DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This Office Action is in response to the RCE filed on 06/16/26. Examiner acknowledged that claim 1 is amended. Currently, claims 1-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claims 1 and 13, applicant’s argument have been considered but are moot in the new ground of rejection in view of newly found prior art Tufi (US 9233051).
The newly found prior art teaches the CPU, LED, and senor for sending drawer opening being arranged on a PCB. Thus, Tufi teaches the limitations above. Accordingly, the rejection of claims and 13 over Lys is maintained.
Claims 2-12 and 14-18 are similarly rejected as they depend on the rejected claim above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,672,067. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain essentially the same components as shown below.
Claims 2-12 and 14-18 are similarly rejected as they depend on the corresponding claims.
Instant Application
Pat. No. 11,672,067
1. A tool storage unit including a drawer, the tool storage unit comprising: a light module disposed in the drawer and including:
a printed circuit board including a power circuit having first and second input/output (I/O) power terminals and a first data circuit having first and second I/O data terminals;
a microcontroller module disposed on the printed circuit board and operably coupled to the first data circuit;
a sensor module disposed on the printed circuit board and operably coupled to the microcontroller module, wherein the microcontroller module is adapted to receive data from the sensor module; and
an illumination circuit disposed on the printed circuit board and including a switching element and a light element, the light element is operably coupled to the power circuit and the switching element is operably coupled to the microcontroller module via the first data circuit and is adapted to receive a signal from the microcontroller module to illuminate the light element.
1. A light module, comprising:
a printed circuit board including a power circuit with first and second input/output (I/O) power terminals, a first data circuit with first and second I/O data terminals, and second and third data circuits that provide I/O connectivity with the printed circuit board;
a microcontroller module disposed on the printed circuit board and operably coupled to the first data circuit;
a sensor module disposed on the printed circuit board and operably coupled to the microcontroller module via a fourth data circuit,
wherein the microcontroller module is adapted to receive data from the sensor module; and
an illumination circuit disposed on the printed circuit board and including a switching element and a light element, the light element is operably coupled to the power circuit, and the switching element is operably coupled to the microcontroller module via the first data circuit, and the switching element is adapted to receive a signal from the microcontroller module to illuminate the light element.
13. A lighting system, comprising:
a first light module including: a first printed circuit board including a first power circuit having first and second input/output (I/O) power terminals, and a first data circuit having first and second I/O data terminals; a first microcontroller module disposed on the first printed circuit board and operably coupled to the first data circuit; a first sensor module disposed on the first printed circuit board and operably coupled to the first microcontroller module; and a first illumination circuit disposed on the first printed circuit board and including a first switching element and a first light element, the first light element is operably coupled to the first power circuit, and the first switching element is operably coupled to the first microcontroller module via the first data circuit and is adapted to receive a signal from the first microcontroller module to operate the first light element; and
a second light module including a second light element and operably coupled to the second I/O power terminal of the first printed circuit board and the second I/O data terminal of the first printed circuit board, wherein the second light module is adapted to receive a signal from the first microcontroller module to operate the second light element.
10. A lighting system, comprising:
a first light module, including: a first printed circuit board including a first power circuit with first and second input/output (I/O) power terminals, and a first data circuit with first and second I/O data terminals; a first microcontroller module disposed on the first printed circuit board and operably coupled to the first data circuit; a first sensor module disposed on the first printed circuit board and operably coupled to the first microcontroller module, wherein the first microcontroller module is adapted to receive data from the first sensor module; and a first illumination circuit disposed on the first printed circuit board and including a first switching element and a first light element, the first light element is operably coupled to the first power circuit, and the first switching element is operably coupled to the first microcontroller module via the first data circuit, and the first switching element is adapted to receive a signal from the first microcontroller module to cause the first light element to operate; and
a second light module, including: a second printed circuit board including a second power circuit with first and second I/O power terminals, and a second data circuit with first and second I/O data terminals, wherein the first I/O power terminal of the second printed circuit board is operably coupled to the second I/O power terminal of the first printed circuit board, and the first I/O data terminal of the second printed circuit board is operably coupled to the second I/O data terminal of the first printed circuit board; a second microcontroller module disposed on the second printed circuit board and operably coupled to the second data circuit; a second sensor module disposed on the second printed circuit board and operably coupled to the second microcontroller module, wherein the second microcontroller module is adapted to receive data from the second sensor module and the first microcontroller module; and a second illumination circuit disposed on the second printed circuit board and including a second switching element and a second light element, the second light element is operably coupled to the second power circuit, and the second switching element is operably coupled to the second microcontroller module and the first microcontroller module via the second data circuit, and the second switching element is adapted to receive a signal from the second microcontroller module or the first microcontroller module to cause the second light element to operate, and wherein the first printed circuit board further includes third and fourth data circuits that provide I/O connectivity with the second printed circuit board.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-13, 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lys (US 20030057886) in view of Tufi (9233051) and Chung (US 2013/0208455).
