DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action is response to communications received on 06/29/2023. Claims 2-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,666,449. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claims 2-10, patent claims 1-9 (respectively) recite the same limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodorek et al. (US 10,722,374) in view of Roche et al. (US 2007/0142917).
Regarding Claim 2, Hodorek discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Hodorek teaches a method of replacing a native glenoid with a prosthetic glenoid implant (2), the method comprising the steps of: placing a base component (20) of a glenoid implant (2) into a glenoid vault such that a keel (30) of the base component is received within a recess of the native glenoid (Fig 3C), the keel defining a length, a width and a height (Fig 2C), the length extending away from a bone-contacting surface of the base component along a length direction, the height extending along a first direction transverse to the length direction and the width extending in a second direction transverse to the length direction and the first direction (Fig 2C);
inserting a first fixation member (60) through a superior aperture of the base component and into the glenoid vault (Fig 3C), the superior aperture extending through a superior extension of a base portion of the base component;
inserting a second fixation member (60) through an inferior aperture of the base component and into the glenoid vault (Fig 3C), the inferior aperture extending through an inferior extension of the base portion of the base component, and
attaching a bearing component (6) to the base component (20) by coupling a first mating feature (32b) of the base component (20) to a second mating feature (19a) of the bearing component (6), the bearing component having a first articulating surface (shown) adapted to articulate with a native or prosthetic humeral head and a second surface (shown) including the second mating feature (19a).
However, Hodorek does not disclose wherein the width being smaller than the length and the height.
Roche teaches a glenoid prosthesis (Figs 2A-2C) in the same field of endeavor. Said prosthesis comprising a keel (202B) defining a length (shown), a width (shown) and a height (shown), the length extending away from a bone-contacting surface (shown) of the base component along a length direction, the height extending along a first direction transverse to the length direction and the width extending in a second direction transverse to the length direction and the first direction (Figs 2A-2C), wherein the width being smaller than the length and the height (as shown). Said keel conserves bone stock and provides multiple windows/holes to aid in long term fixation via bone ingrowth [0036]-[0037].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the keel, as taught by Hodorek, for the keel as taught by Roche, in order to conserve bone stock and provide the keel with multiple windows/holes to aid in long term fixation via bone ingrowth [0036]-[0037]. As both the Hodorek and Roche keels are constructed and designed in order to effectively anchor a prosthetic glenoid component, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to substitute the design of one keel for the other. The proposed combination would involve no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement. “Express suggestion to substitute one equivalent for another need not be present to render such substitution obvious.” Id. at 301, 213 USPQ at 536.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination teaches wherein the step of attaching the bearing component (6) to the base component (20) includes coupling a peripheral rim (shown) of the bearing component to a peripheral recess (32a & 32b) of the base component.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination teaches wherein the step of attaching the bearing component (6) to the base component (20) includes coupling a peripheral rim (shown) of the base component to a peripheral recess (14) of the bearing component.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination teaches wherein the keel is generally trapezoidal (Roche Fig 2A).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination teaches wherein the keel includes a window (shown) defining a recess (shown).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination teaches wherein the recess is generally trapezoidal (Roche Fig 2A).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination teaches wherein the recess includes an array of circular openings (Roche Fig 2B and [0038]).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination teaches wherein the base component includes a first slot (shown) extending from a first surface (facing bearing component) of the base component to the bone-contacting surface (29) of the base component, the first slot being positioned adjacent the keel on a first side of the keel (Hodorek Fig 2C).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination teaches wherein the base component includes a second slot (shown) extending from the first surface (facing bearing surface) of the base component to the bone-contacting surface (29) of the base component, the second slot being positioned adjacent the keel on a second side of the keel opposite the first side of the keel (Hodorek Fig 2C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding Claim 11, the prior art of record, which is the most pertinent art found, fails to teach and/or fairly suggest the instant invention. As set forth supra, the combination of Hodorek et al. (US 10,722,374) in view of Roche et al. (US 2007/0142917) discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Further, the combination teaches the steps of: detaching a bearing component of an implanted glenoid implant from a base component of the glenoid implant by uncoupling a first mating feature of the base component from a second mating feature of the bearing component (in the transition from anatomical implant to reverse as illustrated in Figs 2A-2F).
However, the combination does not teach inserting a cutting tool through any of a first slot and a second slot of the base component located on opposite sides of a keel extending away from a bone-contacting surface of the base component into the glenoid vault; removing bone adjacent the keel, and removing the base component from the glenoid vault, wherein the first and second slots extend from a first surface of the base component to the bone-contacting surface of the base component, the first slot being positioned adjacent the keel on a first side of the keel and the second slot being positioned adjacent the keel on a second side of the keel opposite the first side of the keel.
Kelley (US 9,603,720) teaches inserting a cutting tool (60) through any of a first slot (26) and a second slot (26) located on opposite sides of an implant (111); removing bone adjacent the implant, and removing the implant, wherein the first and second slots extend from a first surface of the base component, the first slot being positioned adjacent the implant on a first side and the second slot being positioned adjacent the implant on a second side opposite the first side of the keel (Figs 5-6).
However, the prior art either individually or in combination, does not teach or render obvious wherein the first and second slots are positioned on the glenoid base component.
Conclusion
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774