DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-8, 10-13, 14-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allababdeh, A.S., "Electrochemically Regulated Polyelectrolyte Complex for Smart Wound Dressings," Master's Thesis, Youngstown State University, 92 pages, dated May 2022 (hereinafter “Allababdeh”).
With reference to claim 14, Allababdeh discloses a wound dressing (page 9) comprising:
a cathode;
an anode; and
a composition located between the cathode and the anode, the composition comprising: a ferrocene-containing polyelectrolyte complex; and
an active ingredient as shown in figure 4.17.
As to claims 6-8 and 18, Allababdeh discloses a wound dressing wherein ferrocene is bonded to a polycation of the polyelectrolyte complex and wherein the polycation is chitosan (cl. 7) and the polyanion is alginate (cl. 8) as discussed throughout the thesis, see especially page 3, the bottom of page 4 and pages 35-37.
Regarding claims 10-13 and 19, Allababdeh discloses a wound dressing wherein a weight ratio of the ferrocene-conjugated chitosan to alginate is within the claimed range as set forth on page 18.
With reference to claim 15 Allababdeh discloses a wound dressing further comprising: a polydimethylsiloxane chamber wherein the composition is located within the polydimethylsiloxane chamber as set forth on pages 45-46.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allababdeh, A.S., "Electrochemically Regulated Polyelectrolyte Complex for Smart Wound Dressings," Master's Thesis, Youngstown State University, 92 pages, dated May 2022 (hereinafter “Allababdeh”) and further in view of CN 112244766 (hereinafter “Wu”).
With reference to claim 16, Allababdeh teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 14.
The difference between Allababdeh and claim 16 is the explicit recitation that the cathode and the anode comprise laser-induced graphene.
Wu teaches an analogous wound device that includes a cathode and an anode comprising laser-induced graphene as addressed on the second page of the translated document.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the cathode and anode of Allababdeh with laser-induced graphene as taught by Wu because the material is cost effective, simple and efficient and can realize mass production as taught by Wu on page 4 of the translated document.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allababdeh, A.S., "Electrochemically Regulated Polyelectrolyte Complex for Smart Wound Dressings," Master's Thesis, Youngstown State University, 92 pages, dated May 2022 (hereinafter “Allababdeh”) and further in view of Mower (US 2016/0175579).
With reference to claim 17, Allababdeh teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 14.
The difference between Allababdeh and claim 17 is the explicit recitation that the wound dressing further comprises an adhesive layer on a side of the anode opposite the composition.
Mower teaches an analogous wound device that includes an adhesive layer (408) on opposite sides of the anode (404) as shown in figure 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the device of Allababdeh with adhesive as taught by Mower to provide a stable adherence to the skin as taught by Mower in [0028-0030].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allababdeh, A.S., "Electrochemically Regulated Polyelectrolyte Complex for Smart Wound Dressings," Master's Thesis, Youngstown State University, 92 pages, dated May 2022 (hereinafter “Allababdeh”).
With reference to claim 20, Allababdeh teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 14.
The difference between Allababdeh and claim 20 is the explicit recitation that a degree of ferrocene conjugation of the ferrocene-conjugated chitosan is in a specific range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the range as desired because Allababdeh teaches that different amounts of ferrocene are conjugated to find the most efficient conditions for functionality and stability as set forth on pages 4-5.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
/MICHELE KIDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781