DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 regarding claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that the combination of Rover and Bazarjani does not read on the limitation “a controller configured to process one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel, and to send, via the second connection port, the first digital audio channel and the second audio channel as separate channels.”, the examiner argues that a broad interpretation of the limitation would be sending via the port the first digital audio channel and the second audio channel as separate channels when each of first digital audio channel and second digital audio channel is outputted separately by the multiplexer taught by Bazarjani. Claim 1 recites that a first digital channel or second digital channel can be outputted separately. In the case where only a signal is inputted to the multiplexer, the output of the multiplexer would be only the signal inputted. Therefore, when the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel is inputted to the multiplexer, the first digital audio channel or the second audio channel are outputted as separate channel at the single output of the multiplexer. The claim recites that the separate digital audio channels are outputted by a single output port (second connection port). The examiner argues that two channels can be outputted at a single port. The multiplexer can output the first digital audio channel and after the first channel audio data, outputs a second channel audio data.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 11, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rovere (FR2832899A1) in view of Bazarjani et al (US 2006/0034472 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rovere disclose a microphone comprising: a housing (Rovere; Fig 3; housing 1) comprising a first connection port (Rovere; Fig 3; first connection port 8) and a second connection port (Rovere; Fig 3; second connection port 7); a microphone element (Rovere; Fig 3; microphone 5); a first preamplifier configured to generate an amplified first analog audio signal based on sound received by the microphone element (Rovere; Fig 3; amplifier 4); a second preamplifier configured to generate an amplified second analog audio signal based on an analog audio signal received via the first connection port (Rovere; Fig 3; amplifier 3); and a controller configured to process one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel (Rovere; Fig 3; controller 14 send signals from 5 and 8 to output connector 7); but do not expressly disclose a first analog-to-digital converter configured to generate, based on the amplified first analog audio signal, a first digital audio channel; a second analog- to-digital converter configured to generate, based on the amplified second analog audio signal, a second digital audio channel; and a controller configured to process one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel, and to send, via the second connection port, the first digital audio channel and the second digital audio channel as separate channels. However, in the same field of endeavor, Bazarjani et al disclose a device comprising a first analog-to- digital converter configured to generate, based on the amplified first analog audio signal, a first digital audio channel (Bazarjani et al; Fig 8; A/D converter 840a); a second analog-to-digital converter configured to generate, based on the amplified second analog audio signal, a second digital audio channel (Bazarjani et al; Fig 8; A/D converter 840b) and a controller configured to process one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel (Bazarjani et al; Para [0082]), and to send, via the second connection port, the first digital audio channel and the second digital audio channel as separate channels (Bazarjani et al; Fig 8; to send, via the second connection port- Mixed Data; Data_R and Data_L, the first digital audio channel and the second digital audio channel as separate channels). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the digital output selection taught by Bazarjani to control outputting for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to increase system performance while maintaining a minimal size and minimal cost (Bazarjani et al; Para [0020]).
Regarding claim 8, Rovere in view of Juszkiewicz disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the controller comprises a digital signal processor configured to process the one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel using at least one digital signal processing technique. However, in the same field of endeavor, Bazarjani et al disclose a device wherein the controller comprises a digital signal processor configured to process the one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel using at least one digital signal processing technique (Bazarjani et al; Para [0067][0082]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the digital output selection taught by Bazarjani to control outputting for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to increase system performance while maintaining a minimal size and minimal cost (Bazarjani et al; Para [0020]).
