DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 29th June 2026.
Claims 1, 10, 11, 12 and 14 were amended; claims 2 was cancelled; no new Claims were added; therefore, claims 1, 3-20 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
The objections to Specification have been withdrawn.
The objection to claim 14 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29th June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a housing having accommodating cavity”, “…located in the first accommodating cavity”, “…disposed on two opposite sides of the light scanning assembly with respect to the mainboard”) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. Therefore, the issue of whether Jiang, Campbell and Hall addresses these limitations are not relevant. These amended claims containing new limitations have been addressed by Vonmetz in the present Office Action.
In response to the applicant’s argument of claim 12, page 13 file on 29th June 2026, applicant argued that Akimoto’s housing segment 41, 42 and 43 are portions of a housing structure and the processing unit 3 is disposed relative to the housing segments. Akimoto does not disclose that the processing unit 3 is a mainboard disposed between a first board of a housing and a separate separating member, much less that the first board and the separating member are both metal members.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the segment 41 and 42 are made by metallic material [0048] and from Fig. 3, [0076] the segment 41 and segment 42 is formed as the second container chamber 72 in which the processing unit 3 is disposed. Clearly seen from Fig. 3, segment 41 and segment 42 are two separate structural members (which can be separated apart). Furthermore, paragraph [0084] disclosed the processing unit 3 of the exemplary embodiment is comprised of the first and second circuit boards 31 and 32 which can be considered as a main board. Fig. 3 also shows that the circuit board 31 and 32 are disposed in between segment 41 (equivalent to separating member) and segment 42 (equivalent to first board).
Second, paragraph [0082] disclosed the higher heating portion of the first circuit board 31 is in physical contact with the metallic second housing segment 42 via the thermal transfer member 5. Therefore, the second housing segment 42 is equivalent to first board.
Third, paragraph [0075] disclosed the housing segment 41 including the partitioning wall 411 which electromagnetically shields the transceiver 2 and the processing unit 3 from each other. This configuration therefore prevents electromagnetic noise generated from the transceiver 2 from negatively affecting the operations of the processing unit 3, and also prevents electromagnetic noise generated between the processing unit 3 form negative affecting the operations of the transceiver 2; [0073], the partitioning wall 411 define the first container chamber 71 in which the transceiver 2 is installed, and the second housing segment 42, which is non-transmissive of light and the partitioning wall 411 define the second container chamber 72 in which the processing unit 3 is installed.
Therefore, from above discussion, Akimoto’s housing segments 41 and 42 with processing unit 3 disposed in between satisfied the claim limitation of claim 12. Thus, the rejection of claim 12 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-11 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, last paragraph, the limitation of “an electronic control board located in the first accommodating cavity,…, disposed on two opposite sides of the light scanning assembly with respect to the mainboard…” is not clear. It looks like the applicant tried to claim an electronic control board disposed on two opposite sides of the scanner but it should be the electronic control board and the mainboard are disposed on two opposite sides of the scanner as stated in the original claim 2. For examining purpose, the examiner interprets the claim as original claim 2 as the electronic control board and the mainboard are disposed on two opposite sides of the scanner.
Other claims are rejected due to claim dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (W O2021051721 A1, hereinafter “Jiang”), modified in view of Campbell (US 20180284242 A1, hereinafter “Campbell”), in view of Vonmetz et al. (US 20080245982 A1, hereinafter “Vonmetz”).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang teaches an opto-mechanical system, comprising:
a housing having a fist accommodating cavity (Jiang; Fig. 1B-1D, [0061], lidar includes a housing 17, a transmitter board 10, a receiving board 11, a galvanometer 12, an analog board 13, a digital board 15 and interference board 16).
a light emission assembly located in the first accommodating cavity (Jiang; Fig. 1B-1D, [0061], lidar includes a housing 17, a transmitter board 10; [0064], the transmitter plate 10 is provided with a laser, collimating unit at the transmitting end, a central hole shooting mirror);
a light receiving assembly (Jiang; Jiang; Fig. 1B-1D, [0061], lidar includes a housing 17, a receiving board 11; [0065], the outgoing laser forms a reflected laser after irradiating the target object, and the receiving board 11 receives the emitted laser through the receiving mirror and transmits it to the photoelectric convert (APD, PIN, MPPC, SiPM in single or multiple arrays) to convert the reflected laser into the first electrical signal);
a mainboard located in the first accommodating cavity, wherein the mainboard is electrically connected to the light emission assembly and configured to control the light emission assembly to emit an emission light signal to a target object, and is electrically connected to the light receiving assembly and configured to control the light receiving assembly to receive an echo light signal reflected by the target object (Jiang; Fig. 1B-1D, [0061], lidar includes a housing 17, a digital board 15; [0073], digital board 15 (equivalent to mainboard) includes a main controller 156 which is also used to send control signals to control unit in the analog board 13 to control the launching board 10 (the transmitter board 10 is electrically connected to the analog board 13 which is electrically connected to digital board 15, Fig. 1A, [0062]) to emit the outgoing laser, and to control the receiving board 11 (the receiving board 11 is electrically connected to the analog board 13 which is electrically connected to digital board, Fig. 1A, [0062]) to receive the reflected laser);
a light scanning assembly located in the first accommodating cavity, wherein the emission light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the target object (Jiang; Fig. 1B-1D, [0061], lidar includes a housing 17, galvanometer 12; [0066], galvanometer 12 which is used to deflect the direction of the outgoing laser emitted by the emission plate 10); and
an electronic control board located in the first accommodating cavity, disposed independently of the mainboard and electrically connected to the mainboard, wherein the electronic control board is electrically connected to the light scanning assembly to control a movement of the light scanning assembly (Jiang; Fig. 1B-1D, [0061], lidar includes a housing 17, a galvanometer 12, an analog board 13; [0062], the analog board 13 (equivalent to electronic control board) and digital board 15 (equivalent to mainboard) are a type of board consisting of a printed circuit board and from Fig. 1C and 1D is clearly see they are disposed independently. The connection between the analog board 13 and the digital board 15 is an electrical connection (through socket). The connection between galvanometer and analog board 13 is an electrical connection (by a flexible cable or socket); [0067], analog board 13, used to control the deflection angle of galvanometer 12, the deflection angle of galvanometer 12 is used to control the deflection direction of the outgoing laser).
