DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on September 13, 2023 and November 20,2025 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Forty-four sheets of drawings were filed on April 27, 2023 and have been accepted by the examiner.
Inventorship
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-5, 7, 9, 11-13, 15, 17-20, 26, 27, 33-35, and 37-39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species B of Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 12, 2026.
Applicant argues method claims 48-61 would not be unduly burdensome for examination since the claims are related to the elected Species A of Group I.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Claims 48-61 acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter (e.g., product and method) that would require different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or employing different search queries).
Accordingly, claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 10, 14, 16, 21-25, 28-32, 36, and 40-47 shall be examined on the merit.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 recites “the inner barrel” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 10, 14, 16, 24-25, 28-32, 36, 40, 41, 44, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan (US 2018/0314013 A1, herein “Kaplan”) in view of the Rosson (US 2019/0004252 A1, herein “Rosson”).
Regarding claim 1, Kaplan discloses a female fiber optic connector (Fig. 16 or 18) is a connector wherein each port channel has a connector structure wherein the entrance having a connection port for receiving a mating fiber optic plug comprising:
a ferrule (ferrule 102) comprising one bore (within 102) for receiving one optical fiber from cable 100;
a main barrel (288) comprising a main barrel rear end (290) and a main barrel front end with a main barrel passageway extending from the main barrel rear end to the main barrel front end, and the main barrel front end (opening in the front of 288 not labeled) comprises a connection port opening;
and a collar (286) disposed rearward of the connection port opening (288) and disposed about a portion of the main barrel. The collar is provided with O ring 294 which fits within in the rear portion of the main barrel (288). The main barrel, the O ring, and the collar 292 fit together as shown in Fig. 19 providing the weatherproofing function as recited.
However, Kaplan does not explicitly teach the female connector assembly having multiple ports provided with an actuator capable of translating for releasing a mated fiber optic plug.
Rosson teaches a female fiber optic connector with multiport assembly wherein each port channel has a connector structure and the entrance 220 functions as a female connector port for receiving a mating fiber plug (Fig. 22 receiving plug 100). The female fiber optic connector further comprises an actuator (250/263) capable of translating for releasing a mated fiber optic plug (Fig. 22, 100) from the connection port opening (Fig. 22: 100 from 220);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the single female fiber optic connector having weatherproofing collar of Kaplan to be integrated to a multiport female assembly having multiple ports with an actuator at each individual ports. The modification would allow the single female connection to be able to scale up to a higher density network, wherein the actuator per port would allow each plug to be easily released. One would be motivated to modify the single connector of Kaplan with Rosson’s multiport female connector assembly to increase connection density in an optical network.
Claim 2. Kaplan in view of Rosson (herein “Kaplan / Rosson”) teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein Rosson teaches further comprising one or more resilient members for biasing the actuator to a retain position (Fig. 22: 250 is spring and acts as resilient member to bias the retaining mechanism 236 in a retain or release position).
Claim 6. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein Rosson teaches further comprising a rear spring push (Fig. 22: has a coil spring in the area of 210) suitable for attaching to the main barrel (Fig. 22: spring wraps around area of 210 which is part of the main barrel structure).
Claim 8. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein Rosson teaches further comprising a spring for biasing an inner barrel to a forward position (Fig. 22: area of 210 contains a spring, the barrel portion of 210 is considered as the inner barrel).
Claim 10. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein Rosson teaches further comprising at least one cap disposed about an end of the collar (see Fig. 3a: see cap portions at the end of 113).
Claim 14. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 8, wherein Rosson teaches the rear spring push comprising a cable strain relief portion (see Fig. 3a: above wherein spring is capable of pushing forward and forward base coil and expansion along “AD” and RD” direction; the backwards directions push the 113 against the cap area and strain relief boot at end of the cable).
Claim 16. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein Rosson teaches the main barrel further comprising a keying feature (Fig. 26: 236 acts as a keying feature or slotted portion 152).
Claim 23. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein Rosson teaches further comprising one or more caps that cooperate with the collar (see Fig. 3a above: wherein the cap portion cooperate with the collar 113).
Claim 24. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 23, wherein Rosson teaches wherein the one or more caps compress a portion of the collar (Fig. 3a: see cap portion is fitted over the sidewall of 134 which is the sidewall to collar 113).
Claim 25, Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 24, wherein Rosson teaches wherein the one or more caps may rotate for engaging the weatherproofing collar (Fig. 14: wherein the back end of 113 has a cap portion that is fitted into key area of 113; the cap portion and the cap are capable of being rotated relative to each to ensure alignment of this feature).
Claims 28 and 29. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 2, wherein Rosson teaches wherein the one or more resilient members (250) comprising a coil spring (250), a leaf spring, a wave spring, or a torsional spring
Claim 30. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein Rosson teaches wherein the one or more resilient members (250) are a first coil spring and a second coil spring (Fig. 22: illustrate each vertical channel at element 230 contain a coil spring 250; Fig. 16a: illustrate the device contain multiple vertical channels at element 230 wherein each channel contains a coil spring thus making the system have a first coil spring and a second coil spring).
