Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou (U.S. Patent 10,153,226) in view of Fan et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0104641) and Huang (U.S. Patent 11,073,648).
Regarding 1, Zou teaches a water-cooling heat dissipator (fig. 1-4), comprising: a water-cooling head (element 30) , comprising a main body (structure of 30), a water inlet joint (element 313) communicating with the main body and a water outlet joint (element 313) communicating with main body, wherein the main body comprises a first connector (left element 70); a fan module (element 20), disposed on the water-cooling head and comprising a base (backside of element 20) and a fan (element 60), wherein the base is stacked on the main body (per fig. 104; note that the orientation of the drawing does not limit the use/application of the device per col. 3, ln 44-65 thus the orientation requirement of “stacked” is taught, note if applicant meant in manufacturing that is product-by-process and “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).) and comprises a second connector (right element 70) electrically connected to the first connector and the fan (col. 6, ln 57-64, reads on this reasonably as the exact electrical connection or connector is not specified), the fan is connected to the base (per fig. 1-4) and comprises a fan disposed outside the main body (per fig. 1-4).
Zou does not specifically teach a fan wheel, but such is well known in the art (see Fan) and it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to have the fan of Zou have a fan wheel, the motivation would be to use well-known and readily available technology.
Zou does not teach at least one of a light emitting member and a fan member disposed on the fan module. Huang teaches a light emitting member (element 1) disposed on the fan module (element 201). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Zou to include the light of Huang as claimed, the motivation would be to achieving lighting and visual effects (col. 1, ln 23-26).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou (U.S. Patent 10,153,226) in view of Fan et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0104641) and Huang (U.S. Patent 11,073,648), and further in view of Gough et al. (U.S. PGPub 2003/0228840).
Regarding claim 9, Zou does not tach wherein the base comprises a plurality of mounting plates and a plurality of positioning slots, the main body comprises a plurality of mounting slots and a plurality of positioning pieces, each of the mounting plates is correspondingly mounted in each of the mounting slots, and each of the positioning pieces is accommodated in each of the positioning slots. The use of mounting plates (tabs) and slots for positioning and mounting of elements is well known in the art (see Gough). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Zou to include plates and slots as claimed, the motivation would be to mount the fan using known and readily available technology.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: No prior art was found that taught or made obvious a fan attached to the fan on such a structure (per claims 5-6); the rotating fan as claimed is not taught or obvious modification to this art (claim 8); the connector with boards as claimed is not taught or obvious to this prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specific arguments are addressed below.
Applicants’ argument that the prior art does not teach the amended claim 1 is not persuasive. As the rejection above shows the prior art teaches a light emitting module disposable as and obviously combinable per the rejection above. Examiner notes that the amendment of claim 1 requires only either the light emitting module or the fan member thus not reading on the allowable subject matter previously noted.
The examiner notes that the amendments have overcome the prior 112(b) rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763