Jiang does not teach,
the echo light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the light receiving assembly.
An electronic control board disposed on two opposites sides of the light scanning assembly with respect to the mainboard.
Campbell teaches, the echo light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the light receiving assembly (Campbell; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0028], the scattered or reflected light is represented by input beam 135/172 (equivalent to echo light signal), which passes through the scanner 120/162 (equivalent to scanning assembly) to mirror 115/190 and to the receiver 140/164).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the echo light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the light receiving assembly taught by Campbell with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using same scanning assembly system to direct the outgoing/incoming laser light to the target/receiver predictably to reduce the lidar system size.
However, Jiang modified in view of Campbell still not teach,
An electronic control board disposed on two opposites sides of the light scanning assembly with respect to the mainboard.
Vonmetz disclosed in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 22, [0084], a first PCB2 and a second PCB of the rigid/flexible type, made up of four rigid portions or circuits 3, 4, 5, 6 connected together by three flexible connections 7, 8, 9, that allow the bending of the PCB so that the circuits 3, 4, 5, 6 are arranged at an angle (Fig. 2) and form, with the first PCB 2, four of the six faces of a rectangular parallelepiped; [0085], on the first PCB2, a scanning device of the laser beam emitted by a laser emitter 10 is made. The scanning device comprises a polygonal mirror 11 driven into rotation by a motor 12 and the electronics for driving the motor 12 (implies the PCB 2 has electronics for driving the polygonal mirror (scanner)); [0088], the side circuit 4 is for driving the laser emitter 8; [0089], on the inner side of circuit 5 has a receiving section; By Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), the PCB 2 and 2nd PCB (including circuits 3, 4, 5, 6, wherein the main part would be circuit 5 and is electrically connected to the circuit 4 by flexible connector 8 and it is positioned on the top of the mirror) are disposed on the two opposites side of the polygonal mirror.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the echo light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the light receiving assembly taught by Campbell, include an electronic control board disposed on two opposites sides of the light scanning assembly with respect to the mainboard taught by Vonmetz with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the laser emitter is fixed to the support base 13 and not to the PCB 2, the elastic ring 17, by adjusting the tightness of the screw 14, allows the inclination of the PCB 2 with respect to the emission plane of the laser beam by the emitter 10 to be adjusted, allowing an optimal alignment between the rotating polygonal mirror 11 and the scanning laser ray, and between the emission plane of the laser beam and the line of view of the receiving optics formed on the top inner circuit 5 of the 2nd PDB (Vonmetz; [0084]-[0085], [0088]-[0089], [0092]). Predictably to create a flexibility of the alignment in between the scanner and the laser emitter/receiver.
Regarding claim 3, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 1, wherein the light scanning assembly comprises:
a first light scanning element, wherein the electronic control board is electrically connected to the first light scanning element and configured to control a movement of the first light scanning element (Jiang; [0062], the connection between galvanometer and analog board 13 is an electrical connection (by a flexible cable or socket); [0067], analog board 13, used to control the deflection angle of galvanometer 12 (equivalent to first light scanning element), the deflection angle of galvanometer 12 is used to control the deflection direction of the outgoing laser;); and
Jiang does not teach,
a second light scanning element, wherein the emission light signal is sequentially transmitted by the first light scanning element and the second light scanning element to the target object, the echo light signal is sequentially transmitted by the second light scanning element and the first light scanning element to the light receiving assembly, and the electronic control board is further electrically connected to the second light scanning element and is configured to control a movement of the second light scanning element.
Campbell teaches in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0056], [0068], [0074], the scanner 120 may include one or more scanning mirrors and one or mor actuators driving the mirrors to rotate, tilt, pivot, or move the mirrors in an angular manner about one or more axes. For example, the first mirror of the scanner may scan the output beam 125 along a first direction, and the second mirror may scan the output beam 125 along a second direction that is substantially orthogonal to the first direction; [0028], the scattered or reflected light is represented by input beam 135 (equivalent to echo light signal), which passes through the scanner 120 (equivalent to scanning assembly) to mirror 115 and to the receiver 140; [0059] The one or more scanning mirrors of the scanner 120 may be communicatively coupled to the controller 150 which may control the scanning mirror(s) so as to guide the output beam 125 in a desired direction downrange or along a desired scan pattern; [0063], the controller 150 may be electrically coupled or otherwise communicatively coupled to one or more of the light source 110, the scanner 120 and the receiver 140). In combining Jiang’s invention with electrode board to control first scanning element and Campbell’s invention with two scanner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the electrode board in Jiang’s invention to connect another scanning element is possible because all the connection between galvanometer and analog board 13 is an electrical connection by a flexible cable or socket and would be easy to achieve.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the echo light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the light receiving assembly; a second light scanning element, wherein the emission light signal is sequentially transmitted by the first light scanning element and the second light scanning element to the target object, the echo light signal is sequentially transmitted by the second light scanning element and the first light scanning element to the light receiving assembly, and the electronic control board is further electrically connected to the second light scanning element and is configured to control a movement of the second light scanning element taught by Campbell, include an electronic control board disposed on two opposites sides of the light scanning assembly with respect to the mainboard taught by Vonmetz with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using scanning element including two mirrors to scan both horizontal and vertical direction for both outgoing laser light and incoming laser light predictably to realize a 2D scanning Lidar system (Campbell; [0074]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 4, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 3.
