DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kin et al., U.S. Patent Number 10,739,861 B2, in view of Stevens et al., U.S. Patent Number 11,402,964 B1.
Regarding claim 1, Kin discloses a method comprising: at a first device having a processor: acquiring sensor data during use of the first device in a physical environment comprising a second device (col. 8, lines 24-27, imaging device may also capture images of one or more objects in the local area; FIG. 10A; col. 22, lines 15-16, object at which the user’s gaze terminates is a laptop display); identifying a position of the second device in the physical environment based on the sensor data (col. 23, lines 51-52, identifies an object in the local area that is at the first location; col. 11, lines 12-14, indicate the location of the object, and the boundaries of the object (e.g., pixels corresponding to the recognized object) in the captured image);
identifying a content item used via the second device (col. 8, line 46-48, provides content to the NED for presentation to the user in accordance with information received from the imagining device 315);
and providing a view of an extended reality (XR) environment based on the physical environment, wherein the view comprises a depiction of the second device and an indicator corresponding to the content item, and is positioned based on the position of the second device (FIG. 10A, col. 22, lines 18-20, controller also instructs the optical assembly to display a project screen indicator in the artificial reality environment near the display; col. 23, lines 59-51, display an indication of a selection of the object in the artificial reality environment); receiving an input corresponding to the indicator (col. 22, lines 20-21, detecting the pinch gesture with the user’s hand at the current position; col. 23, lines 63-64, user may then manipulate the object);
and based on the input corresponding to the indicator, obtaining a representation of the content item from the second device (col. 22, lines 34-37, controller may transmit instructions to the optical assembly to display to the user a virtual copy); and displaying, in the view of the XR environment, the content item (col. 22, line 66 – col. 23, lines , the controller instructs the laptop that is part of the display to transmit a mirror of display to the projector to project the display as the projected display on the back wall; FIGS. 10A-10D).
However, it is noted that Kin fails to disclose wherein the indicator comprises a link and is positioned based on the position of the second device; receiving an input corresponding to the indicator; and based on the input corresponding to the indicator, linking to the content item by: obtaining a representation of the content item from the second device; and displaying, in the view of the XR environment, the content item based on the representation of the content item.
Stevens discloses acquiring sensor data during use of the first device in a physical environment comprising a second device (col. 11, lines 66-67, identify, for example, a display of a non-XR device); identifying a position of the second device in the physical environment based on the sensor data (col. 14, lines 52-54, determine a position of the non-XR device; the XR device can identify the non-XR device); identifying a content item used via the second device (col. 11, line 67 – col. 12, line 5, identify, for example, a display of a non-XR device, a displayed content item on the display of the non-XR device); and providing a view of an extended reality (XR) environment based on the physical environment, wherein the view comprises a depiction of the second device and an indicator corresponding to the content item (col. 20, lines 30-34, creates a virtual object for each content item accessed using the identified content item identifiers; virtual object associated with content item is a visual representation of the content item to be displayed; col. 20, lines 30-50, virtual object associated with content item is a visual representation of the content item to be displayed; if the identified content is a calendar, a graphic of a calendar; identified content item can be a vide and the virtual object created to represent the vide can be a large “play” button; content item can be a news article and the virtual object created to represent the new article can include a screenshot of the title of the article), wherein the indicator comprises a link and is positioned based on the position of the second device (col. 19, lines 16-18, the content item identifier can be a link, such as a URL, or a code that can be used to access a content item); receiving an input corresponding to the indicator (col. 6-8, selection for a content item with the non-XR device); and based on the input corresponding to the indicator, linking to the content item by: obtaining a representation of the content item from the second device (col. 15, lines 65-67, send the centrally displayed content item to the XR device as the identified content); and displaying, in the view of the XR environment, the content item based on the representation of the content item (col. 21, lines 27-29, display the content item associated with the content item identifier).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the indicator as disclosed by Kin, the indicator as a link as disclosed by Stevens, to allow content to be identified or accessed through a link rather than manually linking device content items.
Regarding claim 2, Kin discloses wherein the indicator is positioned at a location defined relative to the position of the second device (col. 22, lines 18-20, instructs the optical assembly to display a project screen indicator in the artificial reality environment near the display 1010).
Regarding claim 3, Kin discloses wherein the indicator is positioned within a predetermined distance to the depiction of the second device (col. 23, lines 61-62, the indication of the selection is displayed within a threshold distance of a position of the object).
Regarding claim 4, Kin discloses wherein the indicator is overlaid on passthrough video of the physical environment (FIG. 10A, position screen indicator 1012, overlaid on passthrough video of the physical environment).
Regarding claim 5, Kin discloses providing an indicator (FIG. 10A).
It is noted that Kin fails to disclose determining to provide the indicator based on determining the content item is currently in use on the second device.
