DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 3, 2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 2, 12, 13, and 21 are amended. Claims 4 and 15 are canceled.
Claims 1-3, 5-14, 16-19, and 21 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “there is no teaching or suggestion in any of the above references as to how and why the above four different network systems are combinable” (Response filed April 3, 2026, Page 14). Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant.
Jung, Xu and Liu235 are in the same or similar field of endeavor. They all provide solutions to the same problem of supporting multiple wireless communication schemes to operate concurrently as this application does. It is obvious to combine Jung, Xu and Liu235.
Applicant’s arguments on the amended limitations, “’determine, based on the GO intent, that the electronic device is a GO of the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme, and divide a time period between a first discovery window (DW) and a second DW of the NAN-based first communication scheme into a plurality of first periods and a plurality of second periods which are respectively multiples of a time slot defined according to the NAN-based first communication scheme, wherein the plurality of first periods and the plurality of second periods are alternately arranged one by one, and wherein the plurality of first periods and the plurality of second periods are respectively used by two different communication schemes;" (Response filed April 3, 2026, Page 14), with respect to claim 1, have been considered but are moot because new ground of rejection relies on the reference, Jung, not applied in the prior rejection to claim 1 before the amendment.
Jung teaches “Referring to FIG. 9, the scheduling information includes a list of operation classes, and indicates the number of time units (e.g., 16) of the resource unit. The scheduling information indicates that the wireless LAN connection is performed for the intervals 16 to 21, that the P2P operation is performed for the intervals 24 to 29” (Jung [Para. 0143]) and “the service-related information may include information on the P2P operation (e.g., WiFi Direct service (WFDS)=1)” (Jung [Para. 0149]). The scheduling information in Jung is between two DWs as FIG. 9 illustrates and the time units in the periods for STA mode-based and Wi-Fi Direct schemes are multiple time slots.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on claim 1 that “the Office Action fails to show that whether the schedule is indeed obtained by the proxy device” (Response filed April 3, 2026, Page 16) and “fails to disclose an arrangement strategy that considers a correlation with a NAN channel, for example, as recited in claim 1” (Response filed April 3, 2026, Page 16), Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant.
Jung teaches that “a device may designate an active time section in a section other than DW. The device may further provide information on the use of the active time section. The ‘information indicating the active time section,’ and the ‘information on the use of the active time section’ may be called ‘scheduling information,’ including both of them” (Jung [Para. 0140]) and “Referring to FIG. 9, the scheduling information includes a list of operation classes, and indicates the number of time units (e.g., 16) of the resource unit. The scheduling information indicates the section in which the operation is performed. Channel “x” used by Wireless LAN infrastructure for the intervals 16 to 21, and channel “y” used by P2P for the intervals 24 to 29. [Para. 0149], the service-related information may include information on the P2P operation (e.g., WiFi Direct service (WFDS)=1)” (Jung [Para. 0143]). According to Jung a device obtains the scheduling information including the periods for operations of Wi-Fi Direct and STA mode-based schemes. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, “obtain scheduling information” is not restricted to obtaining scheduling information from another device. That a device obtains the scheduling information by local calculation is also the device obtaining the scheduling information.
Additionally, Jung states that “a device may provide information indicating the active time section. The information indicating the active time section may be transmitted through the service discovery frame in the DW. In addition, the device may further provide information on the use of the active time section” (Jung [Para. 0140]). The scheduling information is transmitted to other devices. For those derives receiving the scheduling information, the scheduling information is obtained from another device.
Liu235 provides that “the coordinating device may join the NAN network as a non-master device and allow another NAN device on the NAN network to be the NAN master. In this situation, while the coordinating device may not possess the ability to reschedule any NAN-specific operations, the coordinating device still has the option of rescheduling WFD-specific operations to avoid time and/or channel conflicts with NAN-specific operations scheduled by the master of the NAN network (which in this case, is another NAN device)” (Liu235 [Para. 0035]). Based on Liu235. the scheduling information of a device is essentially obtained from another device. Therefore, both Jung and Liu235 teach obtain scheduling information from another device.
Liu235 also provides that “instead of switching to a temporary channel to participate in post-discovery operations, coordinating device 110 switches to WFD network 160's operating channel, where coordinating device 110 may perform WFD-specific operations and/or participate in post-discovery operations for NAN network 150” (Liu235 [Para. 0078]) and “Another modification that coordinating device 110 can implement is setting WFD network 160's operating channel to NAN network 150's social channel” (Liu235 [Para. 0079]). Liu235 teaches that Wi-Fi Direct and NAN schemes uses the same channel during the period for Wi-Fi Direct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12-14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US20160150465A1, hereinafter Jung), in view of Xu (CN111278140A, hereinafter Xu) and Liu et al. (US20150319235A1, hereinafter Liu235).
For claim 1, Jung teaches an electronic device ([Para. 0058] and [FIG. 1], the electronic device 101. [Para. 0122], FIG. 6 is a proximity network according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. [Para. 0123], devices 610-2 and 610-3 may receive the beacon and the service discovery frame, which are transmitted by the device 610-1 [Examiner’s Note: Device 610-2 corresponds and device 101 correspond to the electronic device]) comprising: communication circuitry ([Para. 0058] and [FIG. 1], the electronic device 101 may include a communication interface 170, processor 120, the memory 130); memory storing instructions ([Para. 0235], The one or more programs stored in the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium may be configured for execution by one or more processors); and at least one processor ([Para. 0235], The one or more programs stored in the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium may be configured for execution by one or more processors), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively ([Para. 0235], The one or more programs stored in the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium may be configured for execution by one or more processors), cause the electronic device to ([Para. 0235], The at least one program may include instructions that cause the electronic device to perform the methods): identify whether a neighbor awareness networking (NAN)-based first communication scheme is in an active state or an inactive state ([Para. 0113], The cluster may be referred to as a “neighbor awareness networking (NAN) cluster.” [Para. 0123], Referring to FIG. 6, a device 610-1 transmits a synchronization beacon in the discovery window (DW). Accordingly, devices 610-2 and 610-3 may receive the beacon. [Para. 0124], In a section other than a DW section, the devices 610-1 to 610-3 are in sleep mode. The devices 610-1 to 610-3 may operate in a waking mode while in a DW section [Examiner’s Note: One of devices 610-2 and 610-3 is the electronic device. Since synchronization beacon is transmitted in DW, 610-2 receiving the beacon identifies that the NAN is in waking (active) state]. [Para. 0197], The operation mode may be divided into a sleep mode, and a waking mode. [Para. 0209], the device proceeds to thereby determine whether or not the processor operates in a sleep mode. The device may determine the sleep mode, based on a signal showing the operation state); based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the active state, obtain NAN cluster information ([Para. 0123], Referring to FIG. 6, a device 610-1 transmits a synchronization beacon in the DW. Accordingly, devices 610-2 and 610-3 may receive the beacon. [Para. 0124], In a section other than a DW section, the devices 610-1 to 610-3 are in sleep mode. The devices 610-1 to 610-3 may operate in a waking mode while in a DW section. [Examiner’s Note: Devices are in sleep mode in section other than DW and active state in DW section]. [Para. 0159], The electronic device may exchange synchronization beacons with the other electronic devices in the cluster through the DW. [Para. 0121], the discovery beacon, the synchronization beacon, and the service discovery frame may include a body field for corresponding information. The corresponding information may include cluster information [Examiner’s Note: Device 610-2 receives the synchronization beacon and obtains the cluster information]); and divide a time period between a first discovery window (DW) and a second DW of the NAN-based first communication scheme into a plurality of first periods and a plurality of second periods which are respectively multiples of a time slot defined according to the NAN-based first communication scheme ([Para. 0128], Referring to FIG. 7, the master device may transmit a discovery beacon periodically in the interval 704 between the DWs, i.e., in the section other than in the synchronized DWs 