Jiang does not teach,
wherein the first light scanning element comprises a galvanometer, the galvanometer has a first reflection surface for transmitting the emission light signal or the echo light signal, the electronic control board is electrically connected to the galvanometer and configured to control the galvanometer to rotate around a first rotation axis, and the first reflection surface faces the second light scanning element; or
the second light scanning element comprises a rotating mirror, the rotating mirror has multiple second reflection surfaces for transmitting the emission light signal or the echo light signal, the electronic control board is electrically connected to the rotating mirror and configured to control the rotating mirror to rotate around a second rotation axis, and the multiple second reflection surfaces are disposed around a periphery of the second rotation axis, so that at least one second reflection surface faces the first light scanning element when the rotating mirror rotates around the second rotation axis.
Campbell teaches, in Fig. 2, paragraph [0069], the scanner 120/162 (controlled by controller 150 [0063]) may include any suitable number or mirrors driven by any suitable number of mechanical actuators. For example, the scanner 162 may include a galvanometer scanner; [0071], the scanner 162 includes a single mirror configured to scan an output beam 170 along a single direction (e.g., the scanner 162 may be a one-dimensional scanner that scans along a horizontal or vertical direction). The mirror may be a flat scanning mirror attached to a scanner actuator or mechanism which scans the mirror over a particular angular range. The mirror may be driven by one actuator (e.g., a galvanometer) or two actuators configured to drive the mirror in a push-pull configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the echo light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the light receiving assembly; a second light scanning element, wherein the emission light signal is sequentially transmitted by the first light scanning element and the second light scanning element to the target object, the echo light signal is sequentially transmitted by the second light scanning element and the first light scanning element to the light receiving assembly, and the electronic control board is further electrically connected to the second light scanning element and is configured to control a movement of the second light scanning element; wherein the first light scanning element comprises a galvanometer, the galvanometer has a first reflection surface for transmitting the emission light signal or the echo light signal, the electronic control board is electrically connected to the galvanometer and configured to control the galvanometer to rotate around a first rotation axis, and the first reflection surface faces the second light scanning element taught by Campbell, include an electronic control board disposed on two opposites sides of the light scanning assembly with respect to the mainboard taught by Vonmetz with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using galvanometers to drive the respective mirrors in a push-pull configuration predictably offers significant advantages in terms of scanning speed, precision and flexibility.
Regarding claim 5, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 1, wherein the light emission assembly comprises a light emitter and an emission board, the light emitter is mounted on the emission board and electrically connected to the emission board, and the emission board is disposed independently of the mainboard and electrically connected to the mainboard (Jiang; [0064], the transmitter plate 10 (equivalent to light emission board) is provided with a laser (equivalent to the light emitter is mounted on the emission board), collimating unit at the transmitting end, a central hole shooting mirror and a receiver; [0073], digital board 15 (equivalent to mainboard) includes a main controller 156 which is also used to send control signals to control unit in the analog board 13 to control the launching board 10 (the transmitter board 10 is electrically connected to the analog board 13 which is electrically connected to digital board, Fig. 1A, [0062]) to emit the laser (equivalent to the emission board is disposed independently of the mainboard and electrically connected to the mainboard)); and
the light receiving assembly comprises a light receiver and a receiving board, the light receiver is mounted on the receiving board and electrically connected to the receiving board, and the receiving board is disposed independently of the mainboard and electrically connected to the mainboard (Jiang; [0065], the outgoing laser forms a reflected laser after irradiating the target object, and the receiving board 11 receives the emitted laser through the receiving mirror and transmits it to the photoelectric convert (APD, PIN, MPPC, SiPM in single or multiple arrays) to convert the reflected laser into the first electrical signal (equivalent to the light receiver is mounted on the receiving board); [0073], digital board 15 (equivalent to mainboard) includes a main controller 156 which is also used to send control signals to control unit in the analog board 13 to the receiving board 11 (the receiving board 11 is electrically connected to the analog board 13 which is electrically connected to digital board, Fig. 1A, [0062]) to control the receiver for receiving the reflected laser (equivalent to the receiving board is disposed independently of the mainboard and electrically connected to the mainboard)).
