DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "organic photoelectronic device" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2015/0102301) in view of Tsukada (Patentscope English machine translation of JP 2005120030 A).
Regarding claims 1-12. Cho teaches an organic optoelectric device, including an anode and a cathode facing each other, an emission layer interposed between the anode and the cathode, a hole transport layer interposed between the anode and the emission layer, and a hole transport auxiliary layer interposed between the hole transport layer and the emission layer, wherein the emission layer includes a first compound represented by Formula 1, and the emission layer further includes at least one second compound represented by Formula 2 (Cho, page 1, paragraphs 0006 and 0015). Cho also teaches improved roll-off characteristics and life span characteristics in their device when using compounds of formula 1 and formula 2 in the emission layer (Cho, page 51-52, paragraph 0117). Cho also teaches the organic layer may include an auxiliary layer, such as a hole injection layer, to improve efficiency and stability of an organic light emitting device (Cho, page 68, paragraph 0266). Cho further teaches an embodiment comprising a display device including the organic optoelectric device (Cho, page 1, paragraph 0022).
Cho teaches compound A-15 (shown below). Compound A-15 reads on Chemical Formula 1 of instant claim 1, wherein L1 is an unsubstituted C6 arylene group), Z1 to Z3 are N, R1 to R3 are hydrogen, m1 and m2 are 4, m3 is 3, Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group, and Ar2 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (Cho, page 10).
Compound A-15 reads on Chemical Formula 1A of instant claim 2, wherein L1, Z1 to Z3, R1 to R3, m1, m2, m3, Ar1, and Ar2 are defined as described above regarding claim 1 (Cho, page 10).
Compound A-15, as described above, reads on instant claims 3 and 4, wherein L1 is an unsubstituted phenylene group and a linking group of Group I, wherein R29 is hydrogen, and m11 is 4 (shown below).
Compound A-15 reads on Chemical Formula 1A-2 of instant claim 11, wherein L1, Z1 to Z3, R1 to R3, m1, m2, m3, Ar1, and Ar2 are defined as described above regarding claim 1, Rc is hydrogen, and m18 is 4 (Cho, page 10).
Cho teaches compound B-11 (shown below). Compound B-11 reads on Chemical Formula 2 of instant claim 1, wherein n1 is 0, R4 to R13 are hydrogen, m4 and m5 are 3, L2 and L3 are single bonds, Ar3 is a C17 heterocyclic group, Ar4 is a C6 aryl group, and R14 and m6 are not required. (Cho, page 31).
Compound B-11 reads on Chemical Formula 2-8 of instant claims 5 and 11, wherein n1, R4 to R13, m4, and m5 are defined as described above regarding claim 1, *-L2-Ar3 is represented by moiety C-16 of Group II, and *-L3-Ar4 is represented by moiety C-1 of Group II (Cho, page 31).
Cho fails to teach a device that specifically includes compound A-15 and compound B-11.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select compound A-15 and compound B-11, because it would have been choosing specific compounds represented by Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2 and taught by Cho, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified predictable solutions of compounds useful in the emission layer of the organic optoelectric device of Cho and possessing the benefits taught by Cho. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising compounds represented by Chemical Formula 1 and Chemical Formula 2 having the benefits taught by Cho in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Cho fails to teach a hole injection layer in the device containing compound A-15 and compound B-11. However, Cho teaches the organic layer of the optoelectric device may further include a hole injection layer positioned between the anode and the hole transport layer (Cho, page 52, paragraph 0125).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to insert a hole injection layer positioned between the anode and the hole transport layer of the device of Cho, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Cho according to known methods to yield predictable results of improved roll-off characteristics, life-span characteristics, efficiency, and stability, as taught by Cho. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Since the role of the hole injection and hole transport layer is to promote the transfer of holes to the emitting layer (Cho, page 3, paragraph 0048), the hole injection layer of Cho reads on the hole transport layer of the instant claims, and therefore the hole transport layer of Cho reads on the hole transport auxiliary of the instant claims.
Cho further teaches the hole transport layer may include an amine compound represented by Chemical Formula a, and the amine compound may include at least one aryl group and/or heterocyclic group (page 3, paragraphs 0048-0049).
However, Cho fails to teach a specific amine compound that reads on Chemical Formula 5 of the instant claims.
Tsukada teaches an organic electroluminescent device, wherein the amine compounds represented by general formula 1, such as compound 11, are preferably used in the hole transport/injection layer (Tsukada, page 32, paragraph 0065), and that such amine compounds provide an organic electroluminescent device having a long emission lifetime and excellent durability (Tsukada, page 5, paragraph 0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an amine compound of Tsukada’s general formula 1 in the hole transport layer of the device of Cho, based on the teachings of Tsukada. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an optoelectric device having a long emission lifetime and durability, as taught by Tsukada.
Particularly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select compound 11 as the amine compound represented by Tsukada’s general formula 1, because one would have been choosing from a list of suitable amine compounds represented by general formula 1 and taught by Tsukada, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful in the hole transport layer of the organic optoelectric device of Cho and possessing the benefits taught by Tsukada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising amine compounds represented by Tsukada’s general formula 1 having the benefits taught by Tsukada in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Tsukada teaches compound 11 (shown below). Compound 11 reads on Chemical Formula 5 of instant claim 1, wherein Ar7 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group, Ar8 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group, L6 is an unsubstituted C6 arylene group, L7 and L8 are a single bond, X1 is C, R27 is a C1 alkyl group, R28 is a C1 alkyl group, R23 to R26 are hydrogen, m7, m8, and m10 are 4, and m9 is 3 (Tsukada, page 13, paragraph 0037).
Compound 11 reads on Chemical Formula 5-2 of instant claim 6, wherein Ar7, Ar8, L6, L7, L8, X1, R23 to R28, m7, m8, m9, and m10 are defined as described above regarding claim 1 (Tsukada, page 13, paragraph 0037).
Compound 11, as described above, reads on claim 7, wherein Ar7 in Chemical Formula 5 is an unsubstituted phenyl group.
Compound 11, as described above, reads on claims 8 and 9, wherein Ar8 in Chemical Formula 5 is an unsubstituted phenyl group and a substituent of Group III.
Compound 11, as described above, reads on claim 10, wherein compound 11 is the same as compound [D-1] of Group 3.
Compound 11 reads on Chemical Formula 5-2 of instant claim 11, wherein Ar7 is an unsubstituted phenyl group, Ar8 is an unsubstituted phenyl group, L6 is an unsubstituted C6 arylene group, L7 and L8 are a single bond, X1 is C, R27 is an unsubstituted C1 alkyl group, R28 is a C1 alkyl group, R23 to R26 are hydrogen, m7, m8, and m10 are 4, and m9 is 3 (Tsukada, page 13, paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 12, Cho in view of Tsukada does not specifically teach the optoelectric device comprising compound A-15, compound B-11, and compound 11 in a display device.
However, Cho does teach an embodiment comprising a display device including an organic optoelectric device (Cho, page 1, paragraph 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the optoelectric device of Cho in view of Tsukada comprising compound A-15, compound B-11, and compound 11 in a display device, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the elements of Cho in view of Tsukada to maintain their respective properties or functions after they have been combined, and this would have been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Conclusion
/K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/BRAELYN R WATSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786