702 sections [Examiner’s Note: The two DWs in FIG. 7 are adjacent. The first DW of the two adjacent DWS is the first DW and the next DW is the second DW]. [Para. 0139 and 0140], one of the devices in the cluster may conduct a further operation in a section other than the synchronized communication section. The device may designate an active time section for the post operation in a section other than a synchronized communication section and provide scheduling information. [Para. 0143], Referring to FIG. 9, the scheduling information includes a list of operation classes, and indicates the number of time units (e.g., 16) of the resource unit [Examiner’s Note: FIG. 9 illustrates a series of DWs and the scheduling information is between two adjacent DWs. The leading DW before the scheduling information is the first DW and the next DW after the scheduling information is the second DW. The time unit is used in the scheduling information. One time unit in Wi-Fi/NAN spans multiple time slots in CSMA/CA]. The scheduling information indicates that the wireless LAN connection is performed for the intervals 16 to 21 [Examiner’s Note: The intervals 16-21 for wireless LAN infrastructure (STA mode-based scheme) are the first periods], that the P2P operation is performed for the intervals 24 to 29. [Para. 0149], the service-related information may include information on the P2P operation (e.g., WiFi Direct service (WFDS)=1) [Examiner’s Note: The intervals 24-29 for Wi-Fi Direct are the second periods]); and wherein the plurality of first periods and the plurality of second periods are respectively used by two different communication schemes ([Para. 0143], The scheduling information indicates that the wireless LAN connection is performed for the intervals 16 to 21, that the P2P operation is performed for the intervals 24 to 29 [Examiner’s Note: Both the intervals for STA mode-based scheme and the intervals for Wi-Fi Direct are within the first and second DWs]); obtain schedule information indicating that one communication scheme from among the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme and a STA mode-based third communication scheme operates in the plurality of the first period ([Para. 0139 and 0140], one of the devices in the cluster may conduct a further operation in a section other than the synchronized communication section. The device may designate an active time section for the post operation in a section other than a synchronized communication section and providing scheduling information. [Para. 0143], Referring to FIG. 9, the scheduling information includes a list of operation classes, and indicates the number of time units (e.g., 16) of the resource unit. The scheduling information indicates the section in which the operation is performed. The active time section is expressed as “1.” Channel “x” used by Wireless LAN infrastructure for the intervals 16 to 21, [Examiner’s Note: The intervals 16-21 for Wireless LAN infrastructure (STA mode-based scheme) are the first period. The schedule information can be obtained from other device as Liu235 teaches below]), and the other communication scheme from among the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme and the STA mode-based third communication scheme operates in the plurality of the second period ([Para. 0143], Referring to FIG. 9. The scheduling information indicates the section in which the operation is performed. The active time section is expressed as “1.” and channel “y” used by P2P for the intervals 24 to 29. [Para. 0149], the service-related information may include information on the P2P operation (e.g., WiFi Direct service (WFDS)=1) [Examiner’s Note: The intervals 24-29 for Wi-Fi Direct are the second periods]).
Although teaching dividing the time between DWs into periods for Wi-Fi Direct mode and STA mode, Jung does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of first periods and the plurality of second periods are alternately arranged one by one.
Xu is directed to providing resource scheduling method and related products. More specifically, Xu teaches wherein the plurality of first periods and the plurality of second periods are alternately arranged one by one ([Para. 66], When the Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT) times of the Soft AP and P2P dual network modes are very close … Common resources such as PHY, RF, etc. are allocated to the two network modes are used alternately. [Para. 68] and [FIG. 3b], the time scheduling module allocates MAC, PHY, RF and other common resources to Soft AP network mode and P2P GO/GC network mode for alternate use. Therefore, the Soft AP network mode can obtain the TBTT1 time period to send and receive beacons and frames, and the P2PGO/GC network mode can obtain the TBTT2 time period to send and receive beacons and frames. [Para. 86] and [FIG. 3b], it is necessary to adjust the TBTT1 of the Soft AP mode to the target position TBTT1' at all times without changing. At this time, the conflict between Soft AP mode and P2P mode TBTT is avoided [Examiner’s Note: Times for P2P are the first periods and times for AP the second periods]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu235 and Jung, so that the periods for Wi-Fi Direct mode and STA mode operate alternately, as taught by Xu. The modification would have avoided conflicting transmissions of TBTTs in Wi-Fi Direct mode and STA modes (Xu [Para. 0086]).
Although teaching the device operating in Wi-Fi Direct mode and STA mode alternately, Jung and Xu do not explicitly disclose based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the active state, increase a group owner (GO) intent in a Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme; determine, based on the GO intent, that the electronic device is a GO of the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme; wherein the one communication scheme uses a same channel as the NAN-based first communication scheme and the other communication scheme uses a different channel than the NAN-based first communication scheme; and control the communication circuitry to transmit a signal according to the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme, based on the schedule information.
Liu235 is directed to providing method and apparatus for coordinating multiple peer-to-peer networks. More specifically, Liu235 teaches disclose based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the active state, increase a group owner (GO) intent in a Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme ([Para. 0055], a device may interleave NAN-specific and WFD-specific operations to maintain a NAN network while actively scanning for existing networks. [Para. 0059], If coordinating device 110 discovers the existing WFD network of which WFD device 120 serves as a group owner (e.g., during a scan phase), the coordinating device 110 may create WFD network 160 with itself as the group owner. Coordinating device 110 may then invite WFD device 122 to join WFD network 160. [Examiner’s Note: The device actively scanning is in active state]. [Para. 0040], the group owner Intent attribute may be set to a particular value, e.g., 15, to indicate that the coordinating device must be the group owner to operate correctly as a member of the resulting Wi-Fi Direct network); determine, based on the GO intent ([Para. 0040], during group owner negotiation, the coordinating device may set an Intent field in a group owner Intent attribute to a value that indicates a strong desire to become the group owner), that the electronic device is a GO of the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme ([Para. 0040], after transmitting the Intent attribute with another WFD device via group owner Negotiation frames, the coordinating device may become the group owner), wherein the one communication scheme uses a same channel as the NAN-based first communication scheme and the other communication scheme uses a different channel than the NAN-based first communication scheme ([Para. 0072], coordinating device 110 may include within beacon frames a Notice of Absence attribute that describes Notice of Absence timing. [Para. 0073], Wi-Fi Direct devices 120-122 may assume that coordinating device 110 is not available to them. [Para. 0078] and [FIG. 7B and 7C], instead of switching to a temporary channel to participate in post-discovery operations, coordinating device 110 switches to WFD network 160's operating channel, where coordinating device 110 may perform WFD-specific operations and/or participate in post-discovery operations for NAN network 150. [Para. 0079], Another modification that coordinating device 110 can implement is setting WFD network 160's operating channel to NAN network 150's social channel [Examiner’s Note: WFD uses the same channel as the NAN]. [Para. 0029], central node 160 is an access point. Coordinating device 110 may maintain an infrastructure connection with central node 160 in order to participate in a traditional Wi-Fi network [Examiner’s Note: Infrastructure connection does not use the channel in that WFD and NAN use]); and control the communication circuitry to transmit a signal according to the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme ([Para. 0077], coordinating device 110 may transmit a beacon over WFD network 160's operating channel), based on the schedule information ([Para. 0072], coordinating device 110 can simultaneously participate in NAN network 150 and WFD network 160 by: (1) staggering availability periods and absence periods for WFD network 160 in alternating time intervals, and (2) scheduling NAN-specific operations during the absence periods [0077], Before transitioning to the next absence period, coordinating device 110 may transmit a beacon over WFD network 160's operating channel).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu235. Jung and Xu, so that the device becomes the group owner and schedule Wi-Fi Direct and NAN schemes to share the same channel, as taught by Liu235. The modification would have allowed peer-to-peer protocols to share a device's radio, antenna and/or frequency spectrum with other protocols or between applications, or to share such a resource efficiently (Liu235 [Para. 0005]).