Regarding claim 9, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 1, further comprising: an interface board, disposed independently of the mainboard, wherein the interface board is electrically connected to the mainboard, and is configured to provide a power supply signal for at least one of the light emission assembly, the light receiving assembly, or the light scanning assembly (Jiang; Figs. 1A-1D, [0061]-[0062], an interface board 16 (electrically connected with the digital board 15 through a socket) is provided with a power supply interface 164 and a communication interface 165 which is independently of the mainboard 15; [0069], interface board 16 includes a communication interface and a power interface. The power interface is used to input external voltage signals, and LiDAR uses external voltage signals to power individual boards (including emission board 10, receiving board 11, galvanometer 12, analog board 13)).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 9, further comprising:
a fourth heat conduction member is disposed between the mainboard and the housing (Jiang; [0075], a second heat dissipation part is filled between the main heat source in the chassis and the digital board 15, the main controller 156, the sampling circuit 152 and the first power supply circuit 153 are close to the inner wall of the housing through the second heat dissipation part, because the main controller 156, the sampling circuit 152 and the first power supply circuit 153 are the main heat sources of the digital board 15. The above three components transfer the generated heat to the housing through a second heat dissipation part, improving the heat dissipation efficiency of the digital board 15); or a fifth heat conduction member is disposed between the electronic control board and the housing; or a sixth heat conduction member is disposed between the interface board and the housing.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, modified in view of Campbell, in view of Vonmetz, in view of Huh et al. (US 20200319307 A1, hereinafter “Huh”).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 1, wherein the opto-mechanical system further comprises:
a housing having a first accommodating cavity, wherein the light emission assembly, the 59light receiving assembly, the mainboard, the light scanning assembly, and the electronic control board are located in the first accommodating cavity (Jiang; Fig. 1B-1D, [0062], the transmitter board, galvanometer, receiver board, analog board, digital board and interface board are arranged in the housing 17); and
a first heat conduction member disposed between the emission board and the housing (Jiang; [0045], the printed circuit of the transmitter is adhered to the inner wall of the shell through the third heat dissipation component, the transmitter board is connected to the analog board by a soft cable and the material of the printed circuit board in the transmitter is ceramic),
Jiang does not teach, and a second heat conduction member disposed between the receiving board and the housing.
Huh teaches, a second heat conduction member disposed between the receiving board and the housing (Huh; Fig. 4A-4C, Fig. 5, [0069], a camera 40 include an image sensor 41, a laser emitter 42, a laser drive 43, first and second printed boards 51 and 52 (the image sensor 41 is mounted on it, [0070]); [0081], the second printed circuit board 52 may be disposed between the laser driver 43 and the first heat transfer member 46; [0087], the first heat transfer member 46 may further include a second heat transfer member 47; Fig. 4A clearly see the heat transfer member 47 is in between image sensor 41 (mounted on second PCB 52) and a bracket 50. Since the camera is included in an electronic device (such as 100 in Fig. 1). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the heat transfer member 47 is position in between receiving board 52 and the device housing 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the echo light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the light receiving assembly taught by Campbell, include an electronic control board disposed on two opposites sides of the light scanning assembly with respect to the mainboard taught by Vonmetz, include a second heat conduction member disposed between the receiving board and the housing taught by Huh with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is having heat transfer member 46/47 in between second printed circuit board 52 and the housing of an electronic device (such as 100 in Fig. 1) predictably to transfer the heat generated by the printed circuit board to the housing for improving heat dissipation of the board.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, modified in view of Campbell, in view of Vonmetz, in view of Huh, in view of Wang (CN 112444791 A, hereinafter “Wang”), in view of Bae (US 20200292669 A1, hereinafter “Bae”).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 6.
Jiang does not teach, further comprising:
a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and forming an emission light channel and an echo light channel, wherein the emission light channel has a first light inlet and a first light outlet, the echo light channel has a second light inlet and a second light outlet, the light emission assembly is disposed to correspond to the first light inlet, the light scanning assembly is disposed to correspond to the first light outlet, the light scanning assembly is disposed to correspond to the second light inlet, the light receiving assembly is disposed to correspond to the second light outlet, and a third heat conduction member is disposed between the separating member and the housing.
Wang teaches, a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and forming an emission light channel and an echo light channel, wherein the emission light channel has a first light inlet and a first light outlet, the echo light channel has a second light inlet and a second light outlet, the light emission assembly is disposed to correspond to the first light inlet, the light scanning assembly is disposed to correspond to the first light outlet, the light scanning assembly is disposed to correspond to the second light inlet, the light receiving assembly is disposed to correspond to the second light outlet (Wang; Fig. 5, [0046], the laser emitting device 11, collimating device 12, beam splitting component 4 forms a emission light channel as shown in figure 5, the light emitted through the hole on the right hand side of the panel; the light splitting assembly 4, a reflector assembly 5, the first receiving lens group 31 and first receiving device 32 forms an echo light channel as shown in Fig. 5. Both channel with separated by a separating member; [0047], the emitted laser emitted by each laser emitting system 1 passes through the beam splitter and is then directed toward the scanning component 2 and emitted outward. The echo laser passes through the scanning component 2 (not shown but can be seen in Fig. 3 scanning component 2) and is then directed toward the corresponding beam splitter and deflected toward the first laser receiving system. See more detail below in Fig. 1).
Fig. 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the echo light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the light receiving assembly taught by Campbell, include an electronic control board disposed on two opposites sides of the light scanning assembly with respect to the mainboard taught by Vonmetz, include a second heat conduction member disposed between the receiving board and the housing taught by Huh, include a separating member to separate the light emission channel and light detection channel taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to include the laser emitting device 11, collimating device 12, beam splitting component 4, reflector component 5, first receiving mirror group 31 and first receiving device 32 all housed in an integral transceiver housing, which is conducive to modular application and facilitates light adjustment, assembly and replacement (Wang; [0046]). Furthermore, the separation of the light emission channel and light receiving channel predictably to reduce the interference in between emission signal and echo reflected signal.
However, Jiang modified in view of Campbell, Huh and Wang still not teach,
a third heat conduction member is disposed between the separating member and the housing.
