Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 2 and 10 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 line 3, claim 10 line 6, and claim 17 line 7 introduce the limitation “a removeable power module”. It is unclear if the power module is one of the plurality of power modules. Claim language such as “a removable power module of the plurality of power modules” would more clearly link said limitation to the claimed plurality of modules. Claims 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected as depending from claims 10 and 17. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 – 4 and 7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mueckl , US20190356147A1 . Regarding claim 1 , Mueckl teaches a portable and modular battery storage system (portable power source (10 ) )[ 0002] comprising: an enclosure (frame (50)) having a first end, a second end and a housing (housing (18)) extending between the first end and the second end to define a space within the enclosure (space inside frame (50 ))[ fig. 1A] ; one or more openings (battery pack supports (46 ))[ 0048] defined by the second end (top (22)) of the housing configured to accommodate a plurality of removable power modules (removable battery packs (140))[fig. 1A][fig. 1F][0048] ; a plurality of input/output connectors (78)(94)( 82)[ fig. 3A] , positioned on the enclosure [fig. 1A] , configured to couple DC and AC power to and from the enclosure [0054] ; a circuit board (circuitry (150 ))[ 0063] , positioned in the enclosure (part of power source (10)) , for distributing the AC and DC power between the plurality of input/output connectors and the plurality of removeable power modules [0063][0064] ; where each removeable power module in the plurality of removeable power modules is a standalone power module that forms an AC and/or DC power source for use separate from the enclosure or (removable battery packs for powering cordless devices)[ 0003] , alternatively, when coupled to the enclosure, forms a multiple power module power system (battery packs mounted within portable power source (10) used to power corded devices)[0047] . Regarding claim 2 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 1, wherein the second end defines a plurality of openings (top (22) has battery supports (46)) , where each opening is configured for ingress and egress of a removeable power module (supports (46) allow insertion and removal of battery packs (14 ))[ 0048] [0059] . Regarding claim 3 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 1, wherein the first end (front (30 ))[ fig. 1D] comprises a display (fuel gauge display (98A)) and a plurality of input/output connectors (82)(94)(78)[fig. 3A][0053] . Regarding claim 4 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 3, wherein the plurality of input/output connectors comprise at least one USB-A connector (USB (82 ))[ fig. 3A] and/or at least one NEMA 5-15 AC outlet (outlets (28)(94))[fig. 3A] . Regarding claim 7 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 6, wherein the at least one battery is centrally located within the power module (cell within pack housing (17 ))[ 0008][0050] . Regarding claim 8 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 6, wherein the removeable power module comprises at least one input/output connector (pack terminals (15 ))[ 0050] . Regarding claim 9 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 1, wherein energy from each of the removable power modules is combined to form a high-power AC output [0084] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueckl , US20190356147A1 (in IDS filed 4/28/23) and further in view of Hansen, US 20190296290 A1. Regarding claim 5 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 1 . Mueckl does not teach wherein the first end comprises a gap to allow air to flow into the enclosure. Hansen teaches a portable and modular battery storage system [0002] wherein the first end comprises a gap to allow air to flow into the enclosure (air vents ( 166)( 170) on housing (14))[0061] and further teaches the gap to cool components [0061]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the gap of Hansen into the system of Mueckl to cool components. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueckl , US20190356147A1 (in IDS filed 4/28/23) and Lee, US20240300375A1 as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Hansen, US 20190296290 A1. Regarding claim 13 , the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 10 . Mueckl does not teach wherein the first end comprises a gap to allow air to flow into the enclosure. Hansen teaches a portable and modular battery storage system [0002] wherein the first end comprises a gap to allow air to flow into the enclosure (air vents ( 166)( 170) on housing (14))[0061] and further teaches the gap to cool components [0061]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the gap of Hansen into the system of Mueckl to cool components. Claims 6, 10 – 12, and 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueckl , US20190356147A1 (in IDS filed 4/28/23) and Lee, US20240300375A1 Regarding claim 6 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 1, wherein each removeable power module comprises at least one battery (battery cells)[ 0008] . Merkle does not teach at least one bidirectional power converter. Lee teaches a portable and modular battery storage system (battery swapping station)[ 0002] wherein each removeable power module comprises at least one bidirectional power converter [0023] wherein bidirectional power transfer improves operation between a system and battery module [0014]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the bidirectional converters of Lee into the system of Merkle to improve operations between the battery and the system. Regarding claim 10 , Mueckl teaches a portable and modular battery storage system (portable power source (10 ))[ 0002] comprising: an enclosure (frame (50)) having a first end, a second end and a housing (housing (18)) extending between the first end and the second end to define a space within the enclosure (space inside frame (50 ))[ fig. 1A] ; one or more openings (battery pack