Detailed Office Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-25
Claims 16-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mouradian et al., Efficient integration of high-purity diamond nanostructures into silicon nitride photonic circuits, FW1B.7.pdf, CLEO 2014; “Mouradian”) in view of Sohn, Young-Ik (Quantum Engineering of a Diamond Spin Qubit With Nanoelectromechanical Systems. Doctoral dissertation, Harvard University, Graduate School of Arts & Sciences; 2018; “Sohn”), further in view of Burek et al. (Fiber-coupled diamond quantum nanophotonic interface. Phys. Rev. Appl. 8, 024026; 2017; “Burek”), and further in view of Lodahl et al. (2020/0112139; “Lodahl”).
Regarding claim 1, Mouradian discloses in figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Mouradian – Selected Text, structural embodiments and related methods combining ‘silicon-based photonic circuits and diamond spin-qubits in a hybrid system,’ for example, ‘diamond nanowires placed over gap SiN waveguides.’ Mouradian, abstract (“A high purity diamond nanowire with implanted nitrogen-vacancy centers (NVs) is integrated into a low-loss silicon nitride photonic circuit. NV fluorescence is coupled into and collected from the waveguide system, paving the way for on-chip read out and manipulation of qubits.”).
Mouradian – Figure 1
Mouradian – Selected Text
2. Integration
Integrated photonic circuit components are fabricated in silicon nitride (SiN). Due to its large band gap of _5eV, SiN supports low loss propagation of light in the visible spectrum. Single mode waveguides over the NV spectrum (600- 800 nm) are fabricated with dimensions 400_400 nm. Fabrication steps are similar to those previously reported [4]. Light is coupled to the chip via inverse tapering of the waveguide to the chip edge and lensed fiber collection.
Short diamond single-mode waveguides (nanowires) are fabricated with dimensions of 0.2 _m_0.2 _m_6 _m. Simulations suggest that up to 80% of the emission from an NV is emitted into the diamond nanowire waveguide mode. Nanowires are placed over air gaps in the SiN waveguides (Fig. 1a). This crucial step isolates the SiN from the 532 excitation limiting unwanted waveguide fluorescence. It also gives a high index contrast for the integration of photonic crystal structures. The ends of the diamond nanowire and the SiN waveguides are slowly tapered (Fig. 1a) to promote an adiabatic-like transition between the diamond and SiN waveguide modes, limiting scattering loss. We estimate that with sufficiently long taper regions, up to 94% of the NV fluorescence emitted into the diamond waveguide mode will be transferred to the SiN waveguide. Diamond nanowires are integrated into SiN waveguides via a deterministic pick-and-place method that allows for precise sub-micron alignment of diamond to SiN.
Further regarding claim 16, while Mouradian discloses diamond waveguides disposed above and adjacent to silicon nitride waveguides, Mouradian does not explicitly disclose cantilevered configurations.
However, Sohn discloses in figure 2.1, and related figures and text, for example, Sohn – Selected Text, designing, fabricating, deploying, and predictably manipulating NV-emission embodiments and related methods comprising piezoelectric actuators driving cantilevers. Sohn, figure 2.1, and related figures and text, Sohn – Selected Text, including abstract (“By deflecting beams, we control the electronic structure of SiV centers, which is revealed by taking optical spectra at different strain conditions.”).
Sohn - Figure 2.1
Sohn – Selected Text
Sohn, abstract (“Quantum emitters are indispensable building blocks for quantum computers and networks. By entangling multiple individual quantum systems, it is possible to make overall system exponentially more powerful. Quantum emitters play a key role in this regard, since they offer an optical interface between a flying qubit (photon) and a stationary qubit (spin) for a long distance. Among those, solid-state emitters are an appealing candidate for its scalability. Among many kinds, we study color centers in diamond: nitrogen-vacancy (NV) and silicon-vacancy (SiV) centers. Being trapped atom in a solid, a color center provides both unique opportunities and challenges. Using dynamic interaction between phonons and spin qubits, it is possible to build an on-chip universal quantum bus. On the other hand, the host material causes inhomogeneous distribution of emitters by its material strain and exposes color centers to thermal lattice vibrations. In this work, we use nanoelectromechanical systems (NEMS) to address both issues. First, we make nanocantilevers with embedded NV centers and use its flexural motion for parametric coupling. Both electron spin resonance and spin-echo measurements are performed. As a result, we deduce the single-phonon coupling rate of approximately 1.8 Hz, which is still many orders of magnitude smaller than the minimum requirement for a quantum node. Therefore, it is necessary to further scale down the device without deteriorating other parameters. In this context, we fabricate on-chip dynamic actuator that is compatible with cantilevers of small mode volume and high quality factor. We measure resonant frequencies of fundamental flexural modes on the order of tens of MHz, with mechanical quality factors on the order of thousands. Finally, we present electrostatically actuated diamond cantilever with implanted SiV centers. By deflecting beams, we control the electronic structure of SiV centers, which is revealed by taking optical spectra at different strain conditions. Furthermore, we probe the dynamics of the spin qubit while controlling strain. By applying strain on the order of 10−4 to SiV centers, we improve the spin coherence time by sixfold at 4K, until it is limited by a next dominant dephasing mechanism. We conclude with an outlook of phononic quantum nodes with SiV center.”).
