DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. (6,290,323) in view of Hetzer et al. (5,929,877) and Miyajima (9,434,168).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Sharma teaches a liquid droplet-forming device, comprising:
a liquid chamber (fig. 2, item 77);
a nozzle plate (fig. 19, item 80) comprising a discharge hole (fig. 2, item 90) configured to discharge a raw material liquid (fig. 2, item 105) in the liquid chamber in a form of liquid droplets (fig. 2, item 105);
sealed space-forming structure (fig. 19, item 195/197/200); and
at least two flow paths (fig. 19, flow path through valve 330 and flow path through 417),
wherein the sealed space-forming structure is capable of forming a sealed space (fig. 19, space formed by walls 197) communicating with the liquid chamber through the discharge hole on a side opposite to the liquid chamber of the discharge hole, and
the at least two flow paths comprise through-holes (fig. 19, through hole through valve 330 and through hole through 417) and pipes (fig. 19, pipe containing valve 430 and pipe containing valve 420) connected to the liquid chamber, and communicate with each other through the sealed space (see fig. 19)
wherein the through-holes are formed on a same side as the liquid chamber relative to the nozzle plate (see fig. 19),
the at least two flow paths include
a first flow path and a second flow path which are connected to the liquid chamber (see fig. 19, note that, as defined above, the limitation is met),
a third flow path and a fourth flow path which are connected to the sealed space from two ends of the sealed space in the a direction parallel to a surface of the nozzle plate (see fig. 19, note that, as defined above, the limitation is met).
Sharma does not teach wherein the liquid chamber extends in a direction parallel to a surface of the nozzle plate or wherein the first and second flow path are connected to the liquid chamber from two ends of the liquid chamber respectively in the direction parallel to the surface of the nozzle plate or wherein the sealed space covers a whole surface of the nozzle plate opposite from the liquid chamber. Hetzer teaches four flow paths with the claimed arrangement (Hetzer, see figs. 2, 4, Note that the sealed space covers the entire nozzle surface and note that first and second flow paths 291, 292 are connected to the sealed space at opposite ends of the nozzle row). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the flow path arrangement disclosed by Hetzer instead of that disclosed by Sharma because doing so would amount to the simple substitution of one known arrangement for another to obtain predictable results.
Upon combination, the head and flow path arrangement disclosed by Hetzer would be used with the sealed-space forming structure of Sharma, and the operation of the device would be used according to the controls of Sharma.
Sharma in view of Hetzer does not teach wherein the liquid chamber directly contacts the nozzle plate or wherein a length of the sealed space is larger than a length of the surface of the nozzle plate in the direction parallel to the surface of the nozzle plate. Miyajima teaches this (Miyajima, figs. 7, 8, 11, 15, Note that liquid chamber 12/16 directly contacts nozzle plate 20, and note that sealed space 212 is larger in every dimension than the nozzle plate). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the liquid chamber/ nozzle plate/sealed space arrangement disclosed by Miyajima in the device disclosed by Sharma in view of Hetzer because doing so would amount to the simple substitution of one known arrangement for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches the liquid droplet-forming device according to Claim 1, wherein an inside of the liquid chamber, the discharge hole, and the sealed space is washable by causing washing liquid to flow to the liquid chamber and the sealed space (Sharma, col. 9, lines 49-55).
Regarding claim 3, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches the liquid droplet-forming device according to Claim 2, further comprising:
a washing liquid supplier (Sharma, fig. 19, item 270) to supply the washing liquid (Sharma, see fig. 19); and
a waste liquid ejection structure (Sharma, fig. 19, item 260) configured to eject waste liquid generated by washing the inside of the liquid chamber, the discharge hole, and the sealed space (Sharma, see fig. 19),
wherein the first flow path and the second flow path are connected to the washing liquid supply unit and the waste liquid ejection unit, and the third flow path and the fourth flow path are connected to the washing liquid supply unit and the waste liquid ejection unit (Sharma, see fig. 19, Note that all four flow paths communicate directly or indirectly with the washing liquid supply unit 270).
Regarding claim 4, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches the liquid droplet-forming device according to claim 3, further comprising:
a control unit (Sharma, fig. 1, item 160) configured to control at least the washing liquid supply unit and the waste liquid ejection unit, wherein the control unit performs first washing in which the second flow path and the third flow path are closed, the washing liquid is supplied from the first flow path to the sealed space through the liquid chamber, and the waste liquid is ejected from the fourth flow path to the sealed space (Sharma, see fig. 19).
