DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemes et al. (US 20150103006 A1) in view of Greenewald et al. (US 20190349652 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hemes teaches an information processing apparatus (Fig. 1 and Par. 27, control device e.g., monitor 120, keyboard device 130 or mouse device 14) comprising:
a communicator that is wirelessly connected to another device for Fig. 1 and Par. 37, communications module 250 (communicator) wirelessly communication to host device e.g., computer 110 (another device) and the connection is a Bluetooth.TM. pairing connection or any other wireless standard or proprietary wireless network protocol),
a recognizer that recognizes a presence of a user (Fig. 3, presence detection module 240 (recognizer) and Par. 35, presence detection module 240 is configured to detect the presence of an object or a body in proximity to the control device), and
a controller that controls a transmission output of a radio wave, output from the communicator, based on a recognition result of the presence of the user by recognizer (Fig. 3, control circuit and Pars. 39-41), so as to:
enable a wireless connection to the other device by increasing an intensity of the transmission output of the radio wave in a case that the presence of the user is recognized (Par. 39), and
disable the wireless connection to the other device by eliminating the transmission output of the radio wave, or by reducing the intensity of the transmission output of the radio wave, while a wireless function for the wireless connection to the other device, via the communicator, remains enabled, in a case that the presence of the user is no longer recognized (Par. 40).
Hemes does not teach the wireless communication is a direct communication. However, direct wireless communication is very well-known and cannot be considered new or novel in the presence Greenewald, Greenewald teaches the device 210 establish a direct (NFC) communication with the external device 270 (Figs. 1-3 and Pars. 31, 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught Greenewald into Hemes to ensure secure wireless communication.
Regarding claim 12, method of claim 12 is performed by the apparatus of claim 1. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1 (apparatus) for the method of claim 12.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemes et al. (US 20150103006 A1) in view of Greenewald et al. (US 20190349652 A1) and in further view of Yokoyama et al. (US 20160142575 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Hemes further teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 further comprising: a detector that detects the user, wherein the recognition device recognizes the presence of the user when the user is detected by the detector (Par. 35, presence detection module 240 is configured to detect the presence of an object or a body in proximity to the control device). It is obvious that the recognition device (detection module) using a detector (sensor) in the presence Yokoyama (Fig.1 and Pars. 37-38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught Yokoyama into the modified Hemes to perform the detection.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemes et al. (US 20150103006 A1) in view of Greenewald et al. (US 20190349652 A1) and in further view Goets et al. (US 11182995 B1).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Hemes lacks on the teaching of the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 further comprising: a near-field communicator that makes near-field communication by a near-field communication method, wherein the recognition device recognizes the presence of the user when the other device is recognized by the near-field communicator.
Goets teaches the proximity sensor 166 receive a proximity signal (user associated with the proximity signal) transmitted by user device 104 and determine that user device 104 is within a predetermined region relative to external device 108, wherein proximity sensor is structured as any near-field communication device such as a radio-frequency identification (RFID) transceiver or a near-field communication (NFC) transmitter (Col. 16 Lines 25-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as Goets into the modified Hemes for reducing power consumption.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/Cindy Trandai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 7/9/2026