DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/16/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 20200275425 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20210306824 A1) and in further view of Esswie et al. (US 20240244581 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cao et al. teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, at least one message indicating a plurality of starting symbols, in a slot, associated with a plurality of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resources (Paragraph 72, 178–179, These passages teach configuration signaling that defines PSCCH resources with symbol-level starting positions and places PSCCH resources within subchannels of an available slot, with UEs monitoring multiple potential SCI/PSCCH locations within that slot)…; and receiving, based on the SCI in the first PSCCH resource, at least one transport block (Paragraph 117, 163, These passages teach that, after decoding SCI in PSCCH, the UE uses the indicated scheduling information to decode the corresponding PSSCH transmission carrying a transport block).
Cao et al. does not explicitly teach in the slot; based on detection of sidelink control information (SCI) in a first PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources, skipping monitoring at least one second PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources.
However, Li et al. teaches one message indicating a plurality of starting symbols, in a slot, associated with a plurality of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resources in the slot (Paragraph 49–51, 55, 62, 67, The passage teaches receiving configuration/signaling (e.g., RRC/SCI) that defines multiple symbol-based start positions within a slot corresponding to multiple control monitoring occasions (PSCCH resources) in the same slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the slot as taught by Li et al. in the system of Cao et al., so that it would enable a wireless device to efficiently identify and monitor multiple candidate PSCCH monitoring occasions within the same slot, thereby improving sidelink control resource configuration flexibility and increasing the likelihood of successful SCI detection for subsequent transport block reception.
Neither Cao et al. nor Li et al. explicitly teach based on detection of sidelink control information (SCI) in a first PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources, skipping monitoring at least one second PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources.
However, Esswie et al. teaches based on detection of sidelink control information (SCI) in a first PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources, skipping monitoring at least one second PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources (Paragraph 199, 200, 203, 205, Detection of first-stage SCI determines whether subsequent control resources need to be monitored, and based on that SCI detection the WTRU skips monitoring other paging/control occasions that are not indicated or relevant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide based on detection of sidelink control information (SCI) in a first PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources, skipping monitoring at least one second PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources as taught by Esswie et al. in the combined system of Cao et al. and Li et al., so that it would reduce unnecessary PSCCH monitoring and receiver processing overhead after successful SCI detection, thereby conserving wireless device power and computational resources while improving sidelink communication efficiency and enabling more effective utilization of available control monitoring opportunities within the slot.
Regarding claim 2, Cao et al. teaches determining, based on the first PSCCH resource, a first starting symbol of the plurality of starting symbols (Paragraph 231, UE determines a first starting symbol from SCI received on the PSCCH), wherein the receiving the at least one transport block based on the SCI in the first PSCCH resource comprises receiving, based on the first starting symbol: the at least one transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Paragraph 224, 277-278, SCI on PSCCH defines the time/resource to receive the transport block on PSSCH); and an automatic gain control (AGC) symbol immediately preceding the first starting symbol (Paragraph 239, Preceding reference or preamble symbol functions as an AGC symbol before data).
Regarding claim 3, Cao et al. teaches an earliest symbol of the first PSCCH resource is a starting symbol of the plurality of starting symbols (Paragraph 72, 78, 193, The passage shows PSCCH resources have configured starting symbols within a pool, where the first PSCCH resource’s earliest symbol defines the starting symbol among multiple starting symbols).
Regarding claim 4, Cao et al. teaches the at least one second PSCCH resource starts later in the slot than the first PSCCH resource (Paragraph 72, 74, 76, These describe PSCCH (SA) resources defined with specific starting symbols and possible time gaps, showing that one PSCCH resource can begin later in the slot than another).
Regarding claim 5, Cao et al. teaches the receiving the at least one message comprises receiving one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating the plurality of starting symbols (Paragraph 49, 54, 72, 196, RRC signaling received by the UE configures resources including parameters such as starting symbols, thereby teaching that an RRC message indicates the plurality of starting symbols).