For claim 2, Jung, Xu and Liu235 teach the electronic device of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the signal according to the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme is a beacon signal of the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme (Liu235 [Para. 0072], coordinating device 110 may include within beacon frames a Notice of Absence attribute that describes Notice of Absence timing. Liu235 [Para. 0073], Wi-Fi Direct devices 120-122 may assume that coordinating device 110 is not available to them. Liu235 [Para. 0078] and [FIG. 7B and 7C], instead of switching to a temporary channel to participate in post-discovery operations, coordinating device 110 switches to WFD network 160's operating channel, where coordinating device 110 may perform WFD-specific operations and/or participate in post-discovery operations for NAN network 150. Liu235 [Para. 0079], Another modification that coordinating device 110 can implement is setting WFD network 160's operating channel to NAN network 150's social channel [Examiner’s Note: WFD uses the same channel as the NAN]), and wherein the beacon signal comprises the obtained schedule information (Liu235 [Para. 0072], coordinating device 110 may include within beacon frames a Notice of Absence attribute that describes Notice of Absence timing), . The Notice of Absence timing is specified by a start time, interval, duration, …, the number of absences in the timing schedule. Liu235 [Para. 0073], Wi-Fi Direct devices 120-122 may assume that coordinating device 110 is not available to them. Liu235 [Para. 0035], the coordinating device may join the NAN network as a non-master device and allow another NAN device on the NAN network to be the NAN master. In this situation, while the coordinating device may not possess the ability to reschedule any NAN-specific operations, the coordinating device still has the option of rescheduling WFD-specific operations to avoid time and/or channel conflicts with NAN-specific operations scheduled by the master of the NAN network (which in this case, is another NAN device) [Examiner’s Note: The reschedule WFD-specific operations by coordinating device indicates that the schedule included within the beacon frames from the coordinating device includes the schedule obtained from the NAN master]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Jung and Xu, so that the group owner transmits beacon including schedule information to the clients, as taught by Liu235. The modification would have allowed peer-to-peer protocols to share a device's radio, antenna and/or frequency spectrum with other protocols, or to share such a resource efficiently (Liu235 [Para. 0005]).
For claim 3, Jung, Xu and Liu235 teach the electronic device of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to control the communication circuitry to transmit the signal according to the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme in the plurality of first period (Liu235 [Para. 0072], coordinating device 110 may include within beacon frames a Notice of Absence attribute that describes Notice of Absence timing. Liu235 [Para. 0073], Wi-Fi Direct devices 120-122 may assume that coordinating device 110 is not available to them [Examiner’s Note: Wi-Fi Direct is the first period]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Jung and Xu, so that the group owner transmits beacon in Wi-Fi Direct channel in the period of Wi-Fi Direct operation, as taught by Liu235. The modification would have allowed peer-to-peer protocols to share a device's radio, antenna and/or frequency spectrum with other protocols, or to share such a resource efficiently (Liu235 [Para. 0005]).
For claim 12, Jung teaches a method performed by an electronic device ([Para. 0008], a method, which effectively configure a proximity network in an electronic device) the method comprising: identifying whether a neighbor awareness networking (NAN)-based first communication scheme is in an active state or an inactive state ([Para. 0113], The cluster may be referred to as a “neighbor awareness networking (NAN) cluster.” [Para. 0123], Referring to FIG. 6, a device 610-1 transmits a synchronization beacon in the discovery window (DW). Accordingly, devices 610-2 and 610-3 may receive the beacon. [Para. 0124], In a section other than a DW section, the devices 610-1 to 610-3 are in sleep mode. The devices 610-1 to 610-3 may operate in a waking mode while in a DW section [Examiner’s Note: Device 610-2 is the electronic device. Since synchronization beacon is transmitted in DW, 610-2 receiving the beacon identifies that the NAN is in waking (active) state]. [Para. 0197], The operation mode may be divided into a sleep mode, and a waking mode. [Para. 0209], the device proceeds to thereby determine whether or not the processor operates in a sleep mode. The device may determine the sleep mode, based on a signal showing the operation state); based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the active state, obtaining NAN cluster information ([Para. 0123], Referring to FIG. 6, a device 610-1 transmits a synchronization beacon in the DW. Accordingly, devices 610-2 and 610-3 may receive the beacon. [Para. 0124], In a section other than a DW section, the devices 610-1 to 610-3 are in sleep mode. The devices 610-1 to 610-3 may operate in a waking mode while in a DW section. [Examiner’s Note: Devices are in sleep mode in section other than DW and active state in DW section]. [Para. 0159], The electronic device may exchange synchronization beacons with the other electronic devices in the cluster through the DW. [Para. 0121], the discovery beacon, the synchronization beacon, and the service discovery frame may include a body field for corresponding information. The corresponding information may include cluster information [Examiner’s Note: Device 610-2 receives the synchronization beacon and obtains the cluster information]); and dividing a time period between a first discovery window (DW) and a second DW of the NAN-based first communication scheme into a plurality of first periods and a plurality of second periods which are respectively multiples of a time slot defined according to the NAN-based first communication scheme ([Para. 0128], Referring to FIG. 7, the master device may transmit a discovery beacon periodically in the interval 704 between the DWs, i.e., in the section other than in the synchronized DWs 702 sections [Examiner’s Note: The two DWs in FIG. 7 are adjacent. The first DW of the two adjacent DWS is the first DW and the next DW is the second DW]. [Para. 0139 and 0140], one of the devices in the cluster may conduct a further operation in a section other than the synchronized communication section. The device may designate an active time section for the post operation in a section other than a synchronized communication section and provide scheduling information. [Para. 0143], Referring to FIG. 9, the scheduling information includes a list of operation classes, and indicates the number of time units (e.g., 16) of the resource unit [Examiner’s Note: FIG. 9 illustrates a series of DWs and the scheduling information is between two adjacent DWs. The leading DW before the scheduling information is the first DW and the next DW after the scheduling information is the second DW. The time unit is used in the scheduling information. One time unit in Wi-Fi/NAN spans multiple time slots in CSMA/CA]. The scheduling information indicates that the wireless LAN connection is performed for the intervals 16 to 21 [Examiner’s Note: The intervals 16-21 for wireless LAN infrastructure (STA mode-based scheme) are the first periods], that the P2P operation is performed for the intervals 24 to 29. [Para. 0149], the service-related information may include information on the P2P operation (e.g., WiFi Direct service (WFDS)=1) [Examiner’s Note: The intervals 24-29 for Wi-Fi Direct are the second periods]); and wherein the plurality of first periods and the plurality of second periods are respectively used by two different communication schemes ([Para. 0143], The scheduling information indicates that the wireless LAN connection is performed for the intervals 16 to 21, that the P2P operation is performed for the intervals 24 to 29 [Examiner’s Note: Both