DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 24, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The provisional date regarding No. 63/108636 was not considered as support in regards to claim 1’s transmission of a first indicator “requesting” assistance information was not disclosed and therefore making the dependent claims unsupported as it also relies on claim 1. Examiner specifically points towards figure 7 not being disclosed in the provisional, therefore the foreign priority date is the earliest effective filing date.
In regards to the base station enabling assistance information to the UE. Given the BRI of claim 1, the examiner interpreted the claim as through any signaling/configuration/condition that tells a UE is permitted to use a resource, one or more information elements defined in Table 3 of the specification. Prior to the BS informing the UE about the resource pool, it had no knowledge or permission to use the pool. Furthermore, Keshavamurthy explicitly discloses network control to enable/disable assistance information via SIB/RRC configuration and a toggle (e.g., paragraphs 0098, 0104; see also Summary and claims). This directly satisfies “receiving information indicating that use of assistance information is enabled” (when toggled on) and supports the negative limitation (if disabled, a POSITA would not initiate the assistance-request procedure).
Motivation to combine:” increase sidelink reliability while controlling overhead.” POSITA would naturally gate Hwang’s request/response mechanism by the network’s enable/disable configuration as taught by Keshavamurthy (predictable use of known RRC/SIB controls to manage a known SL assistance mechanism)
The relied-upon “format” teaching in Hwang is not the PSCCH vs. PSSCH channel distinction. It is the second-stage SCI content/fielding that defines the assistance-information format. Hwang teaches A two-stage SCI where first-stage SCI indicates the second-stage SCI format transmitted on PSCCH and/or PSSCH (request and response carried via second-stage SCI/MAC-CE).
An explicit “resource set type” field in the second-stage SCI indicating preferred vs. non-preferred resources (i.e., two formats of the requested assistance-content), and a “providing/requesting” indicator distinguishing whether the second-stage SCI conveys a request or the assistance information itself ( See Hwang 0389-0392 (resource set type field; providing/requesting indicator) and 0401 (the “type of additional information (e.g., preferred resource or non-preferred resource …)” transmitted).
Equalization of second-stage SCI payload sizes via padding so that request and assistance information can share a common format footprint (Hwang paragraphs 0382–0388).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 11,15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 20230137259 A1, hereinafter Hwang) in view of KESHAVAMURTHY et al. (US 20240172187 A1, hereinafter Keshavamurthy).
Regarding claim 1 Hwang discloses:
A method of a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving information indicating that use of assistance information is enabled from a base station (paragraph [0109], “ Herein, if the UE 1 is within a coverage of the BS, the BS may inform the UE 1 of the resource pool. Otherwise, if the UE 1 is out of the coverage of the BS, another UE may inform the UE 1 of the resource pool, or the UE 1 may use a pre-configured resource pool.” In this example the assistance information is informed (enabled) to the UE1 or any UE in coverage by the base station.)
transmitting a first indicator requesting transmission of assistance information to a second UE based on use of the assistance information being enabled; (Paragraph [0349], “the UE-A may transmit the assistance information within a specific time from a time requested by the UE-B.” and Fig. 13. From paragraph [0109] it is stated that the base station informs any UE of the resource pool/ UEs can use the preconfigured one as well. Based on this enablement in fig. 13 UE-B sends a request indicator for assistance information.)
transmitting a second indicator indicating a first format or a second format of the assistance information to the second UE (Paragraph [0401], “In step S1330, for example, the UE-B receiving resource information for PSCCH/PSSCH for additional request information may transmit the PSCCH/PSSCH based on the resource information.” And Fig. 13.)
receiving the assistance information from the second UE with the first format or the second format indicated by the second indicator from the second UE (paragraph [0399], “the UE-A receiving the request for additional information may transmit resource information to the UE-B…”)
selecting a transmission resource in consideration of preferred resources indicated by the assistance information with the first format or non-preferred resource indicated by the assistance information with the second format (paragraph [0006], “In scheme 1, a UE-A may provide a UE-B with a set of resources that can be used for a resource (re)selection procedure of the UE-B.” and paragraph [0401], “In step S1330, for example, the UE-B receiving resource information for PSCCH/PSSCH for additional request information may transmit the PSCCH/PSSCH based on the resource information. For example, via the PSCCH/PSSCH, at least one of reference transmission priority information, a resource area of interest (e.g., a reference resource selection window), a reference resource reservation period, a reference resource reselection counter, the number of retransmissions, the maximum number of retransmissions, the number of reference PSSCH transmission subchannels, a cast type, a service type, PDB information for additional information, reference PDB information, SL HARQ feedback presence/absence, QoS parameter, and/or a type of additional information (e.g., preferred resource or non-preferred resource or additional information reception operation or additional information utilization method, etc.) may be transmitted.” In fig. 13 after receiving resource information details the UE selects resources and sends it on a format.)
and performing sidelink communication using the transmission resource. (Paragraph [0053], “Fig. 6 shows a procedure of performing V2X or SL communication by a UE based on a transmission mode, based on an embodiment of the present disclosure.”)
