include: definition of pre-authentication and pre-authentication model both symmetric and asymmetric.
L. Hou and K. X. Miao, "A pre-authentication architecture in WiFi & WiMAX integrated system," 2009; Fourth International Conference on Communications and Networking in China, Xi'an, China, 2009, pp. 1-5 (Year: 2009); Disclosure includes Extensible authentication protocol (EAP) framework EAP-MD5, EAP-OTP, EAP-GTC, EAP-TLS, EAP-SIM, and so on. EAP-TLS is widely deployed in many networks. In IEEE 802. Most important subject matter : pre-authentication and re-authentication. And, pre-authentication procedures are described specific protocols EAP-TLS.
Pre-authentication steps: Network initiation[Wingdings font/0xE0]EAP-TLS exchange[Wingdings font/0xE0]Generate MSK/MK[Wingdings font/0xE0] pairwise-master-key derived from MSK/MK in Fig. 2 to Fig. 4.
Bhaskar, Nishant. "A survey of techniques in passive identification of wireless personal devices and the implications on user tracking." Department of Computer Science, University of California, San Diego (2020).
Antonioli, Daniele; Tippenhauer, Nils Ole; Rasmussen, Kasper B. Cryptographic Analysis of the Bluetooth Secure Connection Protocol Suite (Year: 2019); disclosure include attack model, security of Bluetooth and privacy.
CHA et al, (US-20130260690-A1), “Method and apparatus for Bluetooth connection in mobile terminal and computer-readable medium thereof”; Disclosure includes paring priority as disclosed (Claim 1), A method for using a BLUETOOTH connection in a mobile terminal, comprising: detecting connectable BLUETOOTH devices in the vicinity of the mobile terminal; and connecting with a highest-priority BLUETOOTH device among the detected BLUETOOTH devices, if there is at least one priority-registered BLUETOOTH device among the detected BLUETOOTH devices. Determine priority based on priority-registered among detected device, Fig. 6.
Remaining cited-reference are presented in PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A
shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS
from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO
MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed
until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened
statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension
fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory
action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX
MONTHS from the date of this final action.
examiner should be directed to SYED AHMED whose telephone number is (703)756-
5308. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday 9AM-5PM EST.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466