Sohn, 1.3 Application of the strain Hamiltonian (“Static actuation is for stationary displacement of the material by applying DC voltage. Dynamic actuation is usually the generation of an oscillatory motion by applying sinusoidal voltage.”)
Sohn, 2.5 AC strain induced ESR broadening (“At the chosen nitrogen ion implantation density, we expect ∼ 10 NV centers within our confocal laser spot. ESR measurements are performed on such an NV ensemble at a fixed position in the cantilever, and simultaneously, the flexural mode shown in Fig. 1c is driven by supplying an RF voltage to the piezo actuator at the resonance frequency ωm. A small static magnetic field Bz= 4 G is applied with a bar magnet placed outside the cryostat, and only the ms = 0 to ms = +1 transition is probed. The external magnetic field is aligned exactly vertically to ensure that all four NV classes experience the same projection Bz along their respective axes. The cantilever itself is fabricated such that its long axis is aligned to the ⟨100⟩ crystal axis to within a few degrees as determined by electron back scatter diffraction (EBSD). As a result, all four NV classes are symmetrically aligned with respect to the dominant strain component of the flexural mode, which occurs along the cantilever long axis. Thus, at a given location in the cantilever, all four NV classes experience the same axial and transverse strain amplitudes, and hence experience identical transition frequency modulation. Effects of inhomogeneous coupling strength due to implantation straggle, and varying lateral position within the confocal laser spot are addressed in Appendix A. Low microwave power was used to prevent power broadening, and retain near native linewidths in the ESR.”).
Sohn, 3.1 Background and motivation (“Owing to its large Young’s modulus, excellent thermal properties, and low thermoelastic dissipation, single-crystal diamond (SCD) is a promising candidate for realization of high frequency (f ) and high quality factor (Q) mechanical resonators. SCD is also a promising platform for applications in quantum information science and technology due to the color centers which can be embedded inside…. In particular, the negatively charged nitrogen vacancy (NV) color centers can be used as qubits with optical readout due to their long coherence times (milliseconds) even at room temperature.6 For example, coupling between an NV center and a mechanical resonator may enable high fidelity control of NV center spin state via rapid adiabatic passage,… and potentially the remote coupling of distant NV centers via mechanics. …As discussed in Section 1.3.2, mechanical resonators may enable coherent coupling between systems with degrees of freedom possessing dramatically different properties and energy scales.”).
Sohn, figure 2.1, caption (“(a) Representative scanning electron microscope (SEM) image of the angle-etched diamond cantilevers used. (b) Representative confocal microscope scan of a section of the cantilever showing fluoresecence from NV centers. (c) Driven response of the fundamental out-of-plane flexural mode (right inset) of the triangular cross-section (left inset) cantilevers studied in this work. For this particular device, we have w=580 nm, t=170 nm, and l=19 μm. The mode frequency is 937.2 kHz, and it has a Q-factor of 10,000. Measurements were taken in high vacuum (1e-5 torr) at room temperature. (d) Hyperfine structure of the ms = 0 to ms = +1 electron spin transition in the NV ground state indicating the three allowed microwave transitions. (e) AC strain induced broadening of the ms = 0 to ms = +1 hyperfine transitions near the clamp of the cantilever with gradually increasing mechanical amplitude. The mechanical mode is inertially driven at its resonance frequency with a piezo stack in all measurements. Open circles indicate measured data, and smoothed solid lines serve as a guide to the eye. Legend shows values of piezo drive power for each measurement. 0 dBm of drive power corresponds to an amplitude of 559 + 2 nm at the tip of the cantilever.”).