Hwang does not disclose:
wherein the first indicator requesting the transmission of the assistance information is not transmitted based on the use of the assistance information being disabled.
Keshavamurthy does disclose:
wherein the first indicator requesting the transmission of the assistance information is not transmitted based on the use of the assistance information being disabled. (Paragraph [0104], “Additionally, the assistance information can be toggled (i.e. assistance information transmission based on Embodiments 1, 2, 3, and/or 6 can be enabled or disabled) by the network as part of the SL SIB configuration and/or RRC configuration.”)
Therefore it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Hwang in view of Keshavamurthy to incorporate the disabling of the assistance information. One would be motivated to do this to “increase SL transmission reliability” (Keshavamurthy paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 11 Hwang discloses
A method of a second user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a first indicator requesting transmission of assistance information from a first UE based on use of the assistance information being enabled by a base station (Paragraph [0349], “the UE-A may transmit the assistance information within a specific time from a time requested by the UE-B.” and Fig. 13 and paragraph [0109], “Herein, if the UE 1 is within a coverage of the BS, the BS may inform the UE 1 of the resource pool. Otherwise, if the UE 1 is out of the coverage of the BS, another UE may inform the UE 1 of the resource pool, or the UE 1 may use a pre-configured resource pool.” Based on this enablement in fig. 13 UE-A receives a request indicator for assistance information.)
receiving a second indicator indicating a first format or a second format of the assistance information from the first UE (Paragraph [0401], “In step S1330, for example, the UE-B receiving resource information for PSCCH/PSSCH for additional request information may transmit the PSCCH/PSSCH based on the resource information.” And Fig. 13. UE-B transmit an indicator indicating a format to UE-A (second UE).)
generating the assistance information with the first format indicating preferred resources or the assistance information with the second format indicating non-preferred resources according to the requesting of the first UE (paragraph [0402], “the UE-A receiving the detailed information related to the request for additional information may provide/transmit, to the UE-B transmitting the request for additional information, resource information (e.g., preferred resource information or non-preferred resource information” And Fig. 13. UE-A generates the assistance information and transmits it to UE-B transmitted through the format indicated (this resource information also includes the non-preferred or preferred resource.) )
and transmitting the assistance information with the first format or the assistance information with the second format to the first UE, (paragraph [0402], “the UE-A receiving the detailed information related to the request for additional information may provide/transmit, to the UE-B transmitting the request for additional information, resource information (e.g., preferred resource information or non-preferred resource information” And Fig. 13. UE-A generates the assistance information and transmits it to UE-B transmitted through the format indicated (this resource information also includes the non-preferred or preferred resource.) )
wherein a transmission resource for sidelink communication is selected by the first UE in consideration of the assistance information. (paragraph [0401], “In step S1330, for example, the UE-B receiving resource information for PSCCH/PSSCH for additional request information may transmit the PSCCH/PSSCH based on the resource information. For example, via the PSCCH/PSSCH, at least one of reference transmission priority information, a resource area of interest (e.g., a reference resource selection window), a reference resource reservation period, a reference resource reselection counter, the number of retransmissions, the maximum number of retransmissions, the number of reference PSSCH transmission subchannels, a cast type, a service type, PDB information for additional information, reference PDB information, SL HARQ feedback presence/absence, QoS parameter, and/or a type of additional information (e.g., preferred resource or non-preferred resource or additional information reception operation or additional information utilization method, etc.) may be transmitted.” The resource is selected by the first UE.)
Hwang does not disclose:
wherein the first indicator requesting the transmission of the assistance information is not transmitted based on the use of the assistance information being disabled by the base station.
Keshavamurthy does disclose:
wherein the first indicator requesting the transmission of the assistance information is not transmitted based on the use of the assistance information being disabled by the base station. (Paragraph [0104], “Additionally, the assistance information can be toggled (i.e. assistance information transmission based on Embodiments 1, 2, 3, and/or 6 can be enabled or disabled) by the network as part of the SL SIB configuration and/or RRC configuration.”)