Regarding claim 11, Rovere disclose a method comprising: generating, based on sound received by a microphone element of a microphone, a first analog audio signal (Rovere; Fig 3; microphone 5); receiving, via a first connection port of the microphone, a second analog audio signal (Rovere; Fig 3; receive audio at first connection port 8); amplifying the first analog audio signal (Rovere; Fig 3; amplifier 4); amplifying the second analog audio signal (Rovere; Fig 3; amplifier 3); processing one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel (Rovere; Fig 3; controller 14 processes signals from 5 and 8); and sending, via a second connection port of the microphone, the first digital audio channel and the second digital audio channel as separate channels (Rovere; Fig 3; controller 14 send signals from 5 and 8 to output connector 7); but do not expressly disclose converting the amplified first analog audio signal to a first digital audio channel; converting the amplified first analog audio signal to a second digital audio channel; and processing one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel, and sending, via the second connection port, the first digital audio channel and the second digital audio channel as separate channels. However, in the same field of endeavor, Bazarjani et al disclose a method comprising converting the amplified first analog audio signal to a first digital audio channel (Bazarjani et al; Fig 8; A/D converter 840a); converting the amplified first analog audio signal to a second digital audio channel (Bazarjani et al; Fig 8; A/D converter 840b) and processing one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel (Bazarjani et al; Para [0082]), and sending, via the second connection port, the first digital audio channel and the second digital audio channel as separate channels (Bazarjani et al; Fig 8; to send, via the second connection port- Mixed Data; Data_R and Data_L, the first digital audio channel and the second digital audio channel as separate channels). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the digital output selection taught by Bazarjani to control outputting for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to increase system performance while maintaining a minimal size and minimal cost (Bazarjani et al; Para [0020]).
Regarding claim 17, Rovere in view of Juszkiewicz disclose the method of claim 11, but do not expressly disclose wherein the processing the one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel comprises performing at least one digital signal processing technique on the one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel. However, in the same field of endeavor, Bazarjani et al disclose a device wherein the controller comprises a digital signal processor configured to process the one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel using at least one digital signal processing technique (Bazarjani et al; Para [0067][0082]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the digital output selection taught by Bazarjani to control outputting for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to increase system performance while maintaining a minimal size and minimal cost (Bazarjani et al; Para [0020]).
Claim(s) 2-3, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rovere (FR2832899A1) in view of Bazarjani et al (US 2006/0034472 A1) and further in view of Smith (US 2020/0233632 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the first connection port comprises one or both of an XLR connector or a quarter-inch TRS connector, and wherein the second connection port comprises a universal serial bus (USB) connector. However, in the same field of endeavor, Smith discloses a device wherein the first connection port comprises one or both of an XLR connector or a quarter-inch TRS connector (Smith; Fig 4; XLR connector 104) and wherein the second connection port comprises a universal serial bus (USB) connector (Smith; Fig 4; USB connector 116). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector interface taught by Smith as connector interface for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a seamless communication with external devices (Smith; Para [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the first connection port comprises a combo jack that comprises an XLR connector and a quarter-inch TRS connector, wherein the second preamplifier is configured to receive an analog audio signal from the XLR connector, and wherein the microphone comprises a third preamplifier configured to receive an analog audio signal from the quarter-inch TRS connector. However, in the same field of endeavor, Smith discloses a device wherein the first connection port comprises a combo jack that comprises an XLR connector (Smith; Fig 4; XLR connector 104) and a quarter-inch TRS connector (Smith; Fig 4; connector 102), wherein the second preamplifier is configured to receive an analog audio signal from the XLR connector (Smith; Fig 4; amplifier 106), and wherein the microphone comprises a third preamplifier configured to receive an analog audio signal from the quarter-inch TRS connector (Smith; Fig 4; amplifier 106). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector interface taught by Smith as connector interface for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a seamless communication with external devices (Smith; Para [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al disclose the method of claim 11, but do not expressly disclose wherein the first connection port comprises one or both of an XLR connector or a quarter-inch TRS connector, and wherein the second connection port comprises a universal serial bus (USB) connector. However, in the same field of endeavor, Smith discloses a device wherein the first connection port comprises one or both of an XLR connector or a quarter-inch TRS connector (Smith; Fig 4; XLR connector 104) and wherein the second connection port comprises a universal serial bus (USB) connector (Smith; Fig 4; USB connector 116). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector interface taught by Smith as connector interface for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a seamless communication with external devices (Smith; Para [0005]).
