DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Lee” (US 20200266519)
Claim 1: Lee discloses a die module, comprising:
a die 664 (Fig. 6D) with a first (bottom) surface and a second (top) surface;
a first pad 655 on the second surface of the die;
a film layer 634 over the second surface of the die and the first pad; and
an antenna module (604, 615, 625) over the dielectric layer, wherein the antenna module comprises a second pad 625 that is aligned over the first pad.
Lee fails to expressly teach the film layer as a dielectric layer.
However, a skilled artisan would appreciate that Lee’s film layer may function as a dielectric layer or may be substituted by a dielectric layer, to provide structural support and facilitate antenna functionality.
Nevertheless, Lee teaches in ¶ 134, “According to various embodiments, by the film layer 634, the flexible printed circuit board 604 may be uniformly spaced apart for a predetermined first length from the wireless communication chip 664. For example, the first length may be determined based on a wavelength of radio waves being radiated through the first antenna 615 or a coupling method.”
Lee further teaches in ¶ 135, “According to an embodiment, because a space is formed between the flexible printed circuit board 604 and the wireless communication chip 664, the flexible printed circuit board 604 and the wireless communication chip 664 may be separated from each other. According to various embodiments, as a feeding method from the second feeding pad 655 to the first feeding pad 625, a capacitive coupling, inductive coupling, or resonant coupling method may be used.”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute Lee’s film layer with a dielectric layer, in order to effectively separate the antenna module form the die, provide structural support therebetween, and facilitate wireless communication.
Claims 2, 6 and 11: Lee teaches the die module of claim 1, wherein the first pad is configured to be capacitively coupled to the second pad (¶ 135)
wherein the antenna module comprises a patch antenna 615 (Fig. 6D);
further comprising: a second antenna module 613 (Fig. 6B) communicatively coupled to the die 662 through capacitive coupling (¶ 125).
Claims 3-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (cited above) in view of “Kim” (US 10985451).
Claim 3: Lee fails to expressly teach wherein the dielectric layer has a thickness that is approximately 10 µm or less.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCP A 1980).
Nevertheless, Kim discloses a dielectric layer 140a (Fig. 2) and teaches “Due to a length of the feed via 120a and the thickness of the dielectric layer 140a, a boundary condition for transmission and reception operation of the RF signal of the plurality of antenna members 115a may be freely designed, and an unnecessary boundary condition (e.g., an interlayer interval, an interlayer implant, or the like) may be removed. Accordingly, since the feed vias 120a and the dielectric layer 140a may provide the boundary conditions (e.g., a small manufacturing tolerance, a short electrical length, a smooth surface, a large margin space, a dielectric constant adjustment, and the like) advantageous in the transmission and reception operation of the RF signal of the plurality of antenna members 115a, antenna performance of the plurality of antenna members 115a may be improved.” (Col. 6, ll. 43-56)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to design Lee’s dielectric layer to have a thickness that is approximately 10 µm or less, in order to improve antenna performance by using a desired dielectric layer thickness and effectively miniaturize the die module.
Claims 4-5: Lee is silent regarding wherein the dielectric layer is an epoxy material;
wherein the epoxy material is a dielectric glue.
Kim discloses a dielectric layer 140a (Fig. 2) and teaches “Due to a length of the feed via 120a and the thickness of the dielectric layer 140a, a boundary condition for transmission and reception operation of the RF signal of the plurality of antenna members 115a may be freely designed, and an unnecessary boundary condition (…) may be removed. Accordingly, since the feed vias 120a and the dielectric layer 140a may provide the boundary conditions (…) advantageous in the transmission and reception operation of the RF signal of the plurality of antenna members 115a, antenna performance of the plurality of antenna members 115a may be improved.” (Col. 6, ll. 43-56)
Kim further teaches “The dielectric layer 140a may be formed of a thermosetting resin such as an epoxy resin, a thermoplastic resin such as a polyimide resin, a resin in which the thermosetting resin or the thermoplastic resin is impregnated together with an inorganic filler in a core material such as a glass fiber (or a glass cloth or a glass fabric), for example, prepreg, Ajinomoto Build up Film (ABF), FR-4, Bismaleimide Triazine (BT), or the like, and may be formed of a photo imagable dielectric (PID) resin depending on a design.” (Col. 6, ll. 57-65)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee’s invention such that the dielectric layer is an epoxy material, wherein the epoxy material is a dielectric glue, in order to improve antenna performance by using a desired dielectric material.