the intervals for STA mode-based scheme and the intervals for Wi-Fi Direct are within the first and second DWs]); obtaining schedule information indicating that one communication scheme from among the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme and a STA mode-based third communication scheme operates in the plurality of the first period ([Para. 0139 and 0140], one of the devices in the cluster may conduct a further operation in a section other than the synchronized communication section. The device may designate an active time section for the post operation in a section other than a synchronized communication section and providing scheduling information. [Para. 0143], Referring to FIG. 9, the scheduling information includes a list of operation classes, and indicates the number of time units (e.g., 16) of the resource unit. The scheduling information indicates the section in which the operation is performed. The active time section is expressed as “1.” Channel “x” used by Wireless LAN infrastructure for the intervals 16 to 21, [Examiner’s Note: The intervals 16-21 for Wireless LAN infrastructure (STA mode-based scheme) are the first period. The schedule information can be obtained from other device as Liu235 teaches below]), and the other communication scheme from among the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme and the STA mode-based third communication scheme operates in the plurality of the second period ([Para. 0143], Referring to FIG. 9. The scheduling information indicates the section in which the operation is performed. The active time section is expressed as “1.” and channel “y” used by P2P for the intervals 24 to 29. [Para. 0149], the service-related information may include information on the P2P operation (e.g., WiFi Direct service (WFDS)=1) [Examiner’s Note: The intervals 24-29 for Wi-Fi Direct are the second periods]).
Although teaching dividing the time between DWs into periods for Wi-Fi Direct mode and STA mode, Liu235 and Jung do not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of first periods and the plurality of second periods are alternately arranged one by one.
Xu is directed to providing resource scheduling method and related products. More specifically, Xu teaches wherein the plurality of first periods and the plurality of second periods are alternately arranged one by one ([Para. 66], When the Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT) times of the Soft AP and P2P dual network modes are very close … Common resources such as PHY, RF, etc. are allocated to the two network modes are used alternately. [Para. 68] and [FIG. 3b], the time scheduling module allocates MAC, PHY, RF and other common resources to Soft AP network mode and P2P GO/GC network mode for alternate use. Therefore, the Soft AP network mode can obtain the TBTT1 time period to send and receive beacons and frames, and the P2PGO/GC network mode can obtain the TBTT2 time period to send and receive beacons and frames. [Para. 86] and [FIG. 3b], it is necessary to adjust the TBTT1 of the Soft AP mode to the target position TBTT1' at all times without changing. At this time, the conflict between Soft AP mode and P2P mode TBTT is avoided [Examiner’s Note: Times for P2P are the first periods and times for AP the second periods]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu235 and Jung, so that the periods for Wi-Fi Direct mode and STA mode operate alternately, as taught by Xu. The modification would have avoided conflicting transmissions of TBTTs in Wi-Fi Direct mode and STA modes (Xu [Para. 0086]).
Although teaching the device operating in Wi-Fi Direct mode and STA mode alternately, Liu235. Jung and Xu do not explicitly disclose based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the active state, increasing a group owner (GO) intent in a Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme; determining, based on the GO intent, that the electronic device is a GO of the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme; and transmitting a signal according to the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme, based on the schedule information.
Liu235 is directed to providing method and apparatus for coordinating multiple peer-to-peer networks. More specifically, Liu235 teaches disclose based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the active state, increasing a group owner (GO) intent in a Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme ([Para. 0055], a device may interleave NAN-specific and WFD-specific operations to maintain a NAN network while actively scanning for existing networks. [Para. 0059], If coordinating device 110 discovers the existing WFD network of which WFD device 120 serves as a group owner (e.g., during a scan phase), the coordinating device 110 may create WFD network 160 with itself as the group owner. Coordinating device 110 may then invite WFD device 122 to join WFD network 160. [Examiner’s Note: The device actively scanning is in active state]. [Para. 0040], the group owner Intent attribute may be set to a particular value, e.g., 15, to indicate that the coordinating device must be the group owner to operate correctly as a member of the resulting Wi-Fi Direct network); determining, based on the GO intent ([Para. 0040], during group owner negotiation, the coordinating device may set an Intent field in a group owner Intent attribute to a value that indicates a strong desire to become the group owner), that the electronic device is a GO of the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme ([Para. 0040], after transmitting the Intent attribute with another WFD device via group owner Negotiation frames, the coordinating device may become the group owner), wherein the one communication scheme uses a same channel as the NAN-based first communication scheme and the other communication scheme uses a different channel than the NAN-based first communication scheme ([Para. 0072], coordinating device 110 may include within beacon frames a Notice of Absence attribute that describes Notice of Absence timing. [Para. 0073], Wi-Fi Direct devices 120-122 may assume that coordinating device 110 is not available to them. [Para. 0078] and [FIG. 7B and 7C], instead of switching to a temporary channel to participate in post-discovery operations, coordinating device 110 switches to WFD network 160's operating channel, where coordinating device 110 may perform WFD-specific operations and/or participate in post-discovery operations for NAN network 150. [Para. 0079], Another modification that coordinating device 110 can implement is setting WFD network 160's operating channel to NAN network 150's social channel [Examiner’s Note: WFD uses the same channel as the NAN]. [Para. 0029], central node 160 is an access point. Coordinating device 110 may maintain an infrastructure connection with central node 160 in order to participate in a traditional Wi-Fi network [Examiner’s Note: Infrastructure connection does not use the channel in that WFD and NAN use]); and transmitting a signal according to the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme ([Para. 0077], coordinating device 110 may transmit a beacon over WFD network 160's operating channel), based on the schedule information ([Para. 0072], coordinating device 110 can simultaneously participate in NAN network 150 and WFD network 160 by: (1) staggering availability periods and absence periods for WFD network 160 in alternating time intervals, and (2) scheduling NAN-specific operations during the absence periods [0077], Before transitioning to the next absence period, coordinating device 110 may transmit a beacon over WFD network 160's operating channel).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu235. Jung and Xu, so that the device becomes the group owner and schedule Wi-Fi Direct and NAN schemes to share the same channel, as taught by Liu235. The modification would have allowed peer-to-peer protocols to share a device's radio, antenna and/or frequency spectrum with other protocols or between applications, or to share such a resource efficiently (Liu235 [Para. 0005]).
For claims 13-14 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 2-3. Therefore, claims 13-14 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 2-3.
