DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The amendment filed on 12/04/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are currently pending and under consideration.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of the translations of the foreign priority applications. The earliest effective filing date for claims 1-6 and 8-15 is determined to be 8/13/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 12/4/2025 has been considered except where lined through.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter is withdrawn in view of Applicants amendments.
The rejection claims 2-3, 5-6 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of Applicants amendments.
The rejection of Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1)(2) as being anticipated by Xinthera (WO2023/283338A1, 2023-02-12, priority to US63/220,322 filed on 2021-07-09) is withdrawn in view of Applicants amendments.
Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(2) as being anticipated by Xinthera (WO2023/283338A1, 2023-02-12, priority to US63/220,322 filed on 2021-07-09).
Xinthera teaches compounds of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate, stereoisomer or rotamer thereof useful in the treatment of a variety of disorder including, but not limited to, autoimmune disorders and chronic inflammatory disorders, wherein the compound of formula (I) has the generic structure:
(paragraphs 0041-0042). Specifically, the WO document teaches numerous species including, but not limited to,
which appears to be identical to the instantly claimed compound 1 in claim 10, as well as,
(page 27, cmpd 1A, paragraph 0089).
In response to the rejection, Applicants contend that the ‘322 application which is relied upon for its filing date of Xinthera fails to disclose the preparation methods for Compounds 1, 1A, 1B, 5, 25, 29 and 40 claimed in claim 10. Specifically, Applicants contend that the ‘322 application does not contain a clear description of the reagents, steps and conditions for preparing these compounds with experimental data. Accordingly, the ‘322 application fails to adequately describe Compounds 1, 1A, 1B, 5, 25, 29 and 40 claimed in claim 10 and therefore, the filing date of the ‘322 application cannot be relied upon as the effective filing date for the rejection.
These arguments have been carefully considered, but are not found persuasive.
Regarding whether the ‘322 application adequately described Compounds 1, 1A, 1B, 5, 25, 29 and 40 claimed in claim 10, the examiner recognizes that possession may be shown in a variety of ways including description of an actual reduction to practice, or by showing that the invention was “ready of patenting” such as by the disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formula’s that the invention was complete. See MPEP 2163.02. Accordingly, since the compounds are specifically described on pages 31-34 by structural chemical formula’s it is the examiners opinion that the compounds are adequately described. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
New Rejections Necessitated by Applicants Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites a compound having the formula
. However, claim 1 from which claim 8 depends does not include an A ring wherein the the bond to the larger molecule occurs next to the nitrogen of the pyridine ring.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 has been amended to only recite a preamble which is identical to claim 1. As such, the claim does not further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xinthera (WO2023/283338A1, 2023-02-12, priority to US63/220,322 filed on 2021-07-09).
Xinthera teaches compounds of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate, stereoisomer or rotamer thereof useful in the treatment of a variety of disorder including, but not limited to, autoimmune disorders and chronic inflammatory disorders, wherein the compound of formula (I) has the generic structure:
(paragraphs 0041-0042). Specifically, the WO document teaches numerous species including, but not limited to,
which appears to be identical to the instantly claimed compound 1 in claim 10, as well as,
(page 27, cmpd 1A, paragraph 0089). Moreover, Xinthera teaches a method of treating a p38 MAP kinase-mediated disease in a subject comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount a compound (paragraph 0012). With regards to the disease, Xinthera teaches that the diseases include, but are not limited to, chronic inflammatory disorders such as rheumatoid arthritis and acute inflammatory disorders (paragraph 0041 and 00109).
While the prior art teaches that the A ring is
, the prior art does not specifically teach that the A ring is
or
.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the compound/compounds taught by Xinthera to move the bond linking the pyridine to the larger molecule around pyridine molecule with a reasonable expectation that the compounds would have similar properties. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious).
Conclusion
Therefore, No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626