Claims 7-8: Lee fails to expressly teach wherein the antenna module comprises a glass substrate;
wherein a redistribution layer is provided over the glass substrate, and wherein an antenna is provided in the redistribution layer.
Kim discloses wherein the antenna module comprises a glass substrate 140a (Fig. 2);
wherein a redistribution layer 120a is provided over the glass substrate, and wherein an antenna 115 is provided in the redistribution layer (see Fig. 2).
Kim teaches “Due to a length of the feed via 120a and the thickness of the dielectric layer 140a, a boundary condition for transmission and reception operation of the RF signal of the plurality of antenna members 115a may be freely designed, and an unnecessary boundary condition (e.g., …) may be removed. Accordingly, since the feed vias 120a and the dielectric layer 140a may provide the boundary conditions (e.g., …) advantageous in the transmission and reception operation of the RF signal of the plurality of antenna members 115a, antenna performance of the plurality of antenna members 115a may be improved.” (Col. 6, ll. 43-56)
Kim further teaches “The dielectric layer 140a may be formed of a thermosetting resin such as an epoxy resin, a thermoplastic resin such as a polyimide resin, a resin in which the thermosetting resin or the thermoplastic resin is impregnated together with an inorganic filler in a core material such as a glass fiber (or a glass cloth or a glass fabric), for example, prepreg, Ajinomoto Build up Film (ABF), FR-4, Bismaleimide Triazine (BT), or the like, and may be formed of a photo imagable dielectric (PID) resin depending on a design.” (Col. 6, ll. 57-65)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee’s invention such that the antenna module comprises a glass substrate, wherein a redistribution layer is provided over the glass substrate, and wherein an antenna is provided in the redistribution layer, in order to use a desired substrate material to improve antenna performance.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (cited above) in view of “Nair” (US 11128029).
Claim 9: Lee teaches wherein the die comprises a radio frequency (RF) portion (¶¶ 239-241).
Lee fails to expressly teach the die comprises a digital portion.
Nair discloses the die 302 (Fig. 3) comprises a digital portion.
Nair teaches “The chips 302 and 304 can include digital and/or analog components, memory, a central processing unit (CPU), and/or a radio (e.g., receive and/or transmit radio), among others. The chips 302 and 304 can be electrically coupled to each other through the interconnects 312, through one or more pads 318, 320, and 324, and an electrical adhesive 322. The interconnects 312 can be used for providing power or other signals (e.g., signals generated external to the chips 302 and 304) to the chips 302 and 304. The interconnects 312 can be used for communicating higher power signals between the chips 302 and 304.” (Col. 4, first para.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee’s invention such that the die comprises a digital portion, in order to facilitate reception and/or transmission of radio signals.
Claim 10: Lee teaches wherein the die 664 (inherently) comprises an RF portion (by virtue of being a “wireless communication chip”, as per ¶¶ 133-134).
Lee fails to expressly teach wherein the die is coupled to a second die with solder interconnects.
Nair discloses wherein the die 302 (Fig. 3) is coupled to a second die 304 with solder interconnects 322 (col. 3, ll. 52-63).
Nair teaches “The chips 302 and 304 can include digital and/or analog components, memory, a central processing unit (CPU), and/or a radio (e.g., receive and/or transmit radio), among others. The chips 302 and 304 can be electrically coupled to each other through the interconnects 312, through one or more pads 318, 320, and 324, and an electrical adhesive 322. The interconnects 312 can be used for providing power or other signals (e.g., signals generated external to the chips 302 and 304) to the chips 302 and 304. The interconnects 312 can be used for communicating higher power signals between the chips 302 and 304.” (Col. 4, first para.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee’s invention such that wherein the die is coupled to a second die with solder interconnects, in order to communicate power signals between multiple dies for communication diversity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jin (US 9923261)
Hu (US 11876291)
/HASAN ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845