Status of the claims
Claim(s) 14, 18 is/are amended. Currently claims 1-25 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Houston (4671313).
Regarding claim 1, Houston discloses valve comprising: a valve body defining a valve port 28 and a guide channel (path of gate 18 and stem 22); a gate 18 configured to slide along the guide channel in the valve body between an open configuration and a closed configuration; a guide assembly comprising a track 76,72,36 mounted in the guide channel and configured to couple a portion 40 of the gate in the guide channel, the track comprising an adjustment plate 36 (adjusting clearance 38 by means of shims, col 3, line 3-7) coupled to the track 76,72; and a seat 48 that engages and seals the gate in the closed configuration.
As to claim 2, Houston discloses guide assembly as a first guide assembly (left side assembly in Fig 2), and the guide channel is a first guide channel (left side portion of valve movement path in Fig 2), further comprising a second guide channel (right side portion of valve movement path in Fig 2) in the valve body oriented opposite from the first guide channel, wherein a second guide assembly (right side assembly in Fig 2) comprising a track 76,72,36 is mounted in the second guide channel, and wherein the first guide assembly is oriented opposite from the second guide assembly.
As to claim 3, Houston discloses a stem 22 coupled to the gate and configured to attach to an actuator 12, wherein the adjustment plate 36 extends in a horizontal direction (when oriented such that stem 22 is horizontal) and supports the gate 18 when the gate moves from the open configuration to the closed configuration.
As to claim 4, Houston discloses sealed bonnet (right side portion of valve body in Fig 1 seen as sealing the valve from that side) coupled to the valve body and capturing a stem 22,20 coupled to the gate, wherein the sealed bonnet receives the gate 18 (gate moves rightward in Fig 1 in open configuration) in the open configuration and is configured to maintain a fluid-tight seal (valve housing is sealing upstream side of valve body from the downstream side of valve body in closed position) the between the gate 18 and the valve body in the closed configuration.
As to claim 5, the guide assembly further comprises fasteners 56 that couple the adjustment plate 36 to the track 76,72, and wherein the fasteners 56 are evenly spaced along a length of the adjustment plate (shown in Fig 3).
As to claim 6, a base plate (shim for adjustment, col 3 line 3-7) is interposed between and coupled to the track 76,72 and the adjustment plate 36.
As to claim 12, a guide cap (liner 20 over valve disc shown in Fig 6) is coupled to the gate and configured to slidably seal the gate with the adjustment plate 36 of the track.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houston (4671313).
As to claims 8, Houston fails to disclose track, the base plate, and the adjustment plate made of stainless steel. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made track, the base plate, and the adjustment plate in the device disclosed by Houston using stainless steel since it has been held that selecting a particular known material is within the general skill of a worker in the art on the basis of its suitability for the intended as a material of obvious design choice use based upon particular application requirements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 14-25 is/are allowed. Claim(s) 7, 9-11, 13 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Houston that “Houston fails to define what reference element 48 is in the description. It may be understood from FIG. 6 below and the written description that element 48 is related to element 46 due to its proximity and likeness to element 46, which is disclosed as a refractory material. Thus, as shown in the figures, element 48 is not a seat because it does not appear to engage the gate nor does it seal the gate” are not persuasive since the function of throat (reference 32) is described as a gate or disc … movable … to open, close or partly open or close the throat of the slide valve. As such the throat performs the function of flow opening/closing in conjunction with valve gate. Since element 48 (seen in Fig 6 to be in contact with gate 20) is the closest part of throat (48 is labeled as 44 in Specification), it provides the function of sealing seat of the gate.
Applicant’s arguments regarding zzz that “Houston teaches a slide valve made of steel that may be subjected to more heat and higher temperatures. Therefore, Houston is not an "instant and unquestionable demonstration as to defy dispute" that stainless steel tracks, base plates, and adjustment plates for a fluid utility line gate valve are well known in the art. For the foregoing specific and particular reasons, it is not well known in the art to use a track, base plate, or adjustment plate made of stainless steel” are not persuasive since nothing in Houston teaches against using stainless steel and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made track, the base plate, and the adjustment plate in the device disclosed by Houston using stainless steel since it has been held that selecting a particular known material is within the general skill of a worker in the art on the basis of its suitability for the intended as a material of obvious design choice use based upon particular application requirements.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753