DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1c are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8 recite the limitation “a carbonization prevention system … configured to … generate and transmit a control signal …”; further the claim recites the limitation “a microcontroller unit (MCU) configured to … generate and transmit the control signal”. It is not clear which component is generating and transmitting “the control signal”. The scope of the claim could not be determined and is considered indefinite.
Claims 1, 8 recite the limitation “a carbonization prevention system … configured to detect smoke generated in the casing, measure a temperature and a humidity in the casing”; further the claim recites the limitation “a sensor module configured to detect the smoke generated in the casing, an amount of the smoke, and the temperature and the humidity in the casing”. It is not clear which component is configured to detect the smoke, temperature, and humidity in the casing. The scope of the claim could not be determined and is considered indefinite.
Claims 2, 5-7, 9, 11, 12 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brannan et al. [US 20170333128] in view of Ferguson [US 5889466], and Polak et al. [US 20140125487].
As to claim 1. Brannan discloses A radio frequency (RF) generator comprising:
a casing, [fig. 1, 0063] the microwave generator with a casing 110, on which an intake fan, [fig. 13, 0132] fan 1318, and an interlock are mounted, [0080]; wherein components are mounted to a casing simply for providing physical protection from movement;
an alternating current (AC) power supply mounted on the casing and configured to receive AC power from an external power supply device and output the AC power, [fig. 13] AC input line supplying power to the power supply 1310; wherein components are mounted to a casing simply for providing physical protection from movement;
a power supply provided separately from the AC power supply and configured to receive the AC power from the AC power supply, convert the AC power into direct current (DC) power, and output the DC power, [fig. 13, 0132] Power supply 1310;
a power amplifier provided in an upper inner space of the casing, [fig. 15, 0079] amplifier 440; wherein the physical position of the amplifier does not change the functionality of the system, the power amplifier configured to receive the DC power from the power supply, amplify RF output power of an RF output signal, and output the amplified RF output power, [0084];
an RF output connector connected to the power amplifier to output the amplified RF output power, [fig. 15] amplifier has an output connector to output the amplified power from the microwave module;
a coupler, [fig. 15] applied power monitor 450, provided between the power amplifier and the RF output connector, [fig. 15], the coupler configured to measure the amplified RF output power and transmit a measured value of the amplified RF output power, [0084];
a control board, [fig. 4, 0086, 0137] controller 430, configured to receive the measured value, calculate a total power, a reflection loss, [0086], and a standing wave ratio of the amplified RF output power, [0086] phase shift between incident and reflected waves, and control an amount of DC power output to the power amplifier based on the total power, the reflection loss, and the standing wave ratio, [0084, 0086] calibrate the microwave signal;
a carbonization prevention system, [fig. 13, 16, 0145], connected to the control board and the interlock, [fig. 13, 0080], the carbonization prevention system configured to detect an event generated, [0075], measure a temperature, [0075], and generate and transmit a control signal to the control board and an operation control signal to the interlock, respectively, according to the temperature, [0075];
a sensor module configured to detect the temperature in the casing, [0075]; and
a microcontroller unit (MCU) configured to analyze detection data from the sensor module, and generate and transmit the control signal regarding whether to stop an operation of the AC power supply, [0088, 0094], and whether to transmit a warning message, [0100, 0101];
wherein, when the interlock receives both the operation control signal from the monitoring system and an operation control signal from the control board, the interlock stops the operation of the RF generator by disconnecting a power supply, [0080],
wherein the operation control signal from the control board is based on the control signal transmitted to the control board from the monitoring system, [0075];
wherein the sensor module comprises:
a temperature sensor configured to measure the temperature in the casing and transmit, to the MCU, temperature information, based on the temperature, [0075].
Brannan fails to disclose wherein the AC power supply is configured to receive AC power from an external power supply device and output the AC power; wherein the event is a smoke in the casing; wherein the temperature measured is in the casing; wherein the sensor module is further configured to detect the smoke generated in the casing, an amount of the smoke, and the humidity in the casing; and wherein the monitoring system is the carbonization prevention system that further monitors a humidity in the casing; wherein the interlock signal is further according to the humidity; wherein the interlock disconnects the AC power supply from the external power supply device to cut off the AC power supply; wherein the sensor module comprises: a smoke detection sensor configured to detect whether the smoke is generated in the casing and transmit, to the MCU, a detection signal regarding whether the smoke is generated, and a humidity sensor configured to measure the humidity in the casing and transmit, to the MCU, humidity information, based on the humidity, and a moisture detection sensor including a water leak sensor, and wherein the moisture detection sensor is configured to: detect whether there is moisture in the casing; based on detecting the moisture, generate a moisture measurement value by measuring an amount of the moisture; and transmit the moisture measurement value to the MCU.
