Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 10 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 line 3, claim 10 line 6, and claim 17 line 7 introduce the limitation “a removeable power module”. It is unclear if the power module is one of the plurality of power modules. Claim language such as “a removable power module of the plurality of power modules” would more clearly link said limitation to the claimed plurality of modules. Claims 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected as depending from claims 10 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 and 7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mueckl, US20190356147A1.
Regarding claim 1, Mueckl teaches a portable and modular battery storage system (portable power source (10))[0002] comprising:
an enclosure (frame (50)) having a first end, a second end and a housing (housing (18)) extending between the first end and the second end to define a space within the enclosure (space inside frame (50))[fig. 1A];
one or more openings (battery pack supports (46))[0048] defined by the second end (top (22)) of the housing configured to accommodate a plurality of removable power modules (removable battery packs (140))[fig. 1A][fig. 1F][0048];
a plurality of input/output connectors (78)(94)(82)[fig. 3A], positioned on the enclosure [fig. 1A], configured to couple DC and AC power to and from the enclosure [0054];
a circuit board (circuitry (150))[0063], positioned in the enclosure (part of power source (10)), for distributing the AC and DC power between the plurality of input/output connectors and the plurality of removeable power modules [0063][0064];
where each removeable power module in the plurality of removeable power modules is a standalone power module that forms an AC and/or DC power source for use separate from the enclosure or (removable battery packs for powering cordless devices)[0003], alternatively, when coupled to the enclosure, forms a multiple power module power system (battery packs mounted within portable power source (10) used to power corded devices)[0047].
Regarding claim 2, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 1, wherein the second end defines a plurality of openings (top (22) has battery supports (46)), where each opening is configured for ingress and egress of a removeable power module (supports (46) allow insertion and removal of battery packs (14))[0048][0059].
Regarding claim 3, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 1, wherein the first end (front (30))[fig. 1D] comprises a display (fuel gauge display (98A)) and a plurality of input/output connectors (82)(94)(78)[fig. 3A][0053].
Regarding claim 4, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 3, wherein the plurality of input/output connectors comprise at least one USB-A connector (USB (82))[fig. 3A] and/or at least one NEMA 5-15 AC outlet (outlets (28)(94))[fig. 3A].
Regarding claim 7, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 6, wherein the at least one battery is centrally located within the power module (cell within pack housing (17))[0008][0050].
Regarding claim 8, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 6, wherein the removeable power module comprises at least one input/output connector (pack terminals (15))[0050].
Regarding claim 9, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 1, wherein energy from each of the removable power modules is combined to form a high-power AC output [0084].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueckl, US20190356147A1 (in IDS filed 4/28/23) and further in view of Hansen, US20190296290A1.
Regarding claim 5, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 1.
Mueckl does not teach wherein the first end comprises a gap to allow air to flow into the enclosure.
Hansen teaches a portable and modular battery storage system [0002] wherein the first end comprises a gap to allow air to flow into the enclosure (air vents (166)(170) on housing (14))[0061] and further teaches the gap to cool components [0061]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the gap of Hansen into the system of Mueckl to cool components.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueckl, US20190356147A1 (in IDS filed 4/28/23) and Lee, US20240300375A1 as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Hansen, US20190296290A1.
Regarding claim 13, the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 10.
Mueckl does not teach wherein the first end comprises a gap to allow air to flow into the enclosure.
Hansen teaches a portable and modular battery storage system [0002] wherein the first end comprises a gap to allow air to flow into the enclosure (air vents (166)(170) on housing (14))[0061] and further teaches the gap to cool components [0061]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the gap of Hansen into the system of Mueckl to cool components.
Claims 6, 10 – 12, and 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueckl, US20190356147A1 (in IDS filed 4/28/23) and Lee, US20240300375A1
Regarding claim 6, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 1, wherein each removeable power module comprises at least one battery (battery cells)[0008].
Merkle does not teach at least one bidirectional power converter.
Lee teaches a portable and modular battery storage system (battery swapping station)[0002] wherein each removeable power module comprises at least one bidirectional power converter [0023] wherein bidirectional power transfer improves operation between a system and battery module [0014]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the bidirectional converters of Lee into the system of Merkle to improve operations between the battery and the system.