Regarding claim 6, Cao et al. teaches the at least one message further indicates: a sidelink bandwidth part (BWP) associated with the slot; and a subcarrier spacing of the sidelink BWP (Paragraph 61, 71, The passage shows the message includes frequency-domain resource configuration identifying the sidelink BWP and parameters defining its subchannel structure, which reflect its subcarrier spacing).
Regarding claim 7, Cao et al. teaches the plurality of starting symbols are for multiple listen-before-talk (LBT) opportunities for transmission in a shared spectrum (Paragraph 140, 176, 179, These show multiple slot-based transmission opportunities where the UE senses before transmitting in shared spectrum, corresponding to multiple LBT opportunities tied to different starting symbols).
Regarding claim 8, Cao et al. teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, at least one message indicating a plurality of starting symbols, in a slot, associated with a plurality of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resources (Paragraph 72, 178–179, These passages teach configuration signaling that defines PSCCH resources with symbol-level starting positions and places PSCCH resources within subchannels of an available slot, with UEs monitoring multiple potential SCI/PSCCH locations within that slot)...; and receiving, based on SCI in a PSCCH resource of the at least one second PSCCH resource, at least one transport block (Paragraph 117, 163, These passages teach that, after decoding SCI in PSCCH, the UE uses the indicated scheduling information to decode the corresponding PSSCH transmission carrying a transport block).
Cao et al. does not explicitly teach in the slot; based on sidelink control information (SCI) not being detected in a first PSCCH resource, of the plurality of PSCCH resources, monitoring at least one second PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources.
However, Li et al. teaches one message indicating a plurality of starting symbols, in a slot, associated with a plurality of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resources in the slot (Paragraph 49–51, 55, 62, 67, The passage teaches receiving configuration/signaling (e.g., RRC/SCI) that defines multiple symbol-based start positions within a slot corresponding to multiple control monitoring occasions (PSCCH resources) in the same slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the slot as taught by Li et al. in the system of Cao et al., so that it would enable a wireless device to efficiently identify and monitor multiple candidate PSCCH monitoring occasions within the same slot, thereby improving sidelink control resource configuration flexibility and increasing the likelihood of successful SCI detection for subsequent transport block reception.
Neither Cao et al. nor Li et al. explicitly teach based on sidelink control information (SCI) not being detected in a first PSCCH resource, of the plurality of PSCCH resources, monitoring at least one second PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources.
However, Esswie et al. teaches based on sidelink control information (SCI) not being detected in a first PSCCH resource, of the plurality of PSCCH resources, monitoring at least one second PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources (Paragraph 199, 200, 203, 205, Detection of first-stage SCI determines whether subsequent control resources need to be monitored, and based on that SCI detection the WTRU skips monitoring other paging/control occasions that are not indicated or relevant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide based on sidelink control information (SCI) not being detected in a first PSCCH resource, of the plurality of PSCCH resources, monitoring at least one second PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources as taught by Esswie et al. in the combined system of Cao et al. and Li et al., so that it would reduce unnecessary PSCCH monitoring and receiver processing overhead after successful SCI detection, thereby conserving wireless device power and computational resources while improving sidelink communication efficiency and enabling more effective utilization of available control monitoring opportunities within the slot.
Regarding claim 9, Cao et al. teaches determining, based on the first PSCCH resource, a first starting symbol of the plurality of starting symbols (Paragraph 72, 75, The passage teaches determining a first starting symbol for PSCCH (SA) by describing how the PSCCH configuration includes a starting symbol and how the SA can indicate the starting time location for data transmission); and determining, based on the at least one second PSCCH resource, a second starting symbol of the plurality of starting symbols (Paragraph 75, 77, The passage explains that separate SA (PSCCH) resources can correspond to distinct starting time locations of transmission patterns, thus supporting determining a second starting symbol from another PSCCH resource), wherein the receiving the at least one transport block based on the SCI in the PSCCH resource of the at least one second PSCCH resource comprises receiving, based on the second starting symbol: the at least one transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Paragraph 78, 178, 179, These passages collectively describe receiving data via a PSSCH using the time/frequency resources and SCI indicated in PSCCH resources); and an automatic gain control (AGC) symbol immediately preceding the first starting symbol (Paragraph 239, Preceding reference or preamble symbol functions as an AGC symbol before data).
