DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 104485490 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches an online monitoring system for a soft pack polymer lithium battery pack, which consist of several battery units [0028]. The monitoring system mainly consists of multiple uniformly distributed resistance strain sensors (1) pasted on the surface of each polymer lithium battery and a temperature sensor (2) pasted in the central area of the surface of each lithium battery [0028 and Fig. 1]. Together, the resistance strain sensors (1) and the temperature sensor (2), can be considered the “sensing part”. It is further taught that a computer information processing unit (3) connected to the resistance strain sensors (1) and the temperature sensor (2) respectively and collects the deformation and temperature information of the polymer lithium battery [0028 and 0032]. When the deformation or temperature information of the polymer lithium battery exceeds the normal operating range, the computer information processing unit (3) alarms and determines the status of the lithium battery based on the deformation and temperature information of the polymer lithium battery [0034]. The electrical connection between the computer information processing unit (3) (alarm unit) and the “sensing part” is reasonably inferred.
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. The “sensing part” discussed for claim 1 includes a temperature sensor (2), which can “generate a temperature monitoring signal corresponding to a temperature of the at least one battery” [0028, 0032 and Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Li further teaches that its computer information processing unit (3) (alarm unit) first assigns a number to the polymer lithium battery to which each resistance strain sensor (1) and temperature sensor (2) (sensing part) belongs and stores this number and the location information of the resistance strain sensor (1) and temperature sensor (2) (sensing part) for later use [0031 and Fig. 1]. The computer information processing unit (3) (alarm unit) groups the deformation and temperature information of the polymer lithium battery according to the pre-stored polymer lithium battery number and sensor location information of each sensor [0033]. The computer information processing unit (3) (alarm unit) determines the working status of the polymer lithium battery based on the deformation and temperature information of the grouped polymer lithium battery [0034]. From the above description the limitation where the “battery assembly comprises multiple batteries and multiple sensing parts, wherein each of the multiple sensing parts is electrically connected to the alarm module independently, and the alarm module is further configured to record a position of each of the multiple sensing parts and determine a position of a deformed battery among the multiple batteries” is met.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 104485490 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches an online monitoring system for polymer lithium battery packs [0028 and Fig. 1]. The monitoring system has resistance strain sensor (1) and temperature sensor (2) attached to polymer lithium batteries, which transmits the deformation and temperature information to a computer information processing unit (3) [0031 and 0032]. When the deformation or temperature information of the polymer lithium battery exceeds the normal operating range, the computer information processing unit (3) alarms and determines the status of the lithium battery based on the deformation and temperature information of the polymer lithium battery [0034].
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 17. Li further teaches that its computer information processing unit (3) first assigns a number to the polymer lithium battery to which each resistance strain sensor (1) and temperature sensor (2) belongs and stores this number and the location information of the resistance strain sensor (1) and temperature sensor (2) for later use [0031 and Fig. 1]. The computer information processing unit (3) groups the deformation and temperature information of the polymer lithium battery according to the pre-stored polymer lithium battery number and sensor location information of each sensor [0033]. The computer information processing unit (3) determines the working status of the polymer lithium battery based on the deformation and temperature information of the grouped polymer lithium battery [0034]. From the above description the limitation “determining a position of a deformed battery among the multiple adjacent batteries” can be met.
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 17. From the discussion of claim 17 and because Fig. 1, shows at least two batteries, the limitation “generating a temperature monitoring signal corresponding to a temperature of the at least two of the multiple batteries” is met.
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 17. Li further teaches that the computer information processing unit (3) determines the working status of the polymer lithium battery based on the deformation and temperature information of the grouped polymer lithium battery. When the deformation or temperature information of the polymer lithium battery exceeds the normal operating range, the computer information processing unit (3) alarms and determines the status of the lithium battery based on the deformation and temperature information of the polymer lithium battery [0034].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 104485490 A, see machine translation for citation) as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Qin, W.(CN 112234264 A, see machine translation for citation) and Ahn et al. (KR 20210033647 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 4 and 7, Li teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 3, except “wherein each of the multiple batteries and each of the multiple sensing parts is sheet shaped, and at least one of the multiple batteries is alternated with one of the multiple sensing parts” (claim 4) and “wherein each of the multiple batteries is cylindrical shaped, each of the multiple sensing parts comprises a flat surface or a curved surface, and each of the multiple sensing parts is between two of the multiple batteries” (claim 7).