supports (46 ))[ 0048] defined by the second end (top (22)) of the housing configured to accommodate a plurality of removable power modules (removable battery packs (140))[fig. 1A][fig. 1F][0048] ; a plurality of input/output connectors (78)(94)( 82)[ fig. 3A] , positioned on the enclosure [fig. 1A] , configured to couple DC and AC power to and from the enclosure [0054] ; a circuit board (circuitry (150 ))[ 0063] , positioned in the enclosure (part of power source (10)) , for distributing the AC and DC power between the plurality of input/output connectors and the plurality of removeable power modules [0063][0064] ; where each removeable power module in the plurality of removeable power modules is a standalone power module that forms an AC and/or DC power source for use separate from the enclosure or (removable battery packs for powering cordless devices)[ 0003] , alternatively, when coupled to the enclosure, forms a multiple power module power system (battery packs mounted within portable power source (10) used to power corded devices)[0047] wherein each opening enables the ingress and egress of a removeable power module (supports (46) allow insertion and removal of battery packs (14 ))[ 0048][0059] Merkle does not teach where each removeable power module includes at least one bidirectional power converter . Lee teaches a portable and modular battery storage system (battery swapping station)[ 0002] wherein each removeable power module comprises at least one bidirectional power converter [0023] wherein bidirectional power transfer improves operation between a system and battery module [0014]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the bidirectional converters of Lee into the system of Merkle to improve operations between the battery and the system. Regarding claim 11 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 10, wherein the first end (front (30 ))[ fig. 1D] comprises a display (fuel gauge display (98A)) and a plurality of input/output connectors (82)(94)(78)[fig. 3A][0053] . Regarding claim 12 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of input/output connectors comprise at least one USB-A connector (USB (82 ))[ fig. 3A] and/or at least one NEMA 5-15 AC outlet (outlets (28)(94))[fig. 3A] . Regarding claim 14 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 10, wherein the at least one battery is centrally located within the power module (cell within pack housing (17 ))[ 0008][0050] . Regarding claim 15 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 10, wherein the removeable power module comprises at least one input/output connector (pack terminals (15 ))[ 0050] . Regarding claim 16 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 10, wherein energy from each of the removable power modules is combined to form a high-power AC output [0084] . Regarding claim 17 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system (portable power source (10 ))[ 0002] comprising: an enclosure (frame (50)) having a first end, a second end and a housing (housing (18)) extending between the first end and the second end to define a space within the enclosure (space inside frame (50 ))[ fig. 1A] ; one or more openings (battery pack supports (46 ))[ 0048] defined by the second end (top (22)) of the housing configured to accommodate a plurality of removable power modules (removable battery packs (140))[fig. 1A][fig. 1F][0048] ; a plurality of input/output connectors (78)(94)( 82)[ fig. 3A] , positioned on the enclosure [fig. 1A] , configured to couple DC and AC power to and from the enclosure [0054] ; a circuit board (circuitry (150 ))[ 0063] , positioned in the enclosure (part of power source (10)) , for distributing the AC and DC power between the plurality of input/output connectors and the plurality of removeable power modules [0063][0064] ; where each removeable power module in the plurality of removeable power modules is a standalone power module that forms an AC and/or DC power source for use separate from the enclosure or (removable battery packs for powering cordless devices)[ 0003] , alternatively, when coupled to the enclosure, forms a multiple power module power system (battery packs mounted within portable power source (10) used to power corded devices)[0047] . wherein each opening enables the ingress and egress of a removeable power module (supports (46) allow insertion and removal of battery packs (14 ))[ 0048][0059] ; a display (fuel gauge display (98A)) positioned on the first end of the enclosure (front (30)) ; Merkle does not teach where each removeable power module includes at least one bidirectional power converter . Lee teaches a portable and modular battery storage system (battery swapping station)[ 0002] wherein each removeable power module comprises at least one bidirectional power converter [0023] wherein bidirectional power transfer improves operation between a system and battery module [0014]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the bidirectional converters of Lee into the system of Merkle to improve operations between the battery and the system. Regarding claim 18 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 17, wherein the plurality of input/output connectors comprise at least one USB-A connector (USB (82 ))[ fig. 3A] and/or at least one NEMA 5-15 AC outlet (outlets (28)(94))[fig. 3A] . Regarding claim 19 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 17, wherein the at least one battery is centrally located within the power module (cell within pack housing (17 ))[ 0008][0050] . Regarding claim 20 , Mueckl teaches the portable and modular battery storage system of claim 17, wherein energy from each of the removable power modules is combined to form a high-power AC output [0084] . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT PATRICK M GREENE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1340 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8-5 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Miriam Stagg can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5256 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /MIRIAM STAGG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724