DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species A, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 3 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3 December 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lokkinen (US 10,207,335).
Regarding claim 1, Lokkinen discloses a step drill bit (figure 4) comprising: a shank 40 operatively couplable to a tool (electric, hydraulic, or pneumatic motor, see column 4, lines 13-14); a body portion 50 coupled to the shank, the body portion including a tool bit tip (right side in figure 2) and a plurality of progressively sized, axially stacked steps 34, the body portion defining a hollow cavity (hollow inner portions formed between rear and 10 and safety ring 20, see figure 1); and an inner structure 16/18 having a plurality of support members 18 extending within the hollow cavity (as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Lokkinen discloses wherein the plurality of support members 18 and the body portion 50 are formed as a single piece (see column 3, lines 59-61).
Regarding claim 5, Lokkinen discloses further comprising a transition portion 10 positioned between the shank 40 and the body portion 50, wherein the transition portion defines an aperture (hole for receiving shaft 40) in communication with the hollow cavity (the hole for receiving the shaft 40 is in communication with the hollow cavity through threaded holes 12).
Regarding claim 6, Lokkinen discloses wherein the body portion 50 defines a passageway 12 extending from the hollow cavity to an outer surface of the body portion (as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Lokkinen discloses wherein the tool bit tip includes a plurality of chisel faces (flat surfaces seen at the tip attached to cutting edges 34), the chisel faces converge to a cutting edge 34.
Regarding claim 9, Lokkinen discloses wherein the tool bit tip includes a plurality of chisel faces (flat surfaces seen at the tip attached to cutting edges 34), the chisel faces converge to a cutting point (as seen in figure 1, the two cutting faces at the tool bit tip each converge to two outer points at the outer axial end of the tool).
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allen (US 9,676,041).
Regarding claim 1, Allen discloses a step drill bit 10 comprising: a shank 18 operatively couplable to a tool (impact driver, see column 1, lines 13-14); a body portion 14 coupled to the shank, the body portion including a tool bit tip 34 and a plurality of progressively sized, axially stacked steps 30, the body portion defining a hollow cavity 50; and an inner structure 52 having a plurality of support members (the faces forming square cross section 52 are used to support the drive portions 66 of shank 18) extending within the hollow cavity (as seen in figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Allen discloses wherein the plurality of support members 52 and the body portion 14 are formed as a single piece (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Allen discloses wherein the body portion 14 defines a passageway 54 extending from the hollow cavity 50 to an outer surface of the body portion (as seen in figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Allen discloses wherein the body portion 14 includes a helical flute 42.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lokkinen.
Regarding claims 3-4, Lokkinen discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Lokkinen does not disclose wherein the plurality of support members is formed as a plurality of cylinders, or wherein the plurality of support members is formed as a lattice structure. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the support members to be of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient for the purpose of providing a desired level of strength to weight ratio in the tool. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 2 February 2026