Qin teaches about lithium polymer batteries (same field of endeavor of Li) that these kind of batteries has the ability to be processed into any shape, having the advantage of being lightweight, flexible and ultra-thin [0073].
Ahn teaches a battery abnormality and deterioration monitoring system [Abstract]. The system may comprise a temperature sensor and a strain sensor which may be formed into a single or separate sheet to monitor their respective parameters [0055 and Fig. 11]. The battery monitoring system of Ahn is analogous to the one of Li. Both sensors can be installed on a surface of a battery [claims 1 and 9]. It is taught that by employing the described system it is possible to accurately detect the temperature change and the physical deformation of the battery and to monitor abnormal symptoms or deterioration of the battery in advance [0027-0028].
From Qin and Ahn description if the soft pack polymer lithium batteries of Li are shaped into sheets and the resistance strain sensors (1) of Li are modified to be shaped into sheets and they are placed on an outer battery surface that lies between two sheet shaped batteries, the feature “wherein each of the multiple batteries and each of the multiple sensing parts is sheet shaped, and at least one of the multiple batteries is alternated with one of the multiple sensing parts” (claim 4) is met. From this same description and because the feature “any shape” taught by Qin covers the cylindrical shape, the feature “wherein each of the multiple batteries is cylindrical shaped, each of the multiple sensing parts comprises a flat surface or a curved surface, and each of the multiple sensing parts is between two of the multiple batteries” (claim 7) can be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery assembly of Li to include the feature “wherein each of the multiple batteries and each of the multiple sensing parts is sheet shaped, and at least one of the multiple batteries is alternated with one of the multiple sensing parts” (claim 4) and “wherein each of the multiple batteries is cylindrical shaped, each of the multiple sensing parts comprises a flat surface or a curved surface, and each of the multiple sensing parts is between two of the multiple batteries” (claim 7), because Qin teaches that polymer lithium batteries has the ability to be processed into any shape, having the advantage of being lightweight, flexible and ultra-thin and Ahn teaches that by employing a monitoring system with the referred sheet features, it is possible to accurately detect the temperature change and the physical deformation of the battery and to monitor abnormal symptoms or deterioration of the battery in advance.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 104485490 A, see machine translation for citation) as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Qin, W.(CN 112234264 A, see machine translation for citation), Intano et al. (Thermal investigation of cell arrangements for cylindrical battery with forced air-cooling strategy. Journal of Research and Applications in Mechanical Engineering 8.1 (2020): 11-21, see NPL document for citation) and Wang et al. (CN 111649784 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 3, except “wherein each of the multiple batteries and each of the multiple sensing parts is cylindrical shaped, the multiple batteries are arranged in an array of rows and columns, and one of the multiple sensing parts is at an intersection of two adjacent rows and two adjacent columns of the array of the multiple batteries”.
Qin teaches about lithium polymer batteries (same field of endeavor of Li) that these kind of batteries has the ability to be processed into any shape, having the advantage of being lightweight, flexible and ultra-thin [0073]. From Qin teachings the lithium polymer batteries taught by Li can be shaped into cylinder form.
Regarding the “the multiple batteries are arranged in an array of rows and columns” feature, Intano teaches that the cell arrangement is one of the most crucial rules for designing an efficient cooling system of the lithium-ion battery pack (same field of endeavor of Li) in electric vehicles [Abstract]. It was found that the aligned arrangement of cylindrical cells (columns and rows) had a better cooling effectiveness and temperature uniformity, compared to a staggered configuration [p. 17; par. 2].