For claim 21, Jung teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a program including executable instructions ([Para. 0235], The one or more programs stored in the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium may be configured for execution by one or more processors) which, when executed by at least one processor of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform ([Para. 0058] and [FIG. 1], the electronic device 101 may include a communication interface 170, processor 120, the memory 130. [Para. 0235], The one or more programs stored in the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium may be configured for execution by one or more processors. [Para. 0122], FIG. 6 is a proximity network according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. [Para. 0123], devices 610-2 and 610-3 may receive the beacon and the service discovery frame, which are transmitted by the device 610-1 [Examiner’s Note: Device 610-2 corresponds and device 101 correspond to the electronic device]): identifying whether a neighbor awareness networking (NAN)-based first communication scheme is in an active state or an inactive state ([Para. 0113], The cluster may be referred to as a “neighbor awareness networking (NAN) cluster.” [Para. 0123], Referring to FIG. 6, a device 610-1 transmits a synchronization beacon in the discovery window (DW). Accordingly, devices 610-2 and 610-3 may receive the beacon. [Para. 0124], In a section other than a DW section, the devices 610-1 to 610-3 are in sleep mode. The devices 610-1 to 610-3 may operate in a waking mode while in a DW section [Examiner’s Note: One of devices 610-2 and 610-3 is the electronic device. Since synchronization beacon is transmitted in DW, 610-2 receiving the beacon identifies that the NAN is in waking (active) state]. [Para. 0197], The operation mode may be divided into a sleep mode, and a waking mode. [Para. 0209], the device proceeds to thereby determine whether or not the processor operates in a sleep mode. The device may determine the sleep mode, based on a signal showing the operation state); based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the active state, obtaining NAN cluster information ([Para. 0123], Referring to FIG. 6, a device 610-1 transmits a synchronization beacon in the DW. Accordingly, devices 610-2 and 610-3 may receive the beacon. [Para. 0124], In a section other than a DW section, the devices 610-1 to 610-3 are in sleep mode. The devices 610-1 to 610-3 may operate in a waking mode while in a DW section. [Examiner’s Note: Devices are in sleep mode in section other than DW and active state in DW section]. [Para. 0159], The electronic device may exchange synchronization beacons with the other electronic devices in the cluster through the DW. [Para. 0121], the discovery beacon, the synchronization beacon, and the service discovery frame may include a body field for corresponding information. The corresponding information may include cluster information [Examiner’s Note: Device 610-2 receives the synchronization beacon and obtains the cluster information]); and dividing a time period between a first discovery window (DW) and a second DW of the NAN-based first communication scheme into a plurality of first periods and a plurality of second periods which are respectively multiples of a time slot defined according to the NAN-based first communication scheme ([Para. 0128], Referring to FIG. 7, the master device may transmit a discovery beacon periodically in the interval 704 between the DWs, i.e., in the section other than in the synchronized DWs 702 sections [Examiner’s Note: The two DWs in FIG. 7 are adjacent. The first DW of the two adjacent DWS is the first DW and the next DW is the second DW]. [Para. 0139 and 0140], one of the devices in the cluster may conduct a further operation in a section other than the synchronized communication section. The device may designate an active time section for the post operation in a section other than a synchronized communication section and provide scheduling information. [Para. 0143], Referring to FIG. 9, the scheduling information includes a list of operation classes, and indicates the number of time units (e.g., 16) of the resource unit [Examiner’s Note: FIG. 9 illustrates a series of DWs and the scheduling information is between two adjacent DWs. The leading DW before the scheduling information is the first DW and the next DW after the scheduling information is the second DW. The time unit is used in the scheduling information. One time unit in Wi-Fi/NAN spans multiple time slots in CSMA/CA]. The scheduling information indicates that the wireless LAN connection is performed for the intervals 16 to 21 [Examiner’s Note: The intervals 16-21 for wireless LAN infrastructure (STA mode-based scheme) are the first periods], that the P2P operation is performed for the intervals 24 to 29. [Para. 0149], the service-related information may include information on the P2P operation (e.g., WiFi Direct service (WFDS)=1) [Examiner’s Note: The intervals 24-29 for Wi-Fi Direct are the second periods]); and wherein the plurality of first periods and the plurality of second periods are respectively used by two different communication schemes ([Para. 0143], The scheduling information indicates that the wireless LAN connection is performed for the intervals 16 to 21, that the P2P operation is performed for the intervals 24 to 29 [Examiner’s Note: Both the intervals for STA mode-based scheme and the intervals for Wi-Fi Direct are within the first and second DWs]); obtaining schedule information indicating that one communication scheme from among the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme and a STA mode-based third communication scheme operates in the plurality of the first period ([Para. 0139 and 0140], one of the devices in the cluster may conduct a further operation in a section other than the synchronized communication section. The device may designate an active time section for the post operation in a section other than a synchronized communication section and providing scheduling information. [Para. 0143], Referring to FIG. 9, the scheduling information includes a list of operation classes, and indicates the number of time units (e.g., 16) of the resource unit. The scheduling information indicates the section in which the operation is performed. The active time section is expressed as “1.” Channel “x” used by Wireless LAN infrastructure for the intervals 16 to 21, [Examiner’s Note: The intervals 16-21 for Wireless LAN infrastructure (STA mode-based scheme) are the first period. The schedule information can be obtained from other device as Liu235 teaches below]), and the other communication scheme from among the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme and the STA mode-based third communication scheme operates in the plurality of the second period ([Para. 0143], Referring to FIG. 9. The scheduling information indicates the section in which the operation is performed. The active time section is expressed as “1.” and channel “y” used by P2P for the intervals 24 to 29. [Para. 0149], the service-related information may include information on the P2P operation (e.g., WiFi Direct service (WFDS)=1) [Examiner’s Note: The intervals 24-29 for Wi-Fi Direct are the second periods]).
Although teaching dividing the time between DWs into periods for Wi-Fi Direct mode and STA mode, Liu235 and Jung do not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of first periods and the plurality of second periods are alternately arranged one by one.
Xu is directed to providing resource scheduling method and related products. More specifically, Xu teaches wherein the plurality of first periods and the plurality of second periods are alternately arranged one by one ([Para. 66], When the Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT) times of the Soft AP and P2P dual network modes are very close … Common resources such as PHY, RF, etc. are allocated to the two network modes are used alternately. [Para. 68] and [FIG. 3b], the time scheduling module allocates MAC, PHY, RF and other common resources to Soft AP network mode and P2P GO/GC network mode for alternate use. Therefore, the Soft AP network mode can obtain the TBTT1 time period to send and receive beacons and frames, and the P2PGO/GC network mode can obtain the TBTT2 time period to send and receive beacons and frames. [Para. 86] and [FIG. 3b], it is necessary to adjust the TBTT1 of the Soft AP mode to the target position TBTT1' at all times without changing. At this time, the conflict between Soft AP mode and P2P mode TBTT is avoided [Examiner’s Note: Times for P2P are the first periods and times for AP the second periods]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu235 and Jung, so that the periods for Wi-Fi Direct mode and STA mode operate alternately, as taught by Xu. The modification would have avoided conflicting transmissions of TBTTs in Wi-Fi Direct mode and STA modes (Xu [Para. 0086]).