Consequently, in light of Sohn’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mouradian’s scalable embodiments to disclose a method comprising: optically and mechanically coupling a photonic diamond waveguide to the silicon-nitride waveguide on substrate; Mouradian; figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Mouradian – Selected Text; mechanically coupling a piezoelectrically driven cantilever to the photonic diamond waveguide that is optically and mechanically coupled to the silicon-nitride waveguide on substrate, Sohn, figure 2.1, and related figures and text, for example, Sohn – Selected Text; such that applying an electrical signal to a piezoelectric cantilever induces movement in the piezoelectric cantilever, and wherein the movement of the piezoelectric cantilever induces a strain in the photonic waveguide that tunes a frequency of photons emitted from the one or more embedded point defect sites, wherein the photonic chip receives the emitted photons having the tuned frequency; Mouradian; figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Mouradian – Selected Text; Sohn, figure 2.1, and related figures and text, for example, Sohn – Selected Text; because the resulting configurations and related methods would facilitate designing, fabricating, and deploying quantum teleportation systems. Burek, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Burek – Selected Text.
Burek – Figures 1 and 4
Burek – Selected Text
Abstract. Color centers in diamond provide a promising platform for quantum optics in the solid state, with coherent optical transitions and long-lived electron and nuclear spins. Building upon recent demonstrations of nanophotonic waveguides and optical cavities in single-crystal diamond, we now demonstrate on-chip diamond nanophotonics with a high-efficiency fiber-optical interface achieving >90% power coupling at visible wavelengths. We use this approach to demonstrate a bright source of narrow-band single photons based on a silicon-vacancy color center embedded within a waveguide-coupled diamond photonic crystal cavity. Our fiber-coupled diamond quantum nanophotonic interface results in a high flux (approximately 38 kHz) of coherent single photons (near Fourier limited at
I. INTRODUCTION
Luminescent point defects (“color centers”) in diamond provide a solid-state platform for the realization of scalable quantum technologies [1]. For instance, demonstrations that leverage the nitrogen-vacancy (NV) center in diamond as a spin-photon interface [2–7] have included the entanglement of two distant solid-state qubits [8] and long distance quantum teleportation [9]. While such advances have enabled recent tests of fundamental laws of nature [10], the entanglement generation rates in these experiments are currently limited by the rate of coherent photon generation and collection. To develop a scalable architecture for the realization of quantum networks [11,12], it will ultimately be necessary to engineer efficient single-photon emission into well-defined spatiotemporal modes [13].
Towards this goal, parallel efforts in the field of diamond nanofabrication and nanophotonics have demonstrated on-chip low-loss (below 1 dB/cm) diamond waveguides and a wide range of high-quality- (Q) factor optical cavities [12,14–26]. Recently, angled-etching nanofabrication [27–30] has emerged as a scalable method for realizing nanophotonic devices from bulk single-crystal diamond substrates. Using this approach, we demonstrate high-Q factor (>105)diamond photonic crystal cavities(PCCs)[31] operating over a wide wavelength range(visible to telecom). Monolithic diamond PCCs fabricated by angled etching are especially attractive for their compatibility with post fabrication processing techniques necessary to stabilize implantation-defined color centers, i.e., high-temperature annealing and acid treatments [32,33]. Together, recent efforts in quantum science and nanoscale engineering of diamond have resulted in the demonstration of a solid-state single-photon switch based on a single silicon-vacancy (SiV) color center embedded in a diamond PCC, as well as observation of entanglement between two SiVs implanted in a single-diamond waveguide [12]. As diamond nano photonics continues to enable advances in other disciplines (including nonlinear optics [34,35] and optomechanics [36,37]), the demand for scalable technology necessitates moving beyond isolated devices to fully integrated on-chip nanophotonic networks in which waveguides route photons between optical cavities [38]. Moreover, for applications involving single photons, such as quantum nonlinear optics with diamond color centers [12,22], efficient off-chip optical-coupling schemes are necessary to provide seamless transition of on-chip photons into commercial single-mode optical fibers [39–42].
Further regarding claim 16, Mouradian in view of Sohn, and further in view of Burek’s embodiments do not explicitly disclose a binding layer applied over an overlapping portion of the photonic waveguide and the piezoelectric cantilever.
However, Lodahl discloses in figures 2 and 3, and related figures and text, for example, Lodahl – Selected Text, single-photon source embodiments comprising adhesive-based mechanical clamps, for example, clamps comprising BCB or SU8. Lodahl, figures 2 and 3, and related figures and text, for example, Lodahl – Selected Text. (The examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the well known and well characterized adhesive characteristics of BCB.)
