Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the portion of the marker member" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KISHIDA (JP 2011-010787).
Regarding claim 1, KISHIDA teaches a catheter (21) comprising: a tubular body (1) having a lumen (as shown in Fig. 4-5); a reinforcing body (3) provided on an outer periphery of the tubular body (as shown in Fig. 4-5); and a radiopaque marker member (4) disposed on the reinforcing body along a circumferential direction of the reinforcing body (as shown in Fig. 4-5; abstract; para. 0031), wherein in a longitudinal axis direction of the tubular body, a distal end of the reinforcing body is positioned at a same site as a distal end of the marker member (as shown in Fig. 4 below), and a distal end portion of the marker member is joined to the reinforcing body (by notch/cutout/hole 7 that is filled with melted material, or adhesive; para. 0022; 0041-0043), and a portion of the marker member other than the distal end portion of the marker member is not joined to the reinforcing body (para. 0022; 0041-0043; as shown in Fig. 3-4, the joining portion is only by the notch/cutout/hole 7; in the top portion of the marker member 4, the notch/cutout/hole 7 is located at the distal end of the marker member).
[AltContent: textbox (Distal end of marker body (same applies to the top portion of the cross-section))][AltContent: textbox (Distal end of reinforcing body (same applies to the top portion of the cross-section) )][AltContent: textbox (Same site)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ]
Regarding claim 3, KISHIDA teaches the catheter according to claim 1, wherein the reinforcing body is a braided body that is braided using a wire (para. 0027).
Regarding claim 4, KISHIDA teaches the catheter according to claim 1, wherein the distal end portion of the marker member that is joined to the reinforcing body extends for a first dimension in the longitudinal axis direction of the tubular body that is smaller than a second dimension for which the portion of the marker member other than the distal end portion extends in the longitudinal axis direction of the tubular body (as shown in Fig. 3-4, the joining portion is only by the notch/cutout/hole 7 which is smaller than the rest of the marker member).
Regarding claim 5, KISHIDA teaches the catheter according to claim 1, wherein the portion of the marker member other than the distal end portion is either in contact with the reinforcing body or spaced apart from the reinforcing body (as shown in Fig. 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KISHIDA (JP 2011-010787).
Regarding claim 6, KISHIDA teaches a production method of a catheter (21) provided with a tubular body (1) having a lumen (as shown in Fig. 4-5), a reinforcing body (3) provided on an outer periphery of the tubular body (as shown in Fig. 4-5), and a radiopaque marker member (4) disposed on the reinforcing body along a circumferential direction of the reinforcing body (as shown in Fig. 4-5; abstract; para. 0031), the method comprising: disposing, in a longitudinal axis direction of the tubular body, a distal end of the reinforcing body and a distal end of the marker member at a distal end side of the tubular body (as shown in Fig. 3-4), and a distal end portion of the marker member is joined to the reinforcing body (by notch/cutout/hole 7 that is filled with melted material; para. 0022; 0041-0043; in the top portion of the marker member 4, the notch/cutout/hole 7 is located at the distal end of the marker member); and welding a contact portion formed by the reinforcing body and the distal end portion of the marker member without applying a mechanical external force to the contact portion (as shown in Fig. 4-5; para. 0022; 0041-0043), and without welding a portion of the marker member other than the distal end portion of the marker member (para. 0022; 0041-0043; as shown in Fig. 3-4, the joining portion is only by the notch/cutout/hole 7; in the top portion of the marker member 4, the notch/cutout/hole 7 is located at the distal end of the marker member).
KISHIDA fails to disclose disposing, in a longitudinal axis direction of the tubular body, the distal end of the reinforcing body at a site further toward the distal end side of the tubular body than the distal end of the marker member.
However, it will be an obvious matter of design choice to provide the distal end of the reinforcing body at a site further toward the distal end side of the tubular body than the distal end of the marker member, since the applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the positioning of the distal end of the reinforcing body and the distal end of the marker member with respect to the distal end side of the tubular body of KISHIDA.
Regarding claim 7, KISHIDA teaches the production method according to claim 6, wherein at the same time as welding the contact portion by heating, a site of the reinforcing body further toward the distal end side of the tubular body than the distal end of the marker member is detached from the contact portion (when viewed as modified by design choice; para. 0022; 0041-0043; as shown in Fig. 3-4, the joining portion is only by the notch/cutout/hole 7; in the top portion of the marker member 4, the notch/cutout/hole 7 is located at the distal end of the marker member).
Regarding claim 8, KISHIDA teaches the production method according to claim 6, wherein heating of the contact portion during welding is performed by irradiation of laser light (para. 0022; 0041-0043).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that “In rejecting claim 2, the Office Action indicates that the distal end of alleged reinforcing body 3 is located as the same site as the distal end of the alleged marker member 4. However, it is clearly shown in each of the figures of Kishida (e.g., Figure 4) that the distal end of the alleged marker member 4 is disposed further toward the distal end side of the tubular body (1 and 2) than the distal end of alleged reinforcing body 3 (see arrow annotations on Figure 4 of Kishida below). In other words, the distal end of the alleged reinforcing body 3 is not located as the same site as the distal end of the alleged marker member 4.” on remarks page 4, lines 19-24 and page 5, lines 1-2. In response to Applicant’s arguments, KISHIDA teaches wherein in a longitudinal axis direction of the tubular body, a distal end of the reinforcing body is positioned at a same site as a distal end of the marker member (as shown in Fig. 4 above).
Regarding claim 6, Applicant argues that “In rejecting claim 7, the Office Action does not address claim 7 because "this limitation does not apply as it is an alternative" (Office Action, page 7). The features of claim 7 are now incorporated into claim 6 and are not recited as an alternative. The cited art is deficient because the opposite arrangement is disclosed by Kishida. Specifically, as shown in Figure 4 of Kishida, the distal end of the alleged marker member 4 is disposed further toward the distal end side of the tubular body (1 and 2) than the distal end of alleged reinforcing body 3.” on remarks page 5, lines 5-11. In response to Applicant’s arguments, KISHIDA fails to disclose disposing, in a longitudinal axis direction of the tubular body, the distal end of the reinforcing body at a site further toward the distal end side of the tubular body than the distal end of the marker member. However, it will be an obvious matter of design choice to provide the distal end of the reinforcing body at a site further toward the distal end side of the tubular body than the distal end of the marker member, since the applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the positioning of the distal end of the reinforcing body and the distal end of the marker member with respect to the distal end side of the tubular body of KISHIDA.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALBA T ROSARIO-APONTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 08/05/2026
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761