DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed September 30, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 – 6 are pending in the application with claim 7 being cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida, Yusuke (US 2007/0178720 – herein after Yoshida) in view of Hung et al. (US 2012/0139387 – herein after Hung), Burtch, Joseph (US 2018/0023578 – herein after Burtch) and Yeh et al. (US 2007/0128022 – herein after Yeh).
In reference to claim 1, Yoshida teaches a fan structure comprising:
a frame body (11) configured as a first individual component (as seen in fig. 5 or in view of disclosure in ¶34) having a base seat (15), a circumferential wall (inner circumferential wall; labelled in fig. A below as well), and multiple first support members (14) with a first end (see fig. A below) of each first support member connected to the base seat (15) and each first support member horizontally extending (“horizontally extending” implies radial direction; “14” radially extends in view of fig. A below) from the base seat with an opposite second end (see fig. A below) of each first support member connected to the circumferential wall;
a reserved assembling section (labelled “r.a.s.” in fig. A below) being an open space defined between (in radial direction) the base seat and the circumferential wall and between two adjacent first support members (see fig. A below); and
a stator assembly (31+21, in fig. 1) configured as a second individual component (in view of fig. 1 and disclosure in ¶32; furthermore, as seen in fig. 1 the stator is positioned on the plate-like portion 15, thus the stator being a second individual component), separate from the frame body (11), and having an electrical wire (22, in fig. 1), the stator assembly being disposed on the base seat (15) and combined with the frame body (in view of assembled state of the fan structure seen in fig. 4).
Fig. A: Edited fig. 5 of Yoshida to show claim interpretation.
Yoshida does not teach the claimed waterproof plastic layer, i.e., “a waterproof plastic layer integrally formed on the stator assembly to enclose the stator assembly and the electrical wire; and a second support member horizontally extending from the base seat and formed with a first end of the second support member integrally formed with the waterproof plastic layer, the second support member encapsulating the electrical wire and spanning the reserved assembling section from the waterproof plastic layer to the circumferential wall and having a second end”:
However, Hung teaches a stator manufacturing method for a motor, comprising: a waterproof plastic layer [protective glue coating 13, in fig. 7 or see ¶48; furthermore ¶49 states “..the shaft tube seat 81 has to be coupled with the circuit board 82, magnetic pole pieces 83 and coil unit 84 before the waterproof glue is injected into the shaft tube seat 81”; thus this glue is waterproof glue and is further considered to be “waterproof plastic layer” since it forms a solid, non-permeable protective coating that acts like a plastic barrier over the stator components (in view of discussion in ¶2)] integrally formed on the stator assembly (1/3a, in fig. 7/9) to enclose the stator assembly and the electrical wire (electrical wire is not labelled but present as shown in fig. B below; this electrical wire is partially enclosed by the coating 13); and a second support member (see fig. B below: labelled “A”) horizontally extending from the base seat (“horizontally extending” implies radial direction; in view of fig. B below: “A” extends in ← direction) and formed with a first end (in view of fig. B below left picture: “first end” = right end or inner end in radial direction) of the second support member integrally formed with the waterproof plastic layer (13), the second support member encapsulating (partially) the electrical wire and the second support member (labelled “A”) having a second end (in view of fig. B below left picture: “second end” = left end or outer end in radial direction).
Fig. B: Edited figs. 7 and 9 of Hung to show claim interpretation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the stator assembly of Yoshida with a protective coating that entirely covers stator components and partially covers the electrical wire for partly forming the second support member using the teaching of Hung to have the stator assembly that is “humidity-proof, dustproof or oil-proof”, as recognized by Hung (see ¶2).
Yoshida, as modified by Hung, thus teaches the waterproof fan structure comprising:
a waterproof plastic layer integrally (of Hung) formed on the stator assembly (of Yoshida) to enclose the stator assembly and the electrical wire (the electrical wire 22 of Yoshida is partially enclosed); and
a second support member (this second support member in the modified fan structure being formed by component labelled “A” in fig. B above) horizontally extending from (horizontally extending = extension in radial direction in view of fig. A above) the base seat and formed with a first end (in view of fig. B above left picture: “first end” = right end or inner end in radial direction) of the second support member integrally formed with the waterproof plastic layer, the second support member encapsulating (in partial manner) the electrical wire and the second support member spanning the reserved assembling section (of Yoshida; labelled “r.a.s.” in fig. A above) [the second support member (“A”, in view of fig. B above) partially extends (in radial direction) in the reserved assembly section of Yoshida] and the second support member having a second end (in view of fig. B above left picture: “second end” = left end or outer end in radial direction).