Examiner markup Fig. 2
Regarding Claim 1, Lys teaches the light module (Fig. 2) including: a printed circuit board (Fig. 2: it is well known that circuit components are arranged on a board; Fig. 15: 202; [0143] “he conduit may be a circuit board that includes breaks and connectors between the breaks between the lighting systems 102”) including a power circuit (Examiner markup Fig. 2: A) having first and second input/output (I/O) power terminals (Fig. 2: input terminals to wires of 44, output terminals to wires of 44) and a first data circuit (Examiner markup Fig. 2: 29, B) having first and second I/O data terminals (Fig. 2: 32A, 32B); a microcontroller module (Fig. 2: 46) operably coupled to the first data circuit; a sensor module (Fig. 2: 42) operably coupled to the microcontroller module, wherein the sensor module is adapted to detect motion ([0082] “…sensor 42 responsive to some input stimulus (e.g., light, sound/pressure, temperature, motion, etc.), and the microcontroller module is adapted to receive data corresponding to detected motion ([0082] “sensor 42…provides a signal to an input port 31 of the controller 26B, which may be particularly accessed (i.e., independently addressed) over the network 24.sub.1 (e.g., by the processor 22) via the data port 32 of the controller 26B”) from the sensor module; and an illumination circuit (Fig. 2: 52A-D, 50) including and a light element ([0090] “the devices 52A-52D may be individual light sources”), the light element is operably coupled to the power circuit.
Lys does not explicitly teach in Fig. 2 a switching element and the switching element is operably coupled to the microcontroller module via the first data circuit and is adapted to receive a signal from the microcontroller module to illuminate the light element. However, [0082] “In response to signals output by the sensor 42, the processor 22 may transmit various data throughout the network, including control information to control one or more particular light sources”; [ 0091] “control circuitry 50 of the controller 26 shown in FIG. 2 may include one or more digital-to-analog converters (not shown in the figure) to convert data portions received from the microprocessor 46 to analog voltage or current output signals provided by the output ports”; [0092] “control circuitry 50 of the controller 26 shown in FIG. 2 may provide pulse width modulated signals as control signals at one or more of the output ports 30” (it is well known in the art that switches/transistors are utilized for controlling PWM signals); Mueller (US 6016038) by incorporation also teaches in Fig. 9 switch 90 connected to µC 92 for controlling the lights (120, 140, 160). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lys in order to drive the lighting elements with switching elements using data signal from the microcontroller since the lighting fixture can be controlled in response to various stimuli for a variety of space illumination applications [0068]. Therefore, the subject matter claimed would have been obvious in view of Lys.
Lys does not teach microcontroller disposed on the printed circuit board, a sensor disposed on the printed circuit board; illumination circuit disposed on the printed circuit board; sensor module is adapted to detect motion of the drawer; a tool storage unit including a drawer, the tool storage unit comprising: a light module disposed in an interior of the drawer and adapted to illuminate the interior of the drawer.
Tufi is in the field of lighting (abstract) and teaches microcontroller (Fig. 8: 7), a sensor (Fig. 8: 13); illumination circuit (Fig. 8: LED) disposed on the printed circuit board (Fig. 8: PCB having electronic disposed it; [col8 ln10] “a mother board 52 carrying at the top the central processing unit, the SIM and GPRS cards, and the electronics necessary for operation of the entire blister-pack case”); sensor module is adapted to detect motion (Fig 8: 13 senses drawer opening) of the drawer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lys with sensor and LEDs disposed on the PCB as taught by Tufi (NOTE: Lys is silence on a sensor disposed on a PCB thus Tufi’s teaching of a sensor and LEDs disposed onto a PCB is used to show that electrical components are dispose on PCB. This is also well known for one of ordinary skill in the art especially one with Electrical Engineering background since sensors and semiconductor devices are connected to PCB; see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Printed_circuit_board; see link below for further understand of components disposed on a PCB in order to work) in order to provide electrical connection to the components via the PCB since this allow the components to be packaged into a single module.