Wang teaches a structural monitoring method and system based on a linear sensor, which can accurately locate the specific position of the strained part on the target structure and provide the range of the deformation area [0009]. In one implementation, a linear sensor comprising multiple linear monitoring elements is used to sense strain, displacement, temperature, or vibration of a target structure. First, the linear sensors are arranged in a mesh within or on the surface of the target structure. After arrangement, the position information of the feature points of the linear sensors is acquired [0040]. Despite that the invention of Wang is applied to buildings, its monitoring system is on the same field of endeavor of Li, because it is capable of sense diverse parameters and acquire information regarding the deformation and position of the employed sensors (target structure by default). Because the linear sensors can be arranged in a mesh within or on the surface of the target structure, it can be shaped into a cylindrical form. Wang teaches that its monitoring system provides an accurate display the overall deformation of the structure, providing a reliable basis for judging the safety status of the structure [0009 and 0040].
If these linear sensors taught by Wang are arranged on the surface of the cylindrical shaped polymer Li batteries of Li and these battery/sensor arrangements are placed in a rows and columns configuration, the feature “one of the multiple sensing parts is at an intersection of two adjacent rows and two adjacent columns of the array of the multiple batteries” can be achieved.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery assembly of Li to include the feature “wherein each of the multiple batteries and each of the multiple sensing parts is cylindrical shaped, the multiple batteries are arranged in an array of rows and columns, and one of the multiple sensing parts is at an intersection of two adjacent rows and two adjacent columns of the array of the multiple batteries”, because Qin teaches that the lithium polymer batteries has the ability to be processed into any shape, having the advantage of being lightweight, flexible and ultra-thin; Intano teaches that the aligned arrangement of cylindrical cells (columns and rows) had a better cooling effectiveness and temperature uniformity, compared to a staggered configuration; and Wang teaches that a monitoring system with the claimed features provides an accurate display the overall deformation of the structure, providing a reliable basis for judging the safety status of the structure.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 104485490 A, see machine translation for citation) as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Rabbers, J. and Schricker, B. (EP 3054523 A1, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 3, except “wherein each of the multiple sensing parts is a mesh with a plurality of holes, and each of the plurality of holes is configured to receive at least one of the multiple batteries”.
Rabbers and Schricker teaches a storage device (10) having a plurality of energy storage cells (12), which comprises a cell housing (14) [0035]. The storage device (10) further comprises sensors (18) arranged on the respective cell housing (14) and get deformed when the respective cell housing (14) is deformed, from which excessive deformations and in particular an opening of the respective cell housing (14) can be detected [0042]. On a second embodiment, the storage device (10) comprises sensors (18) which extends completely around the respective cell housing (14) in the circumferential direction of the cell housing (14) [0043 and Fig. 2]. Despite that the shown cells on Fig. 2 are cylindrical, it is taught that the second embodiment can be used in particular for memory cells which are designed as so-called pouch cells [0043]. Because of the descriptions above the battery assembly and monitoring system of Rabbers and Schricker is on the same field of endeavor of Li. The sensors (18) are electrically connected to respective connecting lines (20) and are electrically connected in series to one another via the connecting lines (20) [0040]. From the above descriptions and because a plurality of batteries can be present, the sensor (18) arrangement of Rabbers and Schricker can be considered a “mesh with a plurality of holes, where each of the plurality of holes is configured to receive at least one of the multiple batteries”. It is taught that with the monitoring system described above at least, an undesired opening of the cell housing can be detected by means of the sensor. As a result, it is possible to take protective measures at an early stage in order to prevent any subsequent damage resulting from the deformation or opening of the storage cell or to keep it small in its extent [0011].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery assembly of Li to include the feature “wherein each of the multiple sensing parts is a mesh with a plurality of holes, and each of the plurality of holes is configured to receive at least one of the multiple batteries”, because Rabbers and Schricker teach that with the monitoring system described above at least, an undesired opening of the cell housing can be detected by means of the sensor. As a result, it is possible to take protective measures at an early stage in order to prevent any subsequent damage resulting from the deformation or opening of the storage cell or to keep it small in its extent.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 104485490 A, see machine translation for citation) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Qin, W.(CN 112234264 A, see machine translation for citation) and Ahn et al. (KR 20210033647 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Li teaches that its monitoring system is capable of obtain information of individual polymer lithium batteries within a battery pack [0019]. From this description it would be reasonable to say that this system can be applied to a single battery. Li does not teach the feature “wherein a number of the at least one sensing part is one, the battery is sheet shaped and the sensing part is a non-porous continuous layer, or the sensing part is mesh shaped”.