Bae teaches,
a third heat conduction member is disposed between the separating member and the housing (Bae; Fig. 5, [0077] The shield case 300 (equivalent to separating member which separate the measurement unit 200 and the housing 400 on the bottom) is coupled to the measurement unit 200, and blocks electromagnetic waves generated by the measurement unit 200 such that the electromagnetic waves are discharged to the entrance 418 of the housing 400; [0078] The shield case 300 is located at a position facing the cover 100 and disposed in the housing 400, and has a shielding space concave toward the measurement unit 200; [0090] The second heat conductor member 520 is disposed between the shield case 300 and the housing 400 and coupled to the shield case 300 and the housing 400, and conducts the heat, conducted from the shield case 300, to the housing 400).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the echo light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the light receiving assembly taught by Campbell, include an electronic control board disposed on two opposites sides of the light scanning assembly with respect to the mainboard taught by Vonmetz, include a second heat conduction member disposed between the receiving board and the housing taught by Huh, include a separating member to separate the light emission channel and light detection channel taught by Wang, include a third heat conduction member is disposed between the separating member and the housing taught by Bae with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using heat conduction member disposed between the separating member and the housing predictably to dissipate the heat from the shield case to the housing (Bae; [0077]-[0078], [0090]).
Regarding claim 8, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 7, wherein
the emission board has a first board surface and a second board surface facing away from the first board surface, the first board surface is mounted with the light emitter, and the first heat conduction member is disposed between the second board surface and the separating member; or
the first heat conduction member comprises a graphene layer and a heat conduction gel layer; or
the light receiving assembly comprises a receiving shielding cover covering the receiving board and the light receiver, the receiving shielding cover is provided with a first through hole corresponding to the light receiver, the receiving board has a third board surface and a fourth board surface facing away from the third board surface, the third board surface is mounted with the light receiver, a first heat conduction sub-member is disposed between the third board surface and the receiving shielding cover, a second heat conduction sub-member is disposed between the fourth board surface and the receiving shielding cover, a third heat conduction sub-member is disposed between the receiving shielding cover and the separating member, and 60the second heat conduction member comprises the first heat conduction sub-member, the second heat conduction sub-member, and the third heat conduction sub-member; or
the emission board comprises a substrate and a conductive layer disposed on the substrate, and the substrate comprises a ceramic plate (Jiang; [0090], the material of the transmitter board is made of a ceramic plate with a high thermal conductivity and is used to direct heat to the housing through heat dissipation components and bonding to the bottom of the lidar, thereby improving heat dissipation efficiency).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, modified in view of Campbell, in view of Vonmetz, in view of Akimoto (US 20190391239 A1, hereinafter “Akimoto”).
Regarding claim 11, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
Jiang does not teach,
the housing comprises a first board.
a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board, wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member, and the first board and the separating member are both metal members.
Akimoto teaches,
the housing comprises a first board (Akimoto; Fig. 2, [0048], the housing is comprised of a first housing segment 41, a second hosing segment 42 (equivalent to first board) and a third housing segment 43, both 41 and 42 are made by metallic material),
a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board (Akimoto; Fig. 2, [0048], the housing is comprised of a first housing segment 41 (equivalent to separating member), a second housing segment 42 (equivalent to first board) and a third housing segment 43; Both first and second housing segment are made by metallic material; clearly seen in the figure both first and second housing segment are spaced apart from each other), wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member (Akimoto; Fig. 2; [0031], the processing unit 3 includes a first circuit board 31, a second circuit board 32. Clearly seen in the figure that processing unit 3 is disposed between the first housing segment 41 and the second housing segment 42), and the first board and the separating member are both metal members (Akimoto; Fig. 2, [0048], both housing segment 41, 42 are made by metallic material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the echo light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the light receiving assembly taught by Campbell, include an electronic control board disposed on two opposites sides of the light scanning assembly with respect to the mainboard taught by Vonmetz, include the housing comprises a first board; a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board, wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member, and the first board and the separating member are both metal members taught by Akimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to separate the transmitting/receiving unit and the processing board and position the processing board close to the housing. Further to include a heat transfer member 5 attached in between processing unit and the second housing segment predictably to dissipate the heat generated from the processing unit through the housing.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, modified in view of Akimoto.
Regarding claim 12, Jiang teaches an opto-mechanical system, comprising:
a light emission assembly (Jiang; [0064], the transmitter plate 10 is provided with a laser, collimating unit at the transmitting end, a central hole shooting mirror);
a light receiving assembly (Jiang; [0065], the outgoing laser forms a reflected laser after irradiating the target object, and the receiving board 11 receives the emitted laser through the receiving mirror and transmits it to the photoelectric convert (APD, PIN, MPPC, SiPM in single or multiple arrays) to convert the reflected laser into the first electrical signal);
a mainboard, wherein the mainboard is electrically connected to the light emission assembly and configured to control the light emission assembly to emit an emission light signal to an irradiated object, and is electrically connected to the light receiving assembly and configured to control the light receiving assembly to receive an echo light signal reflected by the irradiated object (Jiang; [0073], digital board 15 (equivalent to mainboard) includes a main controller 156 which is also used to send control signals to control unit in the analog board 13 to control the launching board 10 (the transmitter board 10 is electrically connected to the analog board 13 which is electrically connected to digital board 15, Fig. 1A, [0062]) to emit the outgoing laser, and to control the receiving board 11 (the receiving board 11 is electrically connected to the analog board 13 which is electrically connected to digital board, Fig. 1A, [0062]) to receive the reflected laser);
a housing having a first accommodating cavity, wherein the light emission assembly, the light receiving assembly, and the mainboard are all located in the first accommodating cavity (Jiang; Fig. 1B-1D, [0062], the transmitter board, galvanometer, receiver board, analog board, digital board and interface board are arranged in the housing 17), and
Jiang does not teach,
the housing comprises a first board; and
a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board, wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member, and the first board and the separating member are both metal members to form an electromagnetic shielding structure for the mainboard.
