DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 03/14/2026. Claims 1,5, 7, 10, 12, 16, 18 and 20 were amended. Claims 2 and 13 were canceled. Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-20 remains pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues on page 10 line 31 of applicant argument/remarks that “In sharp contrast to He, the present claimed invention recites that the values of the same DRX parameter are provided by both types of signaling, i.e., (1) the RRC message and (2) one of DCI/MAC CE. As detailed above, He merely teaches configuring different DRX configurations (for different DRX groups) by either RRC signaling or MAC CE.”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e. DRX parameter are provided by both types of signaling, i.e., (1) the RRC message and (2) one of DCI/MAC CE) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Limitations in the claims refer specifically to either the RRC message or DCI/MAC CE. None of the limitations refers to the message being sent on the two (RRC and DCI/MAC CE) at any stage. The rejection has been updated with specific paragraphs and phrases from the references to show specific places in the reference where RRC or DCI or MAC CE were used to signal DRX parameter configuration as the amended claims indicates. Limitations where MAC CE were used were mapped appropriately to MAC CE signaling in the reference, the same was done for RRC and DCI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-10, 12, 14, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by He et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2020/0045768), He hereinafter. He teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, He teaches a method for a User Equipment (UE), comprising: / a User Equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and a processor operatively coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute program code to: (fig. 11 and paragraphs 0094 to 0096)
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message to configure at least one value of a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) parameter; (paragraphs 0103 and 0106 – [0103] … The DRX parameters may be signaled in RRC signaling and may comprise an IE including a list of DRX groups and respective DRX parameters. … [0106] - The apparatus includes a reception component 1304 that may be configured to receive a signal of DRX parameters for each of the plurality of DRX groups from a base station, e.g., as described in connection with 1208 of FIG. 12.)
receiving, in a serving cell, a Downlink Control Information (DCI) or Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) indicating a first value of the DRX parameter or a second value of the at least one value of the DRX parameter; and (paragraphs 0091 and 0094 – [0091] … . The signal may comprise at least one of a cross carrier DCI or MAC-CE. In some aspects, a first on-state (e.g., On Duration) of the first DRX configuration may be aligned with a second on-state (e.g., On Duration) of the second DRX configuration. In some aspects, a DRX cycle of the first DRX … [0094] ... The apparatus includes DRX configuration component 1006 that determines a configuration of a plurality of DRX groups for communicating with the UE, e.g., as described in connection with 902 of FIG. 9. The apparatus includes a first DRX component 1008 that configures the UE with a first DRX group for a first set of serving cells, e.g., as described in connection with 904. The apparatus includes a second DRX component 1010 that configures the UE with a second DRX configuration of a second DRX group for a second set of serving cells, e.g., as described in connection with 906 of FIG. 9. ...)
performing at least one of: adjusting the DRX parameter for a first DRX group or a second DRX group of the UE based on a target DRX group indicated in the DCI or MAC CE, or based on whether the serving cell is assigned to the first DRX group or the second DRX group; (paragraphs 0091 and 0094 –[0091] … . The signal may comprise at least one of a cross carrier DCI or MAC-CE. In some aspects, a first on-state (e.g., On Duration) of the first DRX configuration may be aligned with a second on-state (e.g., On Duration) of the second DRX configuration. In some aspects, a DRX cycle of the first DRX …[0094] - ... The apparatus includes a first DRX component 1008 that configures the UE with a first DRX group for a first set of serving cells, e.g., as described in connection with 904. The apparatus includes a second DRX component 1010 that configures the UE with a second DRX configuration of a second DRX group for a second set of serving cells, e.g., as described in connection with 906 of FIG. 9. The apparatus may include a DRX parameter component 1016 that signals DRX parameters for each of the plurality of DRX groups to the UE, e.g., as described in connection with 908 of FIG. 9. The apparatus may include a transmission component 1014 that transmits a signal in one of the first set of serving cells to the UE to provide an indication for the UE to change a power off-state of serving cells in the second DRX group to a power on-state, ...). Power off or on in DRX mode is DRX parameter.)
restarting a drx-onDurationTimer, in response to receiving the DCI or MAC CE, at a timing calculated based on the first value or the second value of the DRX parameter indicated in the DCI or MAC CE; (Alternative)
stopping the drx-onDurationTimer in response to receiving the DCI or MAC CE, and starting the drx-onDurationTimer at the timing; (Alternative)
or stopping the drx-onDurationTimer upon or after transmitting a confirmation in response to reception of the DCI or MAC CE, and starting the drx-onDurationTimer at the timing (Alternative).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, He teaches claims 1 and 12.