Lodahl – Figures 2 and 3
Lodahl – Selected Text
Abstract. The invention relates to coherent single photon sources that provide photons with a high degree of indistinguishability. It is a disadvantage of single photon sources based on QDs in nanophotonic structures that, even at low temperatures, acoustic vibrations interact with the QDs to reduce the coherence of the emitted spectrum. The invention uses mechanical clamping of the nanostructure to damp vibrations leading to a weaker QD—phonon coupling and a higher degree of indistinguishability between successively emitted photons. The clamp is mechanically connected to the length of the photonic nanostructure and has a stiffness and a size sufficient to suppress low frequency vibrations (ω≤10 GHz) in a combined structure of the clamp and the nanostructure.
[0020] The photonic nanostructure is either a single mode nanophotonic waveguide for the wavelength of the emitted photons or a nanophotonic cavity. In a preferred embodiment, the photonic nanostructure is a nanophotonic waveguide that is single-mode at the wavelength λ. Preferably, a single-mode nanophotonic waveguide is defined by a cross-sectional area of the waveguide, a, fulfilling the condition: a<0.07*λ.sup.2 corresponding to a diameter smaller than 0.3λ for circular nanostructures. Here λ is the central free space wavelength of the emitted photon. This ensures that the waveguide is single-mode, which again increases the coupling efficiency to the desired mode. In another preferred embodiment, the photonic nanostructure is a nanophotonic cavity. Preferably, a nanophotonic cavity is defined as having a mode-volume V<10*(λ/n).sup.3, where n is the refractive index of the material holding the QD, and a quality factor Q>500.
[0021] The clamp damps the acoustic (low frequency, ω≤10 GHz) vibrations in the photonic nanostructure by increasing the volume of the combined structure; the photonic nanostructure and the clamp. The damping of the vibrations leads to a higher indistinguishability of the generated photons of at least 99% at T=1.6 K.
[0022] In a preferred embodiment, the stiffness and size of the clamp is adjusted to provide a photon indistinguishability of at least 97%, or at least 98%, such as preferably at least 99% between emitted photons from the source.
[0023] The vibrational properties of the clamp and/or of the combined structure is mainly determined by the clamping material (in particular its stiffness) and the geometry of the clamp (i.e. its size and layout around the nanostructure). An analytical expression for the stiffness and size required to obtain a given indistinguishability cannot be obtained. Instead, simulations using preferred materials and geometries are performed to arrive at designs providing a desired indistinguishability. Table 1 below summarizes the results of computer simulations looking for the cross sectional area of the combined structure, A, that leads to an indistinguishability of 99% at a temperature of 1.6K. The simulation used a geometrical model similar to that of FIG. 1B. The simulations were performed for four preferred clamping materials, BCB, SU8, SiO.sub.2 and Si.sub.3Ni.sub.4 using a GaAs waveguide. These four were selected since they have Young's moduli in different ranges and are thus representative of a wide range of possible materials. Since the clamping material and the waveguide have different stiffness, represented by their different Young's moduli, there is also a weighted averaged Young's modulus in the table. Several expressions where tested with the goal of finding a single key parameter indicative of the required stiffness and size of the clamp, and a few are listed in the bottom lines of the table.
[0029] For a given photonic nanostructure and clamping material, these relations give minimum cross-sectional areas of the combined structure (and thus also the size of the clamp) required to achieve a high photon indistinguishability. Similarly, for a desired size of the clamp, the relations specify a stiffness (expressed by Young's modulus) of the clamping material needed to achieve a high photon indistinguishability. The simulations leading to these relations set a photon indistinguishability of 99%. The fabrication of early physical prototypes of single photon sources according to the invention is on the way. In the first prototype devices we expect to reach indistinguishability of 99% at T=1.6 K that we expect to extend to increased temperatures of T=4 K when optimising the device design.
[0030] The clamp is mechanically connected to the length of the photonic nanostructure. By this is meant the length of a section of the nanostructure in which the QD is positioned and in which vibrations interact with excitons of the QD. As well understood by the skilled person, in embodiments where the nanostructure is very long or consists of several sections with different functionalities, sections of the nanostructure very distant from the QD need not be mechanically connected to the clamp as vibrations in these sections will not affect the QD.
[0055] In an embodiment of the invention, the photonic nanostructure is a rectangular GaAs waveguide slab with transverse dimensions 300 nm×175 nm partly enclosed in a clamp formed in SU8 (epoxy resin) with a geometry as shown in FIG. 1B.
Consequently, in light of Lodahl’s disclosures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mouradian in view of Sohn, and further in view of Burek’s embodiments to disclose a binding layer applied over an overlapping portion of the photonic waveguide and the piezoelectric cantilever; Lodahl, figures 2 and 3, and related figures and text, for example, Lodahl – Selected Text; because the resulting configurations and related methods would facilitate designing, fabricating, and deploying cantilevered single-photon configurations characterized by ‘higher degrees of indistinguishability between successively emitted photons.’ Lodahl, abstract.