Wherein the light emission assembly and the light receiving assembly are both connected to the separating member.
Akimoto teaches,
the housing comprises a first board (Akimoto; Fig. 2, [0048], the housing is comprised of a first housing segment 41, a second housing segment 42 (equivalent to first board) and a third housing segment 43 all made by metallic material),
a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board (Akimoto; Fig. 2, [0048], the housing is comprised of a first housing segment 41 (equivalent to separating member), a second housing segment 42 (equivalent to first board) and a third housing segment 43; both first and second housing segment are made by metallic material; clearly seen in the figure both first and second housing segment are spaced apart from each other), wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member (Akimoto; Fig. 2; [0031], the processing unit 3 includes a first circuit board 31, a second circuit board 32. Clearly seen in the figure that processing unit 3 is disposed between the first housing segment 41 and the second housing segment 42), and the first board and the separating member are both metal members (Akimoto; Fig. 2, [0048], both housing segment 41, 42 are made by metallic material) to form an electromagnetic shielding structure for the mainboard (Akimoto; Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0048], the segment 41 and 42 are made by metallic material; furthermore, from Fig. 3, [0076] the segment 41 and segment 42 is formed as the second container chamber 72 in which the processing unit 3 is disposed. Clearly seen from Fig. 3, segment 41 and segment 42 are two separate structural members (which can be separated apart); [0075] disclosed the housing segment 41 including the partitioning wall 411 which electromagnetically shields the transceiver 2 and the processing unit3 from each other. This configuration therefore prevents electromagnetic noise generated from the transceiver 2 from negatively affecting the operations of the processing unit 3, and also prevents electromagnetic noise generated between the processing unit 3 form negative affecting the operations of the transceiver 2).
Wherein the light emission assembly and the light receiving assembly are both connected to the separating member (Akimoto; Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0073], the partitioning wall 411 define the first container chamber 71 in which the transceiver 2 (including light emitting unit 21 and light receiving unit 23) is installed (clearly seen the emitting board 20 and receiving board 22 is disposed on the partitioning wall 411), and the second housing segment 42, which is non-transmissive of light and the partitioning wall 411 define the second container chamber 72 in which the processing unit 3 is installed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the housing comprises a first board; a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board, wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member, and the first board and the separating member are both metal members to form an electromagnetic shielding structure for the mainboard; wherein the light emission assembly and the light receiving assembly are both connected to the separating member taught by Akimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to separate the transmitting/receiving unit and the processing board using the partitioning wall 411 which electromagnetically shields the transceiver 2 and the processing unit 3 from each other (Akimoto; [0075]). Further to include a heat transfer member 5 attached in between processing unit and the second housing segment predictably to dissipate the heat generated from the processing unit through the housing (please also see more discussion in the response to the argument part above).
Regarding claim 13, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 12.
Jiang does not teach, wherein the housing is a metal member.
Akimoto teaches, wherein the housing is a metal member (Akimoto; Fig. 2, [0048], the housing is comprised of a first housing segment 41 (equivalent to separating member), a second housing segment 42 (equivalent to first board) and a third housing segment 43; both first and second housing segment are made by metallic material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the housing comprises a first board; a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board, wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member, and the first board and the separating member are both metal members to form an electromagnetic shielding structure for the mainboard; wherein the light emission assembly and the light receiving assembly are both connected to the separating member; wherein the housing is a metal member taught by Akimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using metal member as housing predictably to dissipate the heat generated by the processing unit.
Regarding claim 14, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 12, wherein the light receiving assembly comprises a light receiver, a receiving board, and a receiving shielding cover, the light receiver is mounted on the receiving board and electrically connected to the receiving board, the receiving board is electrically connected to the mainboard, the receiving shielding cover covers the light receiver, and the receiving shielding cover is provided with a first through hole for the echo light signal to pass through to reach the light receiver (Jiang; [0065], a receiving board 11 is used to receive the reflected laser light emitted by the outgoing laser light through the target object and convert the reflected laser light into a first electrical signal. the photoelectric converter on the receiving board 11 may include any of APD, PIN, APD, MPPC, SiPM; [0082], the second shield is provided on the receiving board 11; [0073], digital board 15 (equivalent to mainboard) includes a main controller 156 which is also used to send control signals to control unit in the analog board 13 to the receiving board 11 (the receiving board 11 is electrically connected to the analog board 13 which is electrically connected to digital board, Fig. 1A, [0062]) to control the receiver for receiving the reflected laser; since the receiver is used to receive the echo signal, a through hole in the receiving shield will be inherently); or
the light emission assembly comprises a light emitter, an emission board, and an emission shielding cover, the light emitter is mounted on the emission board and electrically connected to the emission board, the emission board is electrically connected to the mainboard, the emission shielding cover covers the light emitter, and the emission shielding cover is provided with a second through hole for an emission light signal emitted by the light emitter to pass through.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, modified in view of Akimoto, in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 15, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 12.
Jiang does not teach,
wherein the separating member forms an emission light channel, the emission light channel has a first light inlet and a first light outlet, and the light emission assembly is disposed to correspond to the first light inlet and connected to the separating member; or
the separating member forms an echo light channel, wherein the echo light channel has a second light inlet and a second light outlet, and the light receiving assembly is disposed to correspond to the second light outlet and connected to the separating member.
