DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are amended. Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 & 4-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2014/0375325 A1) in view of Min (US 2018/0205049 A1) and Brambilla (US 2024/02387826 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2 & 4-12, Wang teaches an electrical energy storage device comprising: at least one electrochemical cell comprising at least a first electrode (i.e either one of (i) top one side positive or negative electrode and (ii) top double sided positive or negative electrode) and a second electrode (i.e either one of (i) bottom one side positive or negative electrode and (ii) bottom double sided positive or negative electrode) facing and parallel to each other (fig. 4; [0013]-[0025]); a reference electrode assembly comprising a planar main body which comprises a first electronically insulating layer (i.e top separator adjacent to the reference electrode) made of a polymeric microporous membrane; a second electronically insulating layer facing and parallel to the first electronically insulating layer (i.e bottom separator adjacent to the reference electrode) a made of polymeric microporous membrane; and a planar, porous reference electrode which is entirely interposed between the first and second electronically insulating layers and adhered directly on the first electronically insulating layer (fig. 4; [0013]-[0025], [0105] & [0122]-[0124]); wherein the reference electrode comprises a first part of a Li ion intercalating/deintercalating active material and wherein the first and/or second electronically insulating layers serve as a separator between the first electrode and the second electrode (fig. 4; [0022] & [0119]-[0120]). Wang is silent as to reference electrode comprising a second part of a graphene-based conductive component and a third part of a binding component. Min teaches an electrical energy storage device comprising a reference electrode assembly comprising a reference electrode comprising 80 wt% of a first part of a Li ion intercalating/deintercalating active material such as LTO, 5 wt% of a second part of a conductive additive and 15 wt% of a third part of a binding component (fig. 3; [0122]), wherein a wiring element (120) comprising a proximal end electrically connected to the reference electrode and a distal end electrically connectable to a management system circuitry is configured to connect the reference electrode to the external of the reference electrode assembly such that the wiring element, except for the proximal end and the distal end, is surrounded with an electrically insulating material so as to avoid unwanted electrical contacts (figs. 3-4; [0090]-[0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to include a reference electrode having the presently claimed composition as a known suitable composition for a reference electrode of a Li-ion battery. “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”. See MPEP 2144.07. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to provide the claimed wiring element in order to conveniently measure the relative potential as taught by Min ([0043]). Brambilla teaches an electrical energy storage device comprising an electrode active layer comprising a Li-ion intercalating/deintercalating active material, a high aspect ratio carbon-based conductive material such as graphitic particles in the form of flakes with aspect ratios greater than 5 and a binder component ([0041]-[0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to employ graphitic particles in the form of flakes with aspect ratios greater than 5 as the conductive component of Wang’s reference electrode in order to provide long conductive paths to facilitate current flow within and through the active layer as taught by Brambilla ([0053]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches a first reference electrode assembly (i.e top reference electrode assembly) and a second reference electrode assembly (i.e bottom reference electrode assembly) facing and parallel to each other, wherein the first and second reference electrode assemblies are interspaced by a further separator layer (fig. 5; [0105]). While Wang does explicitly teach the first and second reference electrode assemblies being disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, Wang more broadly discloses that “any of the multi-layered battery structures described herein may be repeated to increase the total capacity of the battery” ([0106]). Accordingly, when the structure shown in fig. 5 of Wang is repeated to increase the battery capacity, a first electrode can be provided above reference electrode 1 and a second electrode can be provided below the reference electrode 2 with a separator respectively interposed therebetween similarly to the configuration shown in fig. 4 such that the first electrode provided above reference electrode 1 and the second electrode provided below reference electrode 2 respectively read on the claimed first electrode and second electrode.
Regarding claims 14-15, Wang teaches a method to produce an electrical energy storage device, the method comprising: providing a first electronically insulating layer; printing or depositing, upon the first electronically insulating layer, a reference electrode; and covering entirely the reference electrode with a second electronically insulating layer facing and parallel to the first electronically insulating layer (fig. 4; [0013]-[0025], [0105] & [0122]-[0124]). Wang is silent as to the reference electrode comprising graphene. Min teaches an electrical energy storage device comprising a reference electrode assembly comprising a reference electrode comprising 80 wt% of a first part of a Li ion intercalating/deintercalating active material such as LTO, 5 wt% of a second part of a conductive additive and 15 wt% of a third part of a binding component (fig. 3; [0122]). Min further teaches connecting a wiring element (120) comprising a proximal end electrically to the reference electrode with a distal end of the wiring element electrically connectable to a management system circuitry to connect the reference electrode to the external of the reference electrode assembly; and except for the proximal end and the distal end, surrounding the wiring element with an electrically insulating material so as to avoid unwanted electrical contacts when the reference electrode assembly is inserted in an electrical energy storage device (figs. 3-4; [0090]-[0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to include a reference electrode having the presently claimed composition as a known suitable composition for a reference electrode of a Li-ion battery. “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”. See MPEP 2144.07. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to provide the claimed wiring element in order to conveniently measure the relative potential as taught by Min ([0043]). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to employ graphitic particles in the form of flakes with aspect ratios greater than 5 as the conductive component of Wang’s reference electrode in order to provide long conductive paths to facilitate current flow within and through the active layer as taught by Brambilla ([0053]).