Yoshida, as modified by Hung, does not teach the fan waterproof structure, wherein the second support member spanning the reserved assembling section “from the waterproof plastic layer to the circumferential wall” and having the second end “connected with the circumferential wall such that the first support members and the second support member formed with the waterproof plastic layer as the single structure form a rib structure or static blade structure”.
The second support member (labelled “A” in fig. B above) is partially formed in the modified fan waterproof structure. This second support member (or the second end of the second support member) is not connected to the circumferential wall (labelled in fig. A above).
However, Burtch teaches the fan structure with the first support members [60; these are the members in which wire(s) are not disposed] and the second support member [60 in which wires 42, 44 are disposed or 60 in which wire 46 is disposed], wherein the second support member [member 60 with wire(s) disposed therein] is formed with the waterproof plastic layer (resin) to encapsulate the electrical wire (42+44 or 46) [see ¶16: elements 52,56,60,70 are integrally molded of resin and see ¶5, ¶20 and ¶23: wire(s) integrally molded with elements 56, 60, 52 such that the wire(s) are embedded with elements 56, 60, 52]. It is further evident (see fig. 2) that an outer end (end in radial direction) of the second support member [member 60 with wire(s) disposed therein] is connected with a circumferential wall of a frame body (52) and the second support member spanning the reserved assembling section (section between the two first support members).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the waterproof fan structure of Yoshida and Hung by encapsulating Yoshida’s electrical wire in Hung’s coating up to the Yoshida’s second end (shown in fig. A above) such that the second support member’s second end in the modified waterproof fan structure of Yoshida and Hung is connected with the circumferential wall of Yoshida for the purpose of protecting and insulating the wire, as recognized by Burtch (see ¶33).
Thus, Yoshida, as modified, teaches the waterproof fan structure, comprising: the second support member [formed by Hung’s waterproof coating encapsulating Yoshida’s electrical wire 22 from the first end (labelled in fig. A above) to the second end (labelled in fig. A above)] spanning the reserved assembling section (labelled “r.a.s.” in fig. A above) from the waterproof plastic layer (per Hung) to the circumferential wall (per Yoshida) and having the second end connected with the circumferential wall (labelled in fig. A above) such that the first support members (14, in Yoshida) and the second support member formed with the waterproof plastic layer as the single structure form a rib structure or static blade structure [element(s) that are stationary and inhibits the fluid flow flowing through the fan].
Yoshida, as modified, does not teach the fan waterproof structure, wherein the first support members and the second support member that extends horizontally (extension in radial direction such that they point to the center) from the base seat are also tangential (swept or skewed such that are offset from the center).
However, Yeh evidences a fan structure (see fig. 1), wherein a plurality of support members (123c, 126) horizontally extends tangentially (extends in radial direction as well as are skewed or arc shaped; see ¶20) from the base seat (122) to the circumferential wall (of frame 12).
Since applicant has not disclosed any criticality associated with claimed “tangential” extension of the first and second support members, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the horizontal extending first and second support members from the base seat to the circumferential wall in the modified fan structure of Yoshida “tangential” for the purpose of matching the curvature of the ribs to that of rotor/fan blades, as recognized by Yeh (see ¶20).
In reference to claim 2, Yoshida, as modified, teaches the fan waterproof structure, wherein a bearing cup (17, in fig. 1 of Yoshida) is vertically disposed at a center of the base seat (15, in fig. 1 of Yoshida), the stator assembly (modified stator assembly 31+21, in fig. 1 of Yoshida) being fitted around the bearing cup.
In reference to claim 3, Yoshida, as modified, teaches the fan waterproof structure, wherein the waterproof plastic layer is made by means of plastic potting or low-pressure insert integral injection (In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, the limitation “made by means of plastic potting or low-pressure insert integral injection” has not been given patentable weight).
In reference to claim 4, Yoshida, as modified, teaches the fan waterproof structure, wherein the multiple first support members and the second support member are made of a same material [in the modified fan waterproof structure: Yoshida’s first support members 14 are made of resin (see ¶32: support members 14 are part of housing 11 which is made of resin); the second support member {formed by Hung’s coating encapsulating Yoshida’s electrical wire 22 from the first end (labelled in fig. A above) to the second end (labelled in fig. A above)} is made of resin (see ¶46: coating is resin or silicon gel); thus, the second support member and the first support members are made of a same material (resin)].
In reference to claim 5, Yoshida, as modified, teaches the fan waterproof structure, wherein the second support member and the waterproof plastic layer are made of a same material [in the modified fan waterproof structure: the second support member {formed by Hung’s waterproof coating encapsulating Yoshida’s electrical wire 22 from the first end (labelled in fig. A above) to the second end (labelled in fig. A above)} is formed with the waterproof layer as a single structure {as discussed above in claim 1}; thus, the second support member and the waterproof plastic layer are made of same material].