Wang teaches,
wherein the separating member forms an emission light channel, the emission light channel has a first light inlet and a first light outlet, and the light emission assembly is disposed to correspond to the first light inlet and connected to the separating member (Wang; Fig. 5, [0046], the laser emitting device 11, collimating device 12, beam splitting component 4 forms a emission light channel as shown in figure 5, the light emitted through the hole on the right hand side of the panel; [0047], the emitted laser emitted by each laser emitting system 1 passes through the beam splitter and is then directed toward the scanning component 2 (not shown but can be seen in Fig. 3 scanning component 2). See more detail of claim 5 mapping and Fig. 1 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the housing comprises a first board; a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board, wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member, and the first board and the separating member are both metal members to form an electromagnetic shielding structure for the mainboard; wherein the light emission assembly and the light receiving assembly are both connected to the separating member taught by Akimoto, include a separating member to separate the light emission channel and light detection channel taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to include the laser emitting device 11, collimating device 12, beam splitting component 4, reflector component 5, first receiving mirror group 31 and first receiving device 32 all housed in an integral transceiver housing, which is conducive to modular application and facilitates light adjustment, assembly and replacement (Wang; [0046]). Furthermore, the separation of the light emission channel and light receiving channel predictably to reduce the interference in between emission signal and echo reflected signal.
Regarding claim 16, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 15.
Jiang does not teach,
wherein the separating member comprises:
a surrounding plate, located in the first accommodating cavity and disposed on a side of the mainboard that is farther away from the first board, and the surrounding plate forms a second accommodating cavity and the first light inlet, wherein the second accommodating cavity communicates with the first light outlet, the second light inlet, and the second light outlet; and
a first cover plate, located between the surrounding plate and the mainboard and connected to the surrounding plate, wherein the first cover plate together with the surrounding plate forms the second accommodating cavity.
Akimoto teaches,
wherein the separating member comprises:
a surrounding plate, located in the first accommodating cavity and disposed on a side of the mainboard that is farther away from the first board, and the surrounding plate forms a second accommodating cavity (Akimoto; Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0048], the housing is comprised of a first housing segment 41 (equivalent to separating member), a second housing segment 42 (equivalent to first board) and a third housing segment 43; [0047], the housing 4 is comprised of a substantially plate-like partitioning wall 411 that partitions the rectangular parallelepiped inner chamber into a first container chamber 71 for containing the transceiver 2; [0031], the processing unit 3 includes a first circuit board 31, a second circuit board 32. Clearly seen in the figure that processing unit 3 is disposed between the first housing segment 41 and the second housing segment 42).
a first cover plate, located between the surrounding plate and the mainboard and connected to the surrounding plate, wherein the first cover plate together with the surrounding plate forms the second accommodating cavity (Akimoto; Fig. 3, [0047], the housing 4 is comprised of a substantially plate-like partitioning wall 411 (equivalent to first cover) that partitions the rectangular parallelepiped inner chamber into a first container chamber 71 for containing the transceiver 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the housing comprises a first board; a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board, wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member, and the first board and the separating member are both metal members to form an electromagnetic shielding structure for the mainboard; wherein the light emission assembly and the light receiving assembly are both connected to the separating member; wherein the separating member comprises: a surrounding plate, located in the first accommodating cavity and disposed on a side of the mainboard that is farther away from the first board, and the surrounding plate forms a second accommodating cavity; a first cover plate, located between the surrounding plate and the mainboard and connected to the surrounding plate, wherein the first cover plate together with the surrounding plate forms the second accommodating cavity taught by Akimoto, include a separating member to separate the light emission channel and light detection channel taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using separating member with partitioning wall 411 (equivalent to first cover) that partitions the rectangular parallelepiped inner chamber into a first container chamber 71 for containing the transceiver 2 (Akimoto; [0031], [0047]-[0048]).
However, Jiang modified in view of Akimoto, Wang still not teach,
and the first light inlet, wherein the second accommodating cavity communicates with the first light outlet, the second light inlet, and the second light outlet;
Wang further teaches,
and the first light inlet, wherein the second accommodating cavity communicates with the first light outlet, the second light inlet, and the second light outlet (Wang; Fig. 3, Fig. 5, [0046]-[0047], the separating member separate the emission channel and receiving channel to form a transceiver module (equivalent to second accommodating cavity) as shown in Fig. 3 element 8 which is disposed in the lidar housing; the transceiver module communicates with the first light outlet, the second light inlet and the second light outlet can be seen in claim 5 mapping and Fig. 1 above);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the housing comprises a first board; a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board, wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member, and the first board and the separating member are both metal members to form an electromagnetic shielding structure for the mainboard; wherein the light emission assembly and the light receiving assembly are both connected to the separating member; wherein the separating member comprises: a surrounding plate, located in the first accommodating cavity and disposed on a side of the mainboard that is farther away from the first board, and the surrounding plate forms a second accommodating cavity; a first cover plate, located between the surrounding plate and the mainboard and connected to the surrounding plate, wherein the first cover plate together with the surrounding plate forms the second accommodating cavity taught by Akimoto, include a separating member to separate the light emission channel and light detection channel; and the first light inlet, wherein the second accommodating cavity communicates with the first light outlet, the second light inlet, and the second light outlet taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to include the laser emitting device 11, collimating device 12, beam splitting component 4, reflector component 5, first receiving mirror group 31 and first receiving device 32 all housed in an integral transceiver housing, which is conducive to modular application and facilitates light adjustment, assembly and replacement (Wang; [0046]). Furthermore, the separation of the light emission channel and light receiving channel predictably to reduce the interference in between emission signal and echo reflected signal.
Regarding claim 17, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 16.
Jiang does not teach, wherein the first cover plate is a metal member.
