DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 23 April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen et al. (US 9,731,358) in view of Stoyanov (US 2016/0332236 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Allen et al. discloses a step drill bit 10 comprising: a shank 12/16 operatively couplable to a tool; a body portion 18 coupled to the shank, the body portion including a tool bit tip 21 at a first end of the body portion and a plurality of progressively sized, axially stacked steps 20A-20M, the plurality of steps define a terminal step 20M at a second end of the body portion opposite the first end and adjacent the shank.
Allen et al. does not disclose the body portion defining a hollow interior cavity extending between the bit tip and the terminal step; and an inner structure having a plurality of support members extending within the hollow interior cavity, the plurality of support members is formed as a plurality of cylinders or a lattice structure. Stoyanov teaches the use of a drill bit 30 with a single piece body having a hollow interior cavity 34 comprising inner structure support members in the form of a lattice structure 36 for the purpose of reducing the overall material used to make the drill while maintaining strength of the drill bit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the step drill bit of Allen et al. with the hollow interior cavity and lattice structure of Stoyanov in order to be able to manufacture the step drill bit using less material while maintaining strength of the tool bit.
Regarding claim 2, the modified invention of Allen et al. discloses wherein the plurality of support members and the body portion are formed as a single piece (as modified by Stoyanov).
Regarding claim 7, the modified invention of Allen et al. discloses wherein the body portion 18 includes a helical flute 46.
Regarding claim 8, the modified invention of Allen et al. discloses wherein the tool bit tip 21 includes a plurality of chisel faces 24/26, the chisel faces converge to a cutting edge 28.
Regarding claim 9, the modified invention of Allen et al. discloses wherein the tool bit tip 21 includes a plurality of chisel faces 24/26, the chisel faces converge to a cutting point (central point as seen in figure 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 20 May 2026