He further teaches wherein the DRX parameter is drx-Start Offset or drx-SlotOffset (paragraph 0065 - A DRX configuration may include the configuration of any of a number of timers and values, e.g., any of an ON duration Timer, a DRX Inactivity Timer, a DRX Retransmission Timer, a DRX UL Retransmission Timer, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL, a long DRX Cycle, a value of the DRX Start Offset, drx-LongCycleStartOffset, a DRX Short Cycle Timer, a short DRX Cycle, drx-SlotOffset, etc ... )
Regarding claims 6 and 17, He teaches claims 1 and 12.
He further teaches further comprising adjusting the DRX parameter by applying the first value or the second value to the DRX parameter and/or activating or deactivating the DRX parameter with the first value or the second value (paragraph 0094] - ... The apparatus includes a first DRX component 1008 that configures the UE with a first DRX group for a first set of serving cells, e.g., as described in connection with 904. The apparatus includes a second DRX component 1010 that configures the UE with a second DRX configuration of a second DRX group for a second set of serving cells, e.g., as described in connection with 906 of FIG. 9. The apparatus may include a DRX parameter component 1016 that signals DRX parameters for each of the plurality of DRX groups to the UE, e.g., as described in connection with 908 of FIG. 9. The apparatus may include a transmission component 1014 that transmits a signal in one of the first set of serving cells to the UE to provide an indication for the UE to change a power off-state of serving cells in the second DRX group to a power on-state, ...)
Regarding claims 7 and 18, He teaches claims 1 and 12.
He further teaches wherein adjusting the DRX parameter is performed upon or after at least one of: reception of the DCI or MAC CE; (paragraph 0090 - ... Similarly, the base station may configure the UE with the second DRX configuration, at 906, by indicating an index of the second DRX group from among the plurality of DRX groups. In some aspects, the index may be comprised in an IE in a serving cell configuration for the first set of serving cells. In some aspects, the index may be comprised in a MAC-CE sent in a PDCCH of the first set of serving cells. ... )
transmission of the confirmation; (Alternative)
a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) occasion indicated by the DCI or MAC CE; or; (paragraph 0090 - ... Similarly, the base station may configure the UE with the second DRX configuration, at 906, by indicating an index of the second DRX group from among the plurality of DRX groups. In some aspects, the index may be comprised in an IE in a serving cell configuration for the first set of serving cells. In some aspects, the index may be comprised in a MAC-CE sent in a PDCCH of the first set of serving cells. ... ) or
a time delay indicated in the DCI or MAC CE. (Alternative).
Regarding claim 8, He teaches claim 1.
He further teaches further comprising adjusting the DRX parameter for the first DRX group if the target DRX group is the first DRX group, and/or adjusting the DRX parameter for the second DRX group if the target DRX group is the second DRX group (paragraph 0081 - For example, the base station 804 may signal 810 the DRX parameters for each of the DRX groups to the UE. The DRX parameters may be signaled in RRC signaling. The RRC signaling may comprise an information element (IE) which includes a list of DRX groups and respective DRX parameters. The UE may then be configured with the first DRX configuration from among the parameters signaled at 810 by indicating an index of the first DRX group from the plurality of DRX groups. The index may be comprised in an IE in a serving cell configuration for a first serving cell. The index may be comprised in a MAC-CE sent via PDCCH of the first serving cell. The index may be comprised in a MAC-CE comprising paired parameters. The paired parameters may provide an indication to the UE of a new cell index and a new DRX group of the active serving cell. Similarly, the UE may be configured with the second DRX configuration from among the parameters signaled at 810 by indicating an index of the second DRX group in a serving cell configuration for the second serving cell.).
Regarding claims 9, He teaches claim 1.
He further teaches further comprising adjusting the DRX parameter for the first DRX group if the serving cell is assigned to the first DRX group, and/or adjusting the DRX parameter for the second DRX group if the serving cell is assigned to the second DRX group (paragraphs 0042 and 0073 - Referring again to FIG. 1, in certain aspects, a device (e.g., the UE 104) may be configured to comprise a DRX mode component 199 that may be configured to cause the apparatus to enter DRX mode. For example, in one configuration, the UE 104 may receive a first DRX group for a first set of serving cells. The UE may receive a second DRX group for a second set of serving cells. The UE may enter a DRX mode based on at least one of the first DRX configuration for the first set of serving cells and the second DRX configuration for the second set of serving cells. ... [0073] ... Each of the DRX groups may be configured to have respective DRX configuration parameters (e.g., cycle length, on duration, etc.). The network may have flexibility in determining the configuration of the DRX groups. Each DRX group may comprise a set of serving cells. Thus, each serving cell may be associated with a DRX group. ... The set of serving cells may be configured based on different parameters. ... ).