Qin teaches about lithium polymer batteries (same field of endeavor of Li) that these kind of batteries has the ability to be processed into any shape, having the advantage of being lightweight, flexible and ultra-thin [0073].
Ahn teaches a battery abnormality and deterioration monitoring system [Abstract]. The system may comprise a temperature sensor and a strain sensor which may be formed into a single or separate sheet to monitor their respective parameters [0055 and Fig. 11]. The battery monitoring system of Ahn is analogous to the one of Li. Both sensors can be installed on a surface of a battery [claims 1 and 9]. The sheet temperature and/or strain sensors taught by Ahn can be inferred to be non-porous and continuous from Fig. 1, 9 and 10. It is taught that by employing the described system it is possible to accurately detect the temperature change and the physical deformation of the battery and to monitor abnormal symptoms or deterioration of the battery in advance [0027-0028].
From Qin and Ahn description, it is possible to modify the battery assembly of Li to have a single sheet shaped polymer lithium battery, where the single “sensing part is a non-porous continuous layer”.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery assembly of Li to include the feature “wherein a number of the at least one sensing part is one, the battery is sheet shaped and the sensing part is a non-porous continuous layer, or the sensing part is mesh shaped”, because Qin teaches that polymer lithium batteries has the ability to be processed into any shape, having the advantage of being lightweight, flexible and ultra-thin and Ahn teaches that by employing a monitoring system with the referred sheet features, it is possible to accurately detect the temperature change and the physical deformation of the battery and to monitor abnormal symptoms or deterioration of the battery in advance.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 104485490 A, see machine translation for citation) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Qin, W. (CN 112234264 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Li teaches that its monitoring system is capable of obtain information of individual polymer lithium batteries within a battery pack [0019]. From this description it would be reasonable to say that this system can be applied to a single battery. The features “wherein a number of the at least one sensing part is greater than one and wherein each of the at least one sensing part is electrically connected to the alarm module independently” were discussed for claim 1. From Fig. 1 can be observed that the resistance strain sensors (1) (sensing part) are disposed separated from each other. This separation can be considered the “insulation feature”.
Li further teaches that its computer information processing unit (3) (alarm unit) first assigns a number to the polymer lithium battery to which each resistance strain sensor (1) and temperature sensor (2) (sensing part) belongs and stores this number and the location information of the resistance strain sensor (1) and temperature sensor (2) (sensing part) for later use [0031 and Fig. 1]. The computer information processing unit (3) (alarm unit) groups the deformation and temperature information of the polymer lithium battery according to the pre-stored polymer lithium battery number and sensor location information of each sensor [0033]. The computer information processing unit (3) (alarm unit) determines the working status of the polymer lithium battery based on the deformation and temperature information of the grouped polymer lithium battery [0034]. From this description the feature “the alarm module is further configured to record a position of each of the at least one sensing part and determine a deformation region of the battery” is met.
Li does not teach the feature where “the battery is sheet shaped”.