Although teaching the device operating in Wi-Fi Direct mode and STA mode alternately, Liu235. Jung and Xu do not explicitly disclose based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the active state, increasing a group owner (GO) intent in a Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme; determining, based on the GO intent, that the electronic device is a GO of the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme; and transmitting a signal according to the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme, based on the schedule information.
Liu235 is directed to providing method and apparatus for coordinating multiple peer-to-peer networks. More specifically, Liu235 teaches disclose based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the active state, increasing a group owner (GO) intent in a Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme ([Para. 0055], a device may interleave NAN-specific and WFD-specific operations to maintain a NAN network while actively scanning for existing networks. [Para. 0059], If coordinating device 110 discovers the existing WFD network of which WFD device 120 serves as a group owner (e.g., during a scan phase), the coordinating device 110 may create WFD network 160 with itself as the group owner. Coordinating device 110 may then invite WFD device 122 to join WFD network 160. [Examiner’s Note: The device actively scanning is in active state]. [Para. 0040], the group owner Intent attribute may be set to a particular value, e.g., 15, to indicate that the coordinating device must be the group owner to operate correctly as a member of the resulting Wi-Fi Direct network); determining, based on the GO intent ([Para. 0040], during group owner negotiation, the coordinating device may set an Intent field in a group owner Intent attribute to a value that indicates a strong desire to become the group owner), that the electronic device is a GO of the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme ([Para. 0040], after transmitting the Intent attribute with another WFD device via group owner Negotiation frames, the coordinating device may become the group owner), wherein the one communication scheme uses a same channel as the NAN-based first communication scheme and the other communication scheme uses a different channel than the NAN-based first communication scheme ([Para. 0072], coordinating device 110 may include within beacon frames a Notice of Absence attribute that describes Notice of Absence timing. [Para. 0073], Wi-Fi Direct devices 120-122 may assume that coordinating device 110 is not available to them. [Para. 0078] and [FIG. 7B and 7C], instead of switching to a temporary channel to participate in post-discovery operations, coordinating device 110 switches to WFD network 160's operating channel, where coordinating device 110 may perform WFD-specific operations and/or participate in post-discovery operations for NAN network 150. [Para. 0079], Another modification that coordinating device 110 can implement is setting WFD network 160's operating channel to NAN network 150's social channel [Examiner’s Note: WFD uses the same channel as the NAN]. [Para. 0029], central node 160 is an access point. Coordinating device 110 may maintain an infrastructure connection with central node 160 in order to participate in a traditional Wi-Fi network [Examiner’s Note: Infrastructure connection does not use the channel in that WFD and NAN use]); and transmitting a signal according to the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme ([Para. 0077], coordinating device 110 may transmit a beacon over WFD network 160's operating channel), based on the schedule information ([Para. 0072], coordinating device 110 can simultaneously participate in NAN network 150 and WFD network 160 by: (1) staggering availability periods and absence periods for WFD network 160 in alternating time intervals, and (2) scheduling NAN-specific operations during the absence periods [0077], Before transitioning to the next absence period, coordinating device 110 may transmit a beacon over WFD network 160's operating channel).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Liu235. Jung and Xu, so that the device becomes the group owner and schedule Wi-Fi Direct and NAN schemes to share the same channel, as taught by Liu235. The modification would have allowed peer-to-peer protocols to share a device's radio, antenna and/or frequency spectrum with other protocols or between applications, or to share such a resource efficiently (Liu235 [Para. 0005]).
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US20160150465A1, hereinafter Jung), in view of Xu (CN111278140A, hereinafter Xu) and Liu et al. (US20150319235A1, hereinafter Liu235) and Patil et al. (US20200389869A1, hereinafter Patil).
For claim 5, Jung, Xu and Liu235 teach the electronic device of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the active state (Jung [Para. 0123], Referring to FIG. 6, a device 610-1 transmits a synchronization beacon in the DW. Accordingly, devices 610-2 and 610-3 may receive the beacon. Jung [Para. 0124], In a section other than a DW section, the devices 610-1 to 610-3 are in sleep mode. The devices 610-1 to 610-3 may operate in a waking mode while in a DW section. [Examiner’s Note: Devices are in sleep mode in section other than DW and active state in DW section]), obtain NAN cluster synchronization information as the NAN cluster information (Jung [Para. 0123], Referring to FIG. 6, a device 610-1 transmits a synchronization beacon in the DW. Accordingly, devices 610-2 and 610-3 may receive the beacon. Jung [Para. 0124], In a section other than a DW section, the devices 610-1 to 610-3 are in sleep mode. The devices 610-1 to 610-3 may operate in a waking mode while in a DW section. Jung [Para. 0159], The electronic device may exchange synchronization beacons with the other electronic devices in the cluster through the DW. Jung [Para. 0121], the synchronization beacon may include a body field for corresponding information. The corresponding information may include cluster information [Examiner’s Note: The synchronization beacon is received when the devices are in active mode in DW section]), based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the inactive state (Jung [Para. 0128], other devices that want to synchronize with the cluster of the master device may listen to the channel, i.e., make a passive scan for a predetermined time to thereby receive the discovery beacons [Examiner’s Note: A device that has not received discovery beacon is not active with respect to the cluster]), perform a NAN passive scan operation (Jung [Para. 0128], other devices that want to synchronize with the cluster of the master device may listen to the channel, i.e., make a passive scan); based on neighboring NAN cluster information being received based on the NAN passive scan operation (Jung [Para. 0128], the other devices may synchronize with the cluster of the master device), obtain the received neighboring NAN cluster information as the NAN cluster information (Jung [Para. 0128], The devices in the cluster may be synchronized based on a time synchronization function (TSF) of the master device [Examiner’s Note: TSF is included in synchronization message]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Xu and Liu235. so that a device obtains cluster information after passive scan, as taught by Jung. The modification would have attenuated the restriction caused by the operation of the master (Jung [Para. 0156]).
Although teaching synchronization by passive scan, Jung, Xu and Liu235 do not explicitly disclose and based on the neighboring NAN cluster information is not being received based on the NAN passive scan operation, generate arbitrary NAN cluster information.
Patil is directed to providing uplink broadcast service in a wireless local area network (wlan). More specifically, Patil teaches and based on the neighboring NAN cluster information is not being received based on the NAN passive scan operation, generate arbitrary NAN cluster information ([Para. 0149], to join NAN clusters, NAN devices passively scan for discovery beacons from other NAN devices. If a NAN cluster is not discovered, a NAN device may start a new NAN cluster).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Jung, Xu and Liu235. so that a device initiates a cluster after failing to discover a cluster by passive scan, as taught by Patil. The modification would have prevented DoS attack to the remote server or to prevent too many frames being flooded on to a backhaul network (Patil [Para. 0117]).
For claim 16 is directed to a method claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, claim 16 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 5.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US20160150465A1, hereinafter Jung), in view of Xu (CN111278140A, hereinafter Xu) and Liu et al. (US20150319235A1, hereinafter Liu235), and further in view of Garg et al. (US20140025801A1, hereinafter Garg).