Regarding claim 10, Mueckl teaches a portable and modular battery storage system (portable power source (10))[0002] comprising:
an enclosure (frame (50)) having a first end, a second end and a housing (housing (18)) extending between the first end and the second end to define a space within the enclosure (space inside frame (50))[fig. 1A];
one or more openings (battery pack supports (46))[0048] defined by the second end (top (22)) of the housing configured to accommodate a plurality of removable power modules (removable battery packs (140))[fig. 1A][fig. 1F][0048];
a plurality of input/output connectors (78)(94)(82)[fig. 3A], positioned on the enclosure [fig. 1A], configured to couple DC and AC power to and from the enclosure [0054];
a circuit board (circuitry (150))[0063], positioned in the enclosure (part of power source (10)), for distributing the AC and DC power between the plurality of input/output connectors and the plurality of removeable power modules [0063][0064];
where each removeable power module in the plurality of removeable power modules is a standalone power module that forms an AC and/or DC power source for use separate from the enclosure or (removable battery packs for powering cordless devices)[0003], alternatively, when coupled to the enclosure, forms a multiple power module power system (battery packs mounted within portable power source (10) used to power corded devices)[0047]
wherein each opening enables the ingress and egress of a removeable power module (supports (46) allow insertion and removal of battery packs (14))[0048][0059]
Merkle does not teach where each removeable power module includes at least one bidirectional power converter.
Lee teaches a portable and modular battery storage system (battery swapping station)[0002] wherein each removeable power module comprises at least one bidirectional power converter [0023] wherein bidirectional power transfer improves operation between a system and battery module [0014]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the bidirectional converters of Lee into the system of Merkle to improve operations between the battery and the system.
Regarding claim 11, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 10, wherein the first end (front (30))[fig. 1D] comprises a display (fuel gauge display (98A)) and a plurality of input/output connectors (82)(94)(78)[fig. 3A][0053].
Regarding claim 12, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of input/output connectors comprise at least one USB-A connector (USB (82))[fig. 3A] and/or at least one NEMA 5-15 AC outlet (outlets (28)(94))[fig. 3A].
Regarding claim 14, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 10, wherein the at least one battery is centrally located within the power module (cell within pack housing (17))[0008][0050].
Regarding claim 15, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 10, wherein the removeable power module comprises at least one input/output connector (pack terminals (15))[0050].
Regarding claim 16, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 10, wherein energy from each of the removable power modules is combined to form a high-power AC output [0084].
Regarding claim 17, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system (portable power source (10))[0002] comprising:
an enclosure (frame (50)) having a first end, a second end and a housing (housing (18)) extending between the first end and the second end to define a space within the enclosure (space inside frame (50))[fig. 1A];
one or more openings (battery pack supports (46))[0048] defined by the second end (top (22)) of the housing configured to accommodate a plurality of removable power modules (removable battery packs (140))[fig. 1A][fig. 1F][0048];
a plurality of input/output connectors (78)(94)(82)[fig. 3A], positioned on the enclosure [fig. 1A], configured to couple DC and AC power to and from the enclosure [0054];
a circuit board (circuitry (150))[0063], positioned in the enclosure (part of power source (10)), for distributing the AC and DC power between the plurality of input/output connectors and the plurality of removeable power modules [0063][0064];
where each removeable power module in the plurality of removeable power modules is a standalone power module that forms an AC and/or DC power source for use separate from the enclosure or (removable battery packs for powering cordless devices)[0003], alternatively, when coupled to the enclosure, forms a multiple power module power system (battery packs mounted within portable power source (10) used to power corded devices)[0047].
wherein each opening enables the ingress and egress of a removeable power module (supports (46) allow insertion and removal of battery packs (14))[0048][0059]; a display (fuel gauge display (98A)) positioned on the first end of the enclosure (front (30));
Merkle does not teach where each removeable power module includes at least one bidirectional power converter.
Lee teaches a portable and modular battery storage system (battery swapping station)[0002] wherein each removeable power module comprises at least one bidirectional power converter [0023] wherein bidirectional power transfer improves operation between a system and battery module [0014]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the bidirectional converters of Lee into the system of Merkle to improve operations between the battery and the system.
Regarding claim 18, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 17, wherein the plurality of input/output connectors comprise at least one USB-A connector (USB (82))[fig. 3A] and/or at least one NEMA 5-15 AC outlet (outlets (28)(94))[fig. 3A].
Regarding claim 19, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 17, wherein the at least one battery is centrally located within the power module (cell within pack housing (17))[0008][0050].
Regarding claim 20, Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 17, wherein energy from each of the removable power modules is combined to form a high-power AC output [0084].
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724