Claim(s) 4-6, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rovere (FR2832899A1) in view of Bazarjani et al (US 2006/0034472 A1) and further in view of Moon (US2015/0078584 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the first connection port comprises a combo jack that comprises an XLR connector and a quarter-inch TRS connector, wherein the second preamplifier is configured to receive an analog audio signal from the quarter-inch TRS connector, and wherein the microphone comprises a third preamplifier configured to receive an analog audio signal from the XLR connector. However, in the same field of endeavor, Moon discloses a device wherein the first connection port comprises a combo jack that comprises an XLR connector and a quarter-inch TRS connector (Moon; Para [0037]) wherein the second preamplifier is configured to receive an analog audio signal from the quarter-inch TRS connector, and wherein the microphone comprises a third preamplifier configured to receive an analog audio signal from the XLR connector (Moon; Para [0037]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector interface taught by Moon as connector interface for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to provide reduces many long runs of cable to the main mixing console (Moon; Para [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the housing comprises a user interface configured to display at least one live audio meter, wherein the microphone is selectively operable in a first live audio meter mode and in a second live audio meter mode, and wherein: in the first live audio meter mode, the controller is configured to cause the user interface to display a first live audio meter associated with one or both of the first audio channel or the second audio channel, and in the second live audio meter mode, the controller is configured to cause the user interface to display a second live audio meter associated with the first audio channel and a third live audio meter associated with the second audio channel. However, in the same field of endeavor, Moon discloses a device wherein the housing comprises a user interface configured to display at least one live audio meter (Moon et al; Fig 4; Para [0040]), wherein the microphone is selectively operable in a first live audio meter mode and in a second live audio meter mode (Moon et al; Fig 4; Para [0040]; displaying audio meter for channel 1 to 8), and wherein: in the first live audio meter mode, the controller is configured to cause the user interface to display a first live audio meter associated with one or both of the first audio channel or the second audio channel (Moon et al; Fig 4; Para [0040]; rotary encoder 401 is used to select the channel for the audio meter for channel 1 to 8 for adjustment), and in the second live audio meter mode, the controller is configured to cause the user interface to display a second live audio meter associated with the first audio channel and a third live audio meter associated with the second audio channel (Moon et al; Fig 4; Para [0040]; rotary encoder 401 is used to select the channel for the audio meter for channel 1 to 8 for adjustment). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector interface taught by Moon as connector interface for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to provide reduces many long runs of cable to the main mixing console (Moon; Para [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al and further in view of Moon disclose the microphone of claim 4, but do not expressly disclose wherein the user interface comprises a sequence of light-emitting diodes, and wherein: in the first live audio meter mode, the controller is configured to cause the user interface to display the first live audio meter using the sequence of light-emitting diodes, and in the second live audio meter mode, the controller is configured to cause the user interface to display the second live audio meter using a first subset of the sequence of light-emitting diodes and the third live audio meter using a second subset, different from the first subset, of the sequence of light-emitting diodes. However, in the same field of endeavor, Moon discloses a device wherein the user interface comprises a sequence of light-emitting diodes (Moon et al; Fig 4; Para [0040]), and wherein: in the first live audio meter mode, the controller is configured to cause the user interface to display the first live audio meter using the sequence of light-emitting diodes (Moon et al; Fig 4; Para [0040]; display level meter for first channel), and in the second live audio meter mode, the controller is configured to cause the user interface to display the second live audio meter using a first subset of the sequence of light-emitting diodes and the third live audio meter using a second subset, different from the first subset, of the sequence of light-emitting diodes (Moon et al; Fig 4; Para [0040]; display level meter for second channel which has a different set of LED sequence to indicate level meter for second channel). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector interface taught by Moon as connector interface for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to provide reduces many long runs of cable to the main mixing console (Moon; Para [0037]).
Regarding claim 13, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al disclose the method of claim 11, but do not expressly disclose further comprising: operating a user interface of the microphone in a first live audio meter mode comprising displaying a first live audio meter associated with one or both of the first audio channel or the second audio channel, and operating the user interface to operate in a second live audio meter mode comprising displaying a second live audio meter associated with the first audio channel and a third live audio meter associated with the second audio channel. However, in the same field of endeavor, Moon discloses a device further comprising: operating a user interface of the microphone in a first live audio meter mode comprising displaying a first live audio meter associated with one or both of the first audio channel or the second audio channel (Moon et al; Fig 4; Para [0040]; displaying audio meter for channel 1 to 8), and operating the user interface to operate in a second live audio meter mode comprising displaying a second live audio meter associated with the first audio channel and a third live audio meter associated with the second audio channel (Moon et al; Fig 4; Para [0040]; rotary encoder 401 is used to select the channel for the audio meter for channel 1 to 8 for adjustment). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector interface taught by Moon as connector interface for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to provide reduces many long runs of cable to the main mixing console (Moon; Para [0037]).