Qin teaches about lithium polymer batteries (same field of endeavor of Li) that these kind of batteries has the ability to be processed into any shape, having the advantage of being lightweight, flexible and ultra-thin [0073]. From this description is possible to modify the polymer lithium batteries of Li to be sheet shaped.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery assembly of Li to include the feature where “the battery is sheet shaped”, because Qin teaches that polymer lithium batteries has the ability to be processed into any shape, having the advantage of being lightweight, flexible and ultra-thin.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 104485490 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Dasgupta et al. (US 20020145404 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches an online monitoring system for a polymer lithium battery pack (assembly), which consist of several battery units [0028 and Fig. 1]. The monitoring system mainly consists of multiple uniformly distributed resistance strain sensors (1) pasted on the surface of each polymer lithium battery and a temperature sensor (2) pasted in the central area of the surface of each lithium battery [0028 and Fig. 1]. From Fig. 1, the resistance strain sensors (1) are between “at least two of the multiple batteries”. It is further taught that a computer information processing unit (3) connected to the resistance strain sensors (1) and the temperature sensor (2) respectively and collects the deformation and temperature information of the polymer lithium battery (at least two) [0028 and 0032]. When the deformation or temperature information of the polymer lithium battery exceeds the normal operating range, the computer information processing unit (3) alarms and determines the status of the lithium battery based on the deformation and temperature information of the polymer lithium battery (at least two) [0034]. The electrical connection between the computer information processing unit (3) (alarm unit) and the “sensing part” is reasonably inferred.
Li teaches that its invention can monitor the working status of multiple batteries and promptly report and handle lithium batteries with malfunctioning working status, avoiding power system shutdowns and maintenance disruptions caused by battery damage. Compared with traditional lithium battery testing methods, it is more suitable for large-scale use in power system energy storage modules [0036].
Li does not teach the feature “an electric vehicle comprising: a drive motor; and a battery assembly electrically connected to the drive motor and configured for providing electric energy to the driving motor”.
Dasgupta teaches an power source (15) for supplying electrical power to a driving motor, such as for an electrical vehicle [0009, 0046, claim 1 and Fig. 1]. The power source (15) comprises a first rechargeable energy battery, which is a polymer lithium battery pack (assembly) [claim 1 and 5]. The battery pack of Dasgupta is analogous to the one taught by Li. Dasgupta teaches that employing a polymer lithium ion battery (and battery pack by default) is desirable because it can be molded to occupy any allotted space can decrease the effective volume of the energy storage device (15) [0037].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify battery assembly of Li to be employed in “an electric vehicle comprising: a drive motor; and a battery assembly electrically connected to the drive motor and configured for providing electric energy to the driving motor”, because Li teaches that its invention is suitable for large-scale use in power system energy storage modules and can monitor the working status of multiple batteries and promptly report and handle lithium batteries with malfunctioning working status, avoiding power system shutdowns and maintenance disruptions caused by battery damage. In addition, Dasgupta teaches that employing a polymer lithium ion battery (and battery pack by default) is desirable because it can be molded to occupy any allotted space can decrease the effective volume of the energy storage device.
Regarding claim 11, Li and Dasgupta teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 10. From the discussion of claim 10, the feature “wherein the sensing part is further configured to generate a temperature monitoring signal corresponding to a temperature of the at least two of the multiple batteries” is met.
Regarding claim 12, Li and Dasgupta teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 10. Li further teaches that its computer information processing unit (3) (alarm unit) first assigns a number to the polymer lithium battery to which each resistance strain sensor (1) and temperature sensor (2) (sensing part) belongs and stores this number and the location information of the resistance strain sensor (1) and temperature sensor (2) (sensing part) for later use [0031 and Fig. 1]. The computer information processing unit (3) (alarm unit) groups the deformation and temperature information of the polymer lithium battery according to the pre-stored polymer lithium battery number and sensor location information of each sensor [0033]. The computer information processing unit (3) (alarm unit) determines the working status of the polymer lithium battery based on the deformation and temperature information of the grouped polymer lithium battery [0034]. From the above description the limitation where the “battery assembly comprises multiple batteries and multiple sensing parts, wherein each of the multiple sensing parts is electrically connected to the alarm module independently, and the alarm module is further configured to record a position of each of the multiple sensing parts and determine a position of a deformed battery among the multiple batteries” is met.
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 104485490 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Dasgupta et al. (US 20020145404 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, further in view of Qin, W.(CN 112234264 A, see machine translation for citation) and Ahn et al. (KR 20210033647 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 13 and 16, Li and Dasgupta teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 12, except “wherein each of the multiple batteries and each of the multiple sensing parts is sheet shaped, and at least one of the multiple batteries is alternated with one of the multiple sensing parts” (claim 13) and “wherein each of the multiple batteries is cylindrical shaped, each of the multiple sensing parts is comprises a flat surface or a curved surface, and each of the multiple sensing parts is between at least two of the multiple batteries” (claim 16).