For claim 6, Jung, Xu and Liu235 teach the electronic device of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the active state, increase the GO intent by a first value (Liu235 [Para. 0055], a device may interleave NAN-specific and WFD-specific operations to maintain a NAN network while actively scanning for existing networks. Liu235 [Para. 0059], If coordinating device 110 discovers the existing WFD network of which WFD device 120 serves as a group owner (e.g., during a scan phase), the coordinating device 110 may create WFD network 160 with itself as the group owner. Coordinating device 110 may then invite WFD device 122 to join WFD network 160. [Examiner’s Note: The device actively scanning is in active state]. Liu235 [Para. 0040], the group owner Intent attribute may be set to a particular value, e.g., 15 [Examiner’s Note: 15 is the highest intent value]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Jung and Xu, so that the device sets group owner intent to 15 when being in active state, as taught by Liu235. The modification would have allowed peer-to-peer protocols to share a device's radio, antenna and/or frequency spectrum with other protocols or between applications, or to share such a resource efficiently (Liu235 [Para. 0005]).
Although teaching the device setting group owner intent to large value when being in active state, Jung, Xu and Liu235 do not explicitly disclose and based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the inactive state, increase the GO intent by a second value lower than the first value.
Garg is directed to providing system and method for managing roles in a peer-to-peer connection. More specifically, Garg teaches and based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being in the inactive state, increase the GO intent by a second value lower than the first value ([Para. 0020], first electronic device 101 determines a group owner intent value based on power characteristics of first electronic device. [Para. 0021], One of the power characteristics may be based on a number of operations that run on first electronic device 101. The group owner intent value of first electronic device 101 may be inversely proportional to the total number of operations [Examiner’s Note: The device that is in inactive state performs less operations than in active state. Therefore, the group owner intent in inactive state should be less than the intent in active state).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Jung, Xu and Liu235. so that the group owner intent in inactive state is set to less than the intent in active state, as taught by Garg. The modification would have provided management of peer-to-peer connections considering power consumption (Garg [Para. 0011 and 0020]).
For claim 17 is directed to method claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 6. Therefore, claim 17 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 6.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US20160150465A1, hereinafter Jung), in view of Xu (CN111278140A, hereinafter Xu) and Liu et al. (US20150319235A1, hereinafter Liu235), and further in view of Jung et al. (US20190089686A1, hereinafter Jung686).
For claim 7, Jung, Xu and Liu235 teach the electronic device of claim 1. Although teaching coordination among schemes operating concurrently, Jung, Xu and Liu235 do not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to increase the GO intent based on a frequency band of an access point connected in the STA mode-based third communication scheme.
Jung686 is directed to providing electronic device performing reconnection of short-range communication and method for operating the same. More specifically, Jung686 teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to increase the GO intent based on a frequency band of an access point connected in the STA mode-based third communication scheme ([Para. 0112], the electronic device 101 may be used to form a Wi-Fi direct group with the external electronic device 102 [Examiner’s Note: External device is considered]. [Para. 0115], the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 102 may set at least one of the GO intent or preferred mode based on at least one of the access point (AP) connection status. The external electronic device 102 may set its GO intent to 8 according to connection to the AP [Examiner’s Note: Access point connection includes the frequency band of the connection]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Jung, Xu and Liu235. so that group owner intent is set based on connection with access point, as taught by Jung686. The modification would have allowed a device to connect and perform the reconnection based on at least the new role, and prior stored information, enabling relatively rapid reconnection (Jung686 [Para. 0004 and 0007]).
For claim 18 is directed to method claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 7. Therefore, claim 18 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 7.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US20160150465A1, hereinafter Jung), in view of Xu (CN111278140A, hereinafter Xu) and Liu et al. (US20150319235A1, hereinafter Liu235), and further in view of Yang et al. (US20170347359A1, hereinafter Yang).
For claim 8, Jung, Xu and Liu235 teach the electronic device of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to obtain the schedule information after performing time synchronization on the NAN-based first communication scheme (Jung [Para. 0142], scheduling information on a post operation in a section other than a synchronized communication section in a proximity network. Jung [Para. 0140], in performing a post operation, a device may designate an active time section for the post operation in a section other than a synchronized communication section. The information on the use of the active time section may be transmitted through the service discovery frame in the synchronized section. Jung [FIG. 5]. [Examiner’s Note: In FIG.5, service discovery frames including the schedule are transmitted after synchronization frames (This is shown in Neighbor Awareness Networking Specification 3.0)]).
Although teaching obtaining schedule after performing time synchronization on NAN scheme, Jung, Xu and Liu235 do not explicitly disclose the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme, and the STA mode-based third communication scheme.
Yang is directed to providing system and method for coordinating spatial reuse among Low power communications devices. More specifically, Yang teaches the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme ([Para. 027], hub device may usually be a smartphone. [Para. 0035], each smartphone and its associated wearable devices (WD)s may form a WLAN, a Wi-Fi Direct group, or a NAN data group in order to communicate with one another. [Para. 0046], a WD may also join the NAN cluster … overhearing (i.e., receiving) the NAN signaling messages transmitted during the DWs or high power slots, and obtaining information for time synchronization and the scheduling information of the designated low power time slots. [Para. 0059], using Wi-Fi protocols such as WLAN, Wi-Fi Direct, and NAN, … for the transmissions among the hub devices and their associated WDs, as long as the radio technology and protocol used in a higher tier (i.e., a tier using a higher transmission power) can achieve self-organized time synchronization and scheduling of common time slots designated to communications within communication groups of respective lower tier(s) (i.e., tiers using lower transmission power) so that spatial reuse of the same frequency and time resources can be achieved among communication groups of the lower tier(s) [Examiner’s Note: The time synchronization and common schedule achieved through NAN (in high power transmission) are used for groups of Wi-Fi Direct and wlan for low power transmission. When the time synchronization on NAN is performed before obtaining the schedule, the time synchronization for Wi-Fi Direct group is also performed before obtaining the schedule]), and the STA mode-based third communication scheme ([Para. 0046], a WD may also join the NAN cluster … overhearing (i.e., receiving) the NAN signaling messages transmitted during the DWs or high power slots, and obtaining information for time synchronization and the scheduling information of the designated low power time slots. [Para. 0059], using Wi-Fi protocols such as WLAN, Wi-Fi Direct, and NAN, … for the transmissions among the hub devices and their associated WDs, as long as the radio technology and protocol used in a higher tier (i.e., a tier using a higher transmission power) can achieve self-organized time synchronization and scheduling of common time slots designated to communications within communication groups of respective lower tier(s) (i.e., tiers using lower transmission power) so that spatial reuse of the same frequency and time resources can be achieved among communication groups of the lower tier(s) [Examiner’s Note: The time synchronization and common schedule achieved through NAN (in high power transmission) are used for groups of Wi-Fi Direct and wlan for low power transmission. When the time synchronization on NAN is performed before obtaining the schedule, the time synchronization for wlan group is also performed before obtaining the schedule]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Jung, Xu and Liu235. so that the same time synchronization and common are used for NAN, Wi-Fi Direct and wlan groups, for as taught by Yang. The modification would have allowed reduced power consumption in Wi-Fi (Yang [Para. 0003]).
For claim 19 is directed to method claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 8. Therefore, claim 19 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 8.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US20160150465A1, hereinafter Jung), in view of Xu (CN111278140A, hereinafter Xu) and Liu et al. (US20150319235A1, hereinafter Liu235), and further in view of Jung et al. (US20190268730A1, hereinafter Jung730) and Jung et al. (US20200322872A1, hereinafter Jung872).