Regarding dependent claims 17-25, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mouradian in view of Sohn, further in view of Burek, further in view of Burek, and further in view of Lodahl, as applied in the rejection of claim 16, to disclose:
17. The method of claim 16, wherein applying the electrical signal comprises: exciting a defect site of the one or more embedded point defect sites with excitation light; measuring a frequency of a photon emitted by the excited defect site; determining a frequency shift based on the measured frequency of the emitted photon; and determining the electrical signal to be applied to the piezoelectric cantilever based on the frequency shift. Mouradian; figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Mouradian – Selected Text; Sohn, figure 2.1, and related figures and text, for example, Sohn – Selected Text; Burek, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Burek – Selected Text; Lodahl, figures 2 and 3, and related figures and text, for example, Lodahl – Selected Text.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein determining the frequency shift comprises comparing the measured frequency of the emitted photon to a reference frequency. Mouradian; figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Mouradian – Selected Text; Sohn, figure 2.1, and related figures and text, for example, Sohn – Selected Text; Burek, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Burek – Selected Text; Lodahl, figures 2 and 3, and related figures and text, for example, Lodahl – Selected Text.
19. The method of claim 18, wherein the reference frequency is associated with a desired quantum state for a qubit encoded in the defect site. Mouradian; figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Mouradian – Selected Text; Sohn, figure 2.1, and related figures and text, for example, Sohn – Selected Text; Burek, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Burek – Selected Text; Lodahl, figures 2 and 3, and related figures and text, for example, Lodahl – Selected Text.
20. The method of claim 16, wherein the electrical signal comprises a direct current (DC) signal. Mouradian; figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Mouradian – Selected Text; Sohn, figure 2.1, and related figures and text, for example, Sohn – Selected Text; Burek, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Burek – Selected Text; Lodahl, figures 2 and 3, and related figures and text, for example, Lodahl – Selected Text.,
21. The method of claim 16, wherein the electrical signal comprises an alternating current (AC) signal. Mouradian; figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Mouradian – Selected Text; Sohn, figure 2.1, and related figures and text, for example, Sohn – Selected Text; Burek, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Burek – Selected Text; Lodahl, figures 2 and 3, and related figures and text, for example, Lodahl – Selected Text.
22. The method of claim 21, wherein a frequency of the AC signal is approximately equal to a mechanical resonance frequency of the piezoelectric cantilever. Mouradian; figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Mouradian – Selected Text; Sohn, figure 2.1, and related figures and text, for example, Sohn – Selected Text; Burek, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Burek – Selected Text; Lodahl, figures 2 and 3, and related figures and text, for example, Lodahl – Selected Text.
23. The method of claim 21, wherein a voltage of the alternating current signal is approximately equal to 0.5 V. Mouradian; figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Mouradian – Selected Text; Sohn, figure 2.1, and related figures and text, for example, Sohn – Selected Text; Burek, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Burek – Selected Text; Lodahl, figures 2 and 3, and related figures and text, for example, Lodahl – Selected Text.
24. The method of claim 16, comprising: applying a magnetic field to a defect site of the one or more point defect sites using a permanent magnet; exciting the defect site from a first spin state to a second spin state; and applying the electrical signal to the piezoelectric cantilever, wherein the electrical signal comprises an alternating current signal with a frequency approximately equal to a separation frequency between the first spin state and the second spin state. Mouradian; figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Mouradian – Selected Text; Sohn, figure 2.1, and related figures and text, for example, Sohn – Selected Text; Burek, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Burek – Selected Text; Lodahl, figures 2 and 3, and related figures and text, for example, Lodahl – Selected Text.,
25. The method of claim 24, wherein the magnetic field is oriented perpendicular to a dipole axis of the defect site. Mouradian; figure 1, and related figures and text, for example, Mouradian – Selected Text; Sohn, figure 2.1, and related figures and text, for example, Sohn – Selected Text; Burek, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Burek – Selected Text; Lodahl, figures 2 and 3, and related figures and text, for example, Lodahl – Selected Text.
because the resulting configurations and related methods would facilitate designing, fabricating, and deploying quantum teleportation systems; Burek, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Burek – Selected Text; characterized by ‘higher degrees of indistinguishability between successively emitted photons.’ Lodahl, abstract.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER RADKOWSKI whose telephone number is (571)270-1613. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th 9-5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Hollweg, can be reached on (571) 270-1739. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/PETER RADKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874