Qin teaches about lithium polymer batteries (same field of endeavor of Li) that these kind of batteries has the ability to be processed into any shape, having the advantage of being lightweight, flexible and ultra-thin [0073].
Ahn teaches a battery abnormality and deterioration monitoring system [Abstract]. The system may comprise a temperature sensor and a strain sensor which may be formed into a single or separate sheet to monitor their respective parameters [0055 and Fig. 11]. The battery monitoring system of Ahn is analogous to the one of Li. Both sensors can be installed on a surface of a battery [claims 1 and 9]. It is taught that by employing the described system it is possible to accurately detect the temperature change and the physical deformation of the battery and to monitor abnormal symptoms or deterioration of the battery in advance [0027-0028].
From Qin and Ahn description if the soft pack polymer lithium batteries of Li are shaped into sheets and the resistance strain sensors (1) of Li are modified to be shaped into sheets and they are placed on an outer battery surface that lies between two sheet shaped batteries, the feature “wherein each of the multiple batteries and each of the multiple sensing parts is sheet shaped, and at least one of the multiple batteries is alternated with one of the multiple sensing parts” (claim 13) is met. From this same description and because the feature “any shape” taught by Qin covers the cylindrical shape, the feature “wherein each of the multiple batteries is cylindrical shaped, each of the multiple sensing parts comprises a flat surface or a curved surface, and each of the multiple sensing parts is between two of the multiple batteries” (claim 16) can be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle’s battery assembly of Li and Dasgupta to include the feature “wherein each of the multiple batteries and each of the multiple sensing parts is sheet shaped, and at least one of the multiple batteries is alternated with one of the multiple sensing parts” (claim 13) and “wherein each of the multiple batteries is cylindrical shaped, each of the multiple sensing parts is comprises a flat surface or a curved surface, and each of the multiple sensing parts is between at least two of the multiple batteries” (claim 16), because Qin teaches that polymer lithium batteries has the ability to be processed into any shape, having the advantage of being lightweight, flexible and ultra-thin and Ahn teaches that by employing a monitoring system with the referred sheet features, it is possible to accurately detect the temperature change and the physical deformation of the battery and to monitor abnormal symptoms or deterioration of the battery in advance.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 104485490 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Dasgupta et al. (US 20020145404 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, further in view of Qin, W.(CN 112234264 A, see machine translation for citation), Intano et al. (Thermal investigation of cell arrangements for cylindrical battery with forced air-cooling strategy. Journal of Research and Applications in Mechanical Engineering 8.1 (2020): 11-21, see NPL document for citation) and Wang et al. (CN 111649784 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 14, Li and Dasgupta teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 12, except “wherein each of the multiple batteries and each of the multiple sensing parts is cylindrical shaped, the multiple batteries are arranged in rows and columns, and one of the multiple sensing parts is at an intersection of two adjacent rows and two adjacent columns of the multiple batteries”.
Qin teaches about lithium polymer batteries (same field of endeavor of Li) that these kind of batteries has the ability to be processed into any shape, having the advantage of being lightweight, flexible and ultra-thin [0073]. From Qin teachings the lithium polymer batteries taught by Li can be shaped into cylinder form.
Regarding the “the multiple batteries are arranged in an array of rows and columns” feature, Intano teaches that the cell arrangement is one of the most crucial rules for designing an efficient cooling system of the lithium-ion battery pack in electric vehicles (same field of endeavor of Li and Dasgupta) [Abstract]. It was found that the aligned arrangement of cylindrical cells (columns and rows) had a better cooling effectiveness and temperature uniformity, compared to a staggered configuration [p. 17; par. 2].