Stevens discloses determining the content item is currently in use on the second device (col. 15, lines 23-24, select a video content item currently being output by the non-XR device with an identifier; col. 15, lines 59-60, non-XR device provide a current content item it is outputting).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to as providing the indicator as disclosed by Kin, the indicator being select if as disclosed by Stevens the content is currently being output, which Examiner, interprets as in use, to identify selections that are currently being output by the non-XR device.
Regarding claim 6, Kin discloses providing an indicator (FIG. 10A).
However it is noted that Kin fails to disclose providing the indicator based on determining that the second device is currently unlocked or has been locked for less than a threshold amount of time.
Stevens discloses determining that the second device is currently unlocked or has been locked for less than a threshold amount of time (col. 12, lines 41-49, process can be performed as a response to: registering a non-XR device with an XR device; response to: when the non-XR device is activated, the XR device is activated, or both are activated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the indicator as disclosed by Kin, determining whether the second device is activated, which Examiner interprets as unlocked, as disclosed by Stevens, to provide the registering of a non-XR device with a XR device to be performed responsive to a criteria to trigger the registration.
Regarding claim 7, Kin discloses providing an indicator (FIG. 10A).
However it is noted that Kin fails to disclose the indicator provided based on determining that the first device and the second device are currently accessed using a same user account
Stevens discloses determining to provide the indicator based on determining that the first device and the second device are currently accessed using a same user account (col. 12, lines 41-48, registering a non-XR device with an XR device; response to: when a user add a device to her account (e.g., uses a common profile to sign-in to the device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the indicator as disclosed by Kin, determining whether the first and second device, i.e., the XR device and non-XR device are currently signed in with a common profile, i.e. account, as disclosed by Stevens, to provide the registering of a non-XR device with a XR device to be performed responsive to a criteria to trigger the registration.
Regarding claim 8, Kin discloses providing an indicator (FIG. 10A).
However, it is noted that Kin fails to disclose determining to provide the indicator based on user input accessing, on the first device, an application corresponding to a type of the content item.
Stevens discloses based on user input accessing, on the first device, an application corresponding to a type of the content item (col. 63-67, registration can be triggered in response to the XR device and the non-XR device sharing a social media software application in which a shared user is logged on).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the indicator as disclosed by Kin, determining whether the first and second device, i.e., the XR device and non-XR device based on user input accessing, on the first device, an application corresponding to a type of the content item, as disclosed by Stevens, to provide the registering of a non-XR device with a XR device to be performed responsive to a criteria to trigger the registration.
Regarding claim 10, Kin discloses wherein the representation of the content item comprises: the content item; the link to the content item; or a visual representation of the content item (FIG. 10B, virtual copy TPS REPORT is the content item TPS REPORT, which Examiner interprets as representation of the content item comprises a visual representation of the content item).
Regarding claim 11, Kin discloses wherein: the representation of the content item comprises the visual representation of the content item (FIG. 10B).
It is noted that Kin fails to disclose the visual representation of the content item generated by the second device by accessing the content item from a content source using login credentials; and the visual representation of the content item is received from the second device without the first device using the login credentials to access the content item from the content source.
Stevens discloses the content item generated by the second device by accessing the content item from a content source using login credentials; and the visual representation of the content item is received from the second device without the first device using the login credentials to access the content item from the content source (col. 14, lines 4-22, registration process can include, in some implementation, storing identifying information of the non-XR device; enable communication between devices; enabling that device to respond to received content items; in some implementation, the registration can include setting permissions on either or both of the XR or non-XR device, permitting the application that receives shared content items to output them).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the registration and accessing of content items as disclosed by Kin, using the login credentials, which Examiner interprets as setting permissions, as disclosed by Stevens, to enable a device to response to and enable communication between devices to receive and display shared content items.
Regarding claim 12, Kin discloses wherein the content item comprises a document, 3D model, webpage, communication session instance, or shared viewing experience session (FIG. 10A, TPS REPORT, which Examiner interprets as a document).
Stevens further discloses col. 11, lines 26-28, content items, such as videos, news articles, video calls, photos, social media posts, files, documents, songs and the like.
Regarding claim 13, Kin discloses wherein the indicator comprises a notification, affordance, or link (col. 22, line 24-25, project screen indicator may be designed to indicate to the user, via text or graphics, a capability).
Regarding claims 14-19, they are rejected based upon similar rational as above claims 1-6 respectively. Kin further discloses a system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium; and one or more processors coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises program instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations (col. 24, lines 57-60).
Regarding 20, it is rejected based upon similar rational as above claim 1. Kin further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions executable via one or more processors to perform operations (col. 24, lines 57-60).
Regarding claim 21, it is noted that Kin fails to disclose wherein identifying the content item used via the second device comprises determining that the second device is currently using a particular content item.