Regarding claims 10, He teaches claim 1.
He further teaches wherein whether the serving cell is assigned to the first DRX group or the second DRX group is indicated in the RRC message (paragraph 0073 - ... The network may determine the number of DRX groups to configure and may also determine the number of sets of serving cells. The network may assign an active serving cell to one of the DRX groups. The network may be configured to assign or re-assign serving cells to a particular DRX group via RRC or MAC Control Element (MAC-CE) transmitted to the UE.)
Regarding claims 19, He teaches claim 12.
He further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute program code to: adjust the DRX parameter for the first DRX group if the target DRX group is the first DRX group; and (paragraphs 0042 and 0073 - Referring again to FIG. 1, in certain aspects, a device (e.g., the UE 104) may be configured to comprise a DRX mode component 199 that may be configured to cause the apparatus to enter DRX mode. For example, in one configuration, the UE 104 may receive a first DRX group for a first set of serving cells. The UE may receive a second DRX group for a second set of serving cells. The UE may enter a DRX mode based on at least one of the first DRX configuration for the first set of serving cells and the second DRX configuration for the second set of serving cells. ... [0073] ... Each of the DRX groups may be configured to have respective DRX configuration parameters (e.g., cycle length, on duration, etc.). The network may have flexibility in determining the configuration of the DRX groups. Each DRX group may comprise a set of serving cells. Thus, each serving cell may be associated with a DRX group. ... The set of serving cells may be configured based on different parameters. ... )
or adjust the DRX parameter for the second DRX group if the target DRX group is the second DRX group; and (paragraphs 0042 and 0073 - Referring again to FIG. 1, in certain aspects, a device (e.g., the UE 104) may be configured to comprise a DRX mode component 199 that may be configured to cause the apparatus to enter DRX mode. For example, in one configuration, the UE 104 may receive a first DRX group for a first set of serving cells. The UE may receive a second DRX group for a second set of serving cells. The UE may enter a DRX mode based on at least one of the first DRX configuration for the first set of serving cells and the second DRX configuration for the second set of serving cells. ... [0073] ... Each of the DRX groups may be configured to have respective DRX configuration parameters (e.g., cycle length, on duration, etc.). The network may have flexibility in determining the configuration of the DRX groups. Each DRX group may comprise a set of serving cells. Thus, each serving cell may be associated with a DRX group. ... The set of serving cells may be configured based on different parameters. ... )
or adjust the DRX parameter for the first DRX group if the serving cell is assigned to the first DRX group; and (paragraphs 0042 and 0073 - Referring again to FIG. 1, in certain aspects, a device (e.g., the UE 104) may be configured to comprise a DRX mode component 199 that may be configured to cause the apparatus to enter DRX mode. For example, in one configuration, the UE 104 may receive a first DRX group for a first set of serving cells. The UE may receive a second DRX group for a second set of serving cells. The UE may enter a DRX mode based on at least one of the first DRX configuration for the first set of serving cells and the second DRX configuration for the second set of serving cells. ... [0073] ... Each of the DRX groups may be configured to have respective DRX configuration parameters (e.g., cycle length, on duration, etc.). The network may have flexibility in determining the configuration of the DRX groups. Each DRX group may comprise a set of serving cells. Thus, each serving cell may be associated with a DRX group. ... The set of serving cells may be configured based on different parameters. ... )
/or adjust the DRX parameter for the second DRX group if the serving cell is assigned to the second DRX group (paragraphs 0042 and 0073 - Referring again to FIG. 1, in certain aspects, a device (e.g., the UE 104) may be configured to comprise a DRX mode component 199 that may be configured to cause the apparatus to enter DRX mode. For example, in one configuration, the UE 104 may receive a first DRX group for a first set of serving cells. The UE may receive a second DRX group for a second set of serving cells. The UE may enter a DRX mode based on at least one of the first DRX configuration for the first set of serving cells and the second DRX configuration for the second set of serving cells. ... [0073] ... Each of the DRX groups may be configured to have respective DRX configuration parameters (e.g., cycle length, on duration, etc.). The network may have flexibility in determining the configuration of the DRX groups. Each DRX group may comprise a set of serving cells. Thus, each serving cell may be associated with a DRX group. ... The set of serving cells may be configured based on different parameters. ... ).
