DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20230128915, Kim hereinafter) in view of Naik et al. (US 20230199641, Naik hereinafter).
As to claim 1: Kim discloses an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) comprising:
one or more processors (see at least paragraph [0045], processor); and
memory (see at least paragraph [0043], memory) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the AP MLD to: transmit, to a station (STA) MLD, a first frame indicating a first start time of a target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) scheduled on a first link between the AP MLD and the STA MLD (see at least paragraphs [0050], [0188]-[0189], The AP MLD may transmit, to a non-AP MLD, a first frame indicating configuration of a target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) of a first link of a plurality of links between the AP MLD and non-AP MLD. The first frame includes a start time of the TWT SP of the first link.); and
transmit, to the STA MLD, on a second link between the AP MLD and the STA MLD, a second frame indicating a second start time of the TWT SP on the first link (see at least paragraphs [0189], The AP MLD may transmit, via the second link, a third frame (interpreted as second frame) indicating rescheduling of the TWT SP of the first link. The third frame may comprise: an updated timing information (interpreted as second start time) for the TWT SP of the first link.),
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second start time is based on a cross-link switching delay associated with the STA MLD.
However Naik discloses wherein the second start time is based on a cross-link switching delay associated with the STA MLD (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096] and [0109], the non-AP MLD may incur a delay in switching (interpreted as cross-link delay) between the communication links. Thus, in some aspects, the DL or UL TXOP may terminate a threshold duration before the start of the r-TWT SP. the non-AP MLD may incur a delay in switching between the communication links. Thus, in some aspects, the DL TXOP may be terminated a threshold duration before the start of the r-TWT SP. The threshold duration (or buffer period), between times t.sub.1 and t.sub.2, may be greater than or equal to a delay associated with switching communications over from Link2 to Link1.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 2: Kim and Naik disclose the AP MLD of claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the cross-link switching delay is based on a device class of the STA MLD.
However Naik discloses wherein the cross-link switching delay is based on a device class of the STA MLD (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], delay associates with non-AP MLD.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 3: Kim and Naik disclose the AP MLD of claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the cross-link switching delay is based on an Enhanced Multi-Link Single Radio (EMLSR) delay associated with the STA MLD.
However Naik discloses wherein the cross-link switching delay is based on an Enhanced Multi-Link Single Radio (EMLSR) delay associated with the STA MLD (see at least paragraph [0097], the delay may be a transition delay required by the non-AP MLD to transition from a transmitting or receiving state to a listening state (such as in accordance with an EMLSR mode of non-AP MLD operation).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 4: Kim and Naik disclose the AP MLD of claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second start time is at least the cross-link switching delay after the transmitting of the second frame on the second link.
However Naik discloses wherein the second start time is at least the cross-link switching delay after the transmitting of the second frame on the second link (see at least paragraph [0097], the delay may be a transition delay required by the non-AP MLD to transition from a transmitting or receiving state to a listening state (such as in accordance with an EMLSR mode of non-AP MLD operation).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 5: Kim and Naik disclose the AP MLD of claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the cross-link switching delay includes a cross-link power state (PS) transition delay or a cross-link power management mode (PM) transition delay.
However Naik discloses wherein the cross-link switching delay includes a cross-link power state (PS) transition delay or a cross-link power management mode (PM) transition delay (see at least paragraph [0097], a delay associated with transmitting power management information on Link2 indicating that STA2 or AP2 is entering a power save mode.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 6: Kim and Naik disclose the AP MLD of claim 5. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the cross-link PS transition delay includes a delay for a first STA, affiliated with the STA MLD and operating on the first link, to transition from a first power state to a second power state after the STA MLD receives a command on the second link that triggers the transition from the first power state to the second power state.
However Naik discloses wherein the cross-link PS transition delay includes a delay for a first STA, affiliated with the STA MLD and operating on the first link, to transition from a first power state to a second power state after the STA MLD receives a command on the second link that triggers the transition from the first power state to the second power state (see at least paragraph [0097], a delay associated with transmitting power management information on Link2 indicating that STA2 or AP2 is entering a power save mode.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 7: Kim and Naik disclose the AP MLD of claim 6. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first power state is a doze state and the second power state is an awake state.
However Naik discloses wherein the first power state is a doze state and the second power state is an awake state (see at least paragraph [0089], the transition delay may include a delay associated with transitioning a wireless radio from operating on Link2 to operating on Link1 and a delay associated with transmitting power management information on Link2 indicating that STA2 or AP2 is entering a power save mode.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 8: Kim and Naik disclose the AP MLD of claim 5. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the cross-link PM transition delay includes a delay for a first STA, affiliated with the STA MLD and operating on the first link, to transition from a first power management mode to a second power management mode after the STA MLD receives a command on the second link that triggers the transition from the first power management mode to the second power management mode.