Stevens discloses identifying the content item used via the second device comprises determining that the second device is currently using a particular content item (col. 15, lines 51-52, identifies one or more content items corresponding to the selection of the non-XR device, col. 15, lines 23-24, select a video content item currently being output by the non-XR device with an identifier).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to as providing the indicator as disclosed by Kin, the indicator being select if as disclosed by Stevens the content is currently being output, which Examiner, interprets as in use, to identify selections that are currently being output by the non-XR device.
Regarding claim 22, it is noted that Kin fails to disclose wherein identifying the content item used via the second device comprises determining that the second device is currently using a particular content item within a particular application.
Stevens discloses identifying the content item used via the second device comprises determining that the second device is currently using a particular content item within a particular application (col. 15, lines 59-60, non-XR device provide a current content item it is outputting; col. 19, lines 57-67, determine a type of the content item that is output; e.g. as a social media post, an image, a video, audio, etc.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the content item displayed as disclosed by Kin, identifying the content item that a second device is currently using within a particular application as disclosed by Stevens, to identify visual structures corresponding to particular applications.
Regarding claim 23, it is noted that Kin fails to disclose wherein identifying the content item used via the second device comprises determining that the second device is currently displaying a particular content item.
Stevens discloses identifying the content item used via the second device comprises determining that the second device is currently displaying a particular content item (col. 19, lines 26-24, the XR device can identify the content item being displayed on the screen; can use text recognition algorithms or object recognition algorithms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the content items disclosed by Kin, determine a currently displayed particular content item, to identify visual structures and determine directions of audio content as disclosed by Stevens.
Regarding claims 24-26, it is noted that Kin fails to disclose wherein identifying the content item used via the second device comprises identifying a content item that was most recently used on the second device; comprises identifying a content item that was most recently used on the second device by a particular application; comprises identifying a content item that was most recently displayed on the second device.
Stevens discloses wherein identifying the content item used via the second device comprises identifying a content item that was most recently used on the second device; comprises identifying a content item that was most recently used on the second device by a particular application; comprises identifying a content item that was most recently displayed on the second device (col. 22, lines 2-6, a wiping, or swiping gesture can be used to delete a virtual object, stop display of the virtual object, or turn the virtual object semi-transparent; a second wiping or swiping motion (e.g., in the opposite direction) can then restore the virtual object; col. 25, lines 15-17, indicator of the content item associated with the virtual object is sent to the second non-XR device; lines 26-30, second non-XR device can start playback of the video at the frame or timestamp).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the content items as disclosed by Kin, the identifying of recent used content item, recent used by an application, i.e. displaying video, recent displayed content item, as disclosed by Stevens to allow virtual objects playback, and restoring of displayed virtual objects when an event takes place.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 10-26, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qian et al., U.S. Patent Number 11,609,627 B2
Qian discloses col. 1, lines 39-40, a first device includes at least one processor; col. 1, lines 43-46, present an icon on the display so that the icon appears disposed within the real world at or proximate to a location of a second device associated with the icon; col. 59-60, receive the audible input from the user while the user is identified as looking at the icon.
O’Hern 20210096638 A1
O’Hern discloses paragraph 0006, obtaining images of a physical environment; figure 1; paragraph 0005, identifying a second device in the physical environment; second device may be detected via proximity-based detection or computer vision; paragraph 0006, identity augmented content corresponding to visual content that the second device produces for display.
Brems et al., U.S. Patent Number 11,231,827 B2
Brems discloses col. 7, lines 25-28, detect (e.g., using an outward-facing camera of the VR device, using an optical sensor, using motion detection, or other suitable technique) that a user has placed a phone in front of the VR device; col. 7, lines 64-66, content being displayed by the actual mobile device in the real world is displayed as virtual content; col. 8, line 66 – col. 9, line , a display element (e.g., an icon, an item in a list, or other display element in the synthetic representation of the display of the mobile device) corresponding to the item; col. 9, lines 6-10, selection of the display element can then be performed; col. 10, lines 10-13, enable content being displayed and/or audio content being output by an actual mobile device to be displayed by the XR device; col. 9, line 65 – col. 10, line 6, the content being displayed and/or audio content being output by the actual mobile device can be transmitted or streamed to the VR headset; display the content in the synthetic representation of the display of the mobile device.
Tzeng et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0044481 A1
Tzeng discloses paragraph 0032, camera of head-mounted display device HMD captures a physical mark MK; paragraph 0028, physical marker can be any form of marker, for example, a binary square marker (ArUco marker), a QR code; paragraph 0033, capture the physical marker MK, the capture image CAF and the value measured by the gyroscope GYR.
MOTILEWA . GOOD JOHNSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2616
/MOTILEWA GOOD-JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619