Therefore it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Hwang in view of Keshavamurthy to incorporate the disabling of the assistance information. One would be motivated to do this to “increase SL transmission reliability” (Keshavamurthy paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15 Hwang discloses
wherein the second indicator further indicates a channel through which the assistance information with the first format or the second format is transmitted, and the channel is a PSFCH, PSCCH, or PSSCH. (Fig. 13 and paragraph [0401], “In step S1330, for example, the UE-B receiving resource information for PSCCH/PSSCH for additional request information may transmit the PSCCH/PSSCH based on the resource information. For example, via the PSCCH/PSSCH, at least one of reference transmission priority information, a resource area of interest (e.g., a reference resource selection window), a reference resource reservation period, a reference resource reselection counter, the number of retransmissions, the maximum number of retransmissions, the number of reference PSSCH transmission subchannels, a cast type, a service type, PDB information for additional information, reference PDB information, SL HARQ feedback presence/absence, QoS parameter, and/or a type of additional information (e.g., preferred resource or non-preferred resource or additional information reception operation or additional information utilization method, etc.) may be transmitted.”)
Regarding claims 6 and 16 Hwang discloses
wherein the first indicator is received through a PSCCH, (Paragraph [0356], “when the UE-A receives the assistance information request signal from the UE-B, the UE-A may send again the UE-B the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH (e.g., second stage SCI and/or MAC-CE) even if the UE-A does not generate the assistance information for the request signal.” Being a request signal, a control type message, the first indicator is sent over PSCCH in Fig. 12.)
and the second indicator is received through the PSCCH or a PSSCH. (Paragraph [0401], “the UE-B receiving resource information for PSCCH/PSSCH for additional request information may transmit the PSCCH/PSSCH based on the resource information. For example, via the PSCCH/PSSCH…” and fig. 13)
Regarding claims 7 and 17 Hwang discloses
wherein a channel through which the assistance information is transmitted is determined according to a PSFCH periodicity, the assistance information is transmitted through a PSCCH or PSSCH when the PSFCH periodicity is 0, and the assistance information is transmitted through a PSFCH when the PSFCH periodicity is not 0. (PSFCH periodicity is 0: paragraph [0314], “the TX UE may transmit some or all of the following information to the RX UE via the first SCI and/or the second SCI.” And paragraph [0326], “TX UE location information or location (or distance area) information of a target RX UE (requesting SL HARQ feedback).” And paragraph [0328], “since the TX UE may transmit the second SCI to the RX UE via the PSSCH…”
PSFCH periodicity is not 0: paragraph [0198], “For example, N may be 1, 2, or 4. For example, HARQ feedback for transmission in a specific resource pool may be transmitted only through a PSFCH on the specific resource pool.”)
Regarding claims 20 Hwang discloses:
The method according to claim 11, wherein the assistance information is transmitted through a resource configured by the base station. (Paragraph [0337], “Further, for example, SL MODE 2 may mean a resource allocation scheme or a communication scheme in which the UE independently selects the SL TX resource within a resource pool configured or pre-configured from the base station or network.” And paragraph [0340], “For example, the base station may transmit information related to the resource to the UE.”)
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Sony Akkarakaran et al. (US 20210352624, hereinafter Sony).
Regarding claims 8 and 18. Hwang does not disclose a channel through which the assistance information is transmitted is determined based on a resource size of a PSSCH, the assistance information is not transmitted through the PSSCH when the resource size is less than or equal to a threshold value, and the assistance information is transmitted through the PSSCH when the resource size exceeds the threshold value.
Sony discloses a channel through which the assistance information is transmitted is determined based on a resource size of a PSSCH, the assistance information is not transmitted through the PSSCH when the resource size is less than or equal to a threshold value, and the assistance information is transmitted through the PSSCH when the resource size exceeds the threshold value. (Paragraph [0088], “For example, the first SCI may indicate a size of PSSCH resource allocation that is not sufficient for providing a second SCI, therefore indicating an absence of any subsequent transmission.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Hwang by utilizing a threshold to determine the transmission of the assistance information based on the resource size of a PSSCH taught by Sony. The motivation would have been to improve sidelink communication techniques. (Paragraph [abstract, Sony], “provide alternative mechanisms to achieve similar goals as the multiple stage of SCIs when the second (and the subsequent) SCI stage(s) is absent.”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM P. CAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479