DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 2 (Fig. 2B) directed to claims 1-4 and 15 in the reply filed on 03/27/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden on the examiner to search and examine together. This is not found persuasive. There is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: (1) the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification, (2) the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter, or (3) the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries). In this case, the mutually exclusive structures of Species 4 and 11-16 or 7-8 require formulation of different rejections, therefore, this is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species.
The Applicant is also noted that, if the Applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, the Applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Hence, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 5-14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/27/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 04/27/2023, 10/19/2023, 12/12/2024, 05/01/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in an application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, each of claims 1 and 15 includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a wireless power transmitting unit.
In this case, the limitation “wireless power transmitting unit” being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents as disclosed para 0043 “[…] a wireless power transmitting unit 2010 including a working coil (or a transmitting coil) […]”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, line 2 recites the term “a wireless power transmitting unit”. It is unclear if line of claim 15 is intended to introduce another wireless power transmitting unit which is different from a wireless power transmitting unit previously claimed in lines 4-5 of claim 1, or “a wireless power transmitting unit” in line 2 of claim 15 is the same as a wireless power transmitting unit of claim 1. For the examination purposes, “a wireless power transmitting unit” is suggested to amend as “[[a]] the wireless power transmitting unit” which is construed as the same with “a wireless power transmitting unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Loeber (DE 102017220824 A and see the PDF attached).
Regarding independent claim 1, Loeber discloses, a cooking apparatus (see inductive cooking appliance 11 in Figs. 1 and 2) driven by wireless power (see Figs. 1-2 and disclosed in the specification “the transmission coasters are coupled to each other electrically or control technology, for example wirelessly via radio”), the cooking apparatus (11) comprising:
a wireless power receiving unit (see transmission coaster 21 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) configured to wirelessly receive power (see Figs. 1-2 and disclosed in the specification “the transmission coasters are coupled to each other electrically or control technology, for example wirelessly via radio”) from a wireless power transmitting unit (see primary induction coil L2 in Figs. 1-2), the wireless power receiving unit (21) including:
a first receiving coil (see resonant circuit coil L3 in Figs. 1-2); and
a second receiving coil (see resonant circuit coil L4 in Fig. 2) having a shared center (see annotated Fig. 2) with the first receiving coil (L3) whereby the second receiving coil (L4) shares at least a part of a center of the first receiving coil (see annotated Fig. 2), the first receiving coil (L3) and the second receiving coil (L4) being arranged on different layers (see annotated Fig. 2) along a longitudinal direction of the shared center (see annotated Fig. 2); and
a processor (see controller 27 in Fig. 1) configured to control the wireless power receiving unit (disclosed in the specification “the controller 27 and the position sensors 30a-d, possibly also the position lights 25a-d , too high temperature, which is a heavily heated pot 36 can give down or radiate down”).
Regarding claim 15, Loeber discloses, the cooking apparatus of claim 1, and further Loeber discloses comprising a station (see cover 12 in Fig. 1) comprising a wireless power transmitting unit (L2) configured to wirelessly supply power to the first receiving coil (L3) and the second receiving coil (L4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loeber in view of JP 3363239 B2 (see the PDF attached)
Regarding claim 2, Loeber discloses, the cooking apparatus of claim 1.
However, Loeber does not explicitly disclose wherein the first receiving coil has a first heating level that is different from a second heating level of the second receiving coil.
Nonetheless, JP 3363239 teaches, wherein the first receiving coil (see coil 2 with could 2a and coil 2b in Fig. 13) has a first heating level (see heating coil 2a is energized to heat food 16 in Fig. 13) that is different from a second heating level (see heater portion 11 in Fig. 13) of the second receiving coil (see coil 9 in Fig. 13, wherein the heating level of heater portion 11 of coil 9 is off/decreasing when contact 32 is opened while heating level of heating coil 2a of the coil 2 is on/increasing when contact 32b is closed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the first receiving coil and the second receiving coil of Loeber wherein the first receiving coil has a first heating level that is different from a second heating level of the second receiving coil as taught/suggested by JP 3363239 in order to independently control different heating levels of different heating elements in different locations. It is known that independent heaters work together to provide different types of heat for different cooking needs and control the heaters independently is important because each serves a distinct purpose and can be adjusted for the best results.
Regarding claim 3, Loeber discloses, the cooking apparatus of claim 2, Loeber further discloses the first receiving coil (L3) is arranged on the second receiving coil (L4, wherein L3 is arranged on the bottom of L4) along the longitudinal direction of the shared center (see Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 2).
However, Loeber does not explicitly disclose wherein a heating output of the first heating level is higher than a heating output of the second heating level.
Nonetheless, JP 3363239 teaches, a heating output of the first heating level (see heating coil 2a is energized to heat food 16 in Fig. 13) is higher than a heating output of the second heating level (see coil 9 in Fig. 13, wherein the heating level of heater portion 11 of coil 9 is off/decreasing when contact 32 is opened while heating level of heating coil 2a of the coil 2 is on/increasing when contact 32b is closed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the first receiving coil and the second receiving coil of Loeber wherein a heating output of the first heating level is higher than a heating output of the second heating level as taught/suggested by JP 3363239 in order to independently control different heating levels of different heating elements in different locations. It is known that independent heaters work together to provide different types of heat for different cooking needs and control the heaters independently is important because each serves a distinct purpose and can be adjusted for the best results.
Regarding claim 4, Loeber discloses, the cooking apparatus of claim 2, Loeber further discloses the first receiving coil (L3) is arranged under the second receiving coil (L4, wherein L3 is arranged on the bottom of L4) along the longitudinal direction of the shared center (see Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 2).
However, Loeber does not explicitly disclose wherein a heating output of the first heating level is higher than a heating output of the second heating level.
Nonetheless, JP 3363239 teaches, a heating output of the first heating level (see heating coil 2a is energized to heat food 16 in Fig. 13) is higher than a heating output of the second heating level (see coil 9 in Fig. 13, wherein the heating level of heater portion 11 of coil 9 is off/decreasing when contact 32 is opened while heating level of heating coil 2a of the coil 2 is on/increasing when contact 32b is closed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the first receiving coil and the second receiving coil of Loeber wherein a heating output of the first heating level is higher than a heating output of the second heating level as taught/suggested by JP 3363239 in order to independently control different heating levels of different heating elements in different locations. It is known that independent heaters work together to provide different types of heat for different cooking needs and control the heaters independently is important because each serves a distinct purpose and can be adjusted for the best results.
Conclusion
/VY T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761