Ferguson teaches an apparatus and method of providing power control based on environmental conditions comprising an external AC power source 258 and a power supply 260 that converts the AC power to DC power to be supplied to the electronic system 262, [fig. 4, col. 7, lines 7-10]; wherein the system receives an event indicating a humidity or temperature are above a predetermined limit, a switch 254 cuts off the external AC power source from supplying power to the power supply 260, [col. 7, lines 11-24]; wherein the system can use smoke sensor to implement the method, [col. 4, lines 5-9]; wherein the humidity sensor provides signal to the power control switch 254, that is identical to the control switch 218, [col. 6, line 66 – col. 7, line 2]; wherein the control switch 218 is a control system that receives signal from the humidity sensor 222, [fig. 3, col. 4, lines 49-63]; wherein humidity is a moisture.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Brannan with that of Ferguson so that that system can protect the electronic components from short circuiting or melting.
The combination of Brannan and Ferguson fails to disclose wherein the sensor detects an amount of the smoke, and the detected event is in the casing.
Polak teaches a system for detecting smoke within an electronics enclosure using a detection and warning module 218 to detect a smoke within the compartment of the enclosure, and generate a signal based on the amount of smoke detected, [0032]; and generate a warning signal if the detected level is above a predetermined level to trigger safety mechanisms, [0033].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Brannan and Ferguson with that of Polak so that the system can measure parameters that can affect the system within the enclosure and avoid interfering environmental conditions outside the enclosure.
As to claim 2. Brannan discloses The RF generator of claim 1, wherein the carbonization prevention system comprises:
a warning alarm circuit configured to output a warning sound under control of the MCU when an event occurs, [0100, 0101]; and
a display panel configured to output information about the temperature in the casing in real time, and set reference data on whether to transmit the control signal, [0099].
The combination of Brannan and Ferguson fails to disclose wherein the display panel outputs information based on the amount of smoke, and humidity.
Polak teaches a system for detecting smoke within an electronics enclosure using a detection and warning module 218 to detect a smoke within the compartment of the enclosure, and generate a signal based on the amount of smoke detected, [0032]; and generate a warning signal if the detected level is above a predetermined level to trigger safety mechanisms, [0033].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Brannan and Ferguson with that of Polak so that the system can trigger safety mechanisms.
As to claim 5. Brannan discloses The RF generator of claim 1, wherein the MCU is further configured to:
read the reference data and generate a generation condition value, [0075];
compare the generation condition value with data transmitted from the sensor module and determine whether the data exceed the generation condition value, [0075]; and
only when the data exceeds the generation condition value, generate the control signal and the operation control signal and transmit the control signal and the operation control signal to the control board and the interlock, respectively, [0075].
As to claim 6. Brannan discloses The RF generator of claim 5, wherein the MCU is further configured to: compare initial data from the sensor module with real-time data from the sensor module and generate change amount data on a change amount, [075, 0076], of the temperature; and when the generated change amount data exceeds an allowable range, generate the operation control signal, transmit the operation control signal to the interlock, and control a warning alarm circuit to operate, [0075, 0076].
Brannan fails to disclose wherein the change amount monitored further includes the smoke and humidity.
Ferguson teaches an apparatus and method of providing power control based on environmental conditions comprising an external AC power source 258 and a power supply 260 that converts the AC power to DC power to be supplied to the electronic system 262, [fig. 4, col. 7, lines 7-10]; wherein the system receives an event indicating a humidity or temperature are above a predetermined limit, a switch 254 cuts off the external AC power source from supplying power to the power supply 260, [col. 7, lines 11-24]; wherein the system can use smoke sensor to implement the method, [col. 4, lines 5-9].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Brannan with that of Ferguson so that the system can trigger safety mechanisms.
As to claim 7. Brannan discloses The RF generator of claim 6, wherein the allowable range is 10% or more of the generation condition value, [0075, 0076] the allowable range or limit can be set by the user or be based on a factory default.
One of ordinary skill in the art can easily adjust the allowable limit based on the needs of the specific application environment for the RF generator as nothing but a design choice.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Brannon and change the allowable limit to be 10% or more as nothing but a design choice.
As to claims 8, 9, 11, 12 are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claims 1, 2, 6, 7 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688