DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending
Claims 1 and 2 have been amended
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massa US 4,909,266 (US’266) in view of Choi et al. KR 20100083079 (KR’079) (machine translation used for citation).
Regarding claim 1, US’266 teaches a method of cleaning articles, the method comprising the steps of: a) providing a cleaning reservoir having a plurality of chambers each for holding a cleaning fluid (tabletop structure 1 including tanks 3 and 4, see fig. 1, col .2); b) filling a first chamber of the cleaning reservoir with a cleaning fluid (tank 3 is filled from storage tank 6); c) cleaning one or more articles in the first chamber using the cleaning fluid (removal of soil from objects being cleaned, col 1-3, see fig. 1-2); d) transferring the cleaning fluid from the first chamber directly to a second chamber of the cleaning reservoir (the cleaning fluid in tank 3 is transferred directly to tank 4 through conduit 11, see fig. 2, col 3); and e) ultrasonically cleaning one or more different articles in the second chamber (articles are subjected to ultrasonic cleaning operation in tank 4, col. 3 see fig. 1-3) by reusing the cleaning fluid transferred from the first chamber and used to clean the one or more articles in the first chamber and imparting ultrasonic vibrations to the cleaning fluid in the second chamber (pump 14 maintains continuous circulation of the cleaning liquid throughout the system during operation while using the cleaning liquid to clean multiple articles while the transducers T1, T2 and T3 apply ultrasonic vibrations to the cleaning fluid, col. 1-3, see fig. 2).
US’266 does not teach the articles include vessels and the cleaning in the first chamber includes ultrasonically cleaning by imparting ultrasonic vibrations to the cleaning fluid in the first chamber.
KR’079 teaches a multi-stage dish cleaning device that includes multiple cleaning sinks/tanks for cleaning dishes such as bowls and containers/vessels, where the cleaning includes ultrasonic cleaning of dishes in a cleaning tank and rinsing the dishes in a separate tank. The multistage washing device allows semi-automated dish cleaning which can make it easier to effectively perform the cleaning process in commercial kitchens (page 1-3, see fig. 2-3). Therefore KR’079 and US’266 are both related to a base cleaning device for ultrasonically cleaning objects with a fluid in multiple stages and include multiple tanks. KR’079 further teaches the ultrasonic oscillation unit may be provided on the side wall of each sink to increase the cleaning effect (page 7). Therefore, it would be a simple modification of US’266 to include ultrasonic oscillation in both the first tank and the second tank to increase the cleaning effect as taught by KR’079 and to use the cleaning tanks to clean dishes including vessels to effectively perform semi-automatic cleaning of vessels in commercial kitchens.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of US’266 to include the articles include the articles include vessels and the cleaning in the first chamber includes ultrasonically cleaning by imparting ultrasonic vibrations to the cleaning fluid in the first chamber because KR’079 teaches it can increase the cleaning effect in the first tank and to provide semiautomatic cleaning of dishes in commercial kitchens and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claim 2, the modified method of US’266 teaches the method of cleaning a vessel according to claim 1. US’244 further teaches wherein the cleaning fluid is transferred from the first chamber to the second chamber of the cleaning reservoir using a fluid-distribution pump (pump 14 maintains continuous circulation of the cleaning liquid throughout the system, col. 3).
Claim(s) 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’266 in view of KR’079 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of FENG, Xiao-xing CN 201375968 (CN’968) (machine translation used for citation).
Regarding claims 3-5, the modified method of US’266 teaches the method of cleaning a vessel of claim 1.
The modified method of US’266 does not teach wherein at least one conduit having an open end extends into the cleaning reservoir; and an air extraction means associated with the at least one conduit provides an air escape pathway via the open end to remove air trapped in one of the vessels, that is inverted to be cleaned when positioned on the at least one conduit inside the cleaning reservoir, with regard to claim 3, wherein the at least one conduit comprises a plurality of conduits is provided, with regard to claim 4 and wherein the open ends of the plurality of conduits are vertically displaced relative to one another in the cleaning reservoir, with regard to claim 5.
CN’968 teaches a bottle cleaning device including a basket for immersing bottles into a washing tank. the feeding-bottle hung upside down in the washing basket pipe body is in vacuum state under function of the aspirator pump to make liquid be filled with the feeding-bottle to avoid the feeding-bottle comprising air bubble to affect clean efficiency (abstract). The device includes multiple pipes and a pump for removing air bubbles. Disinfectant or clear water in the washing tank to wash the feeding-bottle via ultrasound shake of the ultrasonic wave energy converter and ensure inner wall of the feeding-bottle be washed completely; washing the feeding-bottle and sterilizing at the same time because the washing tank is filled with disinfectant; it saves time, sharply reduces electric energy consumption (page 1-2 see fig. 1). Therefore, the modified device of US’266 can be modified to include multiple pipes for removing air bubbles in containers being washed to ensure water reaches all portions of the containers during ultrasonic cleaning and ensure that the containers are completely cleaned.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of US’266 to include wherein at least one conduit having an open end extends into the cleaning reservoir; and an air extraction means associated with the at least one conduit provides an air escape pathway via the open end to remove air trapped in one of the vessels, that is inverted to be cleaned when positioned on the at least one conduit inside the cleaning reservoir, with regard to claim 3, wherein the at least one conduit comprises a plurality of conduits is provided, with regard to claim 4 and wherein the open ends of the plurality of conduits are vertically displaced relative to one another in the cleaning reservoir, with regard to claim 5 because CN’968 teaches to include multiple pipes for removing air bubbles in containers being washed to ensure water reaches all portions of the containers during ultrasonic cleaning and ensure that the containers are completely cleaned.