Claim 31. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein Rosson teaches wherein the one or more resilient members provide a downward retention force for maintaining the rocker latch arm (see Fig. 22: next to the 250/236 are 4 latch arms, the movement of the latch arms to latch and delatch causes the arms to flex. This flexing action is considered by the examiner as a rocking action thus making these latches rocker latch arms).
Rosson does not teach now much force is needed to retain a position as shown in Fig. 22 or Fig. 26.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spring to have retaining force between 5 Newtons and 15 Newtons in order to avoid accidental or inadvertent release of the connectors plugs. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Claim 32. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein Rosson teaches wherein the main barrel comprises one or more windows (windows of 224 at 250/236)
Claim 36. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein Rosson does teach there are room for limited movement of the ferrule while in the barrel.
Rosson does not teaches the ferrule is allowed limited movement between about 100-400 microns of movement in two degrees of freedom in the unmated state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limited movement spacing between 100-400 microns of movement in two degrees of freedom in the unmated stated in order to adjust or insert/remove the connector plug and a corresponding connector in 210 for alignment purpose. A spacing headway is also ideal to prevent rubbing friction during insertion / removal of the plugs. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Claim 40. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein Rosson does not teaches wherein collar is formed of elastomeric material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the collar to be made of elastomeric material because elastomeric material can be easily molded for mechanical components and housing, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. that a mere reversal of the working parts of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 146.
Claim 41. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein Rosson teaches wherein the fiber optic connector (Fig. 1: 100) is a portion of a cable assembly comprising a fiber optic cable (Fig. 1: 12)
Claim 44. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 41, wherein Rosson teaches wherein the fiber optic cable (12) comprises a round cross-section or a non-round cross-section (Fig. 1: 12).
Claim 47. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, wherein Rosson teaches further comprising a connector boot (Fig. 3a: cap portion at the end of 113 functions as boot for the connector 100).
Claims 21, 22, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan / Rosson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Compton et al. (US 2017/0261699 A1, herein Compton).
Claims 21 and 45. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, Rosson does not teach wherein the weatherproofing collar comprises one or more ends sealed by an adhesive, a crimp- band, a clip, heat-staking or ultra-sonic welding.
Compton teaches wherein the weatherproofing collar (164, 167 and 161) comprises one or more ends sealed by an adhesive, a crimp- band, a clip, heat-staking (heat shrink 167 Para [0060]) or ultra-sonic welding. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to seal the collar ends by heat staking with a heat shrink structure to seal the device from environmental ingress.
Claim 22. Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1, Rosson does not teach the weatherproofing collar comprising an end portion with an integrally-formed sealing portion.
Compton does teach the weatherproofing collar (164/167/161 Para [0060]) comprising an end portion with an integrally-formed sealing portion (Fig. 5: 167 seals the collar from environmental ingress and 167 integrally formed with the components of 164, 180, and 161). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the collar of Kaplan / Rosson to have an integrally formed seal in order to ensure the connector plug is properly weatherproof to protect the connector plug from environmental ingress.
Claims 42, 43, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan / Rosson, as applied to claims 1 and 41 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Henke et al. (US 2013/0322826 A1, herein “Henke”).
Regarding claims 42-43, Kaplan / Rosson teach the device of Claim 41.
Kaplan / Rosson do not teach wherein the fiber optic cable is secured to the spring push using a crimp band, adhesive, epoxy, or glue; and wherein the fiber optic cable comprises one or more tensile yarns that are secured to the spring push.
Henke teaches the fiber optic cable (Fig. 2: 48) is secured to the spring push (Fig. 2: 40(1)) using a crimp band (Fig. 2: 92), adhesive, epoxy, or glue (Para [0058] wherein Fig. 2 illustrates the crimp band is used to couple to housing 88 which is then coupled or in contact with the spring 86); and wherein the fiber optic cable (48) comprises one or more tensile yarns (strengthen member 52) that are secured to the spring push (via the crimp body 88 and band 92).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple the fiber cable using a crimp band/body that is attach or in contact with a pushing spring in order to ensure the connector is properly attached to cable. Further the coupling of the crimp body to the spring ensures that the cable is properly bias forward during the insertion process.
Regarding claim 46, Kaplan / Rosson teach the female fiber optic connector of claim 1.
Kaplan / Rosson do not teach a connector further comprising a ferrule boot having a portion that fits within the ferrule.
Henke teaches a connector further comprising a ferrule boot (Fig. 1c: 32(1) which functions as a boot because it fits on the rear side of the ferrule 42) having a portion that fits within the ferrule (the ferrule boot 32(1) has a portion that fits within the ferrule slotted portion of the ferrule 42) in order to ensure the fiber cable is properly aligned with the ferrule (Para [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Rosson to include ferrule boot that has a portion that fits within the ferrule in order to provide low-cost alignment (Henke Para [0041]).
Conclusion
/ERIN D CHIEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874