DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Invention I, Group I subspecies “a”, Group II subspecies “a”, drawn to claims 1, 2 and 4-9, in the reply filed on June 9, 2025, is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 28 and 29 are allowable. The restriction requirement between Inventions I and II, and among the respective species of Inventions I and II , as set forth in the Office action mailed on April 16, 2025, has been reconsidered in view of the allowability of claims to the elected invention pursuant to MPEP § 821.04(a). The restriction requirement is hereby withdrawn as to any claim that requires all the limitations of an allowable claim. Specifically, the restriction requirement of April 16, 2025, is withdrawn. Claims 3 and 10-19 , directed to Invention II and a non-elected species of Invention I are no longer withdrawn from consideration because the claim(s) requires all the limitations of an allowable claim. Additionally, claims which were previously drawn to non-elected Inventions III and IV have been canceled.
In view of the above noted withdrawal of the restriction requirement, applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 14, line 2, the recitation “a closed position” should read –[[a]]the closed position--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30, 32 and 34, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US4991745 (“Brown”).
Regarding claim 30, Brown discloses (see figs. 6 and 7) a check valve comprising:
a valve body (1) formed from a resilient material (see specification col. 5, lines 42-55), the valve body having an inlet side (lower side, relative to the orientation of fig. 1, exposed to discharge opening 19) and an outlet side (upper side, relative to the orientation of fig. 1, exposed to atmosphere) and comprising:
a rim (30) forming an outer periphery of the valve body;
a hinge section comprising an annular groove (groove 4) formed on the inlet side of the valve body radially inward of and adjacent to the rim; and
a plurality of lips (lips 47 and 48) formed at a center of the valve body by one or more slits (8) extending radially outward from the center of the valve body towards the hinge section, and
wherein a thickness of the plurality of lips (see thickness at valve area 5 in figs. 6 and 7) is greater than a thickness (see thickness of rim 30 in figs. 6 and 7) of the rim.
Regarding claim 32, Brown discloses an open position (see by example position illustrated in fig. 12) wherein the plurality of lips (47 and 48) are hinged outward from the valve body (1) allowing fluid communication (55) from the inlet side (upper side, relative to the orientation of fig. 12) to the outlet side (lower side, relative to the orientation of fig. 12), wherein a pressure (“threshold pressure”; see specification col. 6, line 64, through col. 7, line 10) to maintain the check valve in the open position is less than a check pressure (“sealing pressure”; see specification col. 6, line 64, through col. 7, line 10) of the check valve.
Regarding claim 34, Brown discloses a surface (40; see fig. 7) extending at least from the center (center defined by slit 8; see fig. 7) to and including the hinge section (portion including annular groove 4) is planar on the outlet side (upper side, relative to the orientation of fig. 7) of the valve body (1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown, as applied to claims 30 and 32, in view of engineering expedient.
Regarding claim 33, Brown discloses invention as claimed except for the check pressure of the check valve being between 6-7 psi.
However, Brown teaches that the check pressure (“threshold pressure”; see specification col. 7, lines 11-27) would be designed to be slightly higher than head pressure of the enclosed liquid, while obtaining the desired flow rate and pattern, without requiring extensive pressure to be applied.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Brown by designing the check pressure of the check valve to be between 6-7 psi, to effect a desired flow rate and pattern of flow through the check valve, operating with a desired fluid.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown, as applied to claim 30, in view of US2644663 (“Klingler”).
Regarding claim 35, Brown discloses the invention as claimed except for being silent to a thickness of the hinge section being less than a thickness of the rim.
Klingler teaches (see fig. 3) a check valve having a hinge section (see area defined by groove 11; see fig. 3) defining a first thickness, which is less than a second thickness of a rim (rim defined by surfaces 8 and 9; see fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Brown by configuring the thickness of the hinge section is less than a thickness of the rim, as taught by Klingler, to achieve a desired threshold pressure to open the check valve.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13, 17-19, 28 and 29 are allowed.
Claims 14-16 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the claim objection(s), set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 1 and 10, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the invention, wherein, in a closed position, a thickness of the plurality of lips extends past the inlet side surface of the rim on the inlet side of the valve body, and wherein the rim is co-planar with the plurality of lips on the outlet side of the valve body when in a closed position, in combination with the remainder limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 31, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the invention, wherein an overall height of the valve body being defined by the thickness of the plurality of lips and being greater than a thickness of the rim, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Claims 2, 4-9, 11-19, 28 and 29 are allowable because they depend on an allowable base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed March 4, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the rejoinder of claims 10-19, since independent claim 10 drawn to a dispensing system comprising all the elements of allowable claim 1, claims 10-19 are now rejoined. Additionally, previously withdrawn claim 3, drawn to a non-elected species, is now rejoined because it depends upon an allowable base claim.
Regarding the objection of claim 1, Applicant’s current amendments have overcome this objection, and the objection is now withdrawn; however, rejoined claim 14 is now objected to, see Office action above.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejection of claim 31, Applicant’s current amendments have overcome this rejection, and the rejection is now withdrawn.
With regards to the rejection of claim 30 over Brown, Applicant argues that
“The Office Action alleges that an un-dimensioned, not to scale figure in Brown discloses this feature. Office Action, p. 6. However, the Office's allegation contradicts long standing law on this point. "[I]t is well established that patent drawings do not define the precise proportions of the elements and may not be relied on to show particular sizes if the specification is completely silent on the issue." Hockerson-Halberstadt Inc. V. Avia Group Int'l, 222 F.3d 951, 956 (Fed. Cir. 2000). The MPEP also explains that "[w]hen the reference does not disclose that the drawings are to scale and is silent as to dimensions, arguments based on measurement of the drawing features are of little value." MPEP §2125.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. While a drawing, not indicated as being drawn to scale, can not be relied upon to show precise proportions or dimensions, the things patent drawings show clearly are not to be disregarded. A test of simple observation of the unscaled drawing of Brown clearly reveals the claimed “a thickness of the plurality of lips is greater than a thickness of the rim” to one skilled in the art. Although Brown can not be utilized to indicate specific proportions of dimensions between the thickness of the plurality of lips and the thickness of the rim, a general observation of Brown indicates that the thickness of the plurality of lips is greater than the thickness of the rim. For this reason, the rejection of claim 30 over Brown, and applicable subsequent claims, is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753