DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Demorest (US 4505094 A).
Regarding claim 1, Demorest teaches a stalk-diameter sensing system [13] for use with an agricultural harvester [11] that travels on a field in a forward direction (see Fig. 1), the stalk- diameter sensing system comprising:
a first stalk feeler [47] and a second stalk feeler [48], the first and second stalk feelers deflectably mounted on opposite sides of a stalk-receiving gap [27] that receives a stalk [18] planted in the field, the first and second stalk feelers yieldably biased to a neutral position (crop engaging position as seen in Fig. 1, see Col. 6, lines 25-27) into the stalk-receiving gap for deflection (see Col. 5, lines 17-22) upon contact with an outer surface of the stalk (outer surface of [18]) as the agricultural harvester travels on the field in the forward direction,
a first sensor [41] and a second sensor [43], the first sensor coupled to the first stalk feeler (see Fig. 1) to sense deflection of the first stalk feeler and generate a first signal (see Col. 4, lines 61-68 and Col. 5, lines 1-2), the second sensor coupled to the second stalk feeler (see Fig. 1) to sense deflection of the second stalk feeler and generate a second signal (see Col. 4, lines 61-68 and Col. 5, lines 1-2), and
a first damper [125] and a second damper**, the first damper positioned to dampen deflection (see Col. 6, lines 60-63) of the first stalk feeler, the second damper positioned to dampen deflection of the second stalk feeler, the first and second dampers configured to dampen deflection of the corresponding first and second stalk feeler away from the neutral position (the damper dampens deflection of the feeler when the feeler comes into contact with an obstacle, see Col. 7, lines 7-10) and not dampen a closing of the stalk-receiving gap by a biased return (closing of the feeler is through spring [101] and slot [123], allowing for a biased return to the neutral position; see Col. 6, lines 25-27 and 67-68 and Col. 7, lines 1-3) of the first and second stalk feelers to the neutral position.
**NOTE: the stalk diameter sensing system is identical in construction on the first and second side; therefore, the references for the construction of the first side are identical to the second (see Col. 5, lines 63-68), so only the first references will be mentioned.
Regarding claim 2, Demorest teaches wherein at least one of the first damper [125] and the second damper is a rotary damper (see Col. 6, lines 60-63).
Regarding claim 4, Demorest teaches comprising a first pivot joint (joint of [77 and 79]; see Col. 6, lines 8-10) defining a first pivot axis (see below) about which the first stalk feeler [47] pivots and a second pivot joint defining a second pivot axis about which the second stalk feeler pivots, wherein each of the first stalk feeler and the second stalk feeler comprises a pivot body [77], the first pivot axis extends through the pivot body (see below) of the first stalk feeler, the second pivot axis extends through the pivot body of the second stalk feeler, the first damper [125] is coupled to the pivot body (coupled through [127]) of the first stalk feeler, and the second damper is coupled to the pivot body of the second stalk feeler.
Regarding claim 5, Demorest teaches wherein each of the pivot bodies [77] comprises an arm ([81]; see Col. 6, lines 10-12), the first damper [125] is coupled to the arm of the pivot body (coupled through [127]) of the first stalk feeler [47], and the second damper is coupled to the arm of the pivot body of the second stalk feeler.
Regarding claim 6, Demorest teaches wherein the first stalk feeler [47] comprises a bar ([47] is a bar, see Fig. 1) extending into the stalk-receiving gap [27] and coupled to the arm ([81]; see Col. 6, lines 10-12) of the pivot body [77] of the first stalk feeler (coupled through bolts [85-87]; see Col. 6, lines 10-12), and the second stalk feeler comprises a bar extending into the stalk- receiving gap and coupled to the arm of the pivot body of the second stalk feeler.
Regarding claim 8, Demorest teaches comprising a first spring [101] and a second spring, wherein each of the first stalk feeler [47] and the second stalk feeler [48] comprises a bar (both feelers are bars; see Fig. 1), the pivot body [77] of the first stalk feeler comprises a first arm ([81]; see Col. 6, lines 10-12) to which the bar of the first stalk feeler and the first damper [125] are coupled (coupled through [127]) and a second arm ([83]; see Col. 6, lines 10- 12) to which the first spring is coupled (coupled through connection to [79]), and the pivot body of the second stalk feeler comprises a first arm to which the bar of the second stalk feeler and the second damper are coupled and a second arm to which the second spring is coupled.
Regarding claim 10, Demorest teaches wherein the first stalk feeler [47] and the second stalk feeler [48] are mounted for pivotal movement (see Col. 6, lines 8-10) respectively about a first pivot axis (see above) and a second pivot axis, the first damper [125] is coupled to the first stalk feeler via a first damper attachment point (see below), and the second damper is coupled to the second stalk feeler via a second damper attachment point.
Regarding claim 11, Demorest teaches comprising a first spring [101] and a second spring, wherein each of the first stalk feeler [47] and the second stalk feeler [48] comprises a bar (both feelers are bars; see Fig. 1), the first stalk feeler comprises a first arm ([81]; see Col. 6, lines 10-12) to which the bar of the first stalk feeler and the first damper [125] are coupled (coupled through [127]) and a second arm ([83]; see Col. 6, lines 10-12) to which the first spring is coupled (coupled through connection to [79]), and the second stalk feeler comprises a first arm to which the bar of the second stalk feeler and the second damper are coupled and a second arm to which the second spring is coupled.
Regarding claim 12, Demorest teaches wherein the first damper [125] and the second damper are each a unidirectional damper (damper deflection occurs in the direction of the feeler coming into contact with an obstacle, but does not damper the feeler back to neutral, see Col. 7, lines 7-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demorest (US 4505094 A) in view of Grywacheski et al. (US 7726111 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Demorest discloses the first and second damper [125], but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the damper is a linear damper.
Grywacheski et al. discloses a similar agricultural harvester [10] comprising of a linear damper [66].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the damper of Demorest with the linear damper of Grywacheski et al. since both are devices utilized to slow down motion; therefore, yielding the same predictable result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9 and 13-18 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Please see updated art rejections above in response to applicant’s claim amendments.
Applicant’s remarks in page 3 sets forth that Demorest’s damper [125] fails to meet the newly added limitations to claim 1 due to the “guide 125 provides a long lasting shock absorber for movement of arm 47, particularly when arm 47 is required to swing through its full range of travel following impact with an obstacle or even a crop stalk” (see Demorest Col. 7, lines 7-10).
However, while Demorest’s damper [125] is configured to dampen deflection of the stalk feeler [47] when the feeler comes into contact with an obstacle or a corn stalk, it does not damper the feeler back to the neutral position. This is accomplished through spring [101] and slot [123]. Spring [101] biases the feeler into the neutral position (see Demorest Col. 6, lines 25-27), and can be adjusted to increase the force needed to move the feeler (see Demorest Col. 6, lines 44-59). Likewise, slot [123] is sized to permit the feeler to return to the neutral position through the bias of the spring (see Demorest Col. 6, lines 67-68 and Col. 7, lines 1-3).
It can be seen then that while damper [125] provides shock absorbing “particularly when arm 47 is required to swing through its full range of travel following impact”, this full range of travel is limited to one direction. The spring [101] and the slot [123] bias the feeler back to the neutral position; therefore, the damper [125] does not dampen deflection of the feeler as it returns to the neutral position and meets the newly added limitations to claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNNY D WEBB/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671