DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 4/27/23, 12/19/24, and 8/26/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (KR 10-2021-0011154) in view of Kotik et al. (US 2021/0283671).
Regarding claim 1, Su teaches an electronic device, or mobile phone, having a battery mounting system (1) comprising a housing including a plate and a base member as shown in annotated Figure 1 below:
Further regarding claim 1 and with regard to claim 16, as is seen in annotated Figure 1 above, Su teaches a battery (200) disposed in an area of the base member, or receiving space (S), configured to supply power to the electronic device via terminals (bottom of p. 2 of translation of Su), wherein the battery includes an electrode assembly, or battery cell (210), having first and second portions that meet so as to form a corner portion (see annotated Figure 1 above).
Su further teaches a battery case, or pouch (220), including a receiving space that houses the electrode assembly (210) and a sealing portion, or sealing or suture side (223), disposed along an outer periphery of the electrode assembly (Figures 3-5).
Kotik teaches a battery case (110) including a receiving space, or recess (126), that houses an electrode assembly (200), and a sealing portion (Figures 5 and 9). Kotik further teaches a sealing portion, or planar portion (37) ([0053]).
Kotik further teaches a first curved structure formed at a corner portion, wherein the sealing portion includes a first elongated structure as seen in annotated Figure 8:
Kotik further teaches that forming curved structures in the sealing portion of a battery case is desirable for preventing stretch and overstress on the corners of the metal laminated film of the case, thereby allowing for a reliable seal ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to form a curved structure in the sealing portion of the battery case of Su such as suggested by Kotik in order to prevent stretch and overstress in the corners of the case, thereby allowing for a reliable seal.
As for claims 2 and 17, it is seen in Figure 8 of Kotik above that the first elongated structure is formed based on the curvature of the first curved structure.
With regard to claims 3 and 18, concerning the relative sizes of the elongated structure and width of the sealing portion, the examiner finds that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select the appropriate width of the sealing portion and depth of the curved structure for the battery case in order to ensure that the case fits in the intended space and that the seal functions appropriately. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)
As for claims 4 and 19, Kotik teaches that the first elongated structure is formed by pressing using a die, or pressing jig, having a specific shape ([0005], [0037]).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, it is seen in Figure 8 of Kotik above that first and second elongated structures are formed in upper and lower cases of the battery case and overlap each other.
Regarding claim 6, Kotik teaches that the sealing portion including the first elongated structure is sealed based upon the curvature of the first curved structure, i.e. “corresponding to the waved portions” ([0053]).
As for claim 7, Su teaches first and second electrode portions but is silent on the relative sizes. However, Su teaches that various shapes of batteries have been proposed to maximize the use of the internal space of the housing (top of p. 2 of the translation). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to determine appropriate sizes of the first and second portions of the electrode assembly in order to select a shape of the battery that maximizes the use of the internal space. Changes in size and shape are generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)
With regard to claim 8, it is seen in Figure 1 of Su above that the curved structure is formed at the corner portion where the first and second portions are perpendicular to each other.
Regarding claim 9, Kotik teaches the radius of curvature having the second structure (“a plurality of curves having a radius of curvature larger than 0 and smaller than 1/r are connected”) (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 10, it is seen in the Figures of both Su and Kotik that the cases include upper and lower cases wherein the lower cases include internal spaces formed in a shape corresponding to and accommodating the electrode assemblies.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Kotik as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 2015/0037664).
The teachings of Su and Kotik as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Su in view of Kotik teaches the electronic device of claim 1 but fails to teach specifically that the electrode assembly further includes a third portion. It is noted, as discussed above, that Su teaches that various shapes of batteries have been proposed to maximize the use of the internal space of the housing (top of p. 2 of the translation).
Kang teaches a battery including an electrode assembly including first, second, and third portions and wherein the electrode assembly is sealed in a case wherein the portions meet at corners:
Kang further teaches that the shape above, and various shapes of the electrode assembly, are desirable for maximally utilizing an internal space of a device ([0015]).
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify the space and battery shape of the device of Su in view of Kotik to use the battery shape of Kang in order to maximally utilize an internal space of a device.
Further regarding claim 11, it would further have been obvious to form curved structures at the corners of the battery of Su in view of Kotik and Kang for the reasons discussed above with regard to claim 1.
Claims 12-15 are rejected for the reasons provided above for claims 2-3, 6, and 9 respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yan et al. (US 2021/0218051) teaches a battery having a similar shape as claimed and curved structure formed in corner portions of the sealing portion (see, e.g., Figure 10).
/ALIX E EGGERDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729