Regarding claim 5, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches the liquid droplet-forming device according to Claim 3, further comprising: a control unit (Sharma, fig. 1, item 160) configured to control at least the washing liquid supply unit and the waste liquid ejection unit, wherein the control unit performs second washing in which the second flow path is closed, the washing liquid is supplied from one of the third flow path and the fourth flow path to the sealed space, and the waste liquid in the sealed space is ejected from the other of the third flow path and the fourth flow path (Sharma, see fig. 19).
Regarding claim 6, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches the liquid droplet-forming device according to Claim 5, wherein the washing liquid supply unit includes a first supply unit that supplies the washing liquid, and a second supply unit that supplies the washing liquid at a higher pressure than the first supply unit, and in the second washing, the washing liquid is supplied from the second supply unit to the first flow path, and the washing liquid is supplied from the first supply unit to one of the third flow path and the fourth flow path (Sharma, see fig. 19).
Regarding claim 7, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches the liquid droplet-forming device according to Claim 3, further comprising: a control unit (Sharma, fig. 1, item 160) configured to control at least the washing liquid supply unit and the waste liquid ejection unit, wherein the control unit performs third washing in which the first flow path and the fourth flow path are closed, the washing liquid is supplied from the third flow path to the liquid chamber through the sealed space, and the waste liquid in the liquid chamber is ejected from the second flow path (Sharma, see fig. 19).
Regarding claim 8, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches the liquid droplet-forming device according to Claim 3, further comprising: a control unit (Sharma, fig. 1, item 160) configured to control at least the washing liquid supply unit and the waste liquid ejection unit, wherein the control unit performs fourth washing in which the fourth flow path is closed, the washing liquid is supplied from one of the first flow path and the second flow path to the liquid chamber, and the waste liquid in the liquid chamber is ejected from the other of the first flow path and the second flow path (Sharma, see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches the liquid droplet-forming device according to Claim 8, wherein the washing liquid supply unit includes a first supply unit that supplies the washing liquid, and a second supply unit that supplies the washing liquid at a higher pressure than the first supply unit, and in the fourth washing, the washing liquid is supplied from the second supply unit to the third flow path, and the washing liquid is supplied from the first supply unit to one of the first flow path and the second flow path (Sharma, see fig. 19).
Regarding claim 10, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches the liquid droplet-forming device according to Claim 3, wherein the washing liquid supply unit and a raw material liquid supply unit that supplies the raw material liquid are connected to the first flow path to be switchable (Sharma, see fig. 19, Note that washing fluid can be fed upward through first flow path 420 or raw material liquid can be fed downward toward the nozzle during printing).
Regarding claim 11, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches the liquid droplet-forming device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a discharge head (Sharma, fig. 19, item 60) having the liquid chamber (Sharma, see fig. 19) and the discharge hole (Sharma, see fig. 19); and
a discharge unit main body to which the discharge head is connected, wherein the discharge head and the discharge unit main body are configured to be attachable and detachable (Sharma, see figs. 1, 4 and 19, Note that this is necessarily the case).
Regarding claim 12, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches the liquid droplet-forming device according to claim 11, wherein the discharge head includes a head main body provided with the liquid chamber, and a nozzle plate that forms a part of a wall surface of the liquid chamber and has the discharge hole, and the discharge head is disassemblable into the head main body and the nozzle plate (Sharma, see fig. 4, Note that “disassemblable” has not been defined. Examiner.
Regarding claim 13, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches the liquid droplet-forming device according to claim 11, wherein the discharge unit main body has a vibration unit that applies vibration to the raw material liquid stored in the liquid chamber (Sharma, cols. 4-5, lines 54-19, Note that a piezoelectric drive element vibrates the liquid).
Regarding claim 14, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches the liquid droplet-forming device according to claim 13, wherein the vibration unit includes a vibrator that generates vibration, and amplification means which is connected to the vibrator and amplifies the vibration (Sharma, cols. 4-5, lines 54-19, Note that a piezoelectric drive element vibrates the liquid, and the drive circuit for driving the piezoelectric element can amplify the vibration signal).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima in view of Inoue et al. (2017/0219437).
Regarding claim 15, Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima teaches a fine particle-manufacturing device, comprising: the liquid droplet-forming device according to claim 1. Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima does not teach a solidification means configured to solidify liquid droplets discharged from the liquid droplet-forming device. Inoue teaches this (Inoue, [0241], Note that a solidifying means is present). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention add a solidifying means of the type disclosed by Inoue to the device of Sharma in view of Hetzer and Miyajima because doing so would allow for processing of toner as opposed to just ink.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853