Regarding claim 16, Wang as modified by Min and Brambilla teaches the method of claim 15. Min further teaches the connecting step being performed by mechanical stacking of the wiring element proximal end and the reference electrode and applying a plastic tape which mechanically holds the proximal end in contact with the reference electrode (fig. 4; [0039] & [0098]).
Regarding claim 17, Wang as modified by Min and Brambilla teaches the method of claim 14. Wang further teaches an assembling step, wherein the reference electrode assembly is interposed between a first electrode and a second electrode of an electrochemical cell, wherein the assembling step also comprises wetting the first electronically insulating layer and the second electronically insulating layer with an electrolyte (fig. 4; [0013]-[0025], [0074] & [0083]). Min further teaches a formation step, subsequent to assembling the energy storage device components, comprising bringing the reference electrode to substantially half of its state of charge by cycling it with respect to the first electrode or the second electrode of the cell depending on the reference electrode composition ([0017] & [0106]-[0109]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2014/0375325 A1), Min (US 2018/0205049 A1) and Brambilla (US 2024/0387826 A1), as applied to claims 1-2 & 4-17 above, and further in view of Yoon (US 2024/0079555 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Wang as modified by Min and Brambilla teaches the reference electrode assembly of claim 1 as noted above. Min further teaches the reference electrode having a thickness of 0.1% to 20% relative to the thickness of the negative electrode in order to ensure that the coating amount of the electrode active material is not unduly small so that the electrode portion may not be utilized as the reference electrode for relative potential measurement while preventing an excessive gap from being formed between the separator and the negative electrode ([0048]) but is silent as to as to a specific value or the thickness of the negative electrode. Yoon teaches an electrical energy storage device comprising a reference electrode having a thickness ranging from 500 nm to 10 microns ([0006] & [0013]). Yoon also discloses that each component of a Li-ion battery including the current collectors, negative electrode and positive electrode are prepared as relatively thin layers ranging from several microns to a fraction of a millimeter or less in thickness ([0050]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use a thickness ranging from 500 nm to 10 microns for Wang’s reference electrode as a suitable thickness for a reference electrode installed in a Li-ion battery. See MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments that the combined teachings of Wang, Min and Brambilla does not fairly teach or suggest the subject matter of claim 1, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, applicant argues that Brambilla is directed to working electrodes (cathodes and anodes) in which a carbon matrix is specifically designed to facilitate high current densities and minimize impedance under heavy loads in contrast to the claimed reference electrode which is design constrained to operate under zero-current or near-zero current conditions and under very high impedance. Thus, applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would have not motivation to import Brambilla’s carbon scaffold into a zero-current reference electrode system without impermissible hindsight reconstruction of the presently claimed invention. However, as noted in the above rejection of claim 1, Min renders obvious the use of a reference electrode comprising an active material including a lithium-ion intercalating/deintercalating material such as lithium titanium oxide, a binder and an electrically conductive aid such as Super-P which is an electrically conductive carbon black material. While Min is silent as to the claimed conductive component being a graphene-based material, one of ordinary skill in the art readily understands that carbon blacks such as Super-P and graphene-based materials are art recognized equivalents for the same intended purpose conducting electrons in battery electrodes. Accordingly, the use of other known electrically conductive materials in place of Super-P for Min’s reference electrode would have been obvious. While the examiner acknowledges that graphite particles in the form of flakes having high aspect ratios described in Brambilla are provided as conductive aids in the working electrodes, it is noted that the various components in Min’s reference electrode include materials that are known to be used in conventional working electrodes (such as lithium titanium oxide, Super-P and a binder). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art readily understands that conductive carbon materials such as graphite flakes having high aspect ratios enable a three-dimensional network to be obtained within the electrode which enables efficient electron transport within the electrode as noted in Brambilla ([0053]) in contrast to low aspect ratio conductive carbon materials such as carbon blacks (i.e Super-P). Moreover, it is noted that Min’s reference electrode is also designed to operate under a microcurrent of about 0.00001 mAh to 0.003 mAh while incorporating Super-P as a conductive component ([0107]). As such, the inclusion of Brambilla’s conductive graphene-based component in place of Min’s Super-P conductive component would not prevent the application of a microcurrent as Min’s already teaches the inclusion of an electrically conductive component in the reference electrode. With regards to applicant’s arguments that the technological purpose of Brambilla’s teachings is to avoid the bulk polymer binders as much as possible to maximize active material packing, it is noted critically that Brambilla’s optimization of the composition of the electrode is directed to a working electrode (i.e cathode or anode) and not to a reference electrode. As noted above, Brambilla is cited as obviating the use graphite flakes having high aspect ratios as conductive components in an electrode. Although Brambilla is silent as to a reference electrode, it is noted that the function of the conductive component in Brambilla’s working electrodes is the same as that of the conductive component used in the working electrode of Min (i.e to conductive electrons within the electrode). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art looking at Brambilla’s teachings of minimizing the binder content in view of increasing the active material content would be directed to optimize the composition of the working electrodes and not the reference electrodes since the disclosure is directed towards working electrodes. Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1-17 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727