DETAILED ACTION
2. A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on May 18, 2026 has been entered. Applicant’s remarks and amendments have been fully and carefully considered but are not found to be sufficient to put the application in condition for allowance. Any rejections or objections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, cervical squamous cell carcinoma and endocervical adenocarcinoma, and the combination of PCED1B-AS1, RP11-291B21.2 and AC092580.4 is reiterated for the record.
The election of species requirement between the different types of cancer has been reconsidered. The election of species requirement between the different types of cancer is hereby WITHDRAWN.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 13 are currently pending.
Claims 3 and 4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected subject matter (non-elected species), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 20, 2025.
Non-Compliant Amendment
3. Applicants are reminded that for any amendment being filed in response to a restriction or election of species requirement and any subsequent amendment, any claims which are non elected must have the status identifier (withdrawn). Technically the claims are non-compliant because claims 3 and 4 do not have the status identifier “withdrawn”. In order to advance prosecution the non-compliant claims have been examined. However, in response to this Action, Applicants must provide the correct status identifiers.
Response To Arguments
4. In the response the Applicants argue that claims 3 and 4 should not be withdrawn from consideration because they require the elected species combination. This argument is not persuasive. Applicants were required to elect a “SINGLE" combination of lncRNAs for examination. Claims 3 and 4 require the elected 3 lncRNAs plus additional lncRNAs. Thus they read on non-elected combinations. The election of species requirement will be reconsidered if claim 1 ever becomes allowable, but until then these claims are considered to be properly withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (NCBI GEO database, accession GSE163346 Dec 31, 2021) in view of Trayes (Am Fam Physician 2021;104(2):171-178).
Regarding Claims 1 and 6 Guo teaches that to identify the mRNAs, long non-coding RNAs (lncRNAs), and circular RNAs (circRNAs) involved in the pathogenesis of breast cancer, we performed the whole transcriptome sequencing. The whole transcriptome sequencing was performed with three breast cancer tissues with or without lymph node metastasis in each group, respectively (see Summary). Guo discloses express values for PCED1B-AS1, RP11-291B21.2 (also known as LINC02446), and AC092580.4 (also known as LINC01871). It is noted that the claims recite a signature but do not require the lncRNA’s to be present, absent, increased, or decreased in the signature. This rejection is based on a broad interpretation of the claims that by sequencing these lncRNA’s, Guo identified a lncRNA signature of PCED1B-AS1, RP11-291B21.2 and AC092580.4 in a cancer patients tumor tissue, wherein the cancer is invasive breast cancer.
Guo does not teach a method further comprising administering a cancer treatment to the patient (clm 1). Guo does not teach a method wherein the cancer treatment is chemotherapy, radiation, or immunotherapy (clm 13).
However Trayes teaches Early invasive stages (I, IIa, IIb) and locally advanced stages (IIIa, IIIb, IIIc) are nonmetastatic and have three treatment phases. The preoperative phase uses systemic endocrine or immunotherapies when tumors express estrogen, progesterone, or ERBB2 receptors. Preoperative chemotherapy may also be used and is the only option when tumors have none of those three receptors. There are two options for the surgical phase with similar survival rates; a lumpectomy with radiation if the tumor can be excised completely with good cosmetic results, or a mastectomy. Sentinel lymph node biopsy is also performed when there is suspected nodal disease. The postoperative phase includes radiation, endocrine therapy, immunotherapy, and chemotherapy. Postmenopausal women should also be offered postoperative bisphosphonates (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Guo by further administering a cancer treatment to the cancer patients as suggested by Trayes. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to administer chemotherapy, radiation, or immunotherapy to the cancer patients because as demonstrated by Trayes these were the conventional therapies given at the time to treat invasive breast cancer.
/AMANDA HANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682