However Naik discloses wherein the cross-link PM transition delay includes a delay for a first STA, affiliated with the STA MLD and operating on the first link, to transition from a first power management mode to a second power management mode after the STA MLD receives a command on the second link that triggers the transition from the first power management mode to the second power management mode (see at least paragraph [0089], the transition delay may include a delay associated with transitioning a wireless radio from operating on Link2 to operating on Link1 and a delay associated with transmitting power management information on Link2 indicating that STA2 or AP2 is entering a power save mode.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 9: Kim and Naik disclose the AP MLD of claim 8. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first power management mode is a power saving mode and the second power management mode is an active mode.
However Naik discloses wherein the first power management mode is a power saving mode and the second power management mode is an active mode (see at least paragraph [0089], the transition delay may include a delay associated with transitioning a wireless radio from operating on Link2 to operating on Link1 and a delay associated with transmitting power management information on Link2 indicating that STA2 or AP2 is entering a power save mode.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 10: Kim discloses a station (STA) multi-link device (MLD) comprising:
one or more processors (see at least paragraph [0046], processor); and
memory (see at least paragraph [0046], memory) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the STA MLD to:
receive, from an access point (AP) MLD, a first frame indicating a first start time of a target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) scheduled on a first link between the AP MLD and the STA MLD (see at least paragraphs [0050], [0188]-[0189], The AP MLD may transmit, to a non-AP MLD, a first frame indicating configuration of a target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) of a first link of a plurality of links between the AP MLD and non-AP MLD. The first frame includes a start time of the TWT SP of the first link.); and
receive, from the AP MLD, on a second link between the AP MLD and the STA MLD, a second frame indicating a second start time of the TWT SP on the first link (see at least paragraphs [0189], The AP MLD may transmit, via the second link, a third frame (interpreted as second frame) indicating rescheduling of the TWT SP of the first link. The third frame may comprise: an updated timing information (interpreted as second start time) for the TWT SP of the first link.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second start time is based on a cross-link switching delay associated with the STA MLD.
However Naik discloses wherein the second start time is based on a cross-link switching delay associated with the STA MLD (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096] and [0109], the non-AP MLD may incur a delay in switching (interpreted as cross-link delay) between the communication links. Thus, in some aspects, the DL or UL TXOP may terminate a threshold duration before the start of the r-TWT SP. the non-AP MLD may incur a delay in switching between the communication links. Thus, in some aspects, the DL TXOP may be terminated a threshold duration before the start of the r-TWT SP. The threshold duration (or buffer period), between times t.sub.1 and t.sub.2, may be greater than or equal to a delay associated with switching communications over from Link2 to Link1.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 11: Kim and Naik disclose the STA MLD of claim 10. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the cross-link switching delay is based on a device class of the STA MLD.
However Naik discloses wherein the cross-link switching delay is based on a device class of the STA MLD (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096], delay associates with non-AP MLD.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 12: Kim and Naik disclose the STA MLD of claim 10. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the cross-link switching delay is based on an Enhanced Multi-Link Single Radio (EMLSR) delay associated with the STA MLD.
However Naik discloses wherein the cross-link switching delay is based on an Enhanced Multi-Link Single Radio (EMLSR) delay associated with the STA MLD (see at least paragraph [0097], the delay may be a transition delay required by the non-AP MLD to transition from a transmitting or receiving state to a listening state (such as in accordance with an EMLSR mode of non-AP MLD operation).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 13: Kim and Naik disclose the STA MLD of claim 10. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second start time is at least the cross-link switching delay after the receiving of the second frame on the second link.
However Naik discloses wherein the second start time is at least the cross-link switching delay after the receiving of the second frame on the second link (see at least paragraph [0097], the delay may be a transition delay required by the non-AP MLD to transition from a transmitting or receiving state to a listening state (such as in accordance with an EMLSR mode of non-AP MLD operation).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 14: Kim and Naik disclose the STA MLD of claim 10. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the cross-link switching delay includes a cross-link power state (PS) transition delay or a cross-link power management mode (PM) transition delay.
However Naik discloses wherein the cross-link switching delay includes a cross-link power state (PS) transition delay or a cross-link power management mode (PM) transition delay (see at least paragraph [0097], a delay associated with transmitting power management information on Link2 indicating that STA2 or AP2 is entering a power save mode.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 15: Kim and Naik disclose the STA MLD of claim 14. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the cross-link PS transition delay includes a delay for a first STA, affiliated with the STA MLD and operating on the first link, to transition from a first power state to a second power state after the STA MLD receives a command on the second link that triggers the transition from the first power state to the second power state.