In reference to claim 6, Yoshida, as modified, teaches the fan waterproof structure, wherein the multiple first support members and the second support member are made of different materials [in the modified fan waterproof structure: Yoshida’s first support members 14 are made of resin (see ¶32: support members 14 are part of housing 11 which is made of resin); the second support member {formed by Hung’s coating encapsulating Yoshida’s electrical wire 22 from the first end (labelled in fig. A above) to the second end (labelled in fig. A above)} is considered to be made of silicon gel (see ¶46: coating is resin or silicon gel); thus, the second support member and the first support members are made of different materials].
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed September 30, 2026, in view of the amendment, have been fully considered but they are not found to be persuasive.
Here, the amendment replacing “connected with the waterproof plastic layer as a single structure” and “extending horizontally in the reserved assembling section” with “integrally formed with the waterproof plastic layer” and “spanning the reserved assembling section from the waterproof plastic layer to the circumferential wall” merely rephrases the previously claimed geometry, and the arguments simply repeat the individual attacks on the references without introducing new patentable subject matter.
Applicant argues that Yoshida fails to disclose a stator-originating second support member that is integrally formed with a waterproof plastic layer and spans across a reserved assembling section to a circumferential wall. The Examiner does not rely on Yoshida alone to teach the stator-originating overmolded strut; rather, Yoshida is cited for teaching a frame body having a base seat, first support members, a circumferential wall defining a reserved assembling section, and a separate stator assembly having an electrical wire. The claimed waterproof plastic layer and its continuous encapsulation of the electrical wire forming the second support member are taught by the combined teachings of Hung and Burtch.
Applicant contends that Hung’s protective glue coating 13 and projection “A” are confined to the stator boundary and do not constitute a structural member spanning an assembling section to connect with an external circumferential wall. Hung teaches that the protective overmolding layer encloses both the stator and the exiting electrical wire as a single unitary structure. Burtch provides the motivation to extend the resin (protective layer/coating) encapsulation along the entire length of the wire across the open airflow space to the peripheral wall to eliminate wire vulnerability.
Applicant asserts that Burtch cannot cure the deficiency because arms 60 are pre-existing portions of a shroud ring rather than stator-side structures originating from a waterproof layer. This once again improperly isolated Burtch from the combination. Burtch is cited as an evidence that it is well-known in the fan art to fully encapsulate and embed wires from environmental and mechanical damage. One of ordinary skill in the art combining Hung and Burtch would recognize that extending Hung’s stator-borne resin overmolding along Yoshida’s wire across the open spatial gap directly implements Burtch’s wire-protecting arm, resulting in a member whose first end naturally originates at the stator’s waterproof layer.
Applicant argues that a desire to protect the wire may motivate adding coating, but does not provide a reason to structurally reconfigure the coating into a spanning support member connecting to the wall. This contention overlooks the explicit problem recognized in Yoshida, where the external wire-holding clip 20 on rib 14 leaves the wire exposed to loosening, mechanical wear, and vibration stress. Burtch provides the direct motivation to eliminate such holding portions by embedding the wire inside a continuous, solid, load-bearing strut that extends all the way to the peripheral wall. Utilizing Hung’s curable resin to form this full-length strut across Yoshida’s reserved assembling section is a predictable application of known materials to achieve the dual benefit of environmental sealing and stress-relief.
Applicant concedes that Yeh addresses the tangential orientation but argues it fails to remedy the missing component origins and spatial path. Yeh is not relied upon to cure the stator-to-frame overmolded connection, but rather is cited to demonstrate that configuring horizontal frame-spanning support members to extend tangentially (or in an arcuate shape) to match blade curvature is a routine, well-known design choice in the fan art. Because the structural path and dual-component assembly are fully established by the combination of Yoshida, Hung and Burtch, Yeh is properly applied solely to show that giving those bridging struts a tangential orientation is an obvious matter of design choice.
Applicant concludes that even when combined, the references do not teach the complete “from-to” structural path involving frame-side first support members and a stator-side second support member spanning the reserved assembling section. This argument is unpersuasive because the aggregate result of the proposed modification inherently yields the claimed structure. When Yoshida’s stator (encapsulated and provided with an extended wire-protective strut per Hung and Burtch) is seated upon Yoshida’s frame, the resulting second support member naturally bridges the open reserved assembling section between the adjacent first support members and connects to the wall, forming the claimed collective rib/blade structure. The rejection is based on predictable assembly steps using known components to achieve known advantages, and the prima facie case of obviousness is maintained.
Conclusion
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746