Wang teaches a structural monitoring method and system based on a linear sensor, which can accurately locate the specific position of the strained part on the target structure and provide the range of the deformation area [0009]. In one implementation, a linear sensor comprising multiple linear monitoring elements is used to sense strain, displacement, temperature, or vibration of a target structure. First, the linear sensors are arranged in a mesh within or on the surface of the target structure. After arrangement, the position information of the feature points of the linear sensors is acquired [0040]. Despite that the invention of Wang is applied to buildings, its monitoring system is on the same field of endeavor of Li, because it is capable of sense diverse parameters and acquire information regarding the deformation and position of the employed sensors (target structure by default). Because the linear sensors can be arranged in a mesh within or on the surface of the target structure, it can be shaped into a cylindrical form. Wang teaches that its monitoring system provides an accurate display the overall deformation of the structure, providing a reliable basis for judging the safety status of the structure [0009 and 0040].
If these linear sensors taught by Wang are arranged on the surface of the cylindrical shaped polymer Li batteries of Li and these battery/sensor arrangements are placed in a rows and columns configuration, the feature “one of the multiple sensing parts is at an intersection of two adjacent rows and two adjacent columns of the array of the multiple batteries” can be achieved.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle’s battery assembly of Li and Dasgupta to include the feature “wherein each of the multiple batteries and each of the multiple sensing parts is cylindrical shaped, the multiple batteries are arranged in rows and columns, and one of the multiple sensing parts is at an intersection of two adjacent rows and two adjacent columns of the multiple batteries”, because Qin teaches that the lithium polymer batteries has the ability to be processed into any shape, having the advantage of being lightweight, flexible and ultra-thin; Intano teaches that the aligned arrangement of cylindrical cells (columns and rows) had a better cooling effectiveness and temperature uniformity, compared to a staggered configuration; and Wang teaches that a monitoring system with the claimed features provides an accurate display the overall deformation of the structure, providing a reliable basis for judging the safety status of the structure.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 104485490 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Dasgupta et al. (US 20020145404 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, further in view of Rabbers, J. and Schricker, B. (EP 3054523 A1, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 15, Li and Dasgupta teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 12, except “wherein each of multiple sensing parts is a mesh with a plurality of holes, and each of the plurality of holes is configured to receive at least one of the multiple batteries”.
Rabbers and Schricker teaches a storage device (10) having a plurality of energy storage cells (12), which comprises a cell housing (14) [0035]. The storage device (10) further comprises sensors (18) arranged on the respective cell housing (14) and get deformed when the respective cell housing (14) is deformed, from which excessive deformations and in particular an opening of the respective cell housing (14) can be detected [0042]. On a second embodiment, the storage device (10) comprises sensors (18) which extends completely around the respective cell housing (14) in the circumferential direction of the cell housing (14) [0043 and Fig. 2]. Despite that the shown cells on Fig. 2 are cylindrical, it is taught that the second embodiment can be used in particular for memory cells which are designed as so-called pouch cells [0043]. Because of the descriptions above the battery assembly and monitoring system of Rabbers and Schricker is on the same field of endeavor of Li. The sensors (18) are electrically connected to respective connecting lines (20) and are electrically connected in series to one another via the connecting lines (20) [0040]. From the above descriptions and because a plurality of batteries can be present, the sensor (18) arrangement of Rabbers and Schricker can be considered a “mesh with a plurality of holes, where each of the plurality of holes is configured to receive at least one of the multiple batteries”. It is taught that with the monitoring system described above at least, an undesired opening of the cell housing can be detected by means of the sensor. As a result, it is possible to take protective measures at an early stage in order to prevent any subsequent damage resulting from the deformation or opening of the storage cell or to keep it small in its extent [0011].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle’s battery assembly of Li and Dasgupta to include the feature “wherein each of the multiple sensing parts is a mesh with a plurality of holes, and each of the plurality of holes is configured to receive at least one of the multiple batteries”, because Rabbers and Schricker teach that with the monitoring system described above at least, an undesired opening of the cell housing can be detected by means of the sensor. As a result, it is possible to take protective measures at an early stage in order to prevent any subsequent damage resulting from the deformation or opening of the storage cell or to keep it small in its extent.
Conclusion
/G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 12/16/2025