DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Domjen (7,909,330).
Claim 1, Domjen discloses [[a]] an athletic training system comprising:
a ball redirection portion (rebounding wall 150; figures 19-20) including a front vertical planar surface (158), a top horizontal planar surface (upper/top planar surface; figure 19), and at least one angled surface (156) connecting the front surface and the top surface; and
a rebounding panel portion (the back panel is identified by element 152 which is shown as being opposite 156 and 158 in figure 19) including a substantially planar structure offset rearward of and substantially parallel to the front vertical planar surface.
Claim 2, Domjen shows the angled surface (156) includes: an at least partially arcuate surface (column 5, lines 44-52 teaches “whilst the preferred embodiment has a generally planar portion and two angled portions, which are also planar, other shapes may be used. For example, the front surface may be a concave shape with a curved surface of a constant radius or of a variable radius”).
Claim 3, Domjen shows the at least one angled surface (156) includes: at least one planar surface (figure 19).
Claim 5, Domjen shows a first piece including the ball redirection portion (150); and
a second piece including the rebounding panel portion (figure 19 reproduced above), wherein the first piece and the second piece are operably couplable (figure 19).
Claim 10, Domjen shows the assembly includes a support stand (figure 19 shows the assembly includes support legs 154).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domjen (7,909,330).
Claim 4, Domjen shows the at least one planar surface (158) may be located in at least two different positions relative to the base unit to change how the ball rebounds from the device. includes: a plurality of planar surfaces. Additionally, Domjen teaches the face may include a curved section. Where the face includes at least two portions or an upper portion and a lower portion, said upper portion may be angled relative to the lower portion. Therefore, it is understood that the planar surface may be more than one section since Domjen teaches the face includes at least two portion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that front face can be more than two portions.
Claim 6, Domjen shows in the embodiment of figure 24 that the first piece and the second piece can be configured to interlock using latches (73; column 5, lines 53-58).
Claim 7, Domjen as described in claim 6, teaches in one embodiment that the first and second pieces can be interlocked using latches. Domjen discloses the claimed device with the exception of using at least one bolt instead of latches. The Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of attachment/interlocking means such as bolts is old and well known and obvious to incorporate because it aids releasably attaching two components together.
Claim 8, Domjen as described in claim 6, teaches in one embodiment that the first and second pieces can be interlocked using latches. Domjen discloses the claimed device with the exception of using at least one bolt instead of latches. The Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of attachment/interlocking means such as hook-and-loop is old and well known and obvious to incorporate because it aids releasably attaching two components together.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MITRA ARYANPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/ma/
12 February 2026