However Naik discloses wherein the cross-link PS transition delay includes a delay for a first STA, affiliated with the STA MLD and operating on the first link, to transition from a first power state to a second power state after the STA MLD receives a command on the second link that triggers the transition from the first power state to the second power state (see at least paragraph [0097], a delay associated with transmitting power management information on Link2 indicating that STA2 or AP2 is entering a power save mode.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 16: Kim and Naik disclose the STA MLD of claim 15. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first power state is a doze state and the second power state is an awake state.
However Naik discloses wherein the first power state is a doze state and the second power state is an awake state (see at least paragraph [0089], the transition delay may include a delay associated with transitioning a wireless radio from operating on Link2 to operating on Link1 and a delay associated with transmitting power management information on Link2 indicating that STA2 or AP2 is entering a power save mode.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 17: Kim and Naik disclose the STA MLD of claim 14. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the cross-link PM transition delay includes a delay for a first STA, affiliated with the STA MLD and operating on the first link, to transition from a first power management mode to a second power management mode after the STA MLD receives a command on the second link that triggers the transition from the first power management mode to the second power management mode.
However Naik discloses wherein the cross-link PM transition delay includes a delay for a first STA, affiliated with the STA MLD and operating on the first link, to transition from a first power management mode to a second power management mode after the STA MLD receives a command on the second link that triggers the transition from the first power management mode to the second power management mode (see at least paragraph [0097], a delay associated with transmitting power management information on Link2 indicating that STA2 or AP2 is entering a power save mode.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 18: Kim and Naik disclose the STA MLD of claim 17. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first power management mode is a power saving mode and the second power management mode is an active mode.
However Naik discloses wherein the first power management mode is a power saving mode and the second power management mode is an active mode (see at least paragraph [0089], the transition delay may include a delay associated with transitioning a wireless radio from operating on Link2 to operating on Link1 and a delay associated with transmitting power management information on Link2 indicating that STA2 or AP2 is entering a power save mode.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 19: Kim discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) to:
transmit, to a station (STA) MLD, a first frame indicating a first start time of a target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) scheduled on a first link between the AP MLD and the STA MLD (see at least paragraphs [0050], [0188]-[0189], The AP MLD may transmit, to a non-AP MLD, a first frame indicating configuration of a target wake time (TWT) service period (SP) of a first link of a plurality of links between the AP MLD and non-AP MLD. The first frame includes a start time of the TWT SP of the first link.); and
transmit, to the STA MLD, on a second link between the AP MLD and the STA MLD, a second frame indicating a second start time of the TWT SP on the first link (see at least paragraphs [0189], The AP MLD may transmit, via the second link, a third frame (interpreted as second frame) indicating rescheduling of the TWT SP of the first link. The third frame may comprise: an updated timing information (interpreted as second start time) for the TWT SP of the first link.).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second start time is based on a cross-link switching delay associated with the STA MLD.
However Naik discloses wherein the second start time is based on a cross-link switching delay associated with the STA MLD (see at least paragraphs [0095]-[0096] and [0109], the non-AP MLD may incur a delay in switching (interpreted as cross-link delay) between the communication links. Thus, in some aspects, the DL or UL TXOP may terminate a threshold duration before the start of the r-TWT SP. the non-AP MLD may incur a delay in switching between the communication links. Thus, in some aspects, the DL TXOP may be terminated a threshold duration before the start of the r-TWT SP. The threshold duration (or buffer period), between times t.sub.1 and t.sub.2, may be greater than or equal to a delay associated with switching communications over from Link2 to Link1.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
As to claim 20: Kim and Naik disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19. Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second start time is at least the cross-link switching delay after the transmitting of the second frame on the second link.
However Naik discloses wherein the second start time is at least the cross-link switching delay after the transmitting of the second frame on the second link (see at least paragraph [0097], the delay may be a transition delay required by the non-AP MLD to transition from a transmitting or receiving state to a listening state (such as in accordance with an EMLSR mode of non-AP MLD operation).).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement delay in switching, as taught by Naik, into the invention of Kim in order to achieve greater power savings (see Naik, paragraphs [0111]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shafin et al. (US 20230037879) discloses TWT Schedule Switch Operation For Multi-Link Devices.
Shafin et al. (US 20230337265) discloses Target Wake Time Operation For Enhanced Multi-Link Multi-Radio Operation
LU et al. (US 20240407003) discloses Communication Method And Multilink Device.
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464