(See link “Using a Motion Sensor (PIR) for Beginners” https://youtube.com/shorts/ePJmdLSYBDY?si=fFYyu1zs06lpRAlT)
Chung is in the field of illumination (abstract) and teaches a tool storage unit (Fig. 1:30) including a drawer (Fig. 1: 20), the tool storage unit comprising: a light module (Fig. 1: 16) disposed in an interior of the drawer and adapted to illuminate the interior of the drawer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lys and Tufi with illumination circuit inside a drawer in order to determine the exact location of the object since without lighting would be relatively difficult to find the desired item [0004].
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Lys, Tufi and Chung teach the tool storage unit of claim 1, wherein the light module further includes a power management module disposed on the printed circuit board and is operably coupled to the power circuit, wherein the power management module is adapted to supply power to the sensor module and the microcontroller module (Lys [0151] “a controller 26 or IC that is adapted to handle variations in power… the IC, or other system controlling the illumination source, may be adapted with a power management circuit wherein the power management circuit is adapted to receive power from a power source, control the power from the power source and deliver adequate power to another circuit in the integrated circuit”; it would have been obvious that other circuits can include powering the uC and sensor module).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Lys, Tufi and Chung teach the tool storage unit of claim 1, wherein the switching element (Lys Fig. 12: 1708) is adapted to operably couple the light element to the power circuit to cause operation of the light element.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Lys, Tufi and Chung teach the tool storage unit of claim 1, wherein the second I/O power terminal and the second I/O data terminal (Lys Fig. 15: right terminals of left PCB 202) are each adapted to operably couple to a second printed circuit board (Lys Fig. 15: left terminals of right PCB 202) of a second lighting module (Lys Fig. 15: right side 102).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Lys, Tufi and Chung teach the light module of claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board further includes a ground circuit (Lys Fig. 13: 112; Fig. 15, 112).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Lys, Tufi and Chung teach the light module of claim 1, further comprising a power source (Lys [0042] “a power input pin adapted to receive external power”) operably coupled to the first I/O power terminal.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Lys, Tufi and Chung teach the light module of claim 1, further comprising a switching module (Lys Fig. 1: 20; [0128] “The central processor 504 may also be associated with another controller, user interface, sensor, transducer or other system to initiate or generate lighting effects”) operably coupled to the first I/O data terminal.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Lys, Tufi and Chung teach the tool storage unit of claim 1, wherein the light module is adapted to illuminate the light element when the drawer is open (Chung [abstract] “a drawer of a cabinet to automatically emit light whenever the drawer is opened”).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Lys, Tufi and Chung teach the tool storage unit of claim 11, further comprising a second light module (Chung Fig. 2: 162) disposed in the tool storage unit, wherein the second light module is operably coupled to the first light module (Chung Fig. 2: another 162) and is adapted to illuminate a second light element when the drawer is opened
Claim(s) 13, 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lys in view of machine translation of Tufi.
Regarding Claim 13, Lys teaches a lighting system (Fig. 15), comprising: a first light module (Fig. 15: left side; Fig. 2) including: a first printed circuit board (Fig. 2: it’s well known that circuit components are arranged on a board; Fig. 15: 202; [0143] “the conduit may be a circuit board that includes breaks and connectors between the breaks between the lighting systems 102”) including a first power circuit (Examiner markup Fig. 2: A) having first and second input/output (1/0) power terminals (Fig. 2: input terminals to wires of 44, output terminals to wires of 44), and a first data circuit (Examiner markup Fig. 2: 29, B) having first and second 1/0 data terminals (Fig. 2: 32A, 32B); a first microcontroller module (Fig. 2: 46) disposed on the first printed circuit board and operably coupled to the first data circuit; a first sensor module (Fig. 2: 42) and operably coupled to the first microcontroller module, wherein the first sensor module is adapted to detect motion; and a first illumination circuit (Fig. 2: 52A-D, 50) and including a first switching element and a first light element ([0090] “the devices 52A-52D may be individual light sources”), the first light element is operably coupled to the first power circuit; and a second light module (Fig. 15: right side) including a second light element (Fig. 9: 102 has lights) and operably coupled to the second I/O power terminal of the first printed circuit board and the second 1/0 data terminal of the first printed circuit board, wherein the second light module is adapted to receive a signal (Fig. 15: 108) from the first microcontroller module to operate the second light element.