Akimoto teaches, wherein the first cover plate is a metal member (Akimoto; Fig. 2, [0048], the housing is comprised of a first housing segment 41 (equivalent to separating member) and in Fig. 4 clearly seen that 41 includes 411as a petition wall, a second housing segment 42 (equivalent to first board) and a third housing segment 43; both first and second housing segment are made by metallic material; since the petition wall is part of the first housing segment 41, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to realize that the petition wall 41 is made of metal member).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the housing comprises a first board; a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board, wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member, and the first board and the separating member are both metal members to form an electromagnetic shielding structure for the mainboard; wherein the light emission assembly and the light receiving assembly are both connected to the separating member; wherein the separating member comprises: a surrounding plate, located in the first accommodating cavity and disposed on a side of the mainboard that is farther away from the first board, and the surrounding plate forms a second accommodating cavity; a first cover plate, located between the surrounding plate and the mainboard and connected to the surrounding plate, wherein the first cover plate together with the surrounding plate forms the second accommodating cavity; wherein the first cover plate is a metal member taught by Akimoto, include a separating member to separate the light emission channel and light detection channel; and the first light inlet, wherein the second accommodating cavity communicates with the first light outlet, the second light inlet, and the second light outlet taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using metal member as housing predictably to dissipate the heat generated by the processing unit.
Regarding claim 18, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 15.
Jiang does not teach,
wherein the separating member forms the emission light channel and the echo light channel, and at least part of the emission light channel and at least part of the echo light channel are separated.
Wang teaches,
wherein the separating member forms the emission light channel and the echo light channel, and at least part of the emission light channel and at least part of the echo light channel are separated (Wang; Fig. 5, [0046], the laser emitting device 11, collimating device 12, beam splitting component 4 forms a emission light channel as shown in figure 5, the light emitted through the hole on the right hand side of the panel; the light splitting assembly 4, a reflector assembly 5, the first receiving lens group 31 and first receiving device 32 forms an echo light channel as shown in Fig. 5. Both channel with separated by a separating member in between; [0047], the emitted laser emitted by each laser emitting system 1 passes through the beam splitter and is then directed toward the scanning component 2 and emitted outward. The echo laser passes through the scanning component 2 (not shown but can be seen in Fig. 3 scanning component 2) and is then directed toward the corresponding beam splitter and deflected toward the first laser receiving system. See more detail of claim 5 mapping and Fig. 1 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the housing comprises a first board; a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board, wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member, and the first board and the separating member are both metal members to form an electromagnetic shielding structure for the mainboard; wherein the light emission assembly and the light receiving assembly are both connected to the separating member taught by Akimoto, include a separating member to separate the light emission channel and light detection channel taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to include the laser emitting device 11, collimating device 12, beam splitting component 4, reflector component 5, first receiving mirror group 31 and first receiving device 32 all housed in an integral transceiver housing, which is conducive to modular application and facilitates light adjustment, assembly and replacement (Wang; [0046]). Furthermore, the separation of the light emission channel and light receiving channel predictably to reduce the interference in between emission signal and echo reflected signal.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, modified in view of Akimoto, in view of Campbell.
Regarding claim 19, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 12, further comprising a light scanning assembly (Jiang; [0066], galvanometer 12), wherein
the emission light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the irradiated object (Jiang; [0066], galvanometer 12 which is used to deflect the direction of the outgoing laser emitted by the emission plate 10),
the mainboard is further electrically connected to the light scanning assembly and configured to control a movement of the light scanning assembly (Jiang; [0062], the analog board 13 and digital board 15 (equivalent to mainboard) are a type of board consisting of a printed circuit board and from Fig. 1C and 1D is clearly see they are disposed independently. The connection between the analog board 13 and the digital board 15 is an electrical connection (through socket). The connection between galvanometer and analog board 13 is an electrical connection (by a flexible cable or socket); [0067], analog board 13, used to control the deflection angle of galvanometer 12, the deflection angle of galvanometer 12 is used to control the deflection direction of the outgoing laser).
Jiang does not teach,
and the echo light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the light receiving assembly; and
Campbell teaches, the echo light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the light receiving assembly (Campbell; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0028], the scattered or reflected light is represented by input beam 135/172 (equivalent to echo light signal), which passes through the scanner 120/162 (equivalent to scanning assembly) to mirror 115/190 and to the receiver 140/164).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the opto-mechanical system taught by Jiang to include the housing comprises a first board; a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board, wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member, and the first board and the separating member are both metal members to form an electromagnetic shielding structure for the mainboard; wherein the light emission assembly and the light receiving assembly are both connected to the separating member taught by Akimoto, include the echo light signal is transmitted by the light scanning assembly to the light receiving assembly taught by Campbell with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using same scanning assembly system to direct the outgoing/incoming laser light to the target/receiver predictably to reduce the lidar system size.
Regarding claim 20, Jiang as modified above teaches the opto-mechanical system as recited in claim 19, further comprising:
an electronic control board, disposed in the first accommodating cavity and disposed independently of the mainboard, wherein the electronic control board is electrically connected to the mainboard, and the electronic control board is electrically connected to the light scanning assembly to control a movement of the light scanning assembly (Jiang; [0062], the analog board 13 (equivalent to electronic control board) and digital board 15 (equivalent to mainboard) are a type of board consisting of a printed circuit board and from Fig. 1C and 1D is clearly see they are disposed independently. The connection between the analog board 13 and the digital board 15 is an electrical connection (through socket). The connection between galvanometer and analog board 13 is an electrical connection (by a flexible cable or socket); [0067], analog board 13, used to control the deflection angle of galvanometer 12, the deflection angle of galvanometer 12 is used to control the deflection direction of the outgoing laser).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645