Regarding claim 10, Cao et al. teaches an earliest symbol of the first PSCCH resource is a starting symbol of the plurality of starting symbols (Paragraph 72, 78, 193, The passage shows PSCCH resources have configured starting symbols within a pool, where the first PSCCH resource’s earliest symbol defines the starting symbol among multiple starting symbols).
Regarding claim 11, Cao et al. teaches the at least one second PSCCH resource starts later in the slot than the first PSCCH resource (Paragraph 72, 74, 76, These describe PSCCH (SA) resources defined with specific starting symbols and possible time gaps, showing that one PSCCH resource can begin later in the slot than another).
Regarding claim 12, Cao et al. teaches the receiving the at least one message comprises receiving one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating the plurality of starting symbols (Paragraph 49, 54, 72, 196, RRC signaling received by the UE configures resources including parameters such as starting symbols, thereby teaching that an RRC message indicates the plurality of starting symbols).
Regarding claim 13, Cao et al. teaches the at least one message further indicates: a sidelink bandwidth part (BWP) associated with the slot; and a subcarrier spacing of the sidelink BWP (Paragraph 61, 71, The passage shows the message includes frequency-domain resource configuration identifying the sidelink BWP and parameters defining its subchannel structure, which reflect its subcarrier spacing).
Regarding claim 14, Cao et al. teaches the plurality of starting symbols are for multiple listen-before-talk (LBT) opportunities for transmission in a shared spectrum (Paragraph 140, 176, 179, These show multiple slot-based transmission opportunities where the UE senses before transmitting in shared spectrum, corresponding to multiple LBT opportunities tied to different starting symbols).
Regarding claim 15, Cao et al. teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, at least one message indicating a plurality of starting symbols, in a slot, associated with a plurality of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resources (Paragraph 72, 178–179, These passages teach configuration signaling that defines PSCCH resources with symbol-level starting positions and places PSCCH resources within subchannels of an available slot, with UEs monitoring multiple potential SCI/PSCCH locations within that slot)...; and receiving, based on detected SCI, at least one transport block (Paragraph 117, 163, These passages teach that, after decoding SCI in PSCCH, the UE uses the indicated scheduling information to decode the corresponding PSSCH transmission carrying a transport block).
Cao et al. does not explicitly teach in the slot; based on whether sidelink control information (SCI) is detected in a first PSCCH resource of the two or more plurality of PSCCH resources, determining whether to skip monitoring at least one second PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources.
However, Li et al. teaches one message indicating a plurality of starting symbols, in a slot, associated with a plurality of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resources in the slot (Paragraph 49–51, 55, 62, 67, The passage teaches receiving configuration/signaling (e.g., RRC/SCI) that defines multiple symbol-based start positions within a slot corresponding to multiple control monitoring occasions (PSCCH resources) in the same slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the slot as taught by Li et al. in the system of Cao et al., so that it would enable a wireless device to efficiently identify and monitor multiple candidate PSCCH monitoring occasions within the same slot, thereby improving sidelink control resource configuration flexibility and increasing the likelihood of successful SCI detection for subsequent transport block reception.
Neither Cao et al. nor Li et al. explicitly teach based on whether sidelink control information (SCI) is detected in a first PSCCH resource of the two or more plurality of PSCCH resources, determining whether to skip monitoring at least one second PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources.