Lys does not explicitly teach in Fig. 2 the first switching element is operably coupled to the first microcontroller module via the first data circuit and is adapted to receive a signal from the first microcontroller module that is based on data corresponding to detected motion to operate the first light element. However [0082] “sensor 42…provides a signal to an input port 31 of the controller 26B, which may be particularly accessed (i.e., independently addressed) over the network 24.sub.1 (e.g., by the processor 22) via the data port 32 of the controller 26B”; [ 0091] “control circuitry 50 of the controller 26 shown in FIG. 2 may include one or more digital-to-analog converters (not shown in the figure) to convert data portions received from the microprocessor 46 to analog voltage or current output signals provided by the output ports”; [0092] “control circuitry 50 of the controller 26 shown in FIG. 2 may provide pulse width modulated signals as control signals at one or more of the output ports 30” (it is well known in the art that switches/transistors are utilized for controlling PWM signals); Mueller (US 6016038) by incorporation also teaches in Fig. 9 switch 90 connected to µC 92 for controlling the lights (120, 140, 160). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lys in order to drive the lighting elements with switching elements using data signal from the microcontroller since the lighting fixture can be controlled in response to various stimuli for a variety of space illumination applications [0068]. Therefore, the subject matter claimed would have been obvious in view of Lys.
Lys does not teach microcontroller, a first sensor module, a first illumination circuit disposed on the first printed circuit board.
Tufi is in the field of lighting (abstract) and teaches the microcontroller (Fig. 8: 7), sensor (Fig. 8: 13) and illumination circuit (Fig. 8: LED) disposed on the PCB (Fig. 8: all electronic are arranged on the PCB; [col8 ln10] “a mother board 52 carrying at the top the central processing unit, the SIM and GPRS cards, and the electronics necessary for operation of the entire blister-pack case” ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lys with sensor and LEDs disposed on the PCB as taught by Xu in order to provide electrical connection to the components via the PCB since this allow the components to be packaged into a single module.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Lys and Tufi teach the lighting system of claim 13, wherein the first switching element is adapted to operably couple the first light element to the first power circuit to cause the first light element to operate (Mueller (US 6016038) by incorporation [col9 ln5-10] “A current switch 90, coupled to the microcontroller 92, may be used to control the current supply to LEDs 120, 140, and 160).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Lys and Tufi teach the lighting system of claim 13, further comprising a power source (Lys [0042] “a power input pin adapted to receive external power”) coupled to the first I/O power terminal of the first printed circuit board.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Lys and Tufi teach the lighting system of claim 13, further comprising a switching module (Lys Fig. 1: 20; [0128] “The central processor 504 may also be associated with another controller, user interface, sensor, transducer or other system to initiate or generate lighting effects”) coupled to the first I/O data terminal of the first printed circuit board.
Claim(s) 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lys, Tufi and Chung as applied to claims 1 and 13 in view of De Vries (US 2021/0144834).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Lys, Tufi and Chung teach the light module with all the limitation as claimed in claim 1 except the sensor module includes at least one of a time-of-flight module and an accelerometer.
De Vries is in the field of lighting (abstract) and teaches the sensor module includes at least one of a time- of-flight module and an accelerometer ([claim 5] “the sensor comprises at least one of a microphone for capturing audio, an accelerometer for detecting movement and/or vibration, a camera for capturing moving and/or still images, and a time-of-flight light sensor”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lys, Tufi and Chung with a TOF and accelerometer sensor as taught by De Vries in order to detect static objects from moving objects since such a sensor increases reliability and accuracy of the analysis reducing false positives [0059].
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Lys, Tufi and Chung teach the lighting system of claim 13, except the first sensor module includes at least one of a time-of-flight module and an accelerometer.
De Vries is in the field of lighting (abstract) and teaches the sensor module includes at least one of a time- of-flight module and an accelerometer ([claim 5] “the sensor comprises at least one of a microphone for capturing audio, an accelerometer for detecting movement and/or vibration, a camera for capturing moving and/or still images, and a time-of-flight light sensor”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lys, Tufi and Chung with a TOF and accelerometer sensor as taught by De Vries in order to detect static objects from moving objects since such a sensor increases reliability and accuracy of the analysis reducing false positives [0059].
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lys, Tufi and Chung as applied to claim 1 in view of Melzner (US 2010/0219758).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Lys, Tufi and Chung teach the light module of claim 7 except the switching element is adapted to operably couple the light element to the ground circuit to cause operation of the light element.
Melzner is in the field of lighting (abstract) and teaches the switching element (Fig. 7: 68) is adapted to operably couple the light element (Fig. 7: 401) to the ground circuit (Fig. 7: GND) to cause operation of the light element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lys, Tufi and Chung with connecting the light element to ground as taught by Melzner in order to complete the circuit allowing the current to flow through the LEDs and switch then to ground since it is well known in the art that an unground circuit would not function properly.
Conclusion
/Henry Luong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845