Regarding claim 14, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al and further in view of Moon disclose the method of claim 13, but do not expressly disclose wherein the user interface comprises a sequence of light-emitting diodes, and wherein: the operating the user interface in the first live audio meter mode comprises displaying the first live audio meter using the sequence of light-emitting diodes, and the operating the user interface in the second live audio meter mode comprises displaying the second live audio meter using a first subset of the sequence of light-emitting diodes and the third live audio meter using a second subset, different from the first subset, of the sequence of light- emitting diodes. However, in the same field of endeavor, Moon discloses a device wherein the user interface comprises a sequence of light-emitting diodes (Moon et al; Fig 4; Para [0040]), and wherein: the operating the user interface in the first live audio meter mode comprises displaying the first live audio meter using the sequence of light- emitting diodes (Moon et al; Fig 4; Para [0040]; display level meter for first channel), and the operating the user interface in the second live audio meter mode comprises displaying the second live audio meter using a first subset of the sequence of light- emitting diodes and the third live audio meter using a second subset, different from the first subset, of the sequence of light- emitting diodes (Moon et al; Fig 4; Para [0040]; display level meter for second channel which has a different set of LED sequence to indicate level meter for second channel). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector interface taught by Moon as connector interface for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to provide reduces many long runs of cable to the main mixing console (Moon; Para [0037]).
Regarding claim 15, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al and further in view of Moon disclose the method of claim 13, but do not expressly disclose further comprising selecting the first live audio meter mode or the second live audio meter mode based on a signal received via the second connection port. However, in the same field of endeavor, Moon discloses a device further comprising selecting the first live audio meter mode or the second live audio meter mode based on a signal received via the second connection port (Moon et al; Fig 4; Para [0043]; inputted audio is selected for audio channel). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the connector interface taught by Moon as connector interface for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to provide reduces many long runs of cable to the main mixing console (Moon; Para [0037]).
Claim(s) 7, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rovere (FR2832899A1) in view of Bazarjani et al (US 2006/0034472 A1) and further in view of Hagiwara et al (US 2011/0075864 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the housing comprises a user interface, and wherein the controller is configured to cause the user interface to display information using a color theme that is selected based on a signal received via the second connection port. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hagiwara et al disclose a device wherein the housing comprises a user interface (Hagiwara et al; Fig. 2; input port 17 received audio signals; Para [0035][0042]), and wherein the controller is configured to cause the user interface to display information using a color theme that is selected based on a signal received via the second connection port (Hagiwara et al; Para [0108][0110]; displaying using color information audio received at audio input connector). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the interface taught by Hagiwara as interface for the audio attributes taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to easily and reliably make the setting for removing or attenuating an audio signal supplied from a specific input channel (Hagiwara et al; Para [0015]).
Regarding claim 16, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al disclose the method of claim 11, but do not expressly disclose further comprising: receiving a signal via the second connection port; and displaying, by a user interface of the microphone, information using a color theme that is selected based on the signal received via the second connection port. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hagiwara et al disclose a further comprising: receiving a signal via the second connection port (Hagiwara et al; Fig 2; input port 17 received audio signals; Para [0035][0042]), and displaying, by a user interface of the microphone, information using a color theme that is selected based on the signal received via the second connection port (Hagiwara et al; Para [0108][0110]; displaying using color information audio received at audio input connector). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the interface taught by Hagiwara as interface for the audio attributes taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to easily and reliably make the setting for removing or attenuating an audio signal supplied from a specific input channel (Hagiwara et al; Para [0015]).
