DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on pages 4-6 of the Remarks that some limitations in claim 1 should not be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Such limitations are as follows:
a transfer unit
a cutting unit
a discharge unit
a plurality of swing units
a length adjustment unit
a grip unit, now amended as “a gripper”
The Applicant argues that the above limitations (or elements) are modified by sufficient structure to perform the claimed function (functions such as transferring, cutting, discharging, swinging, adjusting or gripping); however, neither the current claim amendments, such as “a cutting unit adapted to cut” nor the specification, recite sufficient structure to performed the claimed function.
Therefore, the claims will continue to be given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
The Applicant argues on pages 8-10 of the Remarks that White only discloses a single bag holder and not a plurality of swing units and that prior art White teaches away from multiple length adjustment units.
As previously explained, it would have been obvious to duplicate White’s swing unit with length adjustment unit (44) and grip unit (45) to have any number of a plurality of swing units with length adjustment units and grip units, to increase the throughput of bulk bag emptying through the device, since it was been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.
The Applicant argues on page 10 of the Remarks that White teaches away from requiring a gripper provided on an inward end of each length adjustment unit and adapted to directly grip the corner region of the bag, each swing unit adapted to independently shake that bulk bag.
However, this argument is not persuasive. White discloses a gripper (45) on an inward end of a length adjustment unit (44) to directly grip the bulk bag (at straps 46) (col. 3, lines 45-46) located at the corners (vertex regions), the swing unit shaking (via vibrator) and emptying the contents remaining in the bulk bag. (col. 3, lines 60-61)
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations replacing the word “means” with the word “unit” does not change the interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The term “unit” is considered a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White (U.S. Pat. 5,649,801).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, White discloses a bulk bag opening device with a swing unit (32), the device comprising a transfer unit (42) coupled to a frame structure (78) that transfers a bulk bag of polygonal shape (“cube”, col. 4, lines 48-49), a cutting unit (70, 71, 72) that cuts the bulk bag (21) transferred by the transfer unit, and a discharge unit that discharges contents of the bulk bag to a hopper (22),
the swing unit comprising length adjustment unit (44) provided outside the bulk bag (outer vicinity) to be horizontally spaced apart therefrom by a predetermined distance and extending in a radially inward direction toward a corresponding vertex region (corner) of the bag (seen in Fig. 1) and accessing to the bulk bag, and grip means (gripper 45) provided on an inward end of the length adjustment unit to directly grip the bulk bag (at straps 46) (col. 3, lines 45-46) located at the corners (vertex regions), the swing unit shaking (via vibrator) and emptying the contents remaining in the bulk bag. (col. 3, lines 60-61)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to duplicate the swing units to have any number of a plurality of swing units, such as four swing units, with respective length adjustment units and grip units, to independently shake each bulk bag to increase the throughput of bulk bag emptying through the device, since it was been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.
White discloses that the swing unit is equipped with a vibrator. (col. 3, lines 40-45)
White discloses that the length adjustment unit is an actuator operated by a motor (41).
Regarding claim 4, White discloses that the swing unit comprises moving unit (41) connected to the length adjustment unit to be movable along a side of the bulk bag.
Regarding claim 6, White discloses wherein the transfer unit moves the bulk bag down (col. 3, line 53) to seat the bulk bag on an upper portion of the hopper of the discharge unit, the cutting unit cuts the bulk bag, and then a lifting speed is adjusted by the transfer unit so that the contents in the bulk bag naturally flow and are transferred to the hopper (col. 3, lines 61-65), thus minimizing dust generation, and the swing unit grips and swings the bulk bag lifted to a certain height.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schmidt, et al. (“Schmidt”) (U.S. Pat. 6,293,318).
Regarding claim 5, White discloses a cutting unit with blades (70, 71, 72) but does not disclose that the blades are arranged in four directions from a center so that diagonal lines of a lower surface of the bulk bag moving downward are cut across each other.
Schmidt discloses a bulk bag opening device with blades (4a) arranged in four directions from a center (4b) so that diagonal lines of a lower surface of a bulk bag (10) moving downward are cut across each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute White’s cutting unit with Schmidt’s cutting unit, arranged in four directions from a center so that diagonal lines of a lower surface of a bulk bag moving downward are cut across each other, since doing so would be a mere substitution of one known cutting unit for another known cutting unit with the expected results that the substituted cutting unit would cut open the bulk bag (see MPEP 2143 I B).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MJM/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 April 6, 2026