For claim 9, Jung, Xu and Liu235 teach the electronic device of claim 1. Although teaching multiple schemes operating concurrently, the references do not explicitly disclose the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: control the communication circuitry to transmit a discovery message of the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme comprising NAN cluster information stored in the memory; receive a response signal to the discovery message; and obtain one having a higher master rank of NAN cluster information about a counterpart device in the response signal and the transmitted NAN cluster information, as the NAN cluster information.
Jung730 is directed to providing electronic device and method for connecting short range communication. More specifically, Jung730 teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: control the communication circuitry to transmit a discovery message of the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme comprising NAN cluster information stored in the memory ([Para. 0072], the electronic device 101 performs a Wi-Fi direct discovery operation so as to discover at least one external electronic device that desires connection, and may invite the second external electronic device 102 b by transmitting an invitation request message including the ID and attribute information of the current group to the second external electronic device 102 b [Examiner’s Note: ID and attribute information may be cluster information]. [Para. 0167], [0167], to store information associated with the communication group having the first attribute in the memory); receive a response signal to the discovery message ([Para. 0072], the second external electronic device 102 b that is invited may transmit an invitation response message).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Jung, Xu and Liu235. so that Wi-Fi Direct discovery procedure is performed, as taught by Jung730. The modification would have facilitated a relatively quick reconnection (Jung730 [Para. 0005]).
Although teaching Wi-Fi direct discovery procedure, Jung, Xu, Liu235 and Jung 730 do not explicitly disclose and obtain one having a higher master rank of NAN cluster information about a counterpart device in the response signal and the transmitted NAN cluster information, as the NAN cluster information.
Jung872 is directed to providing nan-based communication control method, and electronic device for supporting same. More specifically, Jung872 teaches and obtain one having a higher master rank of NAN cluster information about a counterpart device in the response signal and the transmitted NAN cluster information ([Para. 0102], receive a first signal including attribute information of a second cluster from an external electronic device included in the second cluster … perform synchronization with the second cluster while maintaining the synchronization with the first cluster, when a master rank value included in the attribute information of the first cluster is greater than a master rank value included in the attribute information of the second cluster…transmit a second signal including information related to the first cluster. [Para. 0101], the processor 120 may release the synchronization with the second cluster after transmitting the second signal [Examiner’s Note: Maintaining the synchronization of the first cluster maintains the cluster information]), as the NAN cluster information ([Para. 0102], while maintaining the synchronization with the first cluster).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Jung, Xu, Liu235 and Jung730, so that the cluster of higher master rank is maintained, as taught by Jung872. The modification would have eliminated a factor that delays merging (Jung872 [Para. 0004]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US20160150465A1, hereinafter Jung), in view of Xu (CN111278140A, hereinafter Xu) and Liu et al. (US20150319235A1, hereinafter Liu235), and further in view of Liu et al. (US20170127369A1, hereinafter Liu369).
For claim 10, Jung, Xu and Liu235 teach the system of claim 1. Although teaching multiple schemes operating concurrently, the references do not disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on the NAN cluster information being changed into information about another NAN cluster based on merging with the other NAN cluster, obtain schedule information changed based on the changed NAN cluster information, and control the communication circuitry to transmit a signal according to the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme, based on the changed schedule information.
Liu369 is directed to providing nan data beacon. More specifically, Liu369 teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on the NAN cluster information being changed into information about another NAN cluster based on merging with the other NAN cluster ([Para. 0092], if the data cluster member is announcing a merge to a new cluster, the data beacon may include a new cluster ID (e.g., corresponding to the new cluster), …, and device operation schedule changes), obtain schedule information changed based on the changed NAN cluster information ([Para. 0092], if the data cluster member is announcing a merge to a new cluster, the data beacon may include … device operation schedule changes), and control the communication circuitry to transmit a signal according to the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme ([Para. 0112], the data beacons may be transmitted via Wi-Fi peer-to-peer communications, such as Wi-Fi direct), based on the changed schedule information ([Para. 0090], when a data cluster member device merges to a new cluster in a non-master, non-sync state, the member device does not transmit synchronization and discovery beacons after merging. [Para. 0092], if the data cluster member is announcing a merge to a new cluster, the data beacon may include … device operation schedule changes [Examiner’s Note: The data beacon is transmitted as a result of the data member is to stop transmission for the previous cluster, indicating a changed schedule]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Jung, Xu and Liu235. so that a device merged into a new cluster transmits information related to the new cluster based on the changed schedule, as taught by Liu369. The modification would have improved setup and coordination of the communication between such devices (Liu369 [Para. 0005]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US20160150465A1, hereinafter Jung), in view of Xu (CN111278140A, hereinafter Xu) and Liu et al. (US20150319235A1, hereinafter Liu235), and further in view of Fang et al. (US20160353368A1, hereinafter Fang) and Jung et al. (US20190268730A1, hereinafter Jung730).
For claim 11, Jung, Xu and Liu235 teach the electronic device of claim 1. Although teach multiple schemes operating concurrently, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being activated while operating in the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme, and another activated NAN cluster being detected, set a master rank of the NAN cluster information to a maximum value.
Fang is directed to providing method, device, and system for joining neighbor awareness network device cluster. More specifically, Fang teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being activated while operating in the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme ([Para. 0312], A wireless device creates a new neighbor awareness network device cluster when discovering multiple neighbor awareness network device clusters), and another activated NAN cluster being detected ([Para. 0312], A wireless device creates a new neighbor awareness network device cluster when discovering multiple neighbor awareness network device clusters), set a master rank of the NAN cluster information to a maximum value ([FIG. 9] and [Para. 0326], but actively creates a third neighbor awareness network device cluster, and becomes an Anchor Master in the third neighbor awareness network device cluster. [Para. 0210], Anchor Master (anchor master device), having the largest AMR (Anchor Master Rank). [Para. 0324], step 303: other wireless devices that are in the multiple neighbor awareness network device clusters and receive the event message join the new neighbor awareness network device cluster according to the event message [Examiner’s Note: The other devices joining the new cluster indicate the highest master rank in the new cluster]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Jung, Xu and Liu235. so that a device creates a new cluster while discovered existing clusters and becomes the anchor master of the new cluster, as taught by Fang. The modification would have avoided a high power consumption of a device and reduction of available resources on a working channel (Fang [Para. 0010]).
Although teaching creating new cluster and becoming the anchor master, Jung, Xu, Liu235 and Fang do not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being activated while operating in the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme.
Jung730 is directed to providing electronic device and method for connecting short range communication. More specifically, Jung730 teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, based on the NAN-based first communication scheme being activated while operating in the Wi-Fi direct-based second communication scheme ([Para. 0072], in the state in which the P2P group that the electronic device 101 establishes together with the first external electronic device 102 a is maintained, the electronic device 101 performs a Wi-Fi direct discovery operation so as to discover at least one external electronic device).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Jung, Xu, Liu235 and Fang, so that Wi-Fi Direct discovery procedure is performed while maintaining the P2P group, as taught by Jung730. The modification would have facilitated a relatively quick reconnection (Jung730 [Para. 0005]).
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417