Claim(s) 9, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rovere (FR2832899A1) in view of Bazarjani et al (US 2006/0034472 A1) and further in view of Gudiksen (US 2014/0341390 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the first digital audio channel comprises a first channel identifier and the second digital audio channel comprises a second channel identifier. However, in the same field of endeavor, Gudiksen discloses a device wherein the first digital audio channel comprises a first channel identifier and the second digital audio channel comprises a second channel identifier (Gudiksen; Para [0102]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the track identifier taught by Gudiksen as audio attributes in the device taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to prolong battery life (Gudiksen; Para [0005]).
Regarding claim 18, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al disclose the method of claim 11, but do not expressly disclose further comprising adding, prior to the sending, a first channel identifier to the first digital audio channel and a second channel identifier to the second digital audio channel. However, in the same field of endeavor, Gudiksen discloses a device further comprising adding, prior to the sending, a first channel identifier to the first digital audio channel and a second channel identifier to the second digital audio channel (Gudiksen; Para [0102]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the track identifier taught by Gudiksen as audio attributes in the device taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to prolong battery life (Gudiksen; Para [0005]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rovere (FR2832899A1) in view of Bazarjani et al (US 2006/0034472 A1) and further in view of Lambert et al (US 2018/0039585 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al disclose the microphone of claim 1, but do not expressly disclose further comprising a 3.5mm TRRS connector; and a coder-decoder (CODEC) configured to decode one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel into analog audio directed to the connector. However, in the same field of endeavor, Juszkiewicz discloses a device further comprising and a coder-decoder (CODEC) configured to decode one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel into analog audio directed to the connector (Juszkiewicz; Fig 1; codec 41 and 48 direct analog audio to connectors 49 and 51). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the converter taught by Juszkiewicz to convert the analog audio signals for the audio signals taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to communicate with external devices (Juszkiewicz; Para [0023]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Lambert et al disclose a device further comprising a 3.5mm TRRS connector as output connector (Lambert et al; Fig 2; output connector 19b). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the output connector taught by Lambert as output connector in the device taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to provide suitable communication protocol (Lambert et al; Para [0033]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rovere (FR2832899A1) in view of Bazarjani et al (US 2006/0034472 A1) and further in view of Wang (US 2019/0159001 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al disclose the method of claim 11, but do not expressly disclose further comprising: decoding one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel into decoded analog audio; and sending the decoded analog audio to a 3.5mm TRRS connector of the microphone. However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a device further comprising: decoding one or both of the first digital audio channel or the second digital audio channel into decoded analog audio (Wang; Fig 2; analog converter 22; Para [0049]); and sending the decoded analog audio to a 3.5mm TRRS connector of the microphone (Wang; Para [0041] Fig 2; sending decoded analog audio to stereo jack). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio output taught by Wang as audio output in the device taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to provide high quality bidirectional full duplex audio (Wang; Para [0005]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rovere (FR2832899A1) in view of Bazarjani et al (US 2006/0034472 A1) and further in view of Merrey et al (US 2007/0223722 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Rovere in view of Bazarjani et al disclose the method of claim 11, but do not expressly disclose further comprising: receiving, via a third connection port of the microphone, a third analog audio signal (Rovere; Fig 3; receives audio via port 6); amplifying the third analog audio signal (Rovere; Fig 3; amplifying third audio signal at amplifier 2); and sending, via the second connection port of the microphone, the third digital audio channel as a channel separate from the first digital audio channel and the second digital audio channel (Rovere; Fig 3; sending via port 7 audio from channel with amplifier 2); but do not expressly disclose converting the amplified third analog audio signal to a third digital audio channel; processing the third digital audio channel. However, in the same field of endeavor, Merrey et al disclose a device further comprising: converting the amplified third analog audio signal to a third digital audio channel (Merrey et al; Fig 2; ADC 37a); processing the third digital audio channel (Merrey et al; Fig 2; DSP 27 processes digital audio channel). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio converter taught by Merrey as audio converter in the device taught by Rovere. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce the complexity of the microphone system (Merrey et al; Para [0005]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUASSI A GANMAVO/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692