Regarding claims 20, He teaches claim 12.
He further teaches wherein whether the serving cell is assigned to the first DRX group or the second DRX group is indicated in the RRC message, and/or the first DRX group and the second DRX group are associated with a same MAC entity (paragraphs 0042, 0044 and 0073 - Referring again to FIG. 1, in certain aspects, a device (e.g., the UE 104) may be configured to comprise a DRX mode component 199 that may be configured to cause the apparatus to enter DRX mode. For example, in one configuration, the UE 104 may receive a first DRX group for a first set of serving cells. The UE may receive a second DRX group for a second set of serving cells. The UE may enter a DRX mode based on at least one of the first DRX configuration for the first set of serving cells and the second DRX configuration for the second set of serving cells. ... [0044] … UEs are configured with the slot format (dynamically through DL control information (DCI), or semi-statically/statically through radio resource control (RRC) signaling …[0073] ... Each of the DRX groups may be configured to have respective DRX configuration parameters (e.g., cycle length, on duration, etc.). The network may have flexibility in determining the configuration of the DRX groups. Each DRX group may comprise a set of serving cells. Thus, each serving cell may be associated with a DRX group. ... The set of serving cells may be configured based on different parameters. ... ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 4, 5, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al, (U.S. PGPub 2020/0045768), He hereinafter, in view of Jang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0155741), Jang hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 4 and 15, He teaches claims 1 and 12.
Yet, He does not expressly teach wherein restarting the drx-onDurationTimer is performed after transmitting the confirmation.
However, in the analogous art, Jang explicitly discloses wherein restarting the drx-onDurationTimer is performed after transmitting the confirmation (paragraph 0063 to 0065 - Moreover, in the above DRX technology, the UE should always wake up for a duration of the onDurationTimer that repeats every cycle, and in order to further reduce power consumption, the BS may separately indicates to the UE whether it should wake up for a duration of the onDurationTimer of each cycle to attempt data reception. ... [0065] ... and the confirmation message transmitted by the UE may be transmitted using an RRCReconfigurationComplete message from the RRC layer.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine He’s Drx groups for carrier aggregation with Jang’s starting and stopping of onDurationTimer and inactivityTimer to conserve device battery power.
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, He teaches claims 1 and 12.
Yet, He does not expressly teach further comprising stopping a drx-lnactivityTimer upon or after receiving the DCI or MAC CE, or upon or after transmitting the confirmation.
However, in the analogous art, Jang explicitly discloses further comprising stopping a drx-lnactivityTimer upon or after receiving the DCI or MAC CE, or upon or after transmitting the confirmation (Paragraph 0062 - ... Furthermore, if the BS no longer has data to transmit to the UE while the onDurationTimer or the inactivityTimer is running, the BS may additionally transmit a DRX command MAC CE to the UE. Upon receiving this, the UE stops both the running onDurationTimer and inactivityTimer, and if a short DRX cycle is configured, the UE uses the short DRX cycle first or if only a long DRX cycle is configured, it uses the long DRX cycle.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine He’s Drx groups for carrier aggregation with Jang’s starting and stopping of onDurationTimer and inactivityTimer to conserve device battery power.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al, (U.S. PGPub 2020/0045768), He hereinafter, in view of Shi (U.S. PGPub 2022/0053596), Shi hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 11, He teaches claim 1.
Yet, He does not expressly teach wherein the first DRX group and the second DRX group are associated with a same MAC entity.
However, in the analogous art, Shi explicitly discloses wherein the first DRX group and the second DRX group are associated with a same MAC entity (paragraph 0095 - In the present application, if the terminal device has a plurality of MAC entities, any MAC entity can be provided with a plurality of DRX groups. For example, the terminal device has 2 MAC entities, and each MAC entity is provided with 2 DRX groups. Alternatively, among the plurality of MAC entities of the terminal device, there are a part of MAC entities provided with a plurality of DRX groups, and there is also a case in which a part of MAC entities are provided with one DRX group. For example, the terminal device has 2 MAC entities, one MAC entity is provided with 2 DRX groups, and the other MAC entity is provided with 2 DRX groups.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine He’s Drx groups for carrier aggregation with Shi’s plurality of DRX groups on one MAC entity for simpler implementation of UE hardware and software.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472