Regarding claim 6, the modified method of US’266 teaches the method of cleaning a vessel of claim 3. KR’079 and CN’968 both further teaches the use of a basked for retaining the dishes to be cleaned (see abstract of CN’968 and fig. 4a-b page 7-8 KR’079) a basket reads on the retaining member of claim 6 because generally, a basked which retains the vessels would restrict movement of the vessels while they are exposed to the suction which reads broadly on "inhibiting lift".
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of US’266 to include wherein a retaining member is insertable into the cleaning reservoir, which retaining member is contactable with the inverted vessel to be cleaned to inhibit lift of the inverted vessel from the conduit because CN’968 and KR’079 teaches retaining members are known in the art for holding article during cleaning and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’266 in view of KR’079 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kong et al. US 2016/0338567 (US’567)
Regarding claim 7, the modified method of US’266 teaches the method of cleaning a vessel of claim 1.
The modified method of US’266 does not teach wherein steam from a steam generator is used to sterilize one of the vessels, that is inverted, to be cleaned following ultrasonic cleaning.
US’567 teaches an industrial dishwasher (abstract). The industrial dishwasher may additionally comprise one or more steam stations for discharging steam onto soiled serviceware or washed serviceware. The steam station may be integrated with the drying station such that saturated or super-heated steam can remove water residue from washed serviceware. Particularly, stream of super-heated steam at high velocity can dry or sanitize washed serviceware (para. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of US’266 to include wherein steam from a steam generator is used to sterilize one of the vessels, that is inverted, to be cleaned following ultrasonic cleaning, because US’567 teaches steam can dry and sanitize washed serviceware.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’266 in view of KR’079 and CN’968 as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kong et al. US 2016/0338567 (US’567)
Regarding claim 8, the modified method of US’266 teaches the method of cleaning a vessel of claim 3.
The modified method of US’266 does not teach wherein a steam generator is associated with the at least one conduit, the steam being directed through the at least one conduit into one of the vessels, that is inverted, to be cleaned.
US’567 teaches an industrial dishwasher (abstract). The industrial dishwasher may additionally comprise one or more steam stations for discharging steam onto soiled serviceware or washed serviceware. The steam station may be integrated with the drying station such that saturated or super-heated steam can remove water residue from washed serviceware. Particularly, stream of super-heated steam at high velocity can dry or sanitize washed serviceware (para. 27). Therefore, the modified method of US’266 can be modified to provide steam through the conduits to dry and sterilize the interior of the containers being washed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of US’266 to include wherein a steam generator is associated with the at least one conduit, the steam being directed through the at least one conduit into one of the vessels, that is inverted, to be cleaned because US’567 teaches steam can dry and sanitize washed serviceware
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to independent claim 1 to include subject matter regarding imparting ultrasonic vibrations to the cleaning fluid has changed the scope of claim 1. However, upon further consideration, the teachings of US’266 and KR’079 still appear to read on the claimed invention therefore a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 103 as obvious over US’266 in view of KR’079 which includes both the rejection of claim 1 as stated in the non-final office action mailed 8-15-25 and additional discussion regarding the teachings of US’266 and KR’079 relating to the features added to claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments that Massa does not teach ultrasonic cleaning in more than one tank or cleaning different articles in different tanks/vessels to provide an apparatus that is sufficiently compact to be useable as a portable table-top apparatus initiating simultaneous cleaning of different vessels has been considered but are not deemed persuasive. The argument mischaracterizes the scope of the claims as well as the combined teachings discussed above. Claim 1 does not require that the cleaning reservoir be sufficiently compact to be useable as a portable table-top apparatus. The claim is directed to a method of cleaning vessels using a cleaning reservoir having a plurality of chambers with cleaning fluid transferred between them and does not impose any constraints on the overall size or form of the cleaning reservoir. Additionally, the claim does not require any particular timing relationship between cleaning operations in the first and second chamber, such as simultaneous and or complete cleaning in the first and second chamber. Nothing in the claim language mandates that these operations occur at the same time or that the entire cleaning of each vessel is completed separately. The claim only requires performing cleaning of vessels using two chambers. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As discussed above, US’266 in view of KR’079 teaches washing dishes, which inherently involving cleaning multiple dishes, which reads on multiple different vessels being cleaned. Although each vessel is cleaned in both chambers, the method of the prior art encompasses steps including cleaning one vessel in one chamber and cleaning other vessel in the other chamber. The modified method of US’266 teaches a multi-stage dish cleaning method useful in commercial kitchens that includes multiple cleaning sinks for cleaning dishes such as bowls and containers, where the cleaning process including ultrasonic cleaning of dishes in multiple tanks to increase the cleaning effect in the first tank and to provide semiautomatic cleaning of dishes in commercial kitchens. The process of cleaning dishes in a commercial kitchen based on the combined teachings of US’266 and KR’079 would result in cleaning multiple dishes, including multiple vessels, in the different chambers as the dishes are moved through the different chambers which includes provide ultrasonic vibration in multiple chambers. The combination reads on the broadly stated steps of the claim requiring cleaning of vessels in two different chambers using ultrasonic cleaning.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713