However, Esswie et al. teaches based on whether sidelink control information (SCI) is detected in a first PSCCH resource of the two or more plurality of PSCCH resources, determining whether to skip monitoring at least one second PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources (Paragraph 199, 200, 203, 205, Detection of first-stage SCI determines whether subsequent control resources need to be monitored, and based on that SCI detection the WTRU skips monitoring other paging/control occasions that are not indicated or relevant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide based on whether sidelink control information (SCI) is detected in a first PSCCH resource of the two or more plurality of PSCCH resources, determining whether to skip monitoring at least one second PSCCH resource of the plurality of PSCCH resources as taught by Esswie et al. in the combined system of Cao et al. and Li et al., so that it would reduce unnecessary PSCCH monitoring and receiver processing overhead after successful SCI detection, thereby conserving wireless device power and computational resources while improving sidelink communication efficiency and enabling more effective utilization of available control monitoring opportunities within the slot.
Regarding claim 16, Cao et al. teaches detecting DCI in the first PSCCH resource, wherein the receiving the at least one transport block is based on the detecting the SCI in the first PSCCH resource; and skipping monitoring for SCI in the at least one second PSCCH resource (Paragraph 163, 177, 179, The UE detects DCI and associated SCI in the first PSCCH to identify resources for decoding the transport block, and then skips further SCI monitoring for other PSCCH resources once the data parameters are established).
Regarding claim 17, Cao et al. teaches based on not detecting SCI in the first PSCCH resource, monitoring for SCI in the at least one second PSCCH resource; and detecting SCI in a PSCCH resource of the at least one second PSCCH resource, wherein the receiving the at least one transport block is based on the detecting the SCI in the PSCCH resource of the at least one second PSCCH resource (Paragraph 174, 177, 179, The passage shows UEs first operate without detecting SCI (Type B), then monitor and detect SCI in later PSCCH resources (Type A), and decode the PSSCH transport block using the detected SCI parameters).
Regarding claim 18, Cao et al. teaches determining, based on the first PSCCH resource, a first starting symbol of the plurality of starting symbols; and determining, based on the at least one second PSCCH resource, a second starting symbol of the plurality of starting symbols, wherein the receiving the at least one transport block based on the detected SCI comprises receiving, based on one of the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol: the at least one transport block via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); and an automatic gain control (AGC) symbol immediately preceding the one of the first starting symbol or the second starting symbol (Paragraph 203, 231, 239, 278, teaches that a UE derives first and subsequent transmission start positions from SCI-defined PSCCH resources, receives PSSCH transport blocks accordingly, and uses a contemporaneous DMRS signal preceding data as an AGC-like control symbol).
Regarding claim 19, Cao et al. teaches an earliest symbol of the first PSCCH resource is a starting symbol of the plurality of starting symbols (Paragraph 72, 78, 193, The passage shows PSCCH resources have configured starting symbols within a pool, where the first PSCCH resource’s earliest symbol defines the starting symbol among multiple starting symbols).
Regarding claim 20, Cao et al. teaches the plurality of starting symbols are for multiple listen-before-talk (LBT) opportunities for transmission in a shared spectrum (Paragraph 140, 176, 179, These show multiple slot-based transmission opportunities where the UE senses before transmitting in shared spectrum, corresponding to multiple LBT opportunities tied to different starting symbols).
Allowable Subject Matter
Based on the specification, the applicant could consider adding concepts such as explicitly reciting that the plurality of PSCCH resources are associated with a single PSSCH transmission within the same slot; specifying that the SCI received in the PSCCH resource schedules or indicates parameters for a corresponding PSSCH transmission carrying at least one transport block after the SCI and within the same slot; clarifying that the skipping includes not only monitoring but also skipping receiving, decoding, and/or demodulating of a subsequent PSCCH resource in response to detecting SCI in an earlier PSCCH resource of the slot; indicating that the plurality of PSCCH resources are alternative PSCCH resources linked to the same PSSCH transmission to reduce redundant control monitoring; and describing that the transmitting wireless device transmits the SCI in at least one PSCCH resource that is temporally earlier in the slot than the skipped PSCCH resource, such that early SCI detection enables reduced processing, power consumption, and latency at the receiving wireless device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsai et al. (US 20220399927 A1)
ELSHAFIE et al. (US 20230137456 A1)
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464