DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
2. This action responds to amendment filed on 07-28-2025. Claim 9 has been amended and 1-8 and 16 have been withdrawn. Claims 9-15 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 07-28-2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. PAT. 11,057,701 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a (1) as being anticipated by Victorian et al. (US 2005/0058313)
Consider Claim 9, Victorian teaches a method comprising: receiving an internal signal from an internal microphone(see fig. 7(440));
receiving an ambient signal from an ambient sound microphone(see fig. 7(420));
detecting(see figs. 9, 10) a user’s voice by analyzing the internal signal and the ambient signal:
generating a background noise level(such as signal-to noise ratio and paragraph 006]-[0067]), using at least one of the internal signal or the ambient signal or a combination thereof(see figs. 9. 10);
generating a first modified internal signal by applying a first filter to the internal signal(see figs. 4A-7 and paragraphs[0043]-[0054]);
generating(see figs.7-10) a second modified internal signal by applying the internal signal gain to the first modified internal signal(see fig. 7(460), fig. 9);
generating(see figs. 7-10) a first modified ambient signal by applying a second filter to the ambient signal(see figs. 4A-7 and paragraphs[0043]-[0054]); generating a second modified ambient signal by applying the ambient signal gain to the first modified ambient signal(see fig. 7(460));
combining(see fig. 9(940)), fig. 10(1040)) the second modified internal signal and the second modified ambient signal to generate a voice signal; and sending the voice signal wirelessly to a communication device(see figs. 4-10 and paragraphs[0055]-[0072]).
Consider Claims 10 and 11, Victorian teaches the method further comprising: filtering the voice signal before sending it to the communication device(see figs. 4A-7 and paragraphs[0043]-[0054]); and the method wherein the filtering reduces noise in the voice signal(see figs. 4A-7 and paragraphs[0043]-[0054]).
Consider Claims 12 and 13, Victorian teaches the method wherein applying the first filter to the internal signal results in a first modified internal signal that has less noise than the internal signal(see figs. 4A-7 and paragraphs[0043]-[0054]); and the method wherein applying the second filter to the ambient signal results in a first modified ambient signal that has less noise than the ambient signal(see figs. 4A-7 and paragraphs[0043]-[0054]).
Consider Claims 14 and 15, Victorian teaches the method wherein the internal signal gain is frequency dependent(see figs. 4-10 and paragraphs[0055]-[0072]); and the method wherein the ambient signal gain is frequency dependent(see figs. 4-10 and paragraphs[0055]-[0072]).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued that Victorian fails to show, suggest or teach all elements of amended claim 9 (see remarks page 8, last paragraph).
respectfully requested to withdraw all rejections. Should the Examiner believe that anything
The examiner disagrees that argument respectfully.
Victorian discloses receiving an internal signal from an internal microphone(see fig. 7(440));
receiving an ambient signal from an ambient sound microphone(see fig. 7(420));
detecting(see figs. 9, 10) a user’s voice by analyzing the internal signal and the ambient signal:
generating a background noise level(such as signal-to noise ratio and paragraph 006]-[0067]), using at least one of the internal signal or the ambient signal or a combination thereof(see figs. 9. 10);
generating a first modified internal signal by applying a first filter to the internal signal(see figs. 4A-7 and paragraphs[0043]-[0054]);
generating(see figs.7-10) a second modified internal signal by applying the internal signal gain to the first modified internal signal(see fig. 7(460), fig. 9);
generating(see figs. 7-10) a first modified ambient signal by applying a second filter to the ambient signal(see figs. 4A-7 and paragraphs[0043]-[0054]); generating a second modified ambient signal by applying the ambient signal gain to the first modified ambient signal(see fig. 7(460));
combining(see fig. 9(940)), fig. 10(1040)) the second modified internal signal and the second modified ambient signal to generate a voice signal; and sending the voice signal wirelessly to a communication device(see figs. 4-10 and paragraphs[0055]-[0072]). It meets the limitation as recited in claim 9 and rejection for dependent claims 10-15 will be maintained.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Svean et al.(US PAT. 6,754,359) is cited to show other related the METHOD AND DEVICE FOR IN-EAR CANAL ECHO SUPPRESSION